Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Grado RS2e

Reference Series on-ear headphones

MFR # RS2e

Grado RS2e

Grado RS2e

Reference Series on-ear headphones

MFR # RS2e

11 reviews
View this product

Very good overall.

Mel from Kensington, MD on 9/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to upgrade from a pair of Grado SR125i's. Build quality is about the same, although the ear cushions have been made more dense, so I don't anticipate them tearing like the ones on the SR125i's. The leather headband is more comfortable than the vinyl one on the SR125i's, but the ear cushions still sit on my ear and cause some discomfort after about an hour of listening. Sonically, the soundstaging, imaging, and resolution are noticeably superior. The RS2e's are also more neutral and better balanced throughout the frequency range. The only problem is that the bass lacks impact. This is especially noticeable on hard rock music. The music sounds a little "lightweight" compared to my SR125i's. These headphones are also not forgiving of overly bright recordings, though I don't expect them to be given their accuracy. Overall, I recommend the RS2e's to most people, but not to people who love pounding bass that you can really feel. I will be keeping my SR125i's to use with a small amount of my rock music.

Pros: Neutrality, resolution, soundstaging, and imaging.

Cons: Somewhat lacking in bass impact.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Grado RS2e

Peter from Michigan on 2/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like these headphones. I did not find them as uncomfortable as some people. I like the art flow and the lack of leather on my head around the ears. The sound is great. Feel very open and I like the brightness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Grado RS2e

Carolyn from Cortland, NY on 7/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality of these headphones is excellent. I am not sure about the build and comfort. I have used more comfortable headphones and have used better looking ones. It remains to be seen if all these factors translate into a total positive feeling. The biggest problem i have at the moment is that I ordered to extra cord along with the headphones. This item was to ship on July 27th. I got a message from Crutchfield that the manufacturer would not give any estimated time of arrival. I ordered both these items at one time and am very disappointed that the cord may not ever be delivered.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: Design and comfort. Cord extension ordered not delivered.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 16 found this helpful

Great sounding haedphones

JNR from Rochester NY on 12/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Detailed mid and high with pleasant bass. I tried it with several different type of music (classical, jazz, rock, acoustic) with high definition recordings. They all produced great sound.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Cable is quite bulky and heavy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent RS2e

Dinero57 from Hawaii on 11/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent headphones. Sound quality is absolutely amazing, even my wife that doesn't listen to headphones said, "oh wow, it's so clear, the voices are so detailed that it feels like your in the concert". What I loved the most too is, it's so easy to drive. I use it on my phone, my laptop & my iMac. But, of course, it sounded its best with amplifier (NAD C356Dac). Although, it hurts my right ear during long session, it's a given because the cups sits on top of your ears & also the cable is not that long & thicker than most headphones. Not a big deal for me, I am pleased with the sound quality & that is the reason why I bought it. I love it very much & it will be on my possession for a very long time.

Pros: Amazing sound quality & easy to drive.

Cons: Hurts my ear during long session. Cable is short & too thick.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing - love them

Andrew from California on 10/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the headphones. Use them for music, drumming, studio work, and of course leisure! They are suitable for all !

Pros:

Cons: I am getting used to the ear piece , but I have big ears, that don't have normal folds, so i find sometimes they sit awkward on my ear... However it sounds this is my own CON haha, nevertheless they are still very comfortable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great!

Nick from New York, NY on 4/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My second pair of Grados. Fantastic sound quality, across volume levels. I listen mostly to classic rock, blues, etc. and have found myself rediscovering my favorite albums. Grado claims these are sonically neutral, and I agree. This may not make these headphones for everyone, as the bass may not hit as hard as some would prefer. Also, beware that the quality of your music source from master through the amp matters - any impurities are much more noticeable given the accuracy of these cans.

Pros: Accurate sound quality. Hand-made (can't beat the smell of the leather and wood after opening the box!). Look great sitting in the stand on my desk.

Cons: Other reviews will say these are not the most comfortable headphones. This is true, but I did not experience any soreness after listening for a couple of hours. One small gripe: The cord is a little heavy. I know this is supposed to be a higher quality cord, but it seems to be slight overkill.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

RS2e

Walt C from Riverside NJ on 4/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RS2e is a great sounding headphone.

Pros: True sounding.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Grado RS2e

DavidA from Hawaii on 3/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these for a few weeks now and what can I say, compared to my SR-225e these are in a different class in sound stage and sound signature. The highs are so smooth and the bass is deeper and fuller than the SR-225e. .

Pros: One of the great things about these headphones is that they can be used with a portable DAP like a Fiio X1 or X3 and sound pretty good. These have a place in my collection of headphones for their unique sound signature and presentation. Other headphones that I currently have include Audeze LCD-2f, HIFIMAN HE-560/400i/400, Shure SRH-1840, Sennheiser HD-700, 650, 598, 455, 239, Momentum on-ear/over-ear, V-Moda XS, Fidelio X1 & L1, Sony MDR-1A & MRD-7506, and Stax SRD-34. Going to an upscale DAC

Cons: Bad points for this headphone is the cable is a little too short for how my listening area is setup and its also too heavy for such a light headphone. The other area that have people on the fence is the comfort of the ear pads, I find that if I place them with the top of the pad on the top of my ears they seem to be comfortable enough to use for 2-3 hrs, acceptable but not great. If you want great comfort, get a HD-700 or Sony MDR-1A. Also, like the SR-225e they have zero noise isolation.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Ruined other headphones for me

cperrey from Victoria, MN on 9/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best sounding headphones I've ever heard. They are amazing for strings and mid-tone instruments, really drawing them out. They have surprising bass kick but it is tight and not overpowering. Since getting them I find myself re-listening to music I own to see what really is there. The build quality is good and there is a tactile quality with the wood that I haven't had with a set of headphones before. The cord is very thick and shows the quality of the product. As for fit, these sit more or less over my ear but not enough to be considered "over the ear". I find them comfortable enough but not so much that I could wear them all day. I find myself adjusting them after an hour or so to alter the touch points. They have no noise reduction, which is why I gave them 1/5. Overall, if you are looking for a great set of headphones that will bring your music to life, these are a quality pick. Build quality is amazing and the sound astounding. Don't get them if you want to be satisfied with your old headphones.

Pros: Great sound, warmth and presence. Surprising bass.

Cons: Fit might not be for everyone. Heavy cord is not as flexible as some might like.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great warm smooth detailed sound

Mark A from New Hyde Park, NY on 7/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cult following Grado's. Handmade in Brooklyn NY USA. Beautiful, detailed high resolution sound. Must be heard to be believed. Be sure to give them several hours to break in, as the sound will bloom and warm up with time. The mahogany on these phones adds a touch of elegance and contributes to their incredible warm and detailed sound.

Pros: The sound!

Cons: The cord is way too short - it's 6 feet long at best.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

TOP