Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
958 344 581 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
958 344 581 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Our current email response time is
48-72 hours

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sumiko Pearl

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Pearl

Sumiko Pearl

Sumiko Pearl

Moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # Pearl

62 reviews
View this product

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Shelbyville, IL on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice cartridge. Smooth sounding. Even eliminated vinyl scratch noise. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Wonder Lake, IL on 2/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a scratch and dent cart quite impressive. The key to this cart is setup. When done correctly it will sing. not too analytical not too flavored. Just right when burnt in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

John from Phoenix, AZ on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cartridge was a definite improvement over my previous one. The only change I would like to see are the screws. The provided screws were too short for installation which was frustrating. Fortunately, the screws from the existing cartridge worked. So, in conclusion, add a couple different lengths of screws.

Pros: Great sound, competitive price.

Cons: Screws were too short.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Warren, OH on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was straightforward and did not take long. I also got a headshell to have multiple options. Adjustments for the turntable tonearm were also pretty easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Mahopac, NY on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace an old Empire MM cartridge. The Pearl is an order of magnitude better in channel separation and response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful sound

William from SANTA RSA BCH, FL on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been listening to vinyl since I build my first stereo amp 60 years ago. I also have a large collection of CD's, DVD, Blu-ray, etc. This Sumiko Pearl has given my vinyl collection new life. It is warm, nice output, and very low noise level--love it. It betters my previous Stanton 681EEES.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better Sound

Greg from South Elgin, IL on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was recommended by Crutchfield to upgrade my Audio Technica LP120. This was just the price range I was looking for. Install was pretty easy. There is a nice sound improvement.

Pros: Improved sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great replacement / upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Lutherville, MD on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product, highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, but check before

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, so I received this a couple hours ago and installed on my lunch break. Doesn't take long, but a steady hand. After a couple minutes of play I can tell it sounds much better than what I had. Mind you my stylus was not worn out, but just a basic AT-3600 that came on my Target brand Heyday turntable. So this Sumiko cost more than the whole turntable did. Thing to watch out for, which I didn't and may cause issues later. 1) wire position and connector thickness. Turns out the AT head that I took off had the L/R wires on the top. This one has them on the bottom and the wires didn't have much slack. 2) the thickness of the connectors on the wires. Again the AT head has thicker pins on the back side, where the wires attach. The Sumiko has shorter, thinner pins So I had to squeeze the connectors before pushing them on the Sumiko. The ground wires took that with no problem, but the L/R connectors on the Heyday turntable are weaker and I might have to replace them later. :(

Pros: Great overall sound, especially detail and extension in lows.

Cons: Taller head

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Cartridge

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, WA on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the original cartridge in my old Technics turntable. The improvement is dramatic, greater clarity overall and stereo separation is excellent. New life for my old vinyl...awesome!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this on a rega 3 its a little larger then most (needed longer screws)but it was priced right and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Japan on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brought new life to old records. I'm somewhat of vinyl newbie, but this cartridge had led me to believe it a hobby worth pursuing. Everything sounds crisp and clear throughout the frequency spectrum on my Denon DP-51f.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

jake from Syracuse, NY on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my ADC MK2 with this stylus. Huge difference is sound. Records are more detailed, bass is much lower, and imaging is noticeably better. Does take some burn in time for the stylus to sound its best but even out of the box it sounds great. This is a winner.

Pros: Sounds great with my R series Kef speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Change

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, KY on 8/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference a cartridge can make. My entry level turn table had a basic cartridge installed from the factory. It was just ok, or adequate. The pearl changed the game, now my vinyl comes to life.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl. A Fantastic Cartridge!

Rick from Sioux Falls, SD on 8/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cartridge is awesome. From the moment I set the stylus on the vinyl I was blown away by how good this very reasonably priced cartridge sounded. Incredibly smooth.

Pros: Great sound. Nice Price. Packaged Well.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The cartridge was installed yesterday on my pioneer turntable , and with very limited time , about thirty five minutes of playing time , I found it to be very comfortable to listen to . It isn't brash , the highs seem to be just fine , and separation is very good . The only thing I noticed was a lack of lows , but then with only thirty minutes of playing time , I would imagine the lows might improve with more playing time . Time will tell .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Life For The Old Hitachi

Burt from Irondale, AL on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound, expansive. As usual, crutchfield does not disappoint.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl - Excellent!

Ramon from Rahway, NJ on 5/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sexy looking, and excellent sound! Wide immersive sound. Very impressed with the sound quality for the price.

Pros: Easy to install. Great sound.

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Davis, CA on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!! Really made a difference on my new turntable. Will definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful upgrade!!

Mark from PA on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just upgraded my new Denon DP-300F with the Sumiko Pearl. WOW!!! what a differance. Was worth the price and does exactly what everyone is talking about. Beautiful sound over the original stylus!!!!

Pros: Happy Again!!

Cons: Not really a con ....Just expect to re-adjust the the tonearm balance.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Warren, OH on 2/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Sumiko Pearl to replace an Audio Technica cartridge of similar construction and price range. The AT had a lot of mileage on it but I was still pleased with it's performance. The Pearl was chosen because of Crutchfield's confidence in the product as well as it's many positive reviews. The Pearl turned out to be a definite upgrade. Stereo definition and separation are superior. Crisp instrumentation and vocals are evident with no muddiness at all. An excellent product at a reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Ballwin, MO on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was really impressed with this cartridge. It really performs above its price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Battle Ground, WA on 11/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

much brighter than the stock that came with the table; can't wait to compare with the shure v-15 that I"m awaiting a replacemennt stylus for. thanks for asking

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sounding after 30 + hour break in period.

Don from Murfreesboro, TN on 11/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this cartridge after reading reviews and comparing to similar priced types. Ordered from the outlet as scratch and dent, but was in perfect condition. Arrived quickly and easy mounting to my Techniques SL3350 {1978} turntable, to replace Pickering cartridge also same year. I played several albums and was some harshness in treble and less bass than was used to. But after about 35 hours of break in, the sound is as good as hoped for. Now has excellent warm natural sound in all ranges, with solid and deep bass. Vinyl is still my favorite way to listen to music especially 70s - 80s jazz,{ The Crusaders, Herb Alpert, etc.}. The horns sound great now .Highly recommended in price range. Stylus replacement info. is on Sumiko wed site and can get on Amazon. Thanks Crutchfield. See video on Motorweek.

Pros: Excellent all around warm, natural sound.

Cons: Only had to view setup instructions on Crutchfield.com.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Jeffrey from Richmond, VA on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sumiko Pearl has very nice sound. I replaced an ortofon Red with my Pearl, as the ortofon was way too responsive and actually was not thick enough to properly play some of my newer 180 gr and 200 gr records. Strange, right? Anyhow I understand the Pearl takes some breaking in and I am only at about 10-12 hours on it. The sound is clear, but not as overly brash as the ortofon. I may use the ortofon for some quieter jazz records, but this is my mainstay. The only fault I have with it that it picks crackles and pops a good deal more than either of my previous stylus/cartridges. This has rendered a couple of my old original pressings (Bob Dylan's "pat garrett & billy the Kid"; Mingus "Live at Antibes") virtually unlistenable. Also, the instalation was not as intuitive as I'd hoped, but I figured it out. Mainly, my older cartridges screwed into the head, but this sort of clamps on. All in all a great upgrade cartridge.

Pros: great smooth sound very real sounding

Cons: overly pronounces crackles and pops took a moment to figure out instalation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pearl

Jeffrey from 55044 on 9/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pearl

Pros: Fantastic sound. Relatively easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Nixa, MO on 9/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this cartridge on my vintage '75 Yamaha turntable. Installation was just like the old days. Works fine. I am not an audiophile so I can't credibly comment on the performance. Plus, my preamp is most likely the limiting piece in my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

william from Daytona Beach, FL on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My second Pearl. Crutchfield and all local dealers could not sell me a replacement stylus when I needed one.

Pros: excellent sound separation and clarity to the music.

Cons: Crutchfield and many dealers do not support product. When I needed a replacement stylus, Crutchfield and all the dealers I contacted could not sell me one. This purchase is my second Pearl.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Cart!

Hubie from Mansfield, TX on 5/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I studied long and hard and listened to a few carts and talked with the guys at the record stores and ended up buying the Pearl from Crutchfield. I have about 100 hrs on it and it took 20 or more to settle into the sound with warmth yet vibrant highs with great bass as well. I had a good cart before but this is much better. I don't have the "ear" that some do but this took my music from 2D into 3D, if that makes any sense. Beatles, blues rock, prog rock and bluegrass are all better. Less noise on those records that are less than NM. Very much worth the $120 it costs. Playing it on a technics SL-23 belt drive dialed into perfect speed with a Kenwood KRV-8540, a nice vintage receiver with a phono preamp I am using but nothing special coming out of new Klipsch Reference speakers. It's all good.

Pros: Price, performance, looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Burlingame, CA on 5/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came without instruction/ specs papers,no problem, as I already knew them thanks to your description online. Once mounted and playing it sounded a little harsh, then after a few platters the hifi genie kicked in and it mellowed out, so much so that I'll give it 5 stars

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl is a gem..!

Stephen from Carmichael,Ca on 4/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sumiko Pearl Cartridge and stylus is a top notch novice audiophile offering. This combo will most likely breathe new life into your favorite vinyl selections. The sound presentation is warm and lively, vocals clean and natural, and bass delivered with authority.. Highly recommended !!!

Pros: Great quality... Great value..!!

Cons: Should have tried this fine product earlier..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

love my albums

Robert from New York, NY on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great and was easy to mount on my Dual 510 turntable.

Pros: nice peace

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

How do you like your wine?

Alfredo from Washington, DC on 2/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Think of your wine. You will like to have a full-bodied wine, powerful and big, good tannin balance, well-aged! (You will not go wrong with a good Cabernet!) This is the Sumiko Pearl. I am a long-time Vinyl owner, and a combination of Audiophile and DJ. Needless to say, I have used and tried lots of Carts and needles over the years (from the 70's all the way to the "first" end of the vinyl era - mid 90's). This was my first Sumiko cartridge and in one word, awesome! To me, the sound definition is similar to that of the SHURE M97e, but overall rounded. In my wine analogy, the M97e will definitively fall in the mid-bodied range. Go ahead! You will not be disappointed with this one!

Pros: Excellent balance between highs and lows!

Cons: Noticeable background noise.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Great Cartridge For The Money

Dave from Ann Arbor, MI on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An easy sound upgrade to an old turntable. The cartridge has impressive specs that surpass CD quaility (12-30,000 Hz). I am still breaking the cartridge in, but my vinyl albums sound better already.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, OH on 11/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cartridge sounds good, but unsatisfied with the mounting surface - did not mount totally perpendicular to cartridge holder.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Dan from Reno Nevada on 10/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just insalled on my Audio Tecknica LP 120 turntable along with a leather disc matt . Amazing !!!! Listening to 40 year old LP'S that sound as good as cd's . Crystal clear , no background noise . Glad the 100 + LP collection I have have survived . So along with the Onkyo RZ 800 receiver bought recently from Crutchfield I'm in sound heaven !

Pros: Large improvment over the stock Audio Tecknics

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl for TEAC TN-300 Turntable

Fred from Warwick RI on 6/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a TEAC TN-300 Turntable early 2015, not to replace my Dual CS-500 but to have USB output when wanted. While the Audio Technica cartridge included is not bad at all, I thought a cartridge with greater frequency response might enhance the sound. While it does not disappoint as I can hear a slight difference on selected recordings, if it were priced in the over $300.00 range, it probably would not be worth the investment. However, since it is not a bad ideal to replace an older stylus after a few years of use, this would be a great choice in the price range where it falls.

Pros: Extremely easy to replace the AT95E cartridge on the TEAC TN-300. Very good performance and frequency response.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl Is Outstanding Cartridge

Chris from Los Angeles, CA on 5/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Denon DP-300f turntable, and my ears are pretty particular when it comes to music. The cartridge that comes standard with the 300f is serviceable. It is on the warm side, but stays there a little too much for my taste. I wanted a cartridge that would give me the warmth, but also highlight the mids and highs without becoming to sibilant and piercing. My first attempt was the Ortofon 2M Red which I had read good things about. But when I got it, it veered too far into the highs, and was too sibilant for my taste. So, I returned that (different online store) and came to Crutchfield for advice. As always, they provided terrific guidance, going off my specs. The result was me purchasing the Sumiko Pearl, and man, it has been utterly perfect for me. Exactly what I wanted it to be. Nice warmth, but not sacrificing the upper range. Plus, the separation is really good. I sit there and listen to Abbey Road, and I can hear every instrument on "Here Comes The Sun" as though it was just off the pressing machine. It was also so simple to install. And to boot, I love the way it looks. It has a clean appearance, nice design, that feels modern but also timeless. At some point, I may go for a more expensive cartridge, but for this price point, this cartridge is hard to beat in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

martin from clyde, NC on 3/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace the cartridge that came with my Denon-300 I bought this to replace the cartridge that came with my Denon-300F. The Pearl made a noticeable improvement in sound clarity by bringing out the highs and lows. Very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SUMIKO PEARL

Mike R. from Rushville, OH on 2/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made a heck of an improvement in the sound quality coming out of my little Denon turntable. Well worth the money.

Pros: Much improved sound

Cons: Had some trouble changing out the old for the new cartridge. Small connectors easily bent. Had to use one of the spare connecting wires that came with the turntable.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl Cartridge

Chance from Illinois on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This cartridge has a wider frequency range than the one I was using. The clarity is amazing. The separation with the highs and the bass response is great. I did use a protractor to align the cartridge and set the manufacture recommended tracking force. I did not believe that I could get such an improvement in the sound. You really have to spend a lot more money to beat the frequency range and clarity of this cartridge.

Pros: The best upgrade to my system I have made.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl cartridge

Ray from Georgia on 12/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just replaced the standard Denon cartridge that came with my DP 300 F turntable with a new Sumiko Pearl cartridge. The sound is simply amazing! I have been listening to vinyl for years and I have never heard this much of an improvement in sound! The clarity and bass response is stunning. For the price and quality this cartridge cannot be beat.

Pros: Great price, easy installation and fantastic sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Needs Burn In Time

Fritz F from New York on 10/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Playing this through a Philips 312 turntable I paired with the Cambridge Audio separate phono amp I also reviewed. It took a while for this to grow on me. Fresh out of the box the highs were not so distinct and mid range vocals sounded sound out of place and muddied. As a matter of fact the cartridge that came loose in shipment with the turntable sounded better. After experimenting withe tracking force and giving it about 20-30 hours of break in time the bass was tight and commanding and the vocals are starting to pop. The high end is getting better too, perhaps a little more break in time. All in all a nice cartridge for the money that makes a 42 year turntable sound great.

Pros: Affordable, great distinct bass and aggressive clear vocals.

Cons: Highs are a bit muted and takes a while to burn in.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent value

MarkA from Pennsylvania on 3/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace an old cartridge and fill in until I am willing to spend the money for a new turntable, arm and more expensive cartridge. Tracks pretty well, images pretty well, pretty good bass, pretty natural sound. Just what I needed for a year or so.

Pros: Very good value for the money.

Cons: Slightly edgy highs but not so much as to stop me from listening.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

plamarre from New York on 2/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound! Way better cartridge and stylus than what came with my turntable. Virtually no noise. Brought the old vinyl back to life and then some. I recommend it to anyone.

Pros: Fast shipping, great price, easy to install and excellent sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A Real Pearl

Stove from Bel Air, Maryland on 1/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in the market for a new TT to replace an old 'plastic' Pioneer but was quickly over whelmed by the many choices that are out there. I was also reluctant to upgrade to a better cartridge for fear it would out perform the TT, but I comprised and upgraded my Oyster to see where that would get me and was pleasantly surprised by the Pearl's sound. It has brought new my life to old vinyl. Deeper, richer base, midrange that reaches out and grabs you and clearer highs than I am used to w/ far less sibilance and distortion. Obviously the price can't be beat. If you need a quick, respectable upgrade and don't want to over spend, this is the way to go.

Pros: Inexpensive way to upgrade an old turntable. Great sound for the money!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sumiko Perl

Rick. from Queen Creek,AZ 85142 on 1/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highs &Lows,combined with the music hall usb, sound more like a concert hall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound!

RobertZ from Pennsylvania on 11/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the cartridge, it picks up full spectrum of sound, very pleasing. Plays my old albums without a lot of noise! Just bought a new Denon Turntable, sound great together!!

Pros: reasonable cost, received it in 2 days. easy to hook-up to my new Denon turntable. The Tech expert helped me with my choice, very satisfied!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Good value

Jim from Corpus Christi, TX on 10/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to replace the Sumiko Oyster cartridge that came fitted on my Pro-Ject Xpression Carbon turntable having never replaced a phono cartridge since taking up this hobby centuries ago. After reading through every article and audio forum on the subject I could find, I decided to keep it simple and stayed with the same cartridge maker, opting for the Sumiko Pearl. Big improvement. The enhancement in musical clarity and detail was noticeable and immediate from the moment the stylus touched the record groove, with the most dramatic improvement with live recordings which came alive. Soundstage was open and life like, very good with low frequencies, though I did notice a bit of harshness in the high frequency range on some recordings. With all I've learned about turntables, cartridges, and the like I'm certain there is a more ideal phono cartridge for my Pro-Ject turntable, but for the money the Sumiko Pearl floats my audio enthusiast boat just fine. Again, good value.

Pros: Nice clarity & detail; open soundstage

Cons: High frequencies can sometimes sound a little hard with some recordings

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

The Pearl

Ron M. from Huntsville, AL on 6/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the stylus stands up for itself. not so easy to setup, still not sure if i have the correct settings. however i am still playing records and i love the upgrade.

Pros: worth the upgrade, for listening to nice records. love the sound. looks good.

Cons: little parts, measurements hard, not sure if I have them correct. called in not sure about the info i received, tried it did not work, so I went old school.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

pearl

audiofile from portland, or on 5/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome sound and easy to set up.

Pros: high quality, great value

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sumiko pearl

Roger Main from Portland, Oregon on 4/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding, versatile cartridge. Clear, honest, wide soundstage with great detail. Great for jazz and complex rock like Queen or Pink Floyd. Next best cartridge would cost $300.

Pros: Price, ability to replace stylus for $60, sound quality.

Cons: Needs a tube preamp to really show it's prowess. (I added a Pro-Ject tube box II).

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl Cartridge

FlyMike55 from Baker, FL on 1/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything it promised to be from Crutchfield listing. Has brought new life to our Technics SL1200 MkII turntable. Sound reproduction and spurious noise rejection is excellent.

Pros: Excellent price point and cost/performance value. Comes with stylus protector and needle cleaning brush.

Cons: Lacks dimensional data which is required for Technics tone arm setup.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A Great Cartridge at a reasonable Price

LynnV from Salem, Oregon on 9/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgraded my turntable by purchasing a VPI Traveler ($1400), which does not come with a cartridge. On a modest budget, I had no desire to spend another $600 - $800, but wanted a cartridge which would bring out the sonic qualities of the turntable. I purchased the Sumiko Pearl ($125), thinking it would be a good starting cartridge which I could upgrade later when I have more funds. After setting up the cartridge, I am amazed at the sonic clarity and detail this cartridge produces. Highs are crisp and clear without being too bright, bass is detailed and ample. Vocals come through very detailed and clear without any undue sibilance. I am so pleased with the musicality of this cartridge, at its very modest modest price point, I have no need to upgrade. Truly a great product at a very reasonable price.

Pros: Very reasonable price, great entry-level cartridge. set up instructions were easy to follow.

Cons: Mounting screws almost not long enough to install the cartridge.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Good Cartridge

jat3 from fort worth tx on 9/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sumiko Pearl is a good cartridge at a good price, especially when used on the Technics SL-1200mk2. The Pearl's compliance matches well with the SL-1200mk2's tonearm mass, and, when mounted in the Audio Technica MG-10 magnesium headshell, using the forewardmost set of threads, alignment is perfect, per the Technics supplied alignment tool. This a real boon for those of us who despise the job of accurate cartridge alignment. Level the turntable, balance the arm, set VTF to 2 grams, arm height level with record surface, adjust cueing height to your preference, dial-in 2.2 grams of anti-skate, and you're home free.

Pros: Good sound, and easy installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl phoho cartridge

Martin from Thief River Falls, MN on 5/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sumiko Pearl phono cartridge does a nice job of relayuing the music from my lps to my receiver, speakers, ect. The phono cartridge was easy to install and it came with the longer bolts, washers, and nuts. Which I needed. But you have to look for them. There hidden in the bottom of the box the phono cartridge came in. Again I like the Sumiko Pearl phono cartridge. It is a nice match to my Technics SL-5200 turntable ( OLDIE BUT GOODIE )..

Pros: Sounds NICE. All parts included. Easy installation. Very HAPPY with my purchase.

Cons: Had longer bolts from a previous cartridge that I used. Found the bolts that came with the phono cartridge two days later when I was going through the cartridge box before disposal...Hidden compartment in the bottom of the box.Cartridge could use some horozantial lines across its top surface to make the alaginment of the cartridge a little easer. All-N-ALL the Sumiko Pearl is a nice phono cartridge.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sumiko Pearl

Crutchfield customer from mililani, hi on 4/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and picks up the sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Returning the old to new

John G from Forestville, Maryland on 1/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After replacing my old cartridge with the Sumiko Pearl,it was musical nirvava,I have album's that are forty-plus year's old,and the sound that came out of my speaker's was unbelieveable!

Pros: Sound reproduction

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Sound Reproduction

CPW from Hazel Green,AL on 10/7/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a Shure cartridge and I am very pleased with the sound reproduction of the Sumiko Pearl. I have a lot of vinyl that I have taken care of over the years and was thrilled by the Sumiko Pearl. Great product and I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros: Great sound reproduction

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Best Value

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smooth sound across the spectrum without any frequency being overloaded. You won't be disappointed here.

Pros: Good bang for the buck.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Cartridge

Shermanm4 from Lakewood, CO on 2/7/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent cartridge, beats my reference champ the Shure M97xe. Smooth as the shure, but more detail.

Pros: Price, sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP