Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sumiko Oyster

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Oyster

Sumiko Oyster

Sumiko Oyster

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Oyster

10 reviews
View this product

Sumiko Oyster

Crutchfield customer from North Falmouth, MA on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have Marantz model 6150 turntable, which I have not used for more than 25 years. I needed a new stylus and I wasn't certain how well it would work. I was encouraged by two of your advisors (Alison and Antonio) to try the Sumiko Oyster. I am happy to say it is working just fine and I have started playing my vinyl records again. Some additional comments: Without removing the cartridge shell, the cartridge was difficult to install. I did not know how to remove the shell, so I left it attached to the arm while I installed the cartridge. That was difficult. No installation instructions (or stylus brush were provided with the cartridge). Perhaps these items are not included with the purchase. I was able to find instructions on line and combining these with my instructions for Marantz, I was able to complete the setup. The arm and cartridge appear to be parallel to the turntable but I am still uncertain on how to make that adjustment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck.

Guest from Richmond, VA on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. The sound is a little thin, but it is well balanced. It does not have the hum associated with some competitors. Detail and separation are excellent.

Pros: Detail Separation Cosr

Cons: Mid-range and bass thin.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Oyster

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With assistance from your team, we found the item. It works very well! Second purchuse from your company. Very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Oyster

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had trouble finding a stylus to fit my very old turntable. Crutchfield came through.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Oyster

Crutchfield customer from Port Ludlow, WA on 10/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cartridge works well but the dimensions were not the same as the old cartridge. Consequently the old screws which secured the cartridge to the arm were too short. New screws of proper length were not included requiring a trip to the local hardware store. I have a Denon DP300-F turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Tight bass, but the midrange distortion = terrible ear fatigue

Luis from Flat Rock, MI on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cartridge was installed and aligned for me by my local record shop. No issues with that whatsoever. My turntable was a Music Hall USB-1 purchased from Crutchfield. I thought the cartridge was an immediate upgrade over my stock cartridge, clearer, more bass and looked decent. But then something would happen. Despite the great tight bass sound after listening to a few records everything would start sounding shrill. I couldn't listen to more than 2 albums in a row without having my enjoyment diminish greatly. I thought it was me, I thought perhaps my hearing was too sensitive for long listening sessions, but when I am at work I can literally listen to music all day through my headphones (NAD Viso HP-50). Something was wrong but I couldn't figure out what. I saw a video review of this cartridge that was done by a very knowledgeable source who has a great equipment review series on youtube and that was it. The thing that was causing my listening fatigue and ringing headaches was the midrange distortion that seems to be a problem with this cartridge. It literally caused me headaches and make my brain feel clouded. It hurt my vinyl listening experience because I was not able to enjoy my records the way I should have. I then changed the cartridge and the difference was night and day. I was able to enjoy my music for long stretches, midrange distortion gone, headaches gone and great sound was achieved.

Pros: Nice bass

Cons: Midrange distortion destroys listening experience

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

More technical information

Richard from Charlevoix, MI on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

I like it but wish they had the Pearl

Z from Stephens City Va on 6/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good needle for a good price.

Pros: Affordable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Nice Replacemant Cartridge

Mahlon from Swoope VA on 2/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I still listen to a fair amount of vinyl, so when I noticed the stylus on my old cartridge was showing excessive wear, I got the Oyster. In the store, the rep was knowledgeable, friendly and accurate in his assessment of this cartridge. It does perform well and compared to the old one, presents a more accurate stereo image - one of the fun things about listening to some of these older recordings is how the engineers/producers set the sound stage.

Pros: Decent price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Oyster replacement cartridge

Steve from North Grafton, MA on 8/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no professional audiophile, but the Sumiko Oyster cartridge is an excellent replacement piece. My old records sound new again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP