Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Sumiko Black Pearl

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Black Pearl

Sumiko Black Pearl

Sumiko Black Pearl

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Black Pearl

10 reviews
View this product

Black Pearl Cartridge

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, IN on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Black Pearl cartridge is gorgeous. Unfortunately it would not work right with my new Teac turntable so I had to return it. Customer Service handled my call in a very professional manner and sent me the shipping label while on the call with me after they determined this was not the right cartridge for my needs. My account was credited back to my card within a few hours of the return department receiving it. Very impressed and wished it would have worked on my turntable!

Pros: Top of the line cartridge.

Cons: No cons!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, IL on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not match or fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/2/2019
We're sorry this cartridge didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

a real bang for your buck!!!

bill from Syracuse, NY on 5/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

hi all! this is a fine cartridge at a great price! it sounds great with my new denon DP-300F table(also purchased from crutchfield with first rate customer service from the by now widely celebrated marshall)! i`m listening to music i`ve heard often in the past and hearing things i had`nt heard before! highly recommended (the black pearl and marshall)! bill

Pros: wonderful sounding cartridge at a reasonable price!

Cons: none that i`ve found and i can be demanding!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Shafter, CA on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality replacement for my goldring 1012GX

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit on a 1977 turntable, thanks Cory for your help!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko black pearl

Bob from Modesto, CA on 8/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am able to enjoy my old vinyl collection.

Pros: Easy to install. Arrived in protective case. Good value.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko "jewel"

tparm from Harrisonburg, VA on 6/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a Music Hall USB-1 turntable after inheriting my dad's vinyl collection. I knew it was a budget table but since I hadn't listened to an album in years I decided it was a good jumping off point. I began buying some of my favorite new releases and listening to analog audio more frequently and the USB-1 seemed to be leaving a little "resolution" on the table. After looking at cartridges on the Crutchfield site I decided to buy the Sumiko Black Pearl cartridge as it was in the Outlet Store and on the advice at the Harrisonburg store. When I picked it up I found the packaging to be a bit over the top (nestled in a white jewelry box) but was anxious to get home and try it out. For the price I paid (Outlet pricing plus using some of my points credits) I was shocked. Installing the unit was straight forward so I was spinning discs in minutes. I immediately noticed much more depth to the frequency response and a bit more air in the upper end. Prior to installing the Sumiko I listened to Beck's Morning Phase in stereo so my sub would accompany my Focal 706s as the lower octaves were missing. With the Black Pearl enough depth was present to switch my processor to pure direct opening up the sound stage even further. My USB-1 doesn't sound like a Music Hall MMF-11.1 but it sounds darn good for the money invested.

Pros: Increased frequency response, simple installation, cost (for an audio upgrade). Plus it's just fun to tinker without changing an entire component in your system.

Cons: Slight increase in the noise floor. This is offset but pros above in my opinion.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl phono cartridge

BobB from Powell, WY on 10/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, what a difference from old one

Pros: easy hook up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

RICH N. from WCL, NJ on 10/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After going to many web sites, I discovered a wide range of products and price points.. I usually end up @ Crutchfield because their buyers really do a thorough search and study before making a product available.. I didn't want to spend a fortune, but I did want the best I could afford in the category... I think this product does a fantastic job based on its price point.. On a scale of 1 to 5, I give it a 4.85 because it meets my needs and does a perfect job replicating my vinyl collection..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 20 found this helpful

Nice and Mellow

Mike from Las Cruces, NM on 10/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the stock cartridge on a Denon 300. It gives me the warm sound I was looking for. Highs and mid-range are right out front without being "tinny" and the lows are deep and clear, not fuzzy.

Pros: Right balance between lows and highs for my ears.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

25 of 27 found this helpful

TOP