Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Retain the factory steering wheel audio controls and other factory features with an iDatalink-ready car stereo in select 2012-up Subaru vehicles (ADS-MRR module also required)

MFR # HRN-RR-SU2

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Retain the factory steering wheel audio controls and other factory features with an iDatalink-ready car stereo in select 2012-up Subaru vehicles (ADS-MRR module also required)

MFR # HRN-RR-SU2

36 reviews
View this product

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Whitsett, NC on 1/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you need and then some!

Pros: All the connections you need.

Cons: The extra wiring and connections left over had me nervous, however at the end of the install instructions there is a list of items not used.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simplified Installation

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Hill, TX on 1/11/2021

2014 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had everything I needed and Crutchfield's wiring instructions made installation much easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Westmont, IL on 12/5/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Detailed instructions and high quality components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 11/26/2020

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness worked perfectly as intended, I was able to retain my backup camera and along with maestro module I retained all my steering wheel controls. My car was a Subaru WRX 2016 without the Harmon kardon

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great harness for Subarus

Crutchfield customer from Wenatchee, WA on 9/29/2020

2018 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Harness for installing my aftermarket head unit into my STI. Came with everything needed and splicing the wiring was pretty easy to do.

Pros: Easy installation, great quality, comes with everything needed.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Audubon, MN on 9/13/2020

2014 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

make the install a 100 times faster and easier

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Camby, IN on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made wiring a breeze.

Pros: Made wiring a breeze.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2017 WRX

Crutchfield customer from Collinsville, VA on 8/8/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired up perfectly with my car's oem harness. Took me about 20 min to connect all the wires to the radio.

Pros: match oem harness

Cons: lots of wires

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln Univ, PA on 6/4/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Easy plug and play with detailed, colored wire diagram. I was able to keep all factory steering wheel controls for my '17 wrx with an aftermarket pioneer 2660 Nex.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great!

Crutchfield customer from Lisle, NY on 5/9/2020

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, if its your first time don't be afraid just follow the instructions.

Pros:

Cons: Intimidating at first. Then it turned out to be fun!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pay extra for the harness build!! This was no easy "Plug and Play"

Crutchfield customer from Encinitas, CA on 4/10/2020

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so glad that I paid for the harness build from Crutchfield, because even then this thing was impossible to figure out. The installation instructions from Crutchfield were so minimal that unless you're doing this stuff day-in-day-out, it would take a very long time to both figure it out and then to do the actual build. I am so grateful that they had patient people on the other side to help me walk through it. The diagram that comes with the harness was so confusing and inadequate. Additionally, because I paid extra for the build, all the extra wires in this item just served to confuse even more.

Pros: Everything you need

Cons: Lots of stuff you don't need if you get the pre-built harness - super confusing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Everything you need

Ian from ATKINSON, NH on 4/10/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the wiring harness you need to connect your aftermarket head unit (assuming you get the Maestro RR module as well) to the factory vehicle harnesses in the dash. The harness is basically plug and play; you only have to crimp or solder the like-colored connections from this harness to your aftermarket head unit harness (which is laid out in the PDF instructions on the Maestro website) and plug into the vehicle-side harness. On my 2017 Subaru WRX, this harness allowed me to retain my steering wheel controls and OEM backup camera (this harness takes care of the 12V to 6V step-down needed in several Subarus to retain usability of the OEM camera). Install was confusing at times, since there were several bundles of wires that came with the harness that I didn't need, but this is probably to accommodate several car models. Overall, everything works as it should.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 3/26/2020

2014 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the harness is a good deal. It makes the installation a lot easier than having to figure out which wire on the car goes to which wire on the radio harness. The only reason I give this 4 stars is that the wiring harness can be a little confusing. The harness apparently is used for many different versions of Subaru Outbacks, and maybe other Subaru models in general; I'm not sure. As a result, there are a lot of connections which are unneeded for the stereo set-up in our car. The directions are not completely clear about that, so I was a bit overwhelmed when I plugged in the wires I needed, and had a bunch of stuff left over. Thankfully a call to the Crutchfield help line cleared that up quickly. The wiring harness appears to be of high quality, and I really liked that the plug colors match those on the car. That color coding made it a lot easier to figure out "what goes where."

Pros: Ease of connections Plenty of wire length - no need to stretch anything Solid support when I had questions

Cons: "Extra" wires not needed for my car Directions could be a little more clear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Ricky T. from Eden, UT on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was easy and it works as advertised.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, NC on 3/5/2020

2013 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Berlin Heights, OH on 3/3/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as intended. Depending on your Subaru model and options you will end up with extra cables since it is designed as a universal kit for multiple models.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product but check your RR module first.

Crutchfield customer from Altoona, IA on 1/8/2020

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, except that I had a 256 RR module instead of a 512 module. This harness CANNOT work with a 256. So, check the back of the module before buying this and see if there is a (256) or (512). Otherwise, good quality and simple installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wire harness was well put together and easy to work with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Constantia, NY on 11/26/2019

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I needed for the install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Blackstone, MA on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easiest way to wire

Pros: easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Point Roberts, WA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I feel weird reviewing a bunmch of wires. I needed them to make my stereo work. Crutchfield attached what was necessary to their harness. It was all worth while, and seems like good quality. I would buy it again if Crutfield said I needed it for another installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Red Hill, PA on 7/27/2019

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great match

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 7/1/2019

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness seemed pretty hard to wire up properly so I paid the additional money for Crutchfield to wire it for me.. beat decision I've ever made.. came professionally wired up and it was a plug and play type of situation after I got all my products..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ok

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 6/3/2019

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for the job. Wish came with YouTube video. Firmware update software has problems.

Pros: Puts every in one place.

Cons: Did not go down to enough detail. And no YouTube video from manufacturers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2017 Subaru WRX

Crutchfield customer from Demotte, IN on 4/30/2019

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the head unit install a whole lot easier, definitely recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome harness, worked like a champ!

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 2/15/2019

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness worked like a champ! I was able to install in a day, and although there was one part I was unsure of, the idatalink support staff answered my question immediately. Would definitely use this again on my next install

Pros: Easy to install, worked, great technical support

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 2/3/2019

2017 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! I prefer to untape everything and bundle it so it is more compact when it comes to shoving everything into the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's a harness

Crutchfield customer from North Olmsted, OH on 1/25/2019

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

had to modify the harness to work with manual cars in order to get into setup of an alpine ilx-f309. Also, had to use the OBD2 port to keep the rear-view camera functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ez install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Jeff from Beaverton, OR on 1/1/2019

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly for my 2015 Forester. It took a little time to sort out which cable went where, which ones weren't going to be used, etc. So glad I paid extra to have Crutchfield do the wiring for me (ReadyHarness service).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

pre connecorized harness

John from Union, KY on 12/14/2018

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is for the assembly harness that Crutchfield made all the connections for me so that it was literally a plug and play install. Having done multiple stereo installs through the years I will simply say this is a game changer. I will never do another install without this option. Having Crutchfield solder the connections in a bench environment with heat shrink tubing is a far superior solution than wire nuts and electrical tape at my kitchen table. Such a bargain and time saver, highly recommend!

Pros: fast, simple and superior connections that support a quick plug and play install. love it and will never do another install without it.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 12/7/2018

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything fit as it should. But was very grateful for the excellent help from the Crutchfield support phone line. Couldn't have done it without them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-SU2 Interface Harness

Carlos from Lutz, FL on 11/9/2018

2016 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Poor quality, returned

Guest from Houston on 10/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a simple harness but nonetheless, this was so poorly made that it was shifting and needed to be returned/ replaced. Second one also returned. Had to return the radio too as this seems to be the only game in town for interface modules.

Pros: The harnesses look good

Cons: Defective wiring, was returned.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Makes wiring easier. Necessary.

Eric from Manchestr Ctr , VT on 9/6/2018

2017 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the magic that lets you wire your radio to your car from the comfort of your kitchen table. Another necessary device but it works well. The instructions are not in the box, you have to go to the iDatalink website to get specific wiring instructions for your car. It looks like you are building a spaceship, but the PDF instructions are well laid out. I printed it in color to help with the wiring. I used shrink-wrap over the connections to make it look professional. Electrical tape is not preferred because it gets so hot behind the radio that electrical tape will be a mess and possibly come undone. Use shrink wrap. You can also get a BIG shrink wrap to cover the entire bundle after shrink-wrapping each individual wire. That will REALLY look professional and be easier to manage. For my Subaru I had 19 wires to connect and heat-shrink. This also has an ODBII cable to connect to compatible headunits. Pretty cool. On the Kenwood, you can display analog gauges for temperature, pressure, RPM, speed, some other stuff. I thought I read somewhere that you can download additional gauges for the Kenwood including a "track-day" package. Between this wiring harness and the Maestro interface module box (also required), it's a miracle all that stuff fit behind the radio. It is SO jammed back there, there is no more room for even a single wire. That's why shrink-wrap is the way to go, to make sure your wiring connections don't come undone when you stuff ever

Pros: Professional wiring harness. Instructions are good but you need to download the PDF from iDatalink.

Cons: Includes Starlink cable for Subaru but my Starlink didn't connect to my radio. Not sure who's fault that is, so I didn't take off a star. Subaru built-in mic didn't work either. I had to use the mic that came with the Kenwood. Again, not sure who is to blame here but I think it's Subaru because their mic wire is proprietary, not a mini-stereo type jack.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You need this harness

Bryan from Locust Grove, VA on 7/23/2018

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness made install super easy with the parking brake wire built in

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP