Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
175 386 051 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
175 386 051 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Connect an iDatalink-ready receiver and retain steering wheel controls, factory amp and sub, and backup camera in select 2008-2014 Subaru vehicles

MFR # HRN-RR-SU1

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Connect an iDatalink-ready receiver and retain steering wheel controls, factory amp and sub, and backup camera in select 2008-2014 Subaru vehicles

MFR # HRN-RR-SU1

22 reviews
View this product

Worked Great except camera issue

Michael from Kent, WA on 1/21/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great and was easy to install. The iDatalink website had great instructions. My only issue was that on my specific Impreza the backup camera harness didn't match the harness that it came with. After talking to Crutchfield they explained that I had a rare issue and they sent me instructions on how to fix it.

Pros: Able to retain my backup camera and steering wheel controls

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great! And thanks for helping me set it up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from Streator, IL on 8/3/2019

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Confusingly unlabled cables

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake, IL on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Contains thing they think you'll need, but a lot of what you won't need as well and non of it is labeled. The saving grace is the datalink stuff works and the call center is very helpful.

Pros: Maybe you'll need something in this pile of cable, but probably not all of it. The saving grace is the datalink stuff works and the call center is very helpful.

Cons: Confusingly unlabled cables. Expect ambiguos to non existent cabling instructions and to have several extra cables you don't need.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from Brady, MT on 6/10/2019

2014 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paid for the connection service and it was well worth the $ as everything came correctly connected. It would have been extremely difficult to follow the wiring directions from scratch. Everything connected correctly and easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy setup.

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 6/9/2019

2014 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I opted for Crutchfield to wire up the harnesses, and I'm really happy with the result. Hookup was easy, only trouble was some harness confusion due to the fact that my car is a manual transmission, and that wasn't a documented setup. But a quick call to the tech-support line cleared it up and in very little time my new HU was setup and working.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Aaron from Cleveland, TN on 12/9/2018

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. However the directions could have been a bit more descriptive, basically a schematic minus labeling. Get a professional if you are not savy in this kind of work. Overall aside from direction great product

Pros: Retained factory controls. Operates like a factory install

Cons: Install directions could have been better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield is Wrong!

Samuel from Vista, CA on 9/1/2018

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2012 impreza non nav-6 speaker set up because the idatalink website directed me to use this harness. This website and even a rep i spoke to via the live online chat said this harness didn't fit my car. I decided to trust the manufacturer over the crutchfield people. Long Behold the harness is a PERFECT fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked almost perfectly

Steve from Weymouth, MA on 8/20/2018

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness worked fine with the exception that the backup camera won't work in my particular Outback model with the sunroof and backup display in the rearview mirror. I had to go to the manufacturer's forum to figure this out. The documentation didn't cover this detail. The rest of the connections worked as expected and the integration of the Maestro RR worked well for the steering wheel controls and automotive info with my Kenwood head unit.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Backup camera connections don't work in some models and the documentation didn't clarify this.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 6/27/2018

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple install works on a 2015 wrx

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 6/25/2018

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great so far with my installation for my Pioneer AVH-4201NEX

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Daniel from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/1/2018

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit works great on my 2013 Subaru STi , a must have to complete the installation on a new stereo!!

Pros: Gave complete steering wheel controls for the new stereo with additional features of your car gauges etc.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 5/18/2018

2010 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Bryan from Katy, TX on 4/27/2018

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needs better install instructions 1. No mention that the mic that came with the radio needed to be installed separately - seems a little weird that the factory mic cannot be used. 2. Audio connection from Idatallink module did not show how to connect to the Pioneer radio - the radio does not have an audio auxiliary connection?? 3. The instructions stated to connect the pink wire on the idatalink harness to the pink wire on the Pioneer harness - the pink wire is not present on the Pioneer harness - possibly should have mentioned "if present on the radio harness" 4. The app to flash the idatalink module needs to be upgraded - it would not work with a modern browser or Windows 10 - this is a amjor issue as I do not have any Windows 7 computers at home - I had to borrow one from a neighbor So the install is done but it was problematic and went poorly due to the poor instructions and outdated software. Crutchfield's Tech help line was instrumental in resolving the issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great setup

Luis from Davie, FL on 2/14/2018

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product , it's perfect if you want to do a DIY installation and have a nice setup without unmatched cables .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from Jamestown, NY on 12/24/2017

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness, wish it was available sooner. On 2014 Impreza WRX, retains all steering wheel buttons and adds many gauges (in conjunction with iDatalink module). Also reads tpms and check engine codes via obdii. Simple, almost plug and play install. Does not include USB or line in connections. I sourced these from other online retailers. As these are not available from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Mike B from Evans, GA on 12/19/2017

2010 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected, extra connections for your unique install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect kit for '14 WRX

Josh from Torrance, CA on 12/17/2017

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this harness to install a Kenwood unit into my 2014 WRX hatch w/ factory subwoofer non-navigation, and backup camera. You may not need all of the wiring hookups for your install, but it was nice to have them in the event I did. Nothing worse than tearing apart your car to realize you need 1-2 more parts. The OBD2 port gives you gauge connectivity on most Kenwood units, which is great and this particular harness allowed me to keep my factory underseat subwoofer without any issues. If you have a factory camera this may or may not be useful for you. I had a custom made wiring connector for my camera connect into a OEM headunit, and ended up having to just strip that harness down to the RCA video cable, reverse signal cable, and the power cable because the Kenwood unit had a RCA plug and reverse signal wire ready to splice into the car's existing wiring.

Pros: Quality wiring Gives you the maximum number of features for your new head unit Keeps most if not all of factory functionality (subwoofers, cameras, etc.)

Cons: Somewhat of a tedious install Camera harness included may not work if you have a custom harness already in place.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Harness worked for Subaru Forester 2013

Crutchfield customer from New Canaan, CT on 12/17/2017

2013 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great harness. Did what I needed and enabled my idatalink to enable my steering wheel controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU1

Crutchfield customer from Severn, MD on 12/4/2017

2007 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works but not needed for a 2007 Legacy or 2008 Outback. Has all the connectors but most features of these cars aren't compatible. Just get an OBD2 splitter and use the stock wiring harness with the Maestro Rr. If you have a newer car, I wouldn't hesitate to get and use this harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good harness

Crutchfield customer from London, KY on 11/5/2017

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Harness is well made and made the Maestro integration easy. it came with a lot of extra stuff for other models. I would have liked for it to come with the USB adapter but since that has nothing to do with the Maestro I cant complain. It still requires you to fish fro the back up cable for the camera but one thing that is very useful is that it provides the VSS cable from the maestro so you don't have to look for it behind the console. This is a big deal since it keeps you from having to splice into more of the cars cables.

Pros: Easy to install. Lots of functionality. Provides Subaru support to the Maestro RR which is a great product.

Cons: Still requires other adapters to complete the installation. However these are not related to the Maestro. Extra expense on nan already expensive add on (although worth it to me)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easier install, extra features

Ed from Ann Arbor, MI on 10/10/2017

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally installed my aftermarket HU using a standard harness provided by Crutchfield. While troubleshooting an issue I discovered that the SU1 harness was just released by iDatalink, and that it expanded the capabilities of my Maestro RR to include vehicle data like TPMS, voltage, check engine codes, and door ajar info. Having installed the Maestro RR both without and with the SU1 in my 2011 Outback, I can say that the SU1 made for a slightly cleaner/easier installation (though not much). During initial installation with standard harness I had to locate and tap into my tail light wiring, but the SU1 provided that via OBDII connector. While I was disappointed I needed to spend additional money, I would still recommend it for the minor convenience and additional feature it provides.

Pros: Additional vehicle data (TPMS, voltage, door ajar, check engine), easier installation

Cons: Extra expense

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP