Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
429 702 672 3
Connect ID #
429 702 672 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Bluesound Node 2i

Streaming music player with built-in Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (White)

MFR # Node2iwhite

Bluesound Node 2i

Bluesound Node 2i

Streaming music player with built-in Wi-Fi®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (White)

MFR # Node2iwhite

109 reviews
View this product

Easy to set up, use, sounds good, too

Fred from NEW YORK, NY on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Downloaded the app, plugging the Node 2i, and the app talked me through setup. I had to manually find my NAS but no big deal. Then it loaded my library (30,000+ tracks, it took a while) and then... easy! Interface on the Android app is good, interface for PC is really useful. In act, it was so easy to get started, I was almost a little disappointed I didn't get to play with it more! Great product and always a good experience with Cruthcfield.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Bessemer, AL on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

unbelievable performance best 549.00 I've sent in a while .

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Hifi Streamer even for vinyl audiophile

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a vinyl audiophile,and love the vinyl experience, but when I saw the Bluesound node 2i I was initially skeptical. And you may say if I'm an vinyl audiophile why would I want a streaming device? Well there are times when I don't have time to sit down and enjoy my vinyl and it's nice to have the ability to conveniently stream music. And not only does it stream music, it does it extremely well. Yes it's an entry level hifi streaming device at this price (yes not cheap, but for entry level hifi it's a great price). And for me this worked perfectly as most of my more expensive audio gear is reserved for vinyl and this fit just right into my budget and was exactly what i was looking for in a streamer. The functionality is fantastic, having hifi wifi streaming,airplay 2,and bluetooth, and I was easily able to download the Blu Os app which acts as your remote for this streamer and for me works great. I paired it with my Amazon hi res music account and it totally surprised me with how pleasing the sound is. It is a very enjoyable listen with great bass,detail, and tone. And you have many options to connect, from RCAs, optical audio, and much more,you can choose to use the DAC built it in or use the connection on the Bluesound to bypass and use an extern DAC or one built into your amp. For me I've use the DAC in the bluesound and has worked flawlessly. You can easily pair an external alexa device to the Bluesound for hands free interaction with Alexa. You'll love this streaming device!

Pros: -Excellent sound -Convenient for streaming -Compact in size -The white color bluesound looks aesthetically modern and stands out as accent piece -Many input options -Not too expensive -Great app -Pairs well with many music apps and Amazon alexa devices (though I choose to keep it simple and only use it thru the app)

Cons: -None (Price could be out of reach for some, but for those looking for a entry level hifi streamer with excellent functionality this is your go to device. You will not be disappointed, I have loved it!! - Based on poor reviews the Amazon Alexa Blu Os skill for hands free with Alexa Ive read doesn't work well and has limitations, but if you want to go hands free and connect your alexa device, forget the Alexa blu os skill and just connect/pair you Alexa device directly for hands free.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After careful research I decided to purchase the Bluesound Node 2i (Black), without a doubt I've made the right decision. I currently have a B&W 700 series speakers and Rotel Processor (RSP-1576) & Rotel 5 channel amp (RMB-1555) . The built-in DAC on the Node 2i is outstanding and works flowlessy. I was going back and forth using Analog connection & Optical and decided with the Analog. The sound is much warmer vice using the built-in DAC from the Rotel Processor. I use the unit for streaming QOBUZ and Airplay from iTunes. Crutchfield delivered on time! Kudos! Just FYI, I've noticed that the only way you can receive the Hi-Res sound is through the Bluesound OS app, instead of using the Qobuz App. Not sure if anyone has noticed, correct me if I'm wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greatly enjoying being able to play FLAC 24-96 and 24-192 files off my NAS ; impressive device!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So far a winner!

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using the Node2i to play various sources thru my Sony STR-DN1080 AV receiver. Spotify Connect, TuneIn radio, & USB external drive FLAC collection all work nicely. I'm trying out Amazon Music HD and am really impressed with the sound of their HD and HR tunes, especially when listening thru decent headphones. BluOS app takes some getting used to and lacks the polish of Spotify's app's UI. Node2i is definitely worth buying IMHO.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

But it

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just phenomenal. The ultimate value for streaming in hi def. Well made, simple set-up, great sound, great BluOS app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding Streamer

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, DE on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll start by stating that I am knowingly late to streaming audio. I have many years of collecting vinyl and cd's and have enjoyed what I consider to be outstanding audio for these aging ears, but I have also been waiting for the time when the streaming capability would equal, or maybe even surpass the hard goods that have provided me with so much listening pleasure. That time has come. The Bluesound streamer was incredibly easy to set up and I have found the BlueOS app very easy to operate. I am a subscriber to Amazon Music HD and could not be happier with the availability and streaming quality of the music that I am receiving from the Bluesound Node 2i. I also have to mention that Crutchfield did it's usual fabulous job of providing me with all the info to make an educated decision. They are always my first stop when I'm looking to upgrade my equipment. I'm extremely pleased with my purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A++

Crutchfield customer from Metuchen, NJ on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding performance, super easy to use and low key discrete looks. Works great with Tidal and the MQA is next level.

Pros: Sounds fantastic, setup and use a breeze, good build quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Game-Changer. Highly Recommended!

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In a word, "Spectacular." For me, over the years, the inconvenience of taking CD's in and out of their boxes, or ripping them to a server, has given way to the convenience of streaming, particularly now that HD files are so readily available. I use Amazon Unlimited HD. The Node 2i perfectly integrates with my streaming service. The sound is excellent. I'm running the Node 2i directly in to my power amp, and it sounds great. The Node provides bass and treble control within their app, and provides enough connectivity that, at least for this music streamer, I no longer need a preamp. Even better, the Node 2i is fully integrated with Amazon Alexa. After enabling the Bluesound skill on Alexa, I can now control nearly everything on the Node 2i via voice commands to Alexa. Huge improvement in the convenience-factor over my prior system. The BlueOS software app has run absolutely bug-free. For those who don't know, the Node 2i does the heavy lifting, but you control it via an app on your phone (like a fancy remote control). It works beautifully. I've also been successful in connecting the Node 2i to my iTunes songs so I can access my iTunes library from the Bluesound app. The only issue I've had thus far is that I've been unable to transfer my iTunes playlists, but I'm sure that's just a support call away. I can't speak about long term reliability, as I've only had mine approximately 2 weeks. Highly recommended, particularly at this price point.

Pros: Sound, utility, Alexa integration.

Cons: Getting the most out of the product, particularly connecting to your personal music library on your computer/server, takes a bit of time, but Bluesound provides a plethora of instructional articles that provide set-by-step instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product, easy to setup and use.

Crutchfield customer from San Ramon, CA on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a lot of research for a streamer and narrowed down to this device. I'm using an external dac and amplifier and the built-in dac doesn't work for me. But it does an excellent job of configuring everything so music streams in hi rea across all my zones. Access to local library on NAS is also easy. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Magic

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I won't go into specs, and such. All I know is this Bluesound Node 2i breathed new life into my 1990's Rotel equipment. This is a great piece boasting realistic sound and a bevy of options to make this gem in the audio world a notable contender for streamers costing 3 and 4 times as much. One of the best bargains of my 35 years in audio.

Pros: Cost, features, compact size, outboard DAC options, Tidal, Amazon Music HD

Cons: None at this price or higher

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A true HIFI bargain !

Crutchfield customer from Neptune City, NJ on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent ! Punches way above its price tag. Worth every penny. Easy to use and set up.

Pros: Open, detailed, easy to use

Cons: None at this price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Node 2i buy with confidence

David from Edwardsburg, MI on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Node 2i does not sound as good as my old Oppo 103 playing Hi Res. But it is a good step up from CD's when playing MQA. I was real gun shy on spending a lot of money for great sound then the streamer be junk. No issues with the BluOS but I only use it for Tidal. If your wanting to play Tidal like with IPhone with all the special mixes and recommendations BluOS does not. Also if you plan to upgrade a MQA DAC by bi passing analog outputs there are not many if any DACS that run MQA thru there coaxial or optic input.. Is this a good deal? Yes it is. I'm glad I bought the Node 2i as my first Hi res Streamer. Some say when you go Hi Res you find the weakness in your system. My system keeps up just fine. - Marantz Sr 6007 - B&W 600 series 3 surround system. I do think bi amping mains help when playing in Stereo. - SVS SB 2000 PRO Sub

Pros: * Sound *Price *BluOS *Streamer

Cons: A taste of Hi Res will make you want more!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Improved soundstage, clarity and instrument separation over my dragonfly red. Vocals more realistic. Playing amazon Hd on the bluesound app which I have found pretty horrible(the app). Hopefully it does better with the other hi res streaming services. But I'm cheap and amazon is 12.99. System: emotiva a300, schiit saga (tube) and tekton lores.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Crappy appy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spotify sound

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield Park, AZ on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hookup was somewhat problematic as the directions for installation are weak. Once I got it hooked up and working, it's freakin' awesome! ;-)

Pros: Easy to use once installed and Spotify sounds awesome!

Cons: Very poor install directions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Guest from Brentwood, TN on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read great reviews about this product but I'm pretty disappointed in it. I would fully expect to be able to see track information in the app reading bit rate, etc but this is missing. What an obvious item to leave out. So far I'm just as well off with the Heos streamer in my 8805.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/1/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your music streamer. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stop shopping and buy it!

Mark from West Branch, MI. on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're like me and spend endless hours researching products before making a purchase. Save yourself some time and just buy this. It provides noticeable improvement in sound quality over the built in DAC in an integrated amplifier. Streaming Amazon Music HD is easy and never sounded better!

Pros: Sound quality, ease of use, clean simple looks.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Streaming Bargain

Crutchfield customer from Pawtucket, RI on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm and opens up a lot of flexibility for listening to music. Easily accessed my music files on the network and also gave me access to a lot of Internet radio options.

Pros: Great sound, easy hookup, space saver. Can be controlled via the BlueOS app or Roon, which I already had and works great with the Node.

Cons: No power switch. Manual is a bit lacking.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

martin from El Cerrito, CA on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am quite pleased with this product. Small and unobtrusive. Easy to set-up. Lots of connectivity options with optical, coax and analog connections. Sound quality is very good. With Amazon Music HD everything is CD quality or better. Can be used with all the major streaming services and internet radio is good fun too. Took away a star because the BluOS controller app is not great - it doesn't have all of the functionality found in the Amazon Music streaming app - but not that big a deal.

Pros: small and unobtrusive easy set-up, ease of use lots of connectivity options like the Tune-in radio internet radio

Cons: BluOS Controller app is not great

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Belfast, ME on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted an easy way to connect via ethernet cable to my internet connection to stream music. Crutchfield suggested this unit to couple with a Cabridge Audio receiver. Rather than go with a wifi-enabled receiver, this Bluesound interface provides better sound quality and super easy connectivity. I couldn't believe how easy it was to set up. I was streaming music within minutes of unpacking it. For these things to work on the first try with zero frustration is impressive. It works seamlessly with Spotify which I control with my phone as I normally do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Returned.

John from Simi Valley on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Returned after 2 weeks. Bought for the MQA sound experience hype. Did many side by side comparisons MQA to FLAC had a hard time telling the difference but noticed something about the low frequencies I didn't like. The sound reminded me of a when I was using a low/mid quality capacitor in my setup, Nova 300 and home made speakers. There was just something wrong with the base I could not handle. The software is buggy and poor quality, nothing I found showed the stream rate. Could be just me, not sure but I can't recommend it.

Pros: Worked?

Cons: MQA sound literally caused my ears to hurt. Crutchfield is awesome, no complaints.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great for me.

Doug from Sioux Falls, SD on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes streaming from almost any source simple.

Pros: Simple quick set up. Sounds good. Easy to use app. The included DAC is different that the DAC's in my Denon 3313ci. I think probably better, maybe a little "warmer" overall. Tremendous improvement over ROKU ultra and Chromecast Audio, (sent signal optically to Denon, so improvement over Denon's 8 year old DAC's).

Cons: The only con is that it makes all my stored music sound better, Tidal sound great with their high res content; there is the problem, not enough time to listen.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sounding Streamer!

Crutchfield customer from Johns Creek, GA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After installing the Bluesound Node 2i, the setup was very easy using the app on my Samsung tablet. I connected the Node 2i to a digital input on my Anthem AVM 60 preamp/processor using a high quality fiber optical digital audio cable. It is also hardwired to my network using a network cable. I use it mostly to listen to hi-res music from Qobuz at 24 bit/96 or 192kHz, and immediately I was stunned by the clarity of the music being streamed. Initially, I used Play-Fi to stream the hi-res music, but periodically, I experienced signal loss conditions, even though the AVM 60 is physically connected to my local network with a CAT6 cable. After installing the Node 2i, the signal dropping issues are now in the past. I mapped my NAS as a network share to the Node 2i and enjoy my thousands of hi-res music stored on it, when not listening to music via streaming or from my Sony HAP Z1ES network player. I use the BluOS app on my tablet to control the Node 2i most of the time, but I also use the BluOS Windows app periodically. Both are easy to use and enhance the listening experience. I don't listen to other streaming audio services other than Qobuz, but I have spot checked RP- Radio Paradise, which transmits in CD quality. I had researched hi-res music streaming devices for several weeks before I settled on purchasing the Node 2i. I was intrigued by the reviews I saw on the web, both written and YouTube versions. When I was ready to make my purchase, I went with Cr

Pros: Great at streaming hi-res music up to 24-bits/192kHz. Easy to set up and use. Easily operated by Android or Apple tablets or Windows or Apple OS. Small foot print, built in DAC and pre-amp analog output. Digital (coaxial and fiber optical) outputs. RJ-45 network jack and WiFi network connectivity. Network shares such as my Synology NAS, were easily added to the Node 2i. It inventoried and cataloged the music files on the NAS in alphabetical order.

Cons: After using it for 10 days, I am having a single issue that I am working through with the Bluesound Support team. I am having difficulty adding my Windows 10 computer's local share to the device.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

How to get Amazon Music HD lossless music at higher sampling rates

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, MO on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this to connect Amazon Music Ultra HD to my AVR. When using an Amazon device I could not get beyond CD level: 16Bit 44 or 48 kHz. Now I go from my router to the Node 2i, and then analog out to my AVR. This uses the DAC in the Node, which is sounding great. So 5 stars so far. Next I'm going to toslink this to the receiver and find out how that sounds, using the receiver's DAC. Either way, the Node 2i has a fine app on my galaxy mobile that works great with the Amazon Music service. I build playlists on my pc - and I'm all set. I still can't believe that I can't find Amazon equipment that is able to pass their higher sampling rates (96 kHz or 192 kHz) through their own devices. I got tired of waiting - and this works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a solid piece of gear for its price. The OS is useable - not great but nowhere near as bad as many reviewers suggest. Sound is decent, sounds better run thru a better DAC (Schiit in my case) but still very pleasant and most importantly gives access to all of Tidal and my NAS tracks at home from one piece of equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love it

Scott from PORT DEPOSIT, MD on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, improved streaming sound tremendously

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound 2i vs McIntosh MB-50

Crutchfield customer from Kenner, LA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a McIntosh MB-50 previously with PlayFi that kept dropping the wifi signal. The Bluesound Node 2i has been flawlessly reliable with sound quality that rivals the McIntosh.

Pros: Great wifi performance & overall sound

Cons: I've seen better graphics & operation with other systems.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy.

Karl from Minneapolis, MN on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not much of a streamer. My setup is primarily focused on vinyl records. However, as everyone knows, vinyl isn't exactly convenient. If isn't particularly easy to handle spinning vinyl and doing chores around the house, cooking, sitting in an adjoining room etc. The Node 2i really does all I need and want. The internal DAC seems pretty good. The app always stays connected if your control device is on the same network. It's easy. Setup is basic. Connect the unit to your network through the Bluesound app. The unit will update. Add your service (I use Tidal) and that's all you need to do. I was actually shocked at how easy this thing was to setup. This product really does it all for people that don't care about putting extensive money in to their digital gear and does a good enough job not dragging down the rest of your system. This also has digital outs to connect a different DAC if you do want to sink more money in to digital.

Pros: - Easy - Easy - Easy

Cons: - The app could be better. - Native Apps don't connect to the unit (which may be the service's fault).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pure enjoyment

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really into analog turntable, Cass deck and R2R but this little machine has found a spot in my rack permanently. I have been listening to music for hours the whole experience interacting with the steaming services is simple and the music quality is exceptional. I'm using an external arcam irDac.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Opinion of an average consumer (non serious audiophile)

Crutchfield customer from Collegeville, PA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good for an average User. Don't keep high expectations from it, gets the job done and done well but not for critical listening. You won't notice any sound improvements even over Airplay through Airport Express which is a better solution because then you can use native apps for tidal and any other steaming service of your choice. While blueos app does not crash and gets the job done you lose out on the incredible UI that most streaming services now offer. The DAC while technically a superior one does not necessarily translate into improved sound signature. I tested and compared with AE direct, AE + AKM 24 bit , Marantz HT Integrated Amp (don't remember model but 7.2 channel sub $800) . Biggest complaint from the app, it's just so dated to look at and very elementary. My expectations were significantly higher.

Pros: Checks all boxes Good affordable starting solution if you have absolutely nothing else other than your speakers and stereo amp

Cons: Very uninviting App UI No serious advantage over cheaper solutions (even basic Streaming over Bluetooth won't sound much inferior unless you have a super revealing set up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great device for high-res music. Top notch support.

Mike from Portland, ME on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All in all, this is a great product, and probably a great first step into high-res streaming. It's also called a Node, so it is useful for connecting to other outputs, but I was more interested in it's ability to stream and play high-res music, which it does very well. Initial set-up was easy, but there were some minor issues to be worked out with my network, however, Bluesound support was FANTASTIC in helping me get it straightened out, so something to keep in mind in these days when support isn't always that great. Sound quality is excellent, and the DAC is very good. I'm sure you could find a DAC for several thousand dollars that might be better, but considering the price of the whole unit, it's quite good. It streams quite well with Tidal, Qobuz and nugs.net, and the TuneIn radio is a nice addition. The app is solid (both MacOS and iOS), and runs the device well, but it would be nice if it could do more with organizing your music. Ultimately, though I am quite happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Heath, TX on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding sound quality and simple to set up and use.

Crutchfield customer from Solana Beach, CA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item is so easy to hook up (you have your choice of many connections) and the app interface is clean and easy to use. Within minutes you are streaming music. Dual Burr Brown DACs ensure your get fantastic high res sound from sites like Qobuz and Tidal. Even standard quality streaming sounds amazing. This is simply one of the best upgrades I've given my stereo in years. My only complaint is the app does not show you the sampling rate that you are streaming. You know it's hi-res or CD, but you don't know the exact resolution. I'm sure they can fix that with an upgrade patch. Outstanding piece of audio gear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound but....

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted to stream Tidal and uncompressed ripped music on a NAS to 2 different better than average stereo systems currently being fed by Sonos Connects. Installed the Node 2i's using Wifi and sound quality was GREATLY improved connecting the Node 2is' DAC outputs directly to the analog inputs on my integrated amplifiers. Then, after a little bit of time the Node 2i's started disconnecting intermittently. It was impossible to keep them both running wirelessly. Checked the web and discovered this is a common problem. Contacted support, which was responsive but suggested a list of things I had already tried. Next step was to send in the logs from the Node 2i's. Not wanting to be without music any longer I instead replaced my router with a 3 unit mesh system and connected each Node 2i via ethernet. With a wired connection they worked perfectly. Expensive solution but the sound is terrific. As a side note, I replaced a Sonos Connect in another residence with a Sonos Port, again using the analog output of the improved DAC in the Port. Sound quality not quite as good as the Node 2i, but MUCH better than the old connect. Plus, the wireless worked instantly and effortlessly and never stopped working. Ideally, Sonos will figure out how to stream higher quality music and Bluesound will figure out how to do wireless networking!

Pros: Awesome sound

Cons: Flaky wireless capability. Clunky user interface on iPhone controller

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good streamer that makes life easier.

Crutchfield customer from Matawan, NJ on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always envied my friends SONONS system and the ability to control everything from an Iphone/Ipad. I have an high end system in which I play my collection of Hi-Res files and wanted a streamer with that ability. SONOS has limited ability with Hi-Res. So after doing some research I decided to order the Bluesound Node 2i. Could not be happier with the sound and functionality. I had it installed and running it about 1/2 an hour and love the convenience of having the Bluesound Controller Software installed on my laptop, Ipad and Iphone. Whatever device I'm using at the time can control my music. In addition to having the ability to play my Hi-Res collection, stored on my laptop, I have subscribed to Amazon Unlimited HD which comes in beautifully. I have tested Internet Radio, Air PLay2, Bluetooth and the USB drive interface and all work without issue.

Pros: Ability to use optical or coax connection to my receiver to take advantage of its DAC.

Cons: IPhone Widget for Bluesound Controller occasionally acts up on my Iphone - could be my Wi-Fi.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome value

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this streamer. Wish they manufacturer would provide at least a couple of examples when it comes to connecting under several scenerios.

Pros: Size, quality and flexibility

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ft Myers, FL

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All has worked nicely as advertised - easy to use. I recommend you cast to your TV, so you can easily see what's playing. Still waiting on 3 month TIDAL free trial - have not heard back from Bluesound after filling in the information over a week ago.

Pros: Easy quick setup. Works great from your phone or a tablet.

Cons: 3 month trial for TIDAL has not materialized.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent No Frills Streamer

Crutchfield customer from Clarendon Hills, IL on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great way to play my high quality Tidal streams on my 2 channel stereo! Easy setup through the app on my iPhone. Using the Wifi connection without issue. Sound quality is very good - better than I expected, though there is the option of sending the signal to a DAC for potentially improved sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love It

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected. Was up and running in about 15 minutes. I really feel this is a game changer. Listening to some MQA tracks are just another level.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Happy with the Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solid little streamer that works with both Tidal and Amazon HD and can be used with Roon. The setup and configuration was relatively easy and I completed the initial Node 2i setup along with the installation of Amazon HD and Tidal in about 20-30 minutes. I purchased a 10" Fire HD Tablet to use as a dedicated "remote control" and that, too, was relatively easy. There is a process necessary before the Google Play Store will run on a Fire HD Tablet that can be a bit daunting if you have no experience with installing APK's. There are both Android and iOS apps that work with no "tweaking" whatsoever. I am not using any of the multi-room/multi-device capabilities of the Node 2i, nor do I have experience with any other streamers. I can say, however, that I am very happy with the sound quality. I think it compares very well to CD quality, but a bit less warm than vinyl. I have a Reisong A10 tube preamp that, I believe, adds a bit of warmth and "air" to the sound and makes for a combination that is extremely good at more intimate recordings like jazz trios and sparse singer songwriter stuff. Vocal presence is a definite strong point. I wish the BluOS interface were a bit more organized and provided more information about the albums, artists, etc. I believe the interface to be the weakest point of the entire setup. I wouldn't classify it as bad necessarily, it's just that it could be much better. It can be fixed with Roon, but that's $20/month I just didn't wan

Pros: Setup and Sound

Cons: Operating system only adequate.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Allen, TX on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best unless your willing to spend 10X more.

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ease of use, sound quality at an audiophile make this device the best option without spending 10X more. It includes a double DAC that's perfect for most applications, though I've been using it's optical output through a Schiit Bifrost Multibit, and it sounds as precise as something much, much more expensive. Great buy!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Cullman, AL on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived when promised. Setup was straightforward. Sound through the digital coax cable to my DAC seems the same as the sound through a USB cable from my computer to my DAC. Now I have a remote with my phone.

Pros: Works as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy to set up, good form factor, nice app, sounds very good

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Easy to setup, nice app, reads USB sticks, which is very helpful as I sort out what kind of drives I want to pair it with. To my ear, it does not sound as resolving as my CD player, but it sounds darn good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Cranford, NJ on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely a step up from a Sonos Connect from a sound perspective, especially with the Amazon HD music service. Integration across all services not as strong as Sonos, but the improved sound quality more than makes up for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from New Hope, PA on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions look like they are from Ikea, it's almost like why bother? Maybe more expensive streamers are easier to set up and use, but this things a PAIN. The app you need is hardly any better. It's hard to beat the price though so be prepared - it will eventually do most of what you want, but not everything and not easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Land, TX on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product. It does what the reviews say.

Pros: Works well with Airplay2

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best streamer for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply amazing! I love this product. Features, functionality, and price are a perfect fit! If you are in the market for a streamer, this is the one to be beat right now.

Pros: Sound quality is impressive. Built well and with comprehensive features. Value is amazing

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Lives up to reviews

Greg from Oklahoma City on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just paired with the Marantz SR5013 and Elac Uni-fiB5 speakers, center channel and sub, streaming hi-res files from Tidal. The moment I plugged this in, the music had more punch and flesh. It's a lot of music pleasure for such a small device and an affordable price. My only concerns have been the occasional drop from wifi (which I'm addressing with internet upgrade) and the amount of lights on the device even when it's not in use. Not sure why Bluesound would not have an idle mode on this. But I would definitely buy again and recommend to others.

Pros: Price. Value. Looks. Stores away easily. Fantastic sound.

Cons: Needs resting/idle mode

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, MA on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Easy set up. BluOS a little clunky and can't play Spotify so you still need that app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this recently and it has brought the music alive again. I used to listen to music mostly through Apple Music via my Appletv connected to my AVR controlled home theater. I have always wondered why it never sounded right even with quality equipment.music never sounded like I remembered it as a young man. Well I learned of this device over YouTube started researching it. Music now running through the Bluesound node 2i sounds alive again. I been spending so much time listening to many of my old favorites. Just wow this is the best purchase I have made in years regarding AV equipment.i wish I had done it years ago. If you are on the fence do it buy it you will absolutely love music again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

very good and a little bad

Craig from Indianapolis, IN on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been living with the Node 2i for about 4 months now and it's mostly great, and a little frustrating. The great part - it connects easily to both my network and external streaming sources like Tidal and Qobuz, the two I use for hi-res sound. The MQA stuff from Tidal sounds fantastic, as does the hi-res stuff from Qobuz. But the frustrating part - first, it can, on occasion, take forever to access either of those services, and there are occasional dropouts. But I'm perfectly willing to believe that could be a problem with our internet access. God knows it has plenty of problems of its own. Second, I use an iMac as my network music server, with my iTunes library on an external drive (it won't fit on the computer's internal drive). The Node cannot read files stored on an external drive, it tells me. Support confirms this and says they're working on it. So all of my music files are pushed to the Node via AirPlay, which limits resolution to CD-quality. Not a huge problem since most of my files are ripped from CDs in the first place, but I do have a small handful of downloaded hi-res files that are also on that external drive, and it can't access them. Which is disappointing.

Pros: Great sound (including full MQA unfolding) Stupidly good price

Cons: No access to server external drives (yet)

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Great addition to my family room a/v system

Crutchfield customer from Oswego, IL on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding build quality and connectivity options. I was using my family room system almost exclusively for video, but with the addition of the Node 2i, it's getting a lot more music time

Pros: Sound and build quality, connectivity

Cons: None I've found

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, Frustrating to set up

Joseph A. from Evanston, IL on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish I could give the Node 2i five stars, but I can't do it. I've had a love-hate relationship with this equipment since it arrived. I bought it to replace an Airport Express plugged in to a Yamaha A-S801 and B&W speakers, and now I am one step closer to audio nirvana. Step 1. After unboxing and plugging it into my system, I was wirelessly connected and playing Spotify Connect in two minutes. Easiest setup imaginable. Step 2. I installed BluOS. The app is quirky with how it connects the Node 2i to WiFi. Then I tried to connect it to my music library, which was a miserable experience. The app would not let me browse file paths, so I had to enter a 1980s file path with \\mycomputer\data\music etc to connect to your music. Seriously? This took hours of hunting through Bluesound support articles to get it right. Incredibly frustrating experience. Step 3. Success! I finally connected my music library. The BluOS app is a fast and reliable way to navigate through my music (500+ GB). It seems faster and more reliable than iTunes remote. Most importantly, the sound is extraordinary! I tested analog RCA and digital optical outputs to the A-S801 to see what sounds better. To my ear, the Yamaha's DAC is more neutral and precise. The Node 2i's DAC is softer and warmer. I plan on using the Node with analog output for everyday listening and will switch to the digital for more analytical listening. Final thoughts: Awesome equipment, but I almost returned and

Pros: Great sound Reliable connection for music Fast performance from app when browsing music library

Cons: Setting up music library through app is painful Will not display album cover images that are too large Desktop app has no more functionality than phone app

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Spacious sound, reliable music source

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this mostly to stream music better than my smart TV which frequently dropped the music partway through a song. The Bluesound improves on that with better buffering (I've never heard it drop out) but in addition, the sound quality is a huge improvement from what I was hearing out of my TV. It's crisper with a larger sense of space. People walking into the room commented immediately on how great it sounds. The app was easy to use. I'm now a huge fan of Bluesound and I could see myself purchasing other pieces from the line in the future. I've used AirPlay devices and computer-based streaming in the past. The rest of my system includes a dedicated pre-amp and power amp. I used a dedicated DAC but have found that the RCA outputs from this device sound superb as-is.

Pros: Software is easy to use Sound is crisp and spacious Works well over wi-fi or ethernet DAC sounds better than my previous $250 unit

Cons: Requires a smartphone, tablet, or computer to control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly, has stayed connected non-stop, nice sound, especially with Qobuz. Highly recommended!

Pros: Works exactly as advertised.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Network Player

Crutchfield customer from Lutz, FL on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound: Streaming via coax cable to DAC sounds pristine. Did not yet try the TOSLINK (optical) output. MQA: MQA tracks played from Tidal sound excellent from the analog outputs. I have compared Tidal MQA to DAC over coax [96KHz or 88.2KHz files usually] vs. full MQA unfolded through analog outputs and preferred the analog MQA output even though my non-MQA DAC is A+ Stereophile rated. Ethernet vs. Wifi: Excellent performance with ethernet connection. Seems to be fine with wifi as well over 5 GHz. Did not yet try 2.4GHz. Indexing: Takes a while to index files if you attach an external drive with thousands of files. Does not seem to retain the index if the power recycles (as happens often in our place in Florida), so it spends some time again creating the index. Other comments: The USB port for plugging in external drives is very close to the ethernet port, so some flash drives may be difficult to insert if the ethernet cable is plugged in. This player supports multiple services. It was delightful to hear Amazon HD music playing immediately without any upgrades required, including 96KHz, 48KHz, and regular 44.1KHz streams.

Pros: Excellent streaming capability; Full MQA DAC included; Supports multiple music services. BlueOS interface over tablet and phone is beautiful.

Cons: Does not seem to retain the index in case the power goes off. Cannot fit bulky flash drives and ethernet cable at the same time.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Mark from Charlottesville, Va on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Device doesn't have a remote of its own. I used an iPad mini to operate device. Probably not a bad device, if you need a good streaming device. I loved the sound. The UI was a little clunky. I used the device to play my hi-res library. I used a thumb drive. The device was just too cumbersome relying on the internet for usage. I used an eero WiFi setup. I had to wait a while for the usb drive to read, sometimes between 5 to 15 minutes. I had hard time making playlists and/or editing old ones.

Pros: Sounds good Plays lots of files UI is simple

Cons: Needs a network to operate

Crutchfield response on 9/17/2019
Mark contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 9/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup - Multiple Connections - WiFi a Plus Blue LED matches my Amplifier's LEDs Sounds Great BluOS App very Intuitive Access to Amazing Number of Radio Stations and Music Services

Pros: Small Footprint Great Sound TuneIn Radio and Podcasts

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A new beginning

Greg from Pittsburgh PA on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Bluesound Node 2i is incredible. I had been using a Dragonfly Red hard-wired from a Mac Book Pro into an Adcom pre-amp. Now I have a six-year-old iPad that is streaming to the Node 2i and I can control the stereo from anywhere but the best part is the sound quality. All I can say is WOW. It was like upgrading my entire system. Before the Dragonfly Red solution I had been using an Apple AirPlay and the Node 2i blows Apple out of the water. This is a MUST have piece of equipment it is like the little plastic piece that holds the whole six-pack together. I could not be happier.

Pros: Beautiful sound imaging

Cons: It takes three or four days to get it after you place an order.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Haven't seen anything as good at the price

Crutchfield customer from Montclair, NJ on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is amazing, setup was about 30 seconds, the app could be a little more straightforward

Pros: Sound!

Cons: App is a little clunky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

The One!

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This media player and streamer enables individuals with amplifiers, receivers, wireless headphones or wireless speakers to listen to streaming services and internet radio through their devices. It can also become the hub of a network by utilizing Air 2. In addition, the sound could not be better.

Pros: Great sound, intuitive interface and a myriad of features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Dickinson, ND on 7/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great streamer. Use with Tidal Hifi for full MQA greatness. Previously had been using a Chromecast Audio. Zero comparison for sound quality. Would buy again and recommend 100%.

Pros:

Cons: Front LED is a little bright

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Pr, WI on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound and easy set up

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: App is weak

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen producto a un muy buen precio.

Pros: calidad de sonido buena

Cons: hubiera sido bueno una pantalla digital

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A great little magic box.

Crutchfield customer from Athens, AL on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This very reasonably priced streamer/dac works very well. The SQ holds up well and at times betters CD, perhaps because I am using Qobuz. However as an old guy I still hold the view that good vinyl still rules. Except of course in the realm of convenience. Running Bluesound's app on a tablet is very cool, even though the interface with Qobuz can stand sharpening up. All in all, a great little magic box.

Pros: It works!

Cons: None for the $.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

bruce from glendale on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I. Couldn't be happier with this purchase. The node 2i was very easy to set up, and the control app works perfect. I use Tidal to stream music and the sound is really good. I would highly recommend this to anyone wishing to stream hi res music.si

Pros: Sound, ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic streaming value!

Nick from Akron,Ohio on 5/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was introduced to Bluesound back in January when I Purchased the Bluesound Powernode 2i. As far as music consumption 90% of my family's usage has been streaming either via Tidal or Apple Music for the last few years. I was so impressed with the Powernode 2i sound quality coupled with my Bowers and Wilkins 707 s2 bookshelf speakers and Jl d108 subwoofer that I was having a hard time listening to music on my decent home theater setup in the lower level of my home. That setup consists of a 5.2 Polk signature speaker setup coupled with a Marantz sr6012 receiver and Marantz mm7025 power amplifier to bi-amp my main s60 floor standing speakers. This setup works great for movies but the music was not engaging when using an Apple TV 4K via HDMI as a source. I started to second-guess my speakers when it came to music because my upstairs set up sounded so much better. I took the Powernode 2i downstairs and hooked up my Polk's and Wow what a difference it made. My music Was alive and sounded much more detailed then they did win playing music from my Apple TV. I ordered The Node 2i and Hooked it to my Marantz using Audioquest Red River rca cables and I could not be happier. My music sound quality has stepped to another level especially Tidal MQA! What does this review mean ?that Node 2i in my setup demolishes the Apple TV as a source for music. I went from thinking of spending thousands on new speakers to spending $500 to get what I consider an amazing upgrade! Bluesound!

Pros: Simple to use Sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

BlueOS is the weak link here but the streamer delivers great sound

Victor from Saint Louis, MO on 5/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first streaming device, for music, was a Slim Devices SB3. It worked OK but the interface was clunky. Years later, I got a Sonos Connect and the software was amazing; easy to use, it found all of my music, and made it easily accessible. However, the sound quality wasn't the greatest so I started to look for something else. I ended up with an ELAC Discovery music server. The sound quality of this unit is outstanding but the interface can be clunky. Roon is great, but the included Roon essentials software diluted version of the Roon software. The ELAC streamer promised to support Apple AirPlay, but, it eventually failed to deliver on said promise. I could only access what was on my attached USB drive or my TIDAL account. I wanted more versatility from my streamer so I got the Node 2i. On paper, it seems to be exactly what I'm looking for since it supports Apple AirPlay 2, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and an attached USB drive. Unfortunately, the USB drive on the back of the 2i has limitations. I had the attach my USB drive to my router and connect it that way. The software on the Node 2i, to me, is clunky. The album artwork doesn't display correctly as I have to manually update that (that is a lot of work). The music library, easily seen by Sonos & Roon, is all wonky with the BlueOS. I may have to re-rip all my CDs with MediaMonkey just to get the 2i to organize things properly (a lot of work!). The Cambridge Audio CXN may be a better fit for me but Bluetooth isn't in

Pros: Sound Quality Small Footprint Good Connectivity Supports AirPlay2, Bluetooth, WiFi Plug and Play: Includes all the cables you'll need

Cons: BlueOS USB Drive Limitations Cannot use the internal DAC with other devices

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes streaming easy. Hopefully better resolution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Sewalls Point, FL on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. I bought mine to be able to access my TIDAL high definition streaming subscription from another part of the house, primarily for my wife to use to provide music to two entertainment areas. I wanted a device that could decode MQA streaming (this unit will decode anything) and provide an analog output that I needed for that location. The high definition player I use for our stereo in the living room is an NAD M50.2 digital music player. This little Node 2I works exactly the same way as the NAD and just as well as that much more expensive piece of equipment. My wife operates it from her iPhone without a problem.

Pros: Has every option for signal output. Excellent sound. BluOS offers many options for music sources.

Cons: Learning BluOS takes a little time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Ryan from Avon, CT on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does not work as advertised. It cannot recognize my local library. I have been through multiple, exhaustive rounds of customer support, including remote diagnostics. The Company has no solution, and admitted to me that "We have recently been receiving reports of similar incidents with a few of our users." Absent the ability to easily access local hi-res libraries, this product is little more than an overpriced streamer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Aulio from Davie, FL on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised to hear the crisp and refined sound that was coming out of my speakers when I played some of my flac hi res music. It's just amazing

Pros: Great form factor.

Cons: not that many stream services (I'm coming from Sonos, they have a ton)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Mark from Concord, CA on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Flawless set up. Excellent sound. Easy integration of multiple sources.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let's start by saying sound stage and clarity is clean . Sound better than pc . No trouble with BluOS app. Yes I would recommend it to a friend.

Pros: Priced right Hi-Fi for sure.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Matthew from Fredericksburg, VA on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device paired great with my Yamaha RX-A3080. The clarity that I heard listening to Tidal Master audio was top notch. It was well worth the money and a great upgrade from Sonos. Will be converting the rest of my speakers from Bluesound to Sonos

Pros: User Friendly App, easy pairing and connection to WiFi

Cons: Apple Music and SiriusXM support missing

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, what a great purchase I'm hearing more music out of my speakers that ever before. More mid sound bass and highs, I'm satisfied thank you.

Pros: Cost, size, hi Fidelity sound, ez install, fixibility unlimited music

Cons: Sometimes you lose connection to your Wi-Fi

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Artificially warm tonal balance, reliability problems

Tom from Menlo Park, CA on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a former professional recording engineer and used this as an Airplay 2 streaming device, bypassing its inboard DAC and using its digital output on coax to drive a high end reference system. I found that the Node 2i alters the tonal balance of the music by putting an emphasis on the lower midrange and upper bass, like you might hear with a tone control for example. That makes the sound warmer and richer but less accurate. Some reviews describe this as a benefit, but other listeners might find it artificial and less appealing. I had reliability problems with two of these, both running the latest firmware upgrade. After a week of use, the first one suddenly started to sound like it was shorting. I immediately removed it from the system and returned it. After 3 weeks of use, the replacement started to have unrecoverable network faults (device not found, resolved by rebooting). I also had a technical problem with the BluOS app, where the iOS version can recognize and configure a new Node 2i but the MacOS version cannot. After the Node 2i is installed and configured with the iOS app, then the MacOS app functions normally. Thank you Crutchfield for such outstanding customer service during these problems.

Pros: packaging and marketing

Cons: artificial sound quality, reliability

Crutchfield response on

13 of 18 found this helpful

Great streamer, no complaints!

Nemo Propaganda from Irvine on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this as part of a $8,000 2.1 music system with my iphone and Tidal hifi/masters being the source. I needed something with airplay as i was previously using bluetooth and mp3 with an Audioengine B1 and wanted an upgrade. The node 2i was purchased for 4 main reasons: Looks good, has MQA, airplay, and BlueOS is awesome, especially with the added tone controls that allows plus or minus 6db treble and or bass in 1 db increments. Simply put it works well and matches my expectations. I had a budget of $1500 and this is what i chose. I'm incredibly happy with my purchase.

Pros: Small size, looks great, airplay, MQA, excellent OS, excellent price value when compared to competition.

Cons: When using BlueOS you adjust volume from the apps volume slider and cannot adjust volume from the iphone physical buttons.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound stage

Ron from Makawao, HI on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the component built and size and the sound quality is amazing. The instructions are useless and I keep receiving error messages which I forwarded to their tech support. I have yet to receive an actual explanation. The platform has some glitches, which I use Unlimited so I am not sure if it is better with Spotify or Tidal yet. I plugged my CD player to the rear and it seems to sound quite a bit better than the DAC in my Marantz CD 6006. I am using a MacBook Air 10.10.5 which maybe older for it's controller to work perfect with?

Pros: Very well built. Sound Quality and Sound Stage is excellent.

Cons: Poor Instructions, platform for Unlimited does not work perfect, some continued error messages. I have to re-load the controller to my MacBook Air each time I restart my computer. I could not get it to find my wifi so I plugged it directly to my ethernet cable.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Cecil from Lenoir City, TN on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving this 1 star as I consider it part of a system...the Vault2i AND Node2i. The Node 2i works fine but unfortunately the Vault 2i is the issue. I have 7 troubles-tickets to Bluesound. We are continually working issues...

Pros: Node 2i works great thus far, but unfortunately it's part of a "system" that doesn't work most of the time.

Cons: Node2i requires the Vault2i to work. Good luck with that so far....

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

Exceptional fidelity and flexibility at a terrific price

Ed from Reston, VA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can readily echo other stellar reviews of this device. It works as advertised and flawlessly! Spectacular fidelity through a fine DAC with MQA - Tidal masters never sounded so good. Using the digital out will bypass the last MQA unfold if you are still committed to using your own DAC, but the built in DAC is so good that to my ears I'm happy to use the built in one to take advantage of the full MQA. I'm also delighted that I can finally integrate all of my various digital audio sources into one easy-to-use interface. With all of it's wonderful features, I would be hard pressed to find another similar device for two or three times the price. Audio nirvana? Pretty darn close!

Pros: Awesome sound. Ease of use. Flexible digital sourcing and outputs Good value.

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound and value

Mike from South Riding, VA on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first venture into streaming although to be honest I use it mostly to play Hi Def digilat files stores on a PC drive upstairs. The analog output is very good especially at this price point. I have it in an Audio Research/Magnepan 20.7 system and it sounds great, including streaming from Amazon. Highly recommend

Pros: _ease of set-up - Handles 24/192 and MQA - great sound - headphone jack - airplay and Bluetooth improvements with the 2i

Cons: DSD would be nice but at this price point cannot really complain

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding and Awesome!

Eric from Galveston, TX on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible! Sound quality is superb! Using it mostly with Tidal Master (MQA) and CD quality ripped files from USB stick. BluOS controller is ahead of everyone else. Using Analog Output to Schiit Saga preamp to Schiit Vidar power amp (100 watts 8 ohms) to KEF LS50 speakers, Morrow Audio SP5 speaker cables, Morrow Audio MA5 interconnect, AudioQuest Mackenzie interconnect, also a Onkyo C-7030 CD player for old school. Don't think I would ever use the Optical/Analog Input, but there if needed.

Pros: Build Quality!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Steamboat Spr, CO on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Super easy to install in less than 5 minutes! Works great in whole house system; streams everything as promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Eagle River, WI on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are only two reasons why I could not give the Node 2i a five star review - the sound quality of the toslink output is not quite equivalent to the coax (it was on the Cambridge Stream Magic it replaced with an optical quartz glass cable) and in my opinion the BluOS app is more clumsy to use than the Cambridge CA Connect app. That could change with future updates, however. Overall, it's an excellent streamer for the price. A neophyte to digital audio streaming would be hard pressed indeed to do better for the money.

Pros: Very good sound quality via the coax output; small and unobtrusive. This thing almost disappears.

Cons: Toslink output could stand some upgrading, and the app could be more intuitive.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i streamer hookup information

Charles from Jackson, KY on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Today, I received a new Bluesound Node2i multi-room high resolution music streamer from Crutchfield. I had it unpacked and connected in 10 minutes to my Yamaha C85 preamplifier using the included RCA stereo coaxial cable, connected it to Bluetooth, connected it to WIFI and added my modems home network password, and had it paired and streaming TIdal MQA Master files within 15 more minutes. It doesn't have a link to Apple Music on the BluOS app, but since I also have a 64 GB Apple TV 4K connected to my 4K UHD TV by an HDMI cable and also a Roku Ultra connected to the same TV with an HDMI cable, then I used a 6ft long optical Toslink cable to connect to one of my TV's optical Toslink outputs, then I connected the other end of the optical Toslink cable to the small included 3.5mm to optical Toslink adapter and plugged the 3.5mm adapter into the only input on the back of the Node 2i. Now, I can simply use the Apple TV 4K to play my Apple Music using the BluOS app and also switch on or off the Roku Ultra within the BluOS app. Plus, my Apple 12.9 inch 3rd generation IPad Pro works perfect playing Tidal MQA Master music files using the downloaded BluOS app. The problem with iOS not having the ability to stream Tidal MQA Master files on the BluOS app ended on 11 December 2018 when Bluesound added Airplay 2 as a firmware update to the the BluOS app. It sounds great when playing Tida MQA Master music files and sounds good using Apple Music! I love it!

Pros: Plays great sounding Tidal MQA Master files on iOS, BluOS app will play Apple Music connected correctly to an Apple TV 4K and 4K UHD TV, will turn on and off a Roku Ultra, switches all these devices within the BluOS app.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic purchase

Wes from Wexford, PA on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play after downloading the app. I am using Tidal HiFi and the sound is amazing. No problem connecting to my router and I have not had any delays or drop in music while playing. Well worth the ability to stream lossless music!

Pros: Lossless streaming Great design Not a large piece of equipment Fast interface

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. The Airplay capability made it an even better. Can now play music from the iPad without first connecting to Bluetooth. Excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 2/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. I did comparison of this unit with Wave files using Tidal streaming and a cambridge transport cd player. It was very difficult to tell them apart. Seamless app and had usb input.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, CA on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a Bluesound Node 2i to replaced my squeezebox and boy i was in for a surprise. The node 2i is a very wonderful product for anyone like me looking for a no nonsense music streamer. I enjoy spotify and tidal a lot and the bluos app from bluesound makes everything more pleasnt and enjoyable to use. Highly Recommended!

Pros: Easy to use Sounds good Lots of inputs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

An Exceptional Digital Music Source

Darin from Salt Lake City, UT on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After exhaustive research on digital music streamers capable of playing Hi Res files I ordered the Node 2i last week and connected it via the RCA outputs to my Hi Fi system (Rotel RC 1070 Preamp > Rotel RB 1070 Amplifier > B&W DM603 S3 floor-standing speakers). I then spent the weekend listening to a broad variety of classic rock, jazz, adult alternative, alternative country, folk rock, jam band concerts, and even my son's favorite metal selections, both as Tidal CD quality and MQA tracks, and lossless files (including Hi Res files) from my iTunes library. The Node 2i easily bested my existing digital source components, including a highly-regarded Denon DVD-2900 SACD and DVD-Audio player, and consistently revealed nuance, detail, and sweetness I had not heard before, in music that I know very well. My weekend listening sessions left me convinced that I have never heard digital music sound better through my system. I would prefer that this player had a display. It is also clear that Bluesound intends this device to be inconspicuous, but I would prefer a rack sized component. The BluOS app is also a bit cluttered, especially on a phone display. These quibbles, however, have nothing to do with how good the Node 2i sounds. I highly recommend the Node 2i to anyone looking for a component that delivers both excellent sound quality and the advantages of lossless digital music libraries and streaming services.

Pros: Exceptional sound quality with TIDAL CD and MQA files and ALAC files (both 16 and 24 bit) on local library. Integrates high quality music streaming into an existing Hi Fi system. Easy connection to WiFi network. Option to add other Bluesound music players for whole-home audio.

Cons: No display on the device. Odd shape and size is out of place on an audio rack. Local file share "wizard" failed to connect my iTunes library (I have an older iMac running High Sierra), and adding it manually was technically challenging. Some artwork did not load properly during index, but I have identified the problem and I am fixing it. BluOS app display is dense and cluttered on a phone screen.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Works great, but not not with Bluetooth headphones

Jim from San Diego, CA on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Node 2i works great hardwired to my amp and speakers; however, I purchased the unit with the expectation that Tidal and other MQA content could be enjoyed via compatible Bluetooth headphones. The first unit paired reasonably well with brand new B&W PX's with some initial wonkiness. These worked great and found a connection consistently for a week, then would not pair. After doing some basic troubleshooting of my own and spending time with Bluosound and Crutchfield support, it was determined that I would be sent a replacement for flawed hardware. The 2nd Node 2i worked great for about a short time, then (around the time BluOS 3.2.10 came out) again lost connectivity and would not pair with any of the devices I tried. At this time, bluetooth is not functional and I have no use for my new headphones. I have been denied a refund or replacement from Crutchfield (as it was several days beyond the warranty based on the purchase date of the first unit.) and Blusound. Blusound support says they are working on this and incompatibility issues exist with: B&W PX; BOSE QuietComfort 35; Sennheiser PXC550; Audio Technica ATH-ANC700BT; Seinheiser Momentium 2; and Beyerdynamic Amiron. In addition to these devices above, I have tried 4 other new/recent devices, but nothing pairs. Support staff from Bluosound and Crutchfield have been very friendly and efficient, but major flaws still exist. If you are buying this with Bluetooth in mind consider holding off until they figure this

Pros: Works great wired up to amp/speakers.

Cons: Connections to Bluetooth headphones is still in development stage.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Marshfield, MA on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to stream classical music radio stations and access a hard drive full of flac files. Set up was quick and easy with the download Bluesound node app On my iPad. Sound is vey clean, open and dramatically better than anything I have used before. My Klipschorns will show up any flaws in the sound. None so far. Not cheap but well worth the cost. Anything better would be twice as much.

Pros: Sound and ease of setup

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Home, AR on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Great app and hardware

Nima from Irvine, CA on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was previously using an Audioengine B1 and my iphone X as a source playing itunes via bluetooth to my emotiva integrated amp and silverline minuet speakers. The sound was fantastic but everyone told me i should upgrade so i could use Tidal and have CD quality sound or MQA and at least my itunes would be using airplay instead of bluetooth. I took the plunge and bought this, the app works great and the units internal dac seems to be a little upgrade too. Only complaint is i can't use my iphones physical buttons to adjust the volume in the BlueOS app i have to use the slider. I can however use my physical buttons using the tidal app via airplay to the Node 2i so i mostly do that. MQA functionality is a plus also. Also HUGE plus that you can control the blue led from the app, it's super bright so i dimmed it, you can also turn it off, i love common sense features like this. Overall using the Node 2i and Tidal my audio sounds more open and slightly more detailed. It's not a huge upgrade from my previous setup but well worth the money and i would totally recommend this to anyone.

Pros: Great sound, low price compared to competition, small form factor, and good looks.

Cons: Can't use physical buttons on my iphone to control volume in the BlueOS app only the slider.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic Streamer

Scott from Tacoma, WA on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fabulous streamer, especially now that the Airplay 2 firmware patch is live. It just works, perfectly, as advertised.

Pros: Great sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pure musical joy !

Andrew from Eagle, ID on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Bluesound Node 2i is an astonishing piece of kit. The sound quality - from FLAC files on my NAS (have ripped all my CDs to FLAC), Internet radio and even Bluetooth* from my phone - is a revelation. As my adult daughter said, "dad, I can hear stuff I never heard before from this music". Setup of the Node 2i is simple and straightforward. And the BlueOS Controller app is best of breed compared to other streamer apps I have used. Lastly - and as an illustration of how serious Lenbrook Industries (Canadian owner of both Bluesound and NAD brands) is about their products - both the classy packaging and the high quality materials used in the Node 2i are up to Apple standards and then some. Pure joy. * For Apple aficionados, Bluesound just upgraded Node 2i firmware to support AirPlay 2.

Pros: Sound quality, build quality, classy looks, ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome system

Crutchfield customer from Chester Sprgs, PA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Node 2i with powered speakers make an awesome setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent sound

Crutchfield customer from Colonia, NJ on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this connected to a Marantz SR9200 120W/ch with Kef Q700 floor speakers. It will not share files with my iMac - 10 years old running El Capitan OS. I do not fault Bluesound, they spent nearly 2 hours helping me figure out where the issue was. Excellent service support. Burned my Hi-RES music to a flash drive. Sound quality is excellent. You need a very good WiFi signal . I wish the Headphone amp was stronger - Im have Audeze LCD 2's. HOWEVER The correct way to listen to these headphones is with a dedicated amp, which I have. Computer/wifi issues are unpredictable and par for the course. I give this 5 stars because it does what it supposed to and really well.

Pros: easy set up, excellent sound quality,

Cons: no guarantees until you try it with your system.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nothing out there that offers as much for the price-a true no-brainer product for those wanting to stream. Special shout out to Crutchfield for easy order process and quick shipment!

Pros: Price, features, customer support, frequent updates, robust build quality, MQA, Tidal, Roon, ready!

Cons: May need to use external DAC as onboard unit comes up short in high end system.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Highly Recommended

PacNW from Bethesda, MD on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Sounds fantastic and very easy and convenient to use. I hear no need whatsoever for an external DAC with this. Works perfectly with Spotify and has other great sources as well. If I could improve anything, I would add Pandora.

Pros: Sounds great Easy to use No external DAC needed

Cons: No Pandora, but that is fully disclosed so can't call it a disappointment

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Component for Roon/Tidal Streaming

Robert from Orlando, FL on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this primarily to provide a way to stream high quality and MQA files from Tidal via Roon. I have a Roon core server in my main listening room and wanted to be able to create a group so that I could simultaneously listen to the same music in my office. The setup was very simple and configuring the Bluesound Node 2i for the intended purpose was easily accomplished. I have not explored any of the other streaming features offered through the Bluesound app, because it is performing great in the only role I intended it to serve. I still have a Sonos setup for these same rooms and other parts of my home, but this Bluesound Node 2i gives me higher-quality, uncompressed, simultaneous music in my primary listening areas.

Pros: Easy setup to use with Roon/Tidal Solid construction Compact size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Nick from Katy, TX on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

New to the world of streaming At first could not connect to ITunes on my MacBook Pro Got in touch with customer service and they called and followed up with several instructional emails Still could not connect so Itunes Customer service followed up with an email and set up a time at my convenience to call me which they called at the exact time I requested Now everything is working perfectly both through Spotify iTunes and an external hard drive I bypassed the Bluesound DAC and utilize the one installed on my Anthem integrated amp. I am very satisfied with the unit in the follow up customer service by Bluesound. The communication they provided and the follow up was excellent. They made sure I was 100% satisfied Highly recommended.

Pros: Unit in the greats well with Spotify iTunes and an external hard drive

Cons: Had some initial difficulty connecting to iTunes on my computer but Bluesound followed up with excellent and timely customer service and communication

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound stage is larger

Mike from Grand Junction, CO on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the Node 2 and upgraded to the Node 2i. I could tell immediately that the upgrade was worthwhile as the sound stage sounds even larger than before. The Node 2i is so easy to setup and allows me to access Spotify and Tidal streaming music. I use the Node 2i with a Roon server on Synology DS916+ so I also have access to all my own music. And Node 2i is Roon compatible.

Pros: Can stream Spotify and Tidal and is Roon compatible

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

chicago

jimmy from chicago on 10/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing piece of equipment right here. I had been using apple airplay, chromecast audio, but the Node 2i makes one of the most drastic improvements to my sound system that I can ever recall. It's easy to use and the sound quality is top notch. I use a Rotel RA 1572 that has a pretty decent DAC in it and the Node 2i sounds just as good if not maybe better (especially when listening to MQA tracks). It's very versatile in so many ways. It organizes my music well, it has an abundant amount of extra features, you can caonnect to spotify, tidal, etc. All you have to do is read the reviews esp from WHAT-HIFI.

Pros: Sound quality organization of music multi room capability

Cons: the dac should have been upgraded with this latest upgrade and airplay 2 is still not available.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 19 found this helpful

Bluesound Node 2i

Chip from Columbia, SC on 10/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great piece of audio equipment at a reasonable price . I bought the Bluesound Node 2i primarily for the MQA unfolding capability with Tidal- something my Oppo D 105 could not provide-and it's worth it! Also using it to access my 1000+ CDs burned in FLAC on my NAS drive -simple solution ! Very easy to use , quick access to whatever streaming service one desires. The app is also excellent and user friendly- surfing for the next musical artist or song on my ipad was simple and enjoyable. I connected it directly to my router and ran some Kimber PBJ analog cables to my Marantz receiver and the sound quality is exceptional ! Access to the universe of recorded music at my fingertips .....

Pros: Easy to use, Tidal MQA access , versatile for any streaming need , sound quality is top drawer

Cons: Instructions are sparse....

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

All my entertainment audio quality bumped up to 10 stops

KVR from Tampa, FL on 10/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All my entertainment audio quality bumped up to 10 stops. Already i am extremely 100% pleased with Kefls50 wireless, after adding this i am speechless. my wife got smile on her face while listening one familiar song. asked how much did i spend 1000 or 2000. that's it there is no illusion or delusion from sided. :) All my audio sources TV, CD uncompressed wave files from network , CD player every think sounds topnotch. i am totally sold by Gaucho,TUSK, Rumers albums Tidal MQA streaming sound quality and musicality. In this unit DAC is very good. all sources sounds with very spacious, detail and stereo sound stage become wider with depth and height like sound coming all over the wall. Tonal clarity and bass sound signature excellent and no stress even if i play at higher volume. Also it is eliminated digital jitter completely no hiss over edge of vocal or highs. This is well worth great accessory for any stereo and best way to improve sonic performance without burning chunk of money.

Pros: Jaw drooping Tidal MQA streaming sound quality and All my audio sources TV, CD uncompressed wave files, compressed files from network , CD player every think sounds topnotch.

Cons: Need one more digital input. Now i needed to switch between TV and CD player

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP