Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sumiko Black Pearl

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Black Pearl

Sumiko Black Pearl

Sumiko Black Pearl

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Black Pearl

17 reviews
View this product

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product didn't work doesn't work for old turntables ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/14/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality sound from Sumiko

Crutchfield customer from Bogart, GA on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my son's system, after getting the Pearl for myself, and Installed it for him. Sound improvement was noticeably better for the whole range of sound. I was impressed. He was even more so. Sumiko does it again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great on old Sony Direct Drive.

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, MI on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have a 40 plus year old direct drive turntable. I consulted Crutchfield. The staff member in the chat feature was very helpful. With minimal effort the cartridge is in place. Great sound quality, rich and balanced to these ears without dropping a load of cash. Very happy.

Pros: Sound, ease of installation.

Cons: None observed to date.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Garden City, MI on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Black Pearl needle sounds Great on my Denon DP 300F turntable! Very satisfied with Crutchfield products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfld Hls, MI on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was not pleased with the high or low end. The clarity was just not there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/25/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just go ahed and get it.

Roger from Calera, AL on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the Ortafon cartridge that came on my U Turn turntable with the Black Pearl. There is a noticeable difference! The turntable sounds like the money I spent for it. It's alive!!!! I listen to every kind of music out there. Hard rock to Bach , country ect. Well worth the $$$.

Pros: Warmth without giving up detail.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Westerly, RI on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Krisp clean sound. Great to be listening to my old vinyl again. Great cartridge for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Black Pearl Cartridge

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, IN on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Black Pearl cartridge is gorgeous. Unfortunately it would not work right with my new Teac turntable so I had to return it. Customer Service handled my call in a very professional manner and sent me the shipping label while on the call with me after they determined this was not the right cartridge for my needs. My account was credited back to my card within a few hours of the return department receiving it. Very impressed and wished it would have worked on my turntable!

Pros: Top of the line cartridge.

Cons: No cons!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, IL on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not match or fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/2/2019
We're sorry this cartridge didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 6 found this helpful

a real bang for your buck!!!

bill from Syracuse, NY on 5/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

hi all! this is a fine cartridge at a great price! it sounds great with my new denon DP-300F table(also purchased from crutchfield with first rate customer service from the by now widely celebrated marshall)! i`m listening to music i`ve heard often in the past and hearing things i had`nt heard before! highly recommended (the black pearl and marshall)! bill

Pros: wonderful sounding cartridge at a reasonable price!

Cons: none that i`ve found and i can be demanding!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Shafter, CA on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality replacement for my goldring 1012GX

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit on a 1977 turntable, thanks Cory for your help!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko black pearl

Bob from Modesto, CA on 8/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am able to enjoy my old vinyl collection.

Pros: Easy to install. Arrived in protective case. Good value.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko "jewel"

tparm from Harrisonburg, VA on 6/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a Music Hall USB-1 turntable after inheriting my dad's vinyl collection. I knew it was a budget table but since I hadn't listened to an album in years I decided it was a good jumping off point. I began buying some of my favorite new releases and listening to analog audio more frequently and the USB-1 seemed to be leaving a little "resolution" on the table. After looking at cartridges on the Crutchfield site I decided to buy the Sumiko Black Pearl cartridge as it was in the Outlet Store and on the advice at the Harrisonburg store. When I picked it up I found the packaging to be a bit over the top (nestled in a white jewelry box) but was anxious to get home and try it out. For the price I paid (Outlet pricing plus using some of my points credits) I was shocked. Installing the unit was straight forward so I was spinning discs in minutes. I immediately noticed much more depth to the frequency response and a bit more air in the upper end. Prior to installing the Sumiko I listened to Beck's Morning Phase in stereo so my sub would accompany my Focal 706s as the lower octaves were missing. With the Black Pearl enough depth was present to switch my processor to pure direct opening up the sound stage even further. My USB-1 doesn't sound like a Music Hall MMF-11.1 but it sounds darn good for the money invested.

Pros: Increased frequency response, simple installation, cost (for an audio upgrade). Plus it's just fun to tinker without changing an entire component in your system.

Cons: Slight increase in the noise floor. This is offset but pros above in my opinion.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl phono cartridge

BobB from Powell, WY on 10/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, what a difference from old one

Pros: easy hook up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Sumiko Black Pearl

RICH N. from WCL, NJ on 10/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After going to many web sites, I discovered a wide range of products and price points.. I usually end up @ Crutchfield because their buyers really do a thorough search and study before making a product available.. I didn't want to spend a fortune, but I did want the best I could afford in the category... I think this product does a fantastic job based on its price point.. On a scale of 1 to 5, I give it a 4.85 because it meets my needs and does a perfect job replicating my vinyl collection..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 21 found this helpful

Nice and Mellow

Mike from Las Cruces, NM on 10/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the stock cartridge on a Denon 300. It gives me the warm sound I was looking for. Highs and mid-range are right out front without being "tinny" and the lows are deep and clear, not fuzzy.

Pros: Right balance between lows and highs for my ears.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

29 of 31 found this helpful

TOP