Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Bluesound NODE

Streaming music player with built-in Wi-Fi®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # N130BLKUNV

Bluesound NODE

Bluesound NODE

Streaming music player with built-in Wi-Fi®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # N130BLKUNV

81 reviews
View this product

Added to Vault in another room.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought an open box. Works perfectly. Sounds as good or better than the Bluesound Vault I have in another room and streams from the Vault as well as the internet without issues. MQA sounds better than CDs when streaming from Tidal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Better Than Expected

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been streaming Spotify in my car over bluetooth for a couple of years and it finally occurred to me that there must be a way to stream spotify through my home stereo system. I reached out to a Crutchfield advisor for advice on a product that would work. Jody first asked what components I had so he could match a product to my system (which is near audiophile quality). He suggested Bluesound NODE, which not only streams by Bluetooth, but can be connected to wifi for a more stable connection. My big concern was that the Bluesound Node would not have the sonic quality I am used to with my CD collection, however, with Crutchfield's generous return policy, I decided to order it and see if it met my standards. The price was pretty reasonable considering the price I paid for my receiver, CD player, and speakers. When I got the Bluesound Node, I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent build quality and the set up and configuration only took about 15 minutes...just download the app to my phone and follow the directions. I was immediately impressed by the sound quality. The soundstage is wide, the sonic detail across the spectrum is excellent, and the punch is good. I'm very happy with the addition to my sound system and I'm very pleased with the advice I got from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love the Node

Thomas from HENRIETTA, NY on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Node. I spent a lot of time looking for an affordable option for a network streamer to play music with my two channel stereo setup. Right about the time I was getting ready to pull the trigger on the Node 2i, this new Node model was released and it was a no brainer for me. The sound quality is very good. I like that BluOS works with most formats and many services. I have used both Tidal and Spotify connect with no problems. I have also used Amazon HD using the BluOS app and again no problems. I will say the BluOS app operates a bit differently than the native Amazon app, so if you get upset every time your favorite app is updated you might not like that. The one issue for me is that to save something to my library I have to open the actual Amazon app and look it up there. All in all this is a great streamer for the money and I would highly recommed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second 3rd gen Bluesound NODE. It is a fantastic product. Good connectivity options. Solid app. All around a very good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Basalt, CO on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, very easy to set up and connect to your favorite streaming service. Does a nice job of making everything seamless. Audio quality is good but not great however for the price it ticks pretty much every music streaming box.

Pros: value ease of operation good app

Cons: Lack of remote sound quality is good but not great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 11/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not get it to work with my WiFi despite many emails and phone calls to bluesound. Worked fine over Ethernet wired connection. I gave up and returned it.

Pros: Worked great over wired Ethernet.

Cons: Would not work wirelessly over wifi.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Node

Crutchfield customer from BROWNS SUMMIT, NC on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very frustrating on drop outs. Some days it works flawlessly other days it plays for a second drops out for up to 20 seconds then plays again. I own a son of connect and it never dropped out. Very very upset with this product

Pros: Sound quality when it works

Cons: Drop outs after drop outs

Crutchfield response on 11/22/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get his music streamer working the way it should or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Wake Forest, NC on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent.

Pros:

Cons: Software app leave a lot to be desired.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, GA on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use with my Tidal and Qobuz subscriptions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 11/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good, comes with most of the accessories you'll need and the software works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product that sounds great and was very easy to setup. Took me about 5 minutes from the time I opened the box until I was listening to music. Bought a scratch and dent model which was indistinguishable from new.

Pros: sound quality and ease of set-up

Cons: average RCA cables provided

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great help line

David from RUTHERFORD, NJ on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very frustrated ...2 hours no luck? Well try the toll free help phone # and a very nice knowledgeable lady talked me through it. I have 2 different networks confusing the setup. So the bluesound tech sent me down to my router & hard wired the node directly there & eureka! Great sound for my very nice audio system! I could not be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New tech paired with vintage sound

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, IL on 10/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This new streamer works perfectly with my old vintage equipment. I have a 40 yr old Hafler system & Magnepans. Sound is great & you can tailor the sound & even add a subwoofer. A lil trouble connecting it to my WiFi but I ended up figuring it out. Lastly I also have a Pulse 2 Blu Sound speaker & you can control both thru your phone. Worth the money .

Pros: Small footprint, easy to use once it's set up, looks good

Cons: None so far. Owned fir 2 weeks.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

node

Crutchfield customer from Daly City, CA on 10/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am highly satisfied with the product and it improves greatly my Bluetooth sound. I highly recommend it to those who loves streaming.....

Pros: Very great sound...

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Ortonville, MI on 10/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't think twice about it. Just get one. You'll be happy you did. I sure am!

Pros: Sound quality Ease of use Value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Splendidly stupendous!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb AUDIOFILE level Streaming!!!

Crutchfield customer from Kihei, HI on 10/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb AUDIOFILE level streaming!!! Amazing with Tidal Master Hi Def encoding. +Outstanding DAC for other streaming platforms. They need to add Pandora to the built in streaming options.

Pros: Outstanding DAC Good app interface Easy setup

Cons: No Pandora interface

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Mentor, OH on 10/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds as good as my cd . Very happy with the quality of sound. Bought my whole system from CF could not be more happy . Thanks CF. Dan

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surprise

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 10/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from a Node 2 to the new Node for the single reason of being able to stream Apple Music. What a pleasant surprise I was in for. The Node immediately improved right and left channel separation, as well as the clarity of my music. There was no learning curve necessary, it merely fit into my rack where the Node 2 was. It improved the streaming service I have been using, and yes I'm now streaming Apple Music. Mission accomplished. BlueSound could charge $1,500 for this unit and win A/B comparisons all day long. I suggest you get one while they are still priced in the $500-$600 range !! Crutchfield was marvelous, as usual.

Pros: Value Immediate improvement in the sound Ease of use Apple Music capable

Cons: I don't care for the "swipe method" of increasing/decreasing the volume. Just a personal preference.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OMG - Great addition to whole house audio system

LARRY from Benton, KY on 10/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product based on build quality, ease of setup and sound quality I am glad I picked this streaming device. It allows me to remotely manage all of my music on my whole house audio system directly from my iPhone or iPad. I was pleased when I opened the box to find such incredible build quality at this price point. No complex set up, unless you want it as the device menu has a great deal of options. Within 20 minutes of opening the box I was streaming audio. Very glad I spoke with someone at Crutchfield to explain some of the different streamer before I ordered. Another home run, just wish I hadn't waited so long to get the Bluesound Node.

Pros: Price Build Quality Ease of Setup Performance Ease of Management Interface

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Menlo Park, CA on 10/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Node does what it's supposed to do once you get it set up. You just have to have the patience to work your way through the software. I'm not sure why it took me so long to get it to recognize a hard-wire connection. This is my second Bluesound product, the first being the Vault 2i sy homr.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loving the newest Bluesound Node!

Charles from COEBURN, VA on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used and demo'd many Bluesound products over the years, and they've really hit it out of the park with the newest Node. In comparison to its predecessor, the Node 2i, this current model really benefits from the improved DAC section and addition of HDMI eARC - great improvements on an already very impressive piece of gear! In my living room I'm currently using the Node to feed an older NAD integrated amp that has no built-in digital section at all, let alone wireless streaming. HDMI eARC in the Node has created a simple and convenient way to easily incorporate both my TV's audio as well as hi-res streaming via Qobuz (and Roon) into the NAD. And, while the previous model already sounded fantastic, this one ups things just a notch with improved detail and imaging. However, if you prefer you can also bypass the Node's internal DAC and feed the digital signal out to your favorite external DAC via optical or digital coax. This makes the Node a GREAT streaming option regardless of your current gear and whether you're new to the world of wireless streaming or if you've been in the game along time - it's a piece of gear that can grow WITH your setup without becoming obsolete. The BluOS app is straightforward, easy to set up, and is very user friendly. Excellent product all the way around, if you're in the market for a streamer for hi-resolution digital music, the Node is a great way to go!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Technically and sonically good but a little short on app connoisseursh

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Bluesound Node delivers superior audio fidelity at a reasonable price. Indeed, the beauty and clarity of its sound is nothing short of astonishing, as is its ease of operation and its simplicity of installation. Only one downside: The controlling app contains sub-apps only for the most popular internet music sources. Its selection of streaming sources to support is faddish and millennial-oriented rather than comprehensive (for example, JazzRadio is not supported). Fortunately, these other sources can be streamed if one is willing to isntall, i.e., buy, another streaming device such as a tablet computer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Mill Creek, WA on 10/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes streaming to my home system an ease!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointing

Mark from Williamsburg, VA on 10/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hopeful! Received and returned. Setup and use of the required Bluesound app are horrible and remains the weakest attribute, which is an attribute that has not changes in several years since Bluesound arrived. Setup was difficult. Wireless connectivity was horrible (in the same space as other devices that have no issue maintaining a stable connection). I ran a cable from router to the device's ethernet port and there wasn't any improvement. Constant starts and stops, popping in between tracks. Kudos to those who have made this thing work for them. Lots of positive reviews out there, but my search will continue.

Pros:

Cons: Weak wireless connectivity Cumbersome, old, ineffective app

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Chevy Chase, MD on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this as a DAC/preamp to drive my Schiit Vidar into Dynaudio Excite X44s. The sound is excellent, great bass and sound throughout. I use mostly Airplay and it's easy and works consistently well. Only issues were a somewhat clunky setup, relatively low pre-out gain, and strange issues with nugs.net

Pros: Sounds great, tons of features, easy to use

Cons: Setup took a few tries, pre-out voltage somewhat low, doesn't work consistently with Airplay in nugs.net app

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

No connection

Crutchfield customer from St Cloud, FL on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not connect to WiFi. Returned unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Telford, PA on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Primary intent was to directly access my music library on a Linux server hosted shared drive, performed flawlessly. Sound is great and the additional music sources worked well. It would be nice if Bluesound made a matching amp, Powernode is not what I had in mind.

Pros: Music access delivers as intended and sound quality is excellent.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Digital Transport Only

William from JACKSONVILLE, FL on 9/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My set up is the Cambridge Cx81 with Wharfdale Evo 4.2's. It has been a fantastic system. I was having problems whith my tv's optical out put. I added the Node because of it's HDMI eArc input to solve my problem. Set up was a breeze with Ethernet attached. The whole process with update took about 20 minutes. I use Audioquest interconnect. Specifically the golden gate and cinnamon line. Not the highest quality but definitely good. I used the analog outputs to the cxa81 and for the first time, I winced at the harshness of the highs. This has never happened. The bass when it was present was muddy and without detail. It managed to strip all music of its soul. The Dac implementation is absolutely horrid. I switched to the coax output to use the cxa81's internal dac and everything changed. I was back to enjoying my music. I would suggest using this product only as a transport. Under no circumstances use the analog outputs.

Pros: Easy set up, eArc, great as a digital transport

Cons: Dac implementation is bad

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Good Streamer

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, MD on 9/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used this streamer for a month now. I have it connected to a Cambridge streamer via the optical fiber connection and use the Cambridge as a DAC. The DAC feeds two tube amps bi-amping a set of Klipsch tower speakers. I have not even tried the DAC on the NODE. As a streamer it is a very good, clear, top notch performer. The Cambridge would not directly support SiriusXM which is why I bought the NODE. The NODE's BLUOS supports a direct LAN connection to SiriusXM and the resulting stream is excellent in clarity, range, depth and consistency. The streaming interfaces are still in their infancy and leave a lot to be desired but work well enough for me to use. I am old enough to remember flipping over 33s so the idea of controlling my music with a smart phone both makes me smile and annoys me. If you stream Amazon Prime and think that is a high quality music stream then this review is irrelevant for you. SiriusXM, when brought in over a LAN, is as good as and in many cases better than the original CD. The argument of vinyl versus digital is not for this review.

Pros: Stream quality, clarity, depth and consistency.

Cons: Can't turn it off without unplugging. Can put it in "standby" but the unit is still in a operational state.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Great value streamer with so many featuee

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Bluesound products and find that the features, especially for the cost, are often more desirable and useful than more expensive music streaming options from other companies. The DAC is improved in this version but I still prefer using an external DAC. Roon ready, high res streaming, HDMI, USB (with eventual software update), AirPlay (great for wireless audio from AppleTV!), and solid multi-room integration with other Bluesound devices make this device a bargain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Do it Do it !!

Linda from Wesley Chapel, FL on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wifi signal is not the best so I purchased 100' cat7 ethernet cable for $15 and set it up for wi-fi because the node needed a firmware update right out of the box. If I had a strong wi-fi signal I am sure I could have done the entire set up with wi-fi but for $15 it was worth it. After I set it up I have had no issues, no dropouts etc. I use Tidal master quality audio and it sounds excellent over the node. Very happy. The only weird thing about the node is it has no way to turn it off... but it can be put in "Vacation mode" (which uses almost no power) if you are worried about it. Even has a subwoofer output if you need it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'ts amazing !! I like a lot

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Far superior to my Sonos Connect. Using the Bluesound Node, music is now much more nuanced and rich. I could not be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Initial review

Alan from Brookfield CT on 9/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an awful experience. Bluesound should be lambasted for having such a poor ap out after so many years. Crutchfield you should be ashamed for promoting and selling it. I can get the speakers to work through my IPad but the Node 2 stubbornly refuses to link with my WiFi. I purchased this to replace a Sonos system but honestly I can't see any benefit in having this botched system. I might add that the very pleasant tech support have so far been unable to help solve the complexities of starting up a Node 2 Review Update. After several conversations with the Bluesound support tech Eric I am pleased to report that all is now working as it should. The sound is exceptionally good for the size and fills our large living area more than adequately. None of this would have been possible with out Eric the support tech for sticking with me, so kudos to him. While the inconvenience of set up was annoying I am glad I didn't send back the unit in frustration. It should never be this difficult and hopefully Bluesound is working to improve their app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

the switch to Node was well worth it

Crutchfield customer from Ruther Glen, VA on 9/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally bought the Yamaha WXC-50 and while the sound quality was ok it didn't blow me away, After the second day it failed and I sent it back to Crutchfield and decided to try the Node. The difference is sound quality with the Node is very noticable and it was super easy to get it up and running The Node was 200 dollars more than the WXC-50 and is definatly worth the price. I've been buying electronics from Crutchfield since the early 1990's and they always come through with flying colors every time, Their staff is knowledgeable about the products they sell and everybody I talk to there are super nice. I'll always check with Crutchfield first when looking for a product. Well done to all the employees at Crutchfield

Pros: Sound quality is outstanding

Cons: Does not support Pandora

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from San Leandro, CA on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Difficult to get connected. Still learning to see how I can add Pandora and play YouTube music with it.

Pros: Nice sound.

Cons: Take long time to connect.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Reading, MA on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! So happy with it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy and enjoy

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 8/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think you pay for convenience with the Node. It is so easy to setup. Took me all of 5 minutes to start listening to music. The array of connections also make it easy to use. What is particularly nice is the ability to HDMI ARC so I can have the Node to do the D/A from my TV. The app on my phone works seamlessly with the Node and the layout is very easy to use. As for the DAC, I was using the least expensive Cambridge Audio DAC and the Node is definitely an upgrade over it. I think it is more than adequate for enjoying and listening to music but if you crave more detail and texture from your music then you probably ought to think about running an external DAC. When compared to the Burl Audio DAC I use at work, the Node doesn't present music with as much detail or 3 dimensionality. It does sound good though and I am able to enjoy it without worrying too much about the minutia of the sound. So buy and enjoy. It's that simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Loren from OSHKOSH, WI on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works, and the sound is solid and clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loving the Node

Crutchfield customer from Thousand Oaks, CA on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use. Works seamlessly with my Tidal streaming service. Highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Shelburne Falls, MA on 8/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works with multiple music streaming services, connected to an external DAC, this is my second NODE, with enhanced features from the previous versions. A sound purchase.

Pros: Price and ease of use

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from El Cerrito, CA on 8/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. My interest is classical music and being an audiophile I'm always looking for the next step to sound perfection. With my current setup this fits nicely as the Node features the Idagio Classical Music Streaming Service. I was able to plug into my Onkyo stereo receiver and now enjoy through my Monitor Audio speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound/Lousy App

Crutchfield customer from Northport, NY on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The improvement in sound is very good, or this would be a one star review. The BluOS app is awful, and the answers in their Help section are dated and do not match up to the current version of the App. The Alexa integration is also very limited, at least as far as I have figured out so far. This goes back to the poor Help/documentation described above.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PHENOMENAL!!!

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 8/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

definitely an upgrade. glad I jumped in

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound great, almost perfect.

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, I have it hard lined, not Wi-Fi, so that probably eliminates most problems. This is a 2.1-channel setup near our TV for music. SiriusXM integration in the app is very good (Get A+) and makes it easy for my wife to find something to listen to. Amazon HD you'll wish the interface was more like the Amazon app but you can still find what you are looking for. Large choice on other streaming service, and they all work well that I tried. Local Library has limitations on song count. I only put half of the limit size of 200K and trying use folders is slow. Album listing is slow on rending album art when you scroll through list. I did use the optimize artwork setting under library. For library I wish they would get rid of Artwork and make it as snappy as a Raspberry Pi running KODI. I knew this limitation from watching online reviews of the Bluesound Node. Everyone said to use it as a Roon endpoint streamer for your library, but I don't have a Roon server and use Plex server on a Synology. Liked the idea of one app to do everything. Just be aware of this constraint. Overall, I I'm very pleased with the Bluesound Node. If Library worked better; and without 200K limitations for files it would be a 5-star creation. I appreciate that every phone, tablet, or computer with the app, can control the Node no matter which device initiated the music stream. My wife likes there is a remote control to quickly mute or change volume. Remote (for wife) is sold separate.

Pros: sirius xm A+ on interface amazon HD Lots of streaming choice

Cons: Personal Libray is slow or cant hold Libray

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from New Rochelle, NY on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice dac love it !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound node

Crutchfield customer from Burleson, TX on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the cash, you can't beat the node

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took a while before I decided to purchase the Bluesound Node. There are lots of products to compare this at almost the same price point. I made my decision based on other people's reviews and prices. The Node is easy to set up and works well with Rotel pre/pro and B&W speakers. I'm using the internal DAC of the Node. The sound is clean; lows and highs are just right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A great and streamlined little music streamer

Crutchfield customer from Burbank, CA on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the latest iteration on the Node (not the Node 2i) and it is a great little device. Incredibly easy to navigate and setup was incredibly simple. This is a great low maintenance device for someone who just needs a great quality streamer to feed into a receiver

Pros: Compact Ease of use Sound quality

Cons: App is a bit clunky but you settle into it

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Utility player:Plays many positions

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 8/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little gizmo does a lot more than meets the eye! So happy with the internal parts of this mechanism including the deck and the Bluetooth is phenomenal both in and out in areas of headphones outstanding Bluetooth out. Anything going through this box is going to sound better which is going to allow me to sell a lot of What I no longer need in the realms of other DACs and headphone accessories.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 7/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am 100% happy with this product. Easy to use and noglitch at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great multi purpose preamp

Benjamin from Huntington on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been looking for a streamer to run directly to my power amp and work with Apple AirPlay. My main goal was to play music on my phone or tablet and be able to control volume directly from that device while playing from Apple Music. I have a monolith 2x amp that requires about 1.5 volts over RCA input for full power and the node seems to get awfully close. Don't have a way to measure but I do not want to listen at more than 2/3 volume for very long leaving me quite a bit of reserve. TV hdmi to Node is also functioning well for when I want better sound with a movie. At this point I haven't noticed any distortion at very high volume leaving me to believe the signal to my power amp is quite clean. In short if you're curious if this device can be a small preamp switch between a couple digital devices and drive a proper power amp be curious no more, it does it well.

Pros: Provides plenty of power through RCAs Apple airplay to control music and volume Digital inputs to switch to TV

Cons: No screen to see what's playing on the Node, but at the price it's a reasonable sacrifice

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Blue Lemon

A Crutchfield customer from Arizona on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to stream music from my music library and from Amazon HD. The sound was one dimensional and lacking in energy. I thought it might improve during break-in, but before I got that far the unit failed. When using the Bluesound app and bluetooth on an Android tablet, the Node would play for a fraction of a second, stop, and then send a static pop over my speakers. I could see that Android and the Node had paired up and connected, but the node couldn't play music. I checked my tablet by streaming music over its bluetooth interface using the Amazon app to drive a different component. That worked, so my tablet was functioning properly. The Bluesound volume control was also poor. Physically, the volume control is a bar displayed on the Node's touchscreen: you can tap the bar or slide your finger to change the setting. There was no precision, however, and no number is displayed to provide guidance. It became an annoying trial and error process to adjust the setting. Likewise, the volume control in the app was haphazard, and the volume leveling function had no audible effect. By contrast, Amazon's volume leveling setting does have an effect when I use the Amazon app without Bluesound). Aesthetically the Node is a stylish, petite box that blends with its surroundings very nicely, but its looks are spoiled by the touchscreen panel on top: when standing close, you will see all the greasy finger prints that touch screens normally collect. Ugly. I sent this little lemon back.

Pros: Easy configuration and setup, no wireless dropouts, easy to initialize a music library, Bluesound app is usable, Node looks good (except for fingerprints)

Cons: Inadequate quality control, defective unit, poor sound quality, imprecise and erratic volume control, ugly fingerprints, Amazon interface needs work, Android version of app is counterintuitive and requires too much navigation time when doing simple tasks

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Joseph, MI on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great streamer - good features and sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent device - rock solid stability, simple setup/configuration , I am using with the iphone app. I use it as a streamer to a Peachtree Nova integrated DAC/amp in my home office, sounds really good using the Node's digital or analog outputs. I mostly use AmazonMusic (for higher res audio) and Spottify (for convenience when the lower bitrate audio doesnt matter). Really like the IR remote learning feature so I can use spare buttons from my Peachtree amp remote to control the streamer eg for pause,next back, shuffle etc. I havent used mutiroom bluesound so cannot comment on that. I understand an update for USB audio output is potentially being released in future, providing another connection option to DACinput. My first Bluesound device, so cannot compare with earlier versions, but I am impressed with this Node and would recommend it.

Pros: ease of use sound quality rock solid stability featureset

Cons: top 'display' is only a touch keypad presets, volume and play/pause. - no track info etc touch keypad implies another device eg DAC headphone amp etc. cannot be stacked on top

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pop pop, clip clip, oh, what a frustrating sound it makes

Derrick from FOUNTAIN, CO on 7/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It breaks my heart. It really does. I'm a proud owner of a Powernode 2 and I've enjoyed it for years. But, the Powernode 2 is not enough power to really get my old floorstanding speakers to boogie. So, I bought a nice used Integra receiver to use as an amp, and I went with with this Bluesound Node because I love my Powernode 2...so what could possibly go wrong? First of all, the DAC in this thing sounds terrible. Restrained is the best way to describe the sound produced by the new Node's DAC. Restrained and one dimensional. It's like a flat, static wall of sound that never makes it past the front of the speakers. I do not kid when I say it is the flattest sounding, most unexciting piece of gear that I've ever heard. Easy fix, just use a digital output and bypass the onboard DAC. This opens up the entire soundstage, provides clarity, detail, dynamics, and imaging! One problem. A terrible clipping sound is produced whenever switching songs of varying bit rates. Bluesound blames the DAC in my Integra. So I switch back to the RCA outs and try to convince myself that the onboard DAC sounds OK. Even through the RCA outs, without any digital cable connected, I get a dull pop switching between tracks of different bit rates. So, analog or digital, there is nasty sound produced by this Node. Everything about this new Node feels like a major downgrade from my old Powernode 2, so I'm sending it back. I'm very disappointed.

Pros: It looks nice. It streams music if and when the software cooperates.

Cons: The DAC is far from "new and improved". Very poor sound quality. Clipping through digital outs. Dull pops through the RCA outs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 11 found this helpful

Great Device

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice looking unit. Installation was really easy. Connects to my network quickly and without fail every time. Sound quality is superb! Node is my latest must have accessory.

Pros: Fast, easy setup. Once set-up, just forget about it.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

One happy customer

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am one happy music lover and audiophile, my Bluesound NODE (N130) and Bluesound NODE 2i delivers amazing sound, was easy to install, and the app works flawlessly delivering jazz via my Amazon HD account; thus, I love them!!!

Pros: Looks good, easy to install, easy to operate, sounds awesome, and the price is great!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Daly City, CA on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great steamer ,easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

I am impressed! For the money, it's an amazing device

Old Guy from Arlington, VA on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical that the Bluesound Node could offer a significant audio improvement for my current setup (coaxial connection to Peachtree Nova300 and Klipsch Cornwall speakers) and my 60-year-old ears. I am happy to report that the Bluesound is a great product, especially at this price point. Within 5 minutes I could instantly hear subtle improvements and discover nuances to remastered "old" songs that I have been listening to since my 8-track tape days. I connected the Bluesound Node to ethernet and moved my FLAC files to my Synology server, thus no need to use my desktop computer to play music.

Pros:  significant audio improvement, especially if you are playing FLAC files or using streaming services offering 24 bit/192kHz music  iOS app is much more responsive than BlueOS Mac app

Cons:  BlueOS Mac software is usable but not finished yet  USB output not enabled yet (?)

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Recommended!

Michael from WHITEWOOD, SD on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An outstanding product. I've used it daily now for about a month. It's operation has been flawless and the music quality is better than my ears! I have another, cheaper, streamer in another part of the house but there is no comparison. In my opinion the Bluesound is worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it - no complaints

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely 5 stars from my POV - My main source of music is streaming from Amazon HD; the Node is the only streamer I've found at a reasonable cost that will stream Amazon's 'Ultra HD' tracks and not down-sample them. I used to stream from a desktop computer thru USB, and I love not being tied to the computer any more. Yeah you can nit-pick certain things but I think you'd have to spend a whole lot more to get a superior streamer that'll handle Amazon. The internal DAC is very good; sure you can spend a bundle for an external DAC for better SQ. The interface isn't perfect but is very usable & very easy set-up. A nice feature is being able to use your own remote to control the Node, it's very easy to 'teach' the Node to recognize your remote so no need to buy the pricey Bluesound remote control.

Pros: Sound quality is great Good interface

Cons: None at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Blusound Node

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent wireless music streamer. BluOS wireless system was easy to set up and operate on my iPad and iPhone. Tidal, Qobuz and Idagio all sound very good playing through my NAD T775 AVR and Paradigm speakers. I am using the DAC in the NAD connected via optical cable to the streamer so cannot comment on the Node's DAC capabilities. Very satisfied with the unit so far.

Pros: Very pleased with the sound quality and easy to use BluOS software. Nicely designed, good looking unit. Relatively small size allows for easy placement.

Cons: No display screen on the unit - though am getting used to relying on my iPad for viewing music information. (I still own an old Squeezebox Touch with display screen that I used for years.)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great with a few small issues

Crutchfield customer from Hghlnds Ranch, CO on 7/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tons of options for streaming but really sub par backend for adding networked devices. Take a look at the official forum before you buy. Again great hardware but sub par backend software.

Pros: Options Build quality Sound quality Flexible

Cons: Software for networked devices is brutal

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great hardware. I'm using it as a Roon end-point to our living setup. Everything sounds great, except it'll drop out randomly. Sorted out by rebooting everything in the chain and it's fine afterward. During that sent a help ticket to Bluesound and the support gentleman went off-rail and didn't my question/help at all. So I have to resort on the internet to find the solution. Software, BlueOS, not so much. It's pretty clunky of how things are organized. It doesn't have a flow to it. Once I've connected the Node to my network and use Roon. My wife likes it better, and she's using Spotify; she actual notice it sounds better then the Pi I have setup before this. So overall I'm recommending it. Hope Bluesound re-design its BlueOS software.

Pros: -Look great in white. -Good price -Great hardware

Cons: -Software needs to be improve. Mainly UI organization.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Guest from Roanoke, VA on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great device with upgrade path

Crutchfield customer from Watchung, NJ on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little device. It's fast and reliable and I haven't had any glitches. I'm using it to access FLAC files on my network attached storage drive. The interface is great and this was one of the main reasons I got this streamer. Another big plus and decision factor for me was that it allows for an upgrade path for the DAC. Since it has digital outputs, I might get a higher end external DAC in the future but for now, I am quite satisfied with its built in DAC. The only very minor gripe I have is that when you search for an album, song or artist, you see the results (quite quickly I might add) you aren't able to see what genre the search results are linked to. Like I said, very minor thing that can perhaps be addressed as some point via an update to the BluOS app, which is otherwise very intuitive. Highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loving it so far.

Crutchfield customer from Wapiti, WY on 6/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easiest set up ever! Huge list of streaming services is awesome. Elegant and intuitive app interface. Sounds great! I only wish it had one more digital input.

Pros: Ease of use, upgraded DAC

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than ever

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Node is the continual refinement of the Node 2i. Better dac, better features like inclusion of Apple AirPlay2.

Pros: Better dac

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Miracles done daily

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally broke down and bought a "streamer", the new Blusound. I was getting 96k streaming blutooth LDAC through my new dac, but thought this might be a little better. Thats an understatement. This is one of those things, you kind of grow into it. But it's earned its keep already. When I hooked it up I ran it through my new DAC using coax. And I plugged a one TB harddrive into the back. This has my entire music collection on FLAC. Streaming Tidal through this Blusound is better than blutooth for sure. Took it forever to read my HD, but it finally finished and showed up in the App. A few surprises. You can add songs from your collection mixed in with songs from tidal. Does not matter where the tune comes from, so I was playing Tidal mixed with selections from my collection. Nice. Big surprise was going on a pizza run the next day. My phone hooks up with my trucks head unit and plays songs from my flac collection on the phone . Was a few minutes before I realized that a lot of these songs were not in my collection, but on my Tidal. Somehow the phone hooked up with the node and was playing my blusound playlist. Wow. You forget sometimes that your home network is hooked up to the web.Any tune anywhere, does not matter where from. Not into multizone systems, I want music I use my main system. But this Blusound has great potential. Wave of the future and all that.

Pros: Sounds great, very flexible

Cons: Not enough documentation. You can figure it out pretty easy, but instructions more detailed than a pamphlet would be nice

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be a 5 if USB out to DAC worked. Manual says it is future firmware upgrade, support gives no timetable. As a result DAC in running off coaxial. Great product but not fully utilizing my external dac. Again, could be 5 star with firmware update, whenever it comes....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, GA on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a streamer and dac, it works really good and much over then my expectations. I have second system with Nuprime omnia and Naim. Node has more dynamics and detail either lower or higher volume. Only one issue is app!! It is kinds of complicated then other steamer or dac app.

Pros: Wide dynamics and detail. Stable connection

Cons: App.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor upgrade to the 2i. Very thin sounding . Kept the 2i

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the Node 2i and have always loved it. When the new version arrived I bought it straight away. I hooked it up and my impression was it sounded super thin, all my warmth and rich bass response was gone. I assumed it just needed to be broken in... After 125 hours little to no improvement. I also noticed no improvement in the speed of the OS.I returned the unit and am playing around with upgrading the DAC in the 2i.

Pros: Better detail

Cons: Big lose of warmth and bass response over Node 2i

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Promising but buggy

David from West Chester, PA on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this device to replace my beloved Squeezebox touch that has been discontinued and unsupported for 10 years now. This latest geration Node is a little buggy. The device was initially unusable as the buffering was so bad I almost put it right back into the box to return. After a firmware update and a restart, it has settled down. Now my issue is with the touch screen volume control. This is iradic and not precise. There seems to only be 4 points of volume, low medium loud and very loud. This makes finely adjusting the volume from the touchscreen not very useful. Volume control from the app is much more accurate and the way to go. The Blusound Controller app is awkward and not very well implemented. Odd things like color logos in the service install screen but only black and white logos where you actually select them. Other really clumsy things that my Squeezebox touch had for 12 years. For example there should never be a time when the volume controls are not visible and locked on screen. Navigation is inconsistent and the fonts to small. Even though the touchscreen is not very useful, I intend on using it with the app mostly. Hopefully as the app matures and this thing gets a few more firmware updates it will be excellent. It has potential and the grouping feature of multiple Nodes is a nice feature for multizone scenarios. I guess I will keep it as long as they can fix the touchscreen issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely fabulous! Ethernet Spotify and Tune In with Airplay iTunes library and ARC to TV connected to active speakers. A true delight to use with app. And Crutchfield not bad either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An improvement over the 2i

Crutchfield customer from Apple Valley, MN on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The analog output is an improvement over the 2i model. Almost as good as my Musical Fidelity M6sR. 4 stars for not implementing the USB output right away when released; must wait ?? for a SW upgrade. I have a use for the 2i in another system, otherwise I may have thought harder about this.

Pros: Decent Analog Out

Cons: No USB output yet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Bluesound NODE

Crutchfield customer from Marrero , LA on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean sounding. Coming from a Cambridge DAC Magic with a Parasound preamp, to this on an Anthem AVM60, this is much better. I'm using the DAC in the Bluesound. Haven't tried the Anthem DAC.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Glitch free streaming

Crutchfield customer from Middlebury, VT on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using it strictly as a streamer right now with the DACMagic II handling the conversion. So, I don't know how it sounds. But I am a fan of the software. Just wish it worked with Apple Music. (Know it's not BlueSound's fault that it's not included.) Audirvana now glitches out on Tidal and has despite two updates. So, the Node provides the streaming support I used to use that app for. BTW, during setup don't use a 5G router.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Paul from Candia, NH on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is Awesome! NOTE: This version of the Node is the newest version. The "Node 2i" is the version before it. The naming convention is a little confusing so I am noting this so people thinking about buying a Node know what is the latest version. I was streaming to a very nice system using the Amazon Music app on Apple TV and sound was ok but not the greatest and I felt this method was not taking advantage of my system (Sony ES AVR and Bowers and Wilkins Speakers with SVS Pro 2000 dual subs). I also do not think I was getting the highest res versions of the audio though the Apple TV. Tried an Nvidia Shield and did not like it although it could do a little better bit rate. Then being frustrated with trying to find a way to take advantage of Amazon Music HD I found the Node. The sound quality is like night and day and does my system justice. I had the Node 2i which was great also but I feel the Node (this version) is even better. The BlueOS app is ok. I have not had the issue others have had with it. It looks a little dated and is not as good as the Sonos app (but sonos only does CD quality not full high res). I have mine wired (ethernet) and I think that helps a lot as opposed to wifi. Everything is instant and I have yet to have the app crash. Sound quality is fantastic and I am using the nodes DAC. My wife also noticed how the separation, clarity and soundstage improved dramatically using this. Its one of those "just buy it" items. Totally worth

Pros: Sounds awesome. Easy setup. Quality product.

Cons: App could be better

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Five-Star Versatility, Build, & Convenience. Three-Star Sound.

BC from Florida on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I'm doing this precisely for the people like me who are looking for the very best sound they can conjure up between streaming services & components while keeping the best possible value for their dollars.. As a professional classical musician I'm very familiar with the way most instruments sound in-person. I run a 2-channel setup using a pair of Eminent Technology LFT8b speakers and the Rogue Audio Sphinx (v3). My inputs are a turntable (not often), CD player (less & less), and a streaming device for Amazon HD music service. That streamer has been the Andover Audio Songbird, which I've enjoyed but which has a "non-standard" signal output. It's really a bit on the low side, as their engineers acknowledged to me, so you have to crank up whatever amplifier you're using far more than you do when a CD player is playing into it (or most other standardized devices, including this newest Bluesound Node, released this month). The Node has given me all the output I could want, and it presents a very detailed and "full" sound. It feels immediate and musical. However, (astonishingly to me -I'm not kidding here) the "cheap" little Andover box I have sounds noticeably more realistic and enjoyable. Out of sheer curiosity, I had my daughters listen to several tracks A/B between both devices without knowing anything about them (or which was which). In their words, which I'll partly quote in the pros/cons section directly, they independently expressed the very same impressions I ha

Pros: Perfect selection of inputs/outputs and versatility. Great size & design. Quality build. Priced well. Lush, dynamic, detailed sound overall. App is reliable, robust, and effective, even if not always perfectly intuitive. Would be perfect if run digitally out through a DAC which sounded more natural.

Cons: "The bass sounded more like just vibrations than notes." (by direct A/B comparison with the above-mentioned streamer, using several tracks off of Amazon HD - a rock/pop, mixture of "CD" quality and "HD" or "UHD") "This one (Bluesound) sounds more like a recording, and the other one sounds more like they're here in the room." Very slight "warm" coloration (the only way I can put it) is pleasant but just makes voices sound like they're slightly flattened our or veiled instead of real

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP