Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sumiko Olympia

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Olympia

Sumiko Olympia

Sumiko Olympia

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Olympia

17 reviews
View this product

Sumiko Olympia

Gary from Huntsville, AL on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So, my cartridge history: I've been a Grado guy for a while now, with a Blue the last 8-10 years. Briefly tried a Denon MC (big No) and an Audio Technica. Always went back to Grado. Well, I may have found a new favorite. As others have noted, the Olympia really shines in the mids and highs, which are very present but not harsh. Soundstage and placement are excellent. I was initially concerned about a lack of low end, but after a couple of weeks of break-in, the low end appeared. It's tight and defined, but not as warm as Grado. Overall, the Olympia is very detailed, with just the right amount of warmth. Paired with my Audio Nirvana speakers, or through my Dark Voice headphone amp, it's a great listening experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Elkmont, AL on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best cartridge I've owned. I have a denon DL 110, and the Olympia has more presents and defined imagery and bass than the denon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Buy on a Great Cartridge

Crutchfield customer from Sheboygan, WI on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even out of the box I could hear some slight improvements over my Audio Technica AT-450 with nude elliptical stylus. After about 10 albums, the Sumiko Olympia cartridge really started to shine. The treble is clear and soft (quite delicate actually). The bass is full, clear, and has the right amount of punch. Sound stage is wide and brings instruments into good focus. Of course you have to understand that this is the highest end cartridge that I have owned, so I cannot directly compare the Sumiko Olympia with more refined cartridges. My past experience with cartridges include Audio Technica AT-30 and AT-450, Grado Black, B&O (on B&O RX table), Signet, and a couple of others.

Pros: Easy installation. Clear, open sound. Pricing in balance with Quality.

Cons: None so far....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Bobby from Los Angeles, CA on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're like me - you're probably trying to figure out if you should try this or the Moonstone. Do you play rock/pop music? Is it mostly from the 60s/70s/80s? Try the Olympia! I understand the Moonstone is technically better, and yes it's "flatter" and more accurate and true perhaps. But, at the end of the day, don't you just want something you like listening to? This is what the Olympia became to me. Previously I had the: Shure M97XE cart with upgraded LP Gear N97xVL ViVid Line stylus. And while that is a great combination, the Olympia features so much more stereo separation and articulation of instruments, while still being nice and warm - with rocking bass. Before you "graduate" to the Moonstone, try this one out. I think it's underrated and fun.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Antioch, CA on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Olympia to replace the ATVM95E that came with my Audio Technica ATLP120X. Right away I noticed more clarity and detail. The imaging is way better.

Pros: Great sound, reasonable price.

Cons: Will not track the cannon shots on my Telarc 1812 Overture record. [In fairness this is a very difficult passage to track.]

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OH MY WORD!

Ian from Minneapolis, MN on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First thing that came to mind was wow! I upgraded from a grado black prestige 3. The detail in the treble is what blew me away. So much detail while not being harsh. I have listened to nagaoka carts and while detailed they are a bit too analytical. Not musical enough. I had read about the sumiko line being a marriage between the grado and nagaoka. So I thought I would give it a shot. I am so glad I did! It hasn't even broken in yet and it sounds incredible. I will never buy another cartridge. Only sumiko for me.

Pros: Great detail Clarity Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was simple. I could immediately tell the difference in the quality of sound from my vintage system and the standard cartridge that was on my turntable. I would highly recommend .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Shelby, NC on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product..good service..good company

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my linn k5 and the quality of the Olympia is outstanding. I remember the k5 was exceptional when it was new but it wasn't as good as the Sumiko. I'll be listening to my vinyl a lot more now.

Pros: musical detail channel separation easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Lomira, WI on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice cartridge. Lows and mid levels come through strong and clean. Highs are fine as well just not as pronounced as with some other cartridges in my opinion. Install and set up is super easy. You won't go wrong with this cartridge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice and reasonably affordable cartridge that replaced the Ortofon 2m red which came with my debut carbon dc turntable. I found the 2m red to be somewhat shrill in my system and to accentuate pops and crackles. The Sumiko Olympia was relatively easy to install, although I took it slow. It tracks very well, has a nice full and deep bass, a very open and detailed presentation in the higher frequencies, and a wide soundstage. Also it does not emphasize pops like the 2m red. I wish it had just a bit more midrange emphasis, but that may change as it breaks in. For reference, the rest of my system consists of an Accurus p10 phono preamp, Outlaw RR2160 receiver, and Philharmonic audio BMR speakers.

Pros: Tracking, full bass, airy and open high frequencies, good channel separation

Cons: Could have a bit more midrange warmth

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Strong cartridge foe the

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm relatively new to vinyl so keep that in mind! I bought this to replace a broken cartridge on my Music Hall Classic. The Music Hall came with an installed Music Hall Spirit cartridge. While that sounded good, the Sumiko is a definite improvement. The lows have more impact, the imaging is better and the voices are more "present". I haven't heard higher end carts to compare but the Sumiko sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and balanced. Can here details and rolls of the top a little

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia Cartridge

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, DE on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After some consultation with Calvin at Crutchfield, I decided to spend a bit more money than I usually would for a phono cartridge. For a hard-working stiff such as myself, spending this much on a cartridge is a HUGE investment. Nevertheless, it turned out to be one of the best investments I have made! I also bought a turntable protractor and an digital gram scale, watched the Crutchfield Youtube video on "how-to" install a cartridge, and had zero trouble installing the cartridge on my 40+ year old Phillips 212 table. Kudos again to Calvin and all the fine folks I interacted with at Crutchfield!

Pros: Quality cartridge at an affordable price. Super easy set-up.

Cons: Crutchfield should offer a turntable protractor and a digital tracking scale for sale on their website. Yes, you can get by without them, but if you are making this type of investment, you really want to be sure it's set up correctly. Both are very affordable on the internet. They would be great add-on sales for Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent cartridge...well worth it!

Rian from Folsom, CA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on my ProJect 5.1se after my sumiko blue point #2 broke...I got it all aligned/and went to adjust tracking force and could only get it to max out at 1.62 grams. Forgot to add a little metal plate between cart and arm. So had to do that process all over again, but that fixed the issue. I am tracking at 2.13g and it sounds great. Pretty punchy, and I actually prefer it to the Blue Point #2 for my setup. The Blue Point has a little better stereo separation, but almost sounded too cd like to my ears. For my tastes, I feel the two MC carts I've tried/Dennon DL-110, are maybe a bit too clinical for me.

Pros: clarity warmth punch no IGD

Cons: make sure you have enough weight for tracking force.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first upgrade to my Teac 300. I can hear the difference. Thanks to the Crutchfield rep that helped me select it. I always trust Crutchfield and love the lifetime support.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Olympia Cartridge

Doug from Grand Junction, CO on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a new Grado Prestige Red2 cartridge with the Sumiko Olympia cartridge. The sound is quite similar, altho the Grado specs say Frequency Response: 10-55K Hz, and the Sumiko says Frequency response 12-30K Hz. My old ears can't hear the difference. Both cartridges sound very nice on my older Carver/Dual CS5000/ADS L810's equipment. However, the Grado picked up quite obvious "motor hum", which increased as the the tonearm moved closer to the middle of the vinyl. The Sumiko is totally quiet...no "motor hum". A big improvement...well worth the cost of the cartridge. I really like the fact that the top of the Sumiko is threaded so that you don't have to fumble with those small nuts to install it on the headshell. The installation screws are hex head and an Allen wrench is included in the cute little wooden box.

Pros: Sounds great. Pretty easy to set up.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP