Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Bluesound Vault 2i

Streaming music player with 2TB drive, CD ripper, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # Vault2iblack

Bluesound Vault 2i

Bluesound Vault 2i

Streaming music player with 2TB drive, CD ripper, Apple® AirPlay® 2, and Bluetooth® (Black)

MFR # Vault2iblack

24 reviews
View this product

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, VA on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

From the packaging and instructions, to the free software and ease of use, the Vault and Crutchfield's customer interface are second to none.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product. Needs a written manual

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!! Crutchfield chat helped Me find a workaround WiFi extender so I had an Ethernet connection to the vault. It took awhile to download the BluOS app to my phone and iPad. But it now is great to sit on sofa and control everything from iPad. Also love Internet Radio!!!! I wish vault came with instruction manual. Had to learn via YouTube. Thats why it took so long to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

App to control the unit is not user friendly at all. Significant loss of volume as compared to any other source. Tried to work with it for a week or so and was never able to get it to perform acceptable. Had to return it.

Pros:

Cons: Substantial loss of volume. Difficult to use app.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wish I could keep it

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely a great addition to my system for its sound quality and versatility, unfortunately makes a grinding sound when ripping CDs and the playback and editing modes could use some tweaking. Also, doesn't recognize many CD titles and songs.

Pros: Good sound and great for huge CD collections

Cons: Noisy ripping and UI needs more options

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Satisfied and Recommended

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First I will start off by saying it is disappointing that this is not WiFi capable which is the only reason for the four star rating. That being said it is a fairly straight forward setup. Some cd's and compilations will require the use of additional software to provide metadata to sort and store properly. I expected this when I purchased the unit, but you should be aware regardless. Although I ripped a cd I've owned since 1989 and it recognized the tracks and the artwork perfectly. The instructions are a bit vague, but you can go online and there seems to be plenty of information available. Regarding sound quality, I currently have it hooked up to my McIntosh MA6200 integrated amp which is driving Tannoy D10's with no complaints. While ripping a series of cd's the fan kicked on and seemed a bit loud. I corrected this by placing soft rubber furniture floor protectors under the unit, problem solved, in my case anyway.

Pros: Compact size Straight forward operation Many options for streaming

Cons: Instructions are vague Fan noise might be an issue for some, easy fix? Must be hard wired to network

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Incomplete, but so far unimpressed

Thomas from Latrobe, PA on 3/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a device to hold my CD collection and stream music from various sources. The Vault seemed like a good choice. I ripped a large number of CDs and wanted to play them. The Vault seems to ignore play commands, then skips constantly when it does play. Not just a single song / album, but everything. I signed up for the Tidal 3-month subscription, but it has been inconsistent as well. I attempted a re-set, checked my BT connection, etc. This is set up via ethernet cable so not a Wifi issue. About ready to return it if I cannot rely on it working well consistently.

Pros: Great idea to stream and hold CD collection

Cons: Execution is not working well so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great idea, poorly executed

Matthew from OLYMPIA, WA on 2/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Immediate return. This suffers from two major issues: 1. The fans and drive put out so much noise that I can hear them from across my listening room, which totally defeats the purpose of having a high quality component. I could justify it if this was only during CD ripping, but it happens while just sitting idle, with no CD in the player. Nuh uh; that's not acceptable for a dedicated component. 2. Why would you build a streamer that doesn't have a wifi adapter? If I want to run an optical cable from this guy to my stereo, then I need to run a *physical* ethernet adapter to that same spot? That means more time and money spent, and another plastic box hanging out in my room, or some more wires in the wall? Nowadays all of my equipement - tv, receiver etc., all uses wireless. I don't see any fundamental design reason why this couldn't. So...cool feature set to have a ripper/streamer/library in one. Maybe it makes sense for people who plan to use a 100% BlueSound system, so they can hide the thing in a closet somewhere and just turn on Bluetooth. But, for use in my own stereo system, I'm already so annoyed by the thing it has to go back immediately (sorry, Crutchfield).

Pros: The software interface is pretty simple, the app is pretty good

Cons: Noisy. Seriously. Why would you have an ostensibly high-quality streamer that puts out fan and drive noise when the optical reader isn't in use? Please redesign using no moving parts other than the optical drive (e.g. SSDs, fanless cooling), and turn off the optical drive when it isn't in use, if you aren't already. And...no wifi adapter? Whaaaa?

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great experience so far

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and ripping process. Good responsiveness from Bluesound about metadata management . Like the product. Accessibility of your entire CDs collection from the App is great. Use the FLAC format to rip the CD. Cannot tell the sound difference between the Vault and original CD. Crutchfield customers service was very helpful and informative. We bought a backup external hard drive in case of.

Pros: Ease of use and sound quality

Cons: Loading CDs one by one is tedious, hence the backup in case of...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Performed as Described/Expected - But Weak Instructions

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Vault came quickly, as always from Crutchfield. It is a simple component and relatively intuitive to use once you understand it. I have started ripping our collection of 700+ cds and am excited to be able have them all in a format where we can just select and play... so many we haven't heard in so long because of having to choose them physically. The only reason I'm not giving this a 5 star is because the instructions in the box and online are pathetic and I had to Google several questions and blogs to get me on the road to understanding how the thing works - fortunately, it wasn't hard to find the info I needed. Another disappointment is that there is no remote and I have set up in a place that is not easy to reach. I had to Google how to turn the thing off when we left for a few weeks. A little more help for first-time users would have been nice. All that said, it works like charm, so very excited.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second vault that I purchased for my vacation home. Hundreds of cds at two locations now. Well worth the price.

Pros: Your entire music library is now available at your fingertips.

Cons: None other than price.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great way to bring your cd collection back!

Crutchfield customer from Califon, NJ on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredibly easy to use and I am half way through loading my cd collection but the app design makes it so easy to access any song quickly. It is now a source in my Russound A bus whole house system and is an awesome addition.

Pros: Ease of load and great access via app

Cons: Twice while ripping live play of other music from app stopped. Used the reset in settings and that fixed it. Great upgrade would be to access app away from home to play stored music via web

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Getting what you paid for and then some.

Crutchfield customer from Fruita, CO on 9/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Vault 2i does everything as advertised. I have been loading my CDs into it at the rate of one every ten minutes or so. Quite convenient. It also feeds into my OPPO UHD 205 Blueray player which in turn drives my JBL 705P speakers. This gives me incredible hi rez performance for a total outlay of $4500. What a bargain! And there has not been the slightest hiccup from either of my systems since I went Blusound. Highly recommended.

Pros: Everything I was hoping for when I bought it on faith without audition.

Cons: Hell no!!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Jax Bch, FL on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Attractive. Very limited software. Easily rips and stores CD's. Pristine discs copy easily. A few fairly clean looking CD's won't copy. When tracts are removed from or added to the vault, never got it to reindex correctly.

Pros: Looks. Ripping CD's and playing inside the home.

Cons: Difficult and problematic to add tracts that don't copy correctly and to remove any tracts that one doesn't want after added.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Player - Reliability Concerns

Gary from Pasadena, CA on 8/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great concept. Easily rips CDs and organizes them for easy access. Sound quality from the Burr Brown DAC is excellent. Having ripped over 100 cds, I've only had difficulty with one not reading properly. The 2TB storage capacity is sufficient for 1500 CDs - that's alot of music. This unit is a nice way to store and organize a variety of digital music formats. Makes listening to CD's fun again. Often found myself listening to the Vault 2i instead of my vinyl collection. That's the good news! Unfortunately however, less than 2 months after receiving the unit, the system 'locked-up' and has been completely non-responsive. Bluesound tech service has been responsive via email during the past few weeks and finally today through an on-line diagnostic session. Bottom line, I must return the unit, they won't try to retrieve my music, which took hours to load, and I will get a refurbished unit in return. Not the customer service one would expect from a "high-end" audio mfg. Frustrated.

Pros: Hi fidelity sound. Nice user interface once setup

Cons: Little documentation. Requires a lot of on-line research to learn features and troubleshoot.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

Solid affordable streamer / CD ripper and storage

Nick from Franklin on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have a large collection CDs and want to rip them to lossless files , this is the device you'll want. It is a great overall audio streamer as well . Plays flawlessly in all aspects . Tidal MQA is very nice as well . The audio quality difference compared to my Maratnz built in streaming is noticeably higher quality . Looks , quality and sound are top notch .

Pros: Price , sound quality , easy to operate , app is solid , pairs with other Bluespound streamers .

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Midland, TX on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A perfect solution to allow you to play your hi resolution digital music library through your legacy amplifier and speakers. I needed a music server with storage that was less than 12 inches in depth. Perfect fit. While this will not work for everyone, I used a power line adapter kit to connect to my router. The online Bluesound support site is very helpful and easy to use. If I can set this up any one can. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved the Bluesound vault 2i concept and all it does but I was stymied with the lack of info about getting started . Anyway I persevered and finally found the mother lode its a great unit and I look forward to many days of great ripping, streaming and filling up that 2 terabyte storage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

The ultimate music server!

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For those that have the ultimate CD collection, this is an awesome device for mass storage and play back. More than enough storage space and provides access to multiple music services.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Good quality, frustrating design.

Mark from Cary, NC on 3/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For people like me who have large CD libraries and hate the quality of streaming, this provides the functionality you are looking for with caveats. As others have mentioned, documentation is skimpy at best. Have no idea if you can random play all songs without putting all songs in a playlist. It's that type of lack of info that is frustrating. You learn as you go with this. Good luck getting phone support. Also, do not like at all that there is no remote. Have to use the app. I would give this product five starts if it had an HDMI out for video and a remote so you could see your songs on the tv screen and use a remote like apple tv. That would be much more user friendly. On the plus side 2TB is huge and the sound quality is very good. Completely happy with the sound, just wish they designed the ergonomics and usability better.

Pros: Great sound. Large capacity.

Cons: Frustrating design features and lack of remote.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Kinda Works

Cecil from Lenoir City, TN on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setup was simple. "Instruction manual" did not contain ANY useful info on operation, no mention whatsoever of what color lights mean during ripping, how to set rip mode-FLAC, MP3 etc, or anything else operational. Most CDs rip but we are finding an "encode error" on approximately 5-10% of rips resulting in unit not recording some or all of the songs. We learned to check ripped CDs to see if they recorded properly. Some take 3 or 4 rips to record all songs. Others won't record thus far. This has resulted in a somewhat labor intensive operation...ripping, checking rip, re-ripping as required...etc. Unit continues to go to "upgrade" mode (solid red lights) for 15-30 secs many times a day. Called Bluesound for help. They said they couldn't see where it did this...to call them when it does it...not sure why...can never get help on the phone. After scheduling remote help, nothing has changed. Bottom line...works ok...when it works...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/26/2019
Cecil, we're sorry you're having issues with your Vault. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

17 of 18 found this helpful

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Ocean, NJ on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding unit that does everything it promises. The only critique I would make is that there is little to none included documentation. Even searching the manufacturers website it is not easy to find the information you are looking for - I eventually saw the answers to my questions (how do you you rename, move or delete the music files?) but it took some searching. Otherwise a full recommendation.

Pros: Features all work, sound is great

Cons: Little to no documentation, finding the anwsers to questions can be challenging.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

One star, with qualifications.

Larry from Cold Spring, NY on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My one star review definitely needs qualifications. I have a high-end stereo system - Krell amplifier, Thiel speakers and a Theta Miles CD player; all approximately 20 years old and still producing extraordinarily clear and superb sound in my living room. I purchased the Bluesound Vault 2i in the hopes that it will replace my aging CD player and still produce the sound I am accustomed to. The thought of lying on my couch and choosing any number of the over 1000 CDs in my collection without having to get up, was extremely enticing for me, let alone not having to store my CD collection in my living room. After several hours of trying to figure out the installation (I needed a Wi-Fi extender to accomplish hardwiring the vault to the Internet) I loaded a favorite jazz album (Sketch of Tel Aviv) into the Vault (FLAC formatted) and played it back. I noticed immediately that it lacked the depth and the clarity that I was used to. I then played the CD from my Theta CD player and confirmed there was a significant difference. I loaded Paul Simon's Graceland album and experienced the same issue between the Vault and my CD player. I tried, in vain, to reach blue sound support via the telephone to see if there was anything I was missing. After three phone calls, waiting more than a half hour on each, I gave up. In trying to understand the difference in sound quality, my reasoning eliminated the Internet connection as being any part of the problem, simply because CDs are loaded directly i

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/22/2019
Larry contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

28 of 30 found this helpful

Bluesound Vault 2i

Crutchfield customer from Windsor Mill, MD on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Looking forward to trying some of the hi res streaming services.

Pros:

Cons: Wish the ripping environment was faster.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Audiophile Quality Sound

David from Lynnwood, WA on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using a DAC to play my hi resolution files from my laptop for the past 3 years. I no longer need to hook my laptop up to my DAC. This little beauty burns in all of my cd's and also takes all my hi res files I purchased from HD Tracks and puts them in one accessible unit. The application interface is outstanding and very user friendly. The sound quality of this unit is better than my NAD DAC that I was using before I purchased this. The soundstage is outstanding with the sound disappearing from the each speaker and instead enveloping the room. I truly was impressed with the sound at this price range. If you want to get all of your files in one place and you cd's this is the unit for you. You will never need to pull out another CD again and your hi res files will be in the same unit that plays with audiophile quality sound. Surprisingly excellent sound and an easy to use app to play music make this unit high value. Highly recommended.

Pros: Easy set up, easy application use, outstanding audiophile sound quality, small footprint, is very versatile.

Cons: No wifi-uses a hard wire connection. This is really not a con for me but it may be for others.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP