Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
368 317 031 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
368 317 031 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Connect a new car stereo and retain steering wheel controls in select 2009-up Volkswagen vehicles (ADS-MRR module also required)

MFR # HRN-RR-VW1

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Connect a new car stereo and retain steering wheel controls in select 2009-up Volkswagen vehicles (ADS-MRR module also required)

MFR # HRN-RR-VW1

29 reviews
View this product

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Madison, TN on 12/14/2019

2007 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as it should

Pros: made installation easier

Cons: NO CONS

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Medway, MA on 11/18/2019

2012 Volkswagen Tiguan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works flawlessly.it was easy to install made converting factory to aftermarket head unit a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 11/4/2019

2010 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great interface

Pros: Everything you need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, MO on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didnt work for my audi

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 6/10/2019

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. The labels on the wires were a real nice touch that helped speed up everything once we got to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 5/6/2019

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit easy set with the Crutchfield pre wiring service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product but no rear camera support

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 5/3/2019

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did what it was supposed to do. The only thing that could be better is an integrated rear camera adapter.

Pros: Easy install, clear directions

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hamersville, OH on 4/28/2019

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good

Pros: Good

Cons: Need the box with it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Iselin, NJ on 4/4/2019

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Brookville, OH on 3/12/2019

2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The iDatalink works intermittently. The multifunction display does not always have the audio/radio menu. Sometimes, the displays shows and then quickly changes to vehicle information. Or, the audio menu does not display at all. Other times, the audio menu works. Without the audio menu, I cannot see the vehicle gage information on the radio display. While I don't use the OBII input often, I do like having the ability to see the audio menu while using Google Maps or Waze. This is more of an annoyance since I can toggle between screens on the radio. I just should not have to do that...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Chris from Raleigh, NC on 1/27/2019

2010 Volkswagen Tiguan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This does exactly what is says it will do. Easy to program. Make sure you have room behind your head unit though!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Tomball, TX on 1/27/2019

2011 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness is very easy to understand and straight forward

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Walnut Creek, CA on 11/13/2018

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does the job!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, TX on 9/30/2018

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connectors matched perfectly with both VW radio connector and iDatalink module. Wire colors matched new Pioneer stereo's wire harness, so along with the schematic in the detailed instructions, making connections was simple and quick. OBD-II plug was already installed on harness for those who might choose to plug it in rather than splice it in to the OEM wires behind it as I did (instructions were included). Also, there is PLENTY of room behind the stereo in the VW Jetta's dash for the extra connectors and the iDatalink Maestro ADS-MRR module.

Pros: Direct connection between OEM connectors and iDatalink Maestro ADS-MRR

Cons: Splicing into stereo's pigtail required, but pretty quick and easy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Jake from Cincinnati, OH on 9/2/2018

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works as intended.

Pros: Works great

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Roger from Chula Vista, CA on 5/27/2018

2008 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, very convenient to use. I was able to use use steering wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellyn, IL on 5/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well ,it does what's suppose to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It worked

Bill from Carlsbad, CA on 5/19/2018

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked. Highly recommend the pre-wiring service offered by Crutchfield - big help!

Pros: Seamless integration with the 2011 Jetta's steering wheel controls and the iLX-107

Cons: Flashing with Microsoft Explorer ONLY Instructions not the best Lots of wiring connections

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple interface

Matthew from Norton Shores, MI on 4/27/2018

2011 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is awesome, it made after market stereo install so simple. Used it for VW GTI, it retains all stock features of the car, and added so much more for the compatible stereo, now have engine diagnostics on my stereo. This is a must have for newer vehicles.

Pros: Plug and play for specific vehicle. Retain all stock features, and steering wheel controls. Customizable.

Cons: Need windows based computer. Wish it worked with Mac.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Kenneth from Pahrump, NV on 12/31/2017

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I paid extra to have the techs wire everything up for me, so I'm not sure how good the diagrams are, but the techs wired everything up great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 4/24/2017

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very helpful harness. Avoided having to cut and splice a bunch of wires. There is still one piece i do not know where to attach. I'll have to call Crutchfield and ask.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Roald from El Paso, TX on 4/3/2017

2013 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was everything I needed to install my Pioneer AVIC 5200 on my 2011 VW GTI Autobahn edition with Dynaudio System. it matched up perfectly with my OEM harness and my iDatalink Maestro RR. I am very pleased with this harness.

Pros: Helps you to do a Plug and Play installation

Cons: Has so many extras that make the Harness bulky. Not a big deal when you have so much room like in the GTI.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink HRN-RR-VW1 Interface Harness

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 3/26/2017

2010 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected, soldered mine to the Pioneer harness for a worry free installation, having difficulty getting the OBD2 wiring to work but I am working with iDatalink on that issue

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Aaron from Chattanooga, TN on 1/23/2017

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works with a 2013 Jetta Sportwagen, but idatalink's website doesn't list the wagon separately from the sedan, so Crutchfield doesn't list it as fitting. The Crutchfield advisor didn't know, so I called the manufacturer to confirm. Installed and works great.

Pros: Very easy to use.

Cons: The instructions didn't seem to match the product exactly. They mentioned RCA cables and another "white" connection, but I just ignored all that and it works great.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Enjoying it!

Randall from Chattanooga, TN on 12/29/2016

2015 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! Works like a charm. Installed in my 2015 Volkswagen Passat with the JVC KVM-8020BT

Pros: Nicely integrated.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits and Works Great

Robert from Los Angeles, CA on 7/5/2016

2011 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness worked well and matched up with the GTI. I was surprised at how many interfaces the OEM VW radio connector had, even though the OEM radio didn't use some of them. I think the Audi and VW share the same wiring harnesses in their vehicles. Wires for the backup camera (not in my GTI), an audio IN (into the Pioneer HU) but I couldn't figure out what audio source was in the car, parking brake and reverse (what a relief I didn't have to run those wires separately), power-on signal for a separate amp, stuff like that.

Pros: Had all the right wires and connectors. Wiring diagram matched.

Cons: Bulky, slightly hard to fit behind radio. LOTS of wires to crimp together. Too bad another connector to use the OEM microphone in the console next to the rear view mirror couldn't be designed in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

not as pictured

Lyn W from Summerville, SC on 6/17/2016

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product I received was missing some interface cables (white plug connector, RCA adapter) and caused all kinds of issues when trying to interface the Maestro RR to my 2011 VW Sportwagen.

Pros: fast shipping

Cons: does not perform as advertised; not the same harness featured in the photo/product information

Crutchfield response on 6/22/2016
Thanks to Lyn's review, Stacey, a Crutchfield product researcher, reached out directly to Mark with iDatalink. He informed us that they had changed this harness and omitted the old cables that weren't used in the VW installation. Because of this, Stacey updated our information and images to reflect the most recent version of the harness.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great fit

JasonC from Utah on 4/28/2015

2009 Volkswagen CC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first opened up the boxes for this product, the iDatalink Maestro RR and the Pioneer AVIC8000NEX I thought it was going to be a real nightmare but all things considered the hardest part of the entire install was running the wiring for the GPS antenna, microphone and the USB cables behind the dash. This harness made the connections so simple and easy to follow. Anyone that knows their colors can use this without much difficulty.

Pros: easy to use, great connections

Cons: can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

vm replacement radio harness for idatalink

Me2 from BFE, OR on 8/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just a radio harness but makes installs pretty much plug and play if using the idatalink RR controller box.

Pros: much easer install process

Cons: requires yet another purchase of another product to add to the cost of the radio swap.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TOP