Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
669 445 839 3
Connect ID #
669 445 839 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Allows you to connect the factory USB port and aux input on select 2013-up Ram trucks to a new car stereo

MFR # ACC-USB-RAM

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Allows you to connect the factory USB port and aux input on select 2013-up Ram trucks to a new car stereo

MFR # ACC-USB-RAM

85 reviews
View this product

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Samuel from Stanwood, WA on 5/1/2022

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Directions are very helpful and a must have for your stereo install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must To Save USB Port

Joseph from Carrollton, GA on 2/14/2022

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install minus getting my old USB board out of its box. It took a couple tried to get it to link to my unit but once it did I got the firmware updated and it does CarPlay seamlessly. 4 stars only because I had to spend more time getting it connected than what I was expecting but it could have been user error

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Jim from Racine, WI on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I knocked a star off the rating simply because the instructions are not complete and don't tell you what the USB adapter cable is for. One end hooks into your old wiring harness for the micro USB, and the other plugs into your new stereo unit. If you forget to do this the original Ram USB port won't work. Once I had it installed properly, my original USB port in the center armrest of my 2015 Ram works perfectly. It allows me to use Apple CarPlay, and it charges my phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 1/7/2022

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far not good

Pros: Not very hard to installed

Cons: After installation it doesn't seemed to be working, Crutchfield is sending me a new one to try

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hampton

Christopher from Hampton on 1/5/2022

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty disappointed in this product. The only reason I upgraded my radio was to be able to have the android auto interface. It does not work spent a lot of money on a headunit and supporting parts under the impression it would do what was advertised but it simply does not. I have reached out to crutchfield customer support who were phenomenal to deal with and are offering a refund for this part but I'm still pretty bummed out that i spent the money to have the new unit basically function exactly the same as what I had previously

Pros: Crutchfield technical support was phenomenal to work with

Cons: Item doesn't work

Crutchfield response on 1/11/2022
Christopher contacted our Tech Support specialist, Shay, and he set up a refund right away. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Odessa

Scott from Odessa on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit was bought for 2014 ram . Doesn't work with kenwood radio. Plugged iPhone cable into radio and car play works. Only charges phone. Waste of time and money.

Pros: Cheap.

Cons: Cheap.

Crutchfield response on 11/23/2021
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Arrived defective

Crutchfield customer from Lehigh Acres, FL on 10/5/2021

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit arrived defective. Crutchfield offered a refund, their service is always great but this product was not usable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/11/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a refund. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony receiver will not recognize it

Dale from HOWELL, MI on 8/6/2021

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this as part of a package order to replace the missing OEM Receiver in my 2014 RAM 1500. The first one was broken inside the USB connection. However Crutchfield replaced it without question :) I installed per the directions connected to my new Sony receiver. when connecting my phone I get a USB Device not recognized. If I disconnect my phone from iDatalink, and plug directly into the cable on my receiver everything works fine. I have only given this 2 stars because of Crutchfield's excellent customer service. The product itself is only a 1 star !!

Pros: Installation was easy. Good instructions.

Cons: Did not work with my receiver as was my expectation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works, but it doesn't work

Jon from PERRY, NY on 7/12/2021

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only needed this for my flash drive filled with music, and that was kind of a bust. About half of the songs on the drive would play for 10-30 seconds then I'd get an "unrecoverable media playback" error on my radio and it would go to the next song. I didn't have this problem with the stock USB board so I put that back in and the problem seems to have gone away. I basically paid this much for the 6" adapter cord.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/19/2021
Jon, we're sorry you're having issues with your cable. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Quarryville, PA on 4/4/2021

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install work good but it work with CarPlay at times but then it stop.So it do say that dose not work with car play that is then with me get have to buy usb that fits in a cigarette lighter please than buy and convert from 12v to 5v so I can have A charging pleases for they thing And no wire hanging on my floor

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

great for RAM aftermarket radios

Crutchfield customer from Eastanollee, GA on 3/31/2021

2016 Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

if you want to keep your factory location in the ram and dodge for the radio but go aftermarket radio... you need this. with it I was able to have the apple car play work with the aftermarket radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Dover, NC on 2/13/2021

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked exactly as stated easy switch and not a problem yet!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Dale from Woodinville, WA on 12/8/2020

2014 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2014 RAM, Pioneer DMH-2660NEX, Samsung Galaxy S8 w/Android Auto. I assumed I knew what this part was for - to make the center console USB port function with aftermarket head units. Unfortunately, after installing the uram and testing I found what many others have - it just doesn't work. The blue LEDs light up, but cycle on and off. When my phone is plugged in it too cycles the charging and connectivity. Tried several USB cables to rule out a bad cable. Disconnected and reconnected everything from head unit to uram and it behaves the same. This was a waste of time and money.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Install time No charging No connectivity with head unit

Crutchfield response on 12/15/2020
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Lilo, reached out to issue Dale a refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Need bigger small print

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield, NH on 10/26/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I think the idea is great, it does not work with Apple Carplay or Kenwood head units (was not apparent prior to install). It is installed but gives me an error on screen when I plug in, may return it if I feel like dismantling the center console again.

Pros:

Cons: Does note work with Apple Carplay Does not work with Kenwood

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Gotta have it

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, NY on 10/19/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way easier to install than I thought, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 10/19/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable is an inferior quality circuit board when compared side by side to the OEM RAM 1500 factory installed circuit board. It does serve the purpose of playing mp3 files saved on a USB stick. The only annoying thing I've encountered is the rebooting of the USB stick with various random .mp3 files during playback and the occasional "bump in the road" on deteriorated, pothole infested; concrete and/or asphalt MI. roads. At first I could NOT STOP the Alpine iLX-207 from shuffling through ._root files to locate an actual .mp3 music file. I researched and discovered ._root files are in a "temporary" folder on the USB stick. I downloaded the "Clean My Drive 2" app from the Apple Store and was successfully able to delete the "temporary" folder and its contents from the USB stick effectively eliminating the ._root files from the USB stick while leaving ONLY the .mp3 music files on the USB stick. Problem solved. I am planning to remove the factory OEM media hub again to reopen it and insert foam blocks both above and below the iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB port cable circuit board to hold it firmly in position when navigating the occasional "bump in the road" on deteriorated, pothole infested; concrete and/or asphalt MI. roads. Problem should be solved.

Pros: Easy installation. Serves the purpose with reservations.

Cons: Inferior quality circuit board. NOT totally reliable. May require modification when installed in OEM RAM media hub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as usb hub; not as CarPlay hub.

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 10/1/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work with CarPlay in 2015 Dodge Ram 1500

Pros: Works as described.

Cons: No help with apple carplay.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Perfect. Easier install than expected

Andrew from QUITMAN, TX on 9/13/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used on 2014 ram 1500 to connect with pioneer aftermarket indash. Adapter worked exactly how it says it would. Paperwork included for install however was not correct the center console does not have screws like instructions advise. Even with having to break down the entire center console full install took about 20-25 minutes. I've ready it's a hard install but had no issues and I only dabble occasionally in stereo equipment. Have no scene the longevity of product due to just installing but so far I'm extremely happy with having not only the usb charger port working correctly but also ability to play music when not connected Bluetooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Must have for aftermarket radio USB connection on Ram

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This interface fit perfectly in my 2016 Ram 2500. it worked with my aftermarket radio and came with a link to instructions that walked me through tearing my arm rest apart, removing the stock controller, installing the device and putting everything back together like a pro. It made it easy!

Pros: Does what it says!

Cons: Device is not the issue the Ram takes time to locate and install the device.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 7/18/2020

2016 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes your factory usb and aux work with aftermarket receiver. Couldn't get it to work with apple CarPlay, but my receiver does wirelessly anyways. Not the fault of the device, but it's a little tricky removing the old board from the little plastic housing it's in, I ended up using very thin zip ties and to hold the plastic tabs in so I could pull the board out.

Pros: Lights up, charges phone, works for usb drive

Cons: A little tricky to install, no apple CarPlay compatibility

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not work!

shurwin from VILLA RICA, GA on 7/8/2020

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was so excited to know that this product would allow me to keep my USB connection but it didn't work. I know the description said that it doesn't work with android auto, but it wouldn't even charge my phone. Waste of money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2020
Shurwin contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Media hub conversion from Ram to aftermarket

Crutchfield customer from Apache Junction, AZ on 7/4/2020

2013 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's interesting how many components you have to add to an after market receiver to complete the functions. This unit is required to convert the console USB to now make it work with my new Pioneer Receiver, which has two USB ports

Pros: Need it to complete the package

Cons: It is a real pain to remove the old card, which is a small plastic box that seems to be glued to the inner card holder, thank goodness that there are a lot of people on u-tube helping the inexperienced like me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does Not Work

Crutchfield customer from PA on 6/24/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't work. Dont waste your money or time to install. Won't even transfer power to charge phone. Customer Service was great with troubleshooting and refunding.

Pros: Great customer service to replace/refund.

Cons: Doesn't power phone or connect to android auto.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe Spgs, CA on 6/10/2020

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Its just ok...or I'm an idiot...

Crutchfield customer from Toccoa, GA on 5/7/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

not super sure on this one. I will connect to my radio, but after a few minutes it makes my radio freak out. screen starts flashing and all, can't figure this one out.

Pros: it works for a few minutes

Cons: it stops working after a few minutes.

Crutchfield response on 5/13/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your port cable. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a

0 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Crisfield, MD on 5/5/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgrades your USB so it'll be compatible with your head unit. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Dawsonville, GA on 5/2/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as intended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2015 Ram 1500

Crutchfield customer from Valley Stream, NY on 4/28/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced oem module. USB to factory connection. Car Play and phone charging.

Pros: CarPlay ! No issues. Spotify and Waze and phone charging

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Halfway working

clayton from Havana, FL on 4/27/2020

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll give it 2 stars because all it'll do is charge your phone. It will not allow data to go back to the radio like it's supposed to. I followed manufacturers instructions on install and called tech support with no luck.

Pros: Charges phone

Cons: USB data doesn't work at all no matter if you're using a flash drive or a iPod.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Ville Platte, LA on 3/6/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for retaining the factory usb would be great to see a model of this that's apple car play compatible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Parkersburg, WV on 3/5/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't work and causes interruption to head unit. Pretty worthless. Save the $

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/9/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your cable. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

was able to hook up tp to reciever, but as stated in product, you and not run auto play with it

Pros: keep center concel hookups

Cons: lot of work to install because you need to dismantle the center concel

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Save your money

Crutchfield customer from Weatherford, TX on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not impressed. The install is easy, but it doesn't work. The power cycles on and off to the USB and it doesn't charge. On top of that, it doesn't support CarPlay, so what's the point?

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't work No CarPlay

Crutchfield response on 9/3/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your cable. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Moncks Corner

Tracy from Moncks Corner on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pointless to buy if it doesn't support Android Auto or Apple Carplay unless you only want a charger.

Pros: None

Cons: Cannot use for Apple CarPlay or Android Auto.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, TX on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So convenient to keep your trucks stock usb and aux spot, wasn't too hard to switch out.

Pros: You get to keep your stock usb

Cons: You do have to take your center console almost all the way apart

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it's supposed to do.

Crutchfield customer from Petersburg, IN on 7/30/2019

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only way to get the usb in my 2013 ram 1500 center console to work after radio replacement. Install was a chore even following the instructions, just because of the way the center armrest is assembled. But as long as you don't rush it's ok

Pros: Price ,works like it should

Cons: Install is a bit of a pain even if you follow the instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Hartford, WI on 6/22/2019

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Honestly this was a useless purchase for me. It goes through a lot of detail regarding giving functionality to use the stock USB port in my 2016 Ram 1500. Unfortunately, I missed the fine print that it only allows my truck to charge devices from it but not actually use Android auto or anything. It did charge my phone so I can give it that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Clemmons , NC on 6/2/2019

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from East Granby, CT on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchase for my Ram truck to keep everything original working and this was produced only a charging port. Circuit board did not transfer data as it was supposed to. Returned and I'm simply using USBS out of new unit.

Pros: Creative charging port

Cons: No data transfer as advertised

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Eastvale , CA on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. I thought using it would allow iPhone mirroring but it doesn't. Not much need for it as most things can be done wirelessly with the pioneer head unit.

Pros:

Cons: Had to take upholstery on center console apart to install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Sequim, WA on 4/9/2019

2015 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm and simple to swap out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install, about 30 min. It has worked flawlessly for me for apple car play although many report that it doesn't for them and product info says not compatible. I'm using pioneer 5200nex

Pros: Console ports work as should

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Joshua from Lake Junaluska, NC on 2/5/2019

2015 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its required to utilize my factory console ports. However, even after installing, i could not use this USB for Apple Carplay.

Pros: It light up blue

Cons: Don't expect to use Apple Carplay though this port

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IN on 1/27/2019

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

Trent from Sachse, TX on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Worked great in my 2014 Ram 1500. If you want to know exactly how to install this, there are a couple of really good Youtube videos that will help you on your way. It works just as advertised.

Pros: Works as advertised.

Cons: It is a little difficult to remove the existing board from the box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Estero, FL on 11/23/2018

2018 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield advisors said this would fit my 2018 RAM 1500. Not even close. Called tech support, they confirmed this was the wrong part and told me they don't even make one that fits a 2018 RAM

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/28/2018
We're sorry this customer is having issues with his cable. Our Tech Support specialist, Jac, is working with this customer to resolve the issue. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Guest from Edmonton Alberta on 11/10/2018

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect. Installed in a 2017 1500 and Android Auto is functioning perfect I assume for Android auto it depends on the unit its being paired with. I am using a JVC KW-V830bt and installed with a Maestro Rr and a CH3 T-Harness works perfect. Bit of a pain to open the module once it was removed but there are plenty of video tutorials on the net that explains the process. Instructions are useless once again hit YouTube.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Clemmons, NC on 10/20/2018

2018 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2018 and this doesn't line up at all and the directions are similar but no where near the same piece

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/23/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Clint, reached out to this customer to help him further. He can help solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad experience

Gabino from Wyoming, MI on 10/7/2018

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One star just because I couldn't read it any lower customer service was outstanding that part was junk I ended up throwing it in the garbage he didn't work with my aftermarket radio and especially didn't work with Apple play So sorry about the review but I have to be honest

Pros: Customer service was great got the part and time to install My new $600 deck

Cons: The part does not work for what they said it would work for

Crutchfield response on 10/9/2018
Our Customer Support specialist, MaKenna, reached out to Gabino to follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Winnetka, IL on 8/6/2018

2017 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good but doesn't support car play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works

John from Adrian, MI on 8/1/2018

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's OK. the quality is good. It works, the description said it retains the factory usb and aux. The usb works but the aux doesn't. I had to connect a seperate aux cable to the back to use my phone. If i ever want to use a flash drive i guess i could now.

Pros: USB works

Cons: Aux doesn't work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 6/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adapter works as expected.

Pros: Fit and function is fine

Cons: Was difficult to remove the existing circuit card. Instructions could be better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Doug from Greenwood, AR on 6/15/2018

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item allowed me to retain the usb port in the center console of my ram 1500. As other reviews have already stated, this port does NOT support android auto which is quite disappointing, although it did appear to charge my phone. It also plays music from my usb thumb drive, which is what I use it exclusively for anyways.

Pros: Simple, easy swap. Retained a usb port.

Cons: Doesn't work with android auto / Retained usb port is not fully functional. Doesn't save the SD card slot.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Factory usb Retention

Jim from Martinsburg, WV on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install to retain factory console usb.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Multiple connection issues

Reece from Cape Girardeau, MO on 5/6/2018

2017 Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't work well. It has a lot of connection issues. It charges consistently but no play back or control of audio from iPhone ipod or android and no aux support (possibly related to radio I have it paired to). It is a fairly in depth process to install.

Pros: Looks oem fits perfectly

Cons: Connection issues: no play back or control, loss of aux input

Crutchfield response on 5/8/2018
Reece, we're sorry you're having issues with your port cable. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fitment

Crutchfield customer from Pimento, IN on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was an exact fit in my 2014 ram. Fixed communication issues from my cnsole HDMI to my aftermarket touchscreen radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Kings Mountain, NC on 2/23/2018

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Boone, NC on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was very easy to install. Crutchfield made it easier by being able to walk me through some of the issues I had

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Had to find where it was.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Kenneth from Arkansas on 1/27/2018

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading reviews on forums I came to the conclusion that this was something I needed for my stereo install. It works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Won't work on 2015 RAM with Android Auto or Apple Car Play

Ken from Bishop, CA on 12/23/2017

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The USB for Android Auto does NOT work in my 2015 RAM. I had to connect it with a USB cable directly to the Alpine iLX-207. The AUX port does not work either. I contacted support & they said that the Android Auto or Apple Car Play won't work thru this port when using iDataLink Maestro & neither will the AUX port. Why then do they recommend this for the RAM? The price is reasonable enough, the factory one is $90. It was a pain to install or I would return it, but it's not worth it for the price. There are 2 designs to the RAM seat console. Mine must be the difficult one to disassemble. Presently it is not connected. I ordered a dash mounted 3.0 USB port that I connected directly to the USB port on the Alpine. Android Auto works fine, but I have to take out my USB drive to plug in the phone. The USB port I bought also has a HDMI port which I connected to the Alpine also. I don't have a use for it yet, but it's there if I need it. It made a clean installation on the blank panel on the right, just below the small storage (phone?) bin. It is a BATIGE USB 3.0 & HDMI to HDMI + USB3.0 AUX Extension Dash Panel Waterproof Car Flush Mount Cable For Car Boat and Motorcycle - 3ft.

Pros: It works for a USB drive.

Cons: Won't work with Android Auto or Apple Car Play. Aux port doesn't work with iDataLink either.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesn't work for 2015 Ram 1500

Bill from Valrico, FL on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm sure this is a decent product, but for my 2015 Ram 1500 it doesn't work. It appears the voltage drop from the USB connector in the arm rest to the stereo is too much so Apple Car Play won't work. Other vehicles may not have this issue, but for me it was a no go. I will say Crutchfield was exceptionally supportive!

Pros: Easy and clean installation

Cons: Voltage drop too much to allow Apple Car Play to work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 11/27/2017

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, allows me to use the USB port in my seat console with my new Pioneer stereo. Installation was fairly simple, and all instructions were included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Douglas from Fort Worth, TX on 11/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't get Android Auto to work using this hub. It would charge my phone but when I plugged in my Galaxy S8 and the Android Auto would come up on the Kenwood, the screen would either go black or the Android Auto screen would come up but not be functional (the buttons on the bottom) of the application were greyed out). I tried several cables including the one that came with my phone to no avail. I tried clearing the cache on my phone, too. This morning, I took out my headunit and plugged directly to the USB on the back and it worked perfectly. I can use that plug but I lose the two USBs on my Ram truck.

Pros:

Cons: I purchase this hub to use Android Auto and it doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on 11/14/2017
Douglas, we're sorry you're having issues with your USB cable. If you'd like to troubleshoot the problem, please just reach back out to our tech support team. If you'd rather set up a return, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Install was easier than expected

Troy from Pensacola, Fl. on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I do not use music protocols from Apple or Android, so this device not supporting it isn't a big deal for me. Streaming Pandora and music from the phone like an iPod works just fine with my Pioneer DVD double DIN. Yes, USB is now upside down, but who cares. It's inside my center console. Who is going to fuss about that? I am currently using a USB 3.0 drive and it works flawlessly. Not sure why other reviewers are having compatibility issues. I'd recommend formatting the drive to Fat 32, not NTFS. Quality of the in dash adaptor plug to the radio is top tier. The circuit board in the console isn't as nice as the factory unit, but hey....it gets the job done. I would have given 5 stars if the replacement unit had LEDs located in the same place as factory, but at least there is still light illuminating at night. Albeit not as bright as factory.

Pros: Installed into the factory location with a bit more than minimal effort.

Cons: None for me and my current usage

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality!

Christopher from Tennessee on 7/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When you spend money to keep factory options you expect the same quality and features, this works better and I love the fact they used a led to illuminate the port, wish the factory one did that!

Pros: Better sound than factory, illuminates the ports

Cons: You will need some experience with factory components to install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Daniel from NJ on 7/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thought by the look of the board it would be a seem less install but it doesn't work oh well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/4/2017
Daniel, we're sorry you're having issues with your port cable. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not USB 3.0 campatible

John R. from North Branch, MN on 5/27/2017

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to work fine with USB 2.0 flash drives. No so much with USB 3.0. Little bit of trial and error revealed this little caveat. You'd think in this day and age this wouldn't be the case. Didn't have this issue with factory board on factory sound system. So I had to stop using the flash drive that I had, order a new USB 2.0 drive and use that instead.

Pros: Replaces USB and aux port for aftermarket sound system compatibility.

Cons: Doesn't work with USB 3.0 drives.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Belton, MO on 4/23/2017

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works great. Have the ability to use factory location for USB and acc jack. The instructions were a bit difficult, but was able to find YouTube video that made it easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

PPL from Allentown, PA on 4/17/2017

2016 Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great for aftermarket radios

Pros: easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

replace center console circuit board

Derek from Orlando, FL on 4/13/2017

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little device made all the difference, take note that on the Dodge Ram you will also need to replace the circuit board in your center console if you want it to work

Pros: everything is plug and play

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great, retained factory USB with new Alpine head unit.

David from Shelton, CT on 3/30/2017

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2015 Ram 1500

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Scott from Old Orchard Beach, ME on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install, works for charging, but can't browse or play music with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

USB only for charging, can't play music

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 3/5/2017

2013 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This only allows you to charge your phone. I installed this along with a Pioneer AppRadio 4 and it doesn't allow the use of CarPlay or any music from my iPhone 7+. The whole reason I got this was because it said it allowed me to retain factory USB port, which it doesn't. I was able to use my phone and play music with the factory setup from the console USB input. For me, it's useless as I still have to use a USB cable through the dash to use Apple CarPlay. Other reviews say you can use a USB stick, but I didn't try that. If you plan to use your iPhone, I don't recommend this product. There should have been further explanation in the description of the limited functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/8/2017
We're sorry you're disappointed with your cable, but the iDatalink Maestro ACC-USB-RAM is not compatible with CarPlay or Android Auto. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pure Junk - For Me Anyway

Jason from Benton, KY on 2/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is junk, and simply not worth the extra cost. I wish I could return it, as it will be wasted money in a box on a shelf. I am guessing it can't handle the distance the hub is from the radio in my 2014 Ram 1500. Kinda works for playing stuff on a USB, but nothing else would work. Tried the iPhone and iPad, neither would register. Plug them directly into the radio and they work fine. Even the USB stick works better this way. So, I ended up running the radio USB cable out the dash, which I didn't want to do....which is why I bought this thing to begin with! The OEM board is MUCH more substantial than this thing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/22/2017
We're sorry you're disappointed with your cable. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

USB works, mirror link does not

Ed from Beaufort, SC on 12/8/2016

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works for my. USB connection and I play music through it all the time. Does not work to connect my phone to the mirror link. When attempting to connect my sons phone it closes that screen every time. It ignores my phone since I don't have the mirror link option on the phone.

Pros: Sub works

Cons: Mirror link does not work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Findlay, OH on 12/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink 2015 ram 1500

Wesley from Kalamazoo, MI on 12/1/2016

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install on my 2015 ram 1500 crewcab. Follow instructions took maybe 10 mins.Worked as advertised, only thing i did not like is the usb stick has to be put in up side down. Not an issue if you do not have a retractable usb, you wont notice it.

Pros: Works, lights up like the factory usb,3.5

Cons: If you have a retractable usb it will be up side down.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Rafael from Oak Creek, CO on 10/16/2016

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, finally after 2 years I can use my factory usb port and no need to have a loose cable in the glove box. I installed it in 5 minutes, all instructions included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mixed Review

Chase O from Minneapolis, MN on 10/8/2016

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While this did enable the factory USB port and AUX port to be utilized, there are some minor issues still to be addressed. I have a Kenwood DDX9703S radio. While it will read a USB jump drive and play media files from it using this product, the Android Auto and Apple Car Play features on my radio would not function properly through this product. When I run a USB extension through my center console and to the same Android and Apple devices it worked flawlessly, thus knowing this product being the culprit. I contacted Crutchfield and they blamed the radio, saying it can't read USB devices when the factory USB cord running through the truck to the center console it is too long, Contacted Kenwood and they denied this claim, which my running a direct USB cable from my radio back to my center console also proved. So if your radio doesn't use Android Auto or Apple Car Play, this is a great product to utilize the factory port.

Pros: Use of a USB jump drive through the factory wiring and plug.

Cons: Inability to use Android Auto or Apple Car Play.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works...but why the necessity?

Allan from Woodbridge, VA on 10/5/2016

2006 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as described...not really sure why the factory piece need to be replaced. The description does not identify except that this is needed to retain the factory outlet. The circuit board of the factory piece was much more substantial in comparison. The installation was not too difficult but I could see a novice being apprehensive in taking apart their console.

Pros: Retains the factory USB port.

Cons: Description is needed as to why the module needs to be changed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to reconnect factory USB and audio ports w/ aftermarket head unit

John H from Prescott, AZ on 9/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Ram had an aftermarket head unit and a USB cable hanging loose in the glove box. The audio jack and USB port in the console were disconnected. This easy fix reconnected the console ports as they were intended and it did not take long to install. Great product.

Pros: Works as advertised. Instructions were accurate and not difficult, but it does take some effort.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iDatalink ACC-USB-RAM USB Port Cable

Crutchfield customer from Wenonah, NJ on 9/1/2016

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice quality made product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Factory USB port works again!

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 7/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When upgrading the factory radio to a nice stereo/navigation unit the factory USB port no longer works. This device corrects that problem, for less than $30.00. After installation everything is just like new, I can finally use the console USB port instead of the wire hanging in the upper glove box. You will not be disappointed with this item!

Pros: Makes the factory console USB port functional again (after upgrading factory radio). Installation is pretty easy if you don't hurry. Returns your vehicle to original functionality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

URAM it works...

Pct from Dublin ca on 7/13/2016

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The device works and it connects to any after market head unit, but just like the factory system, there is too much interference and clips through the audio

Pros: Works Good replacement

Cons: Has the same interference as stock system, which may be cause by the truck but still very annoying

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Ryan R from Claremore, OK on 6/1/2016

2015 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A bit of a pain getting the old card out of the case, but works flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound