Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Music Hall Classic

Semi-automatic belt-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # CLASSIC

Music Hall Classic

Music Hall Classic

Semi-automatic belt-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # CLASSIC

12 reviews
View this product

Music Hall Classic

Crutchfield customer from Gahanna, OH on 1/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely a quality unit with stellar performance. Even the delivery packaging was great. My son, who is an electronics engineer helped me set it up, and owns another brand of turntable, and was very impressed with this unit. Dr. Rick Nadalin

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall Classic

Crutchfield customer from Matthews, NC on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific sound and easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

This Music "Hall" is a Classic !!!

Merv from Philadelphia, PA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this turntable and did not like the "Spirit" cartridge that came as standard issue so I called Music Hall's customer service directly (I wanted to mount a Ortofon 2m Bronze with the MKii plug n play headshell & wanted to check its compatibility). Much to my great surprise and joy, the founder and CEO of Music Hall--Roy Hall, picked up the phone and asked if he could be of assistance. That was a shocker, we discussed the compatibility of the headshell (not compatible), but we had a nice chat about his view of technology and his dedication to 2-channel stereo sound. The table itself is built extremely well and, on Mr. Hall's recommendation, I unplugged my Schiit Mani pre-amp and used the on-board Music Hall pre amp installed on the Classic. I rarely use manufacturers pre amps because they generally are a throw-in for newbie vinyl afficianados to minimize their set-up and complexity. However, the on-board preamp was apparently tuned for the Music Hall preamp because it suddenly came to life with no other modifications. Mr. Hall is truly dedicated to his company and true reproduction of sound. Based on this conversation, I recently bought the Music Hall 15.3 integrated amp and its 15.3 cd-dac sibling. Great values for my back-up rec room system. For the $$$ ($600), this table beats everything in its class.....and why not buy from a company whose CEO exudes as much class as his products. Well done....

Pros: Quality Build; quiet gimbal tonearm; swiss army knife functionality (i.e., auto stop/4 prong cartridge headshell options); great customer service.

Cons: The cartridge, though tweaked by Music Hall's engineers still has a basic AT-95E heart; At this price point, this is a gem of a table & really shines with a cartridge upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall Classic

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely the best value for a turntable that I can find. Everything about it screams high quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Carson City, NV on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a Teac 300N that never was right. Love this turntable the quality and workmanship stand out ! The only thing I don't like is the turntable felt mat, it is not quite centered and kinda wobbles around. Yeah the noise when the record ends and the arm lifts is a little annoying but kinda of expected because there has to be some kind of resistance. Still I feel it is hands down a huge improvement over the Teac !

Pros: Looks, operation, sound and quality of workmanship !

Cons: Kinda cheap felt mat

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bought myself a presemt

Crutchfield customer from Ambler, PA on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great turntable. There is a pretty big difference (sound is better) between a $250 turntable and this turntable - but not a big difference between this turntable and one that costs twice as much. This is a great value. And...Crutchfield customer service was outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great jumping off point for new vinyl enthusiasts

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As usual, Crutchfield is awesome. I'm a electronics junky and a bargain hunter. While Crutchfield doesn't always have the best price (for pre-owned) they always provide the best customer experience. I can also count on them to make sure pre-owned items are in excellent working order. I ordered the Music Hall Classic from their scratch and dent inventory and it was delivered in less than two days. The turntable itself looks and sounds great. I'm just getting into vinyl and this table is a good starting point. To my ears, this table and the records sound warmer and fuller than the typical digital music I listen to. The auto stop is convenient and the pre-amp built in is also a nice touch.

Pros: Warm full sound. Great vintage look. Auto-stop feature and built in pre-amp.

Cons: The platter "groans" when auto-stop kicks in. The feet are ugly. Music Hall doesn't offer and upgrade for the platter.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very nice addition to my system

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a much higher quality turntable than the TEAC TN440S (1 1/2 yr old) that it replaced account the motor going out. MM Cartridge and general solid feel to the components are an enhancement, and sound quality is fuller/richer. The walnut base and general looks enrich my electronics and cabinet. The only problem is in the Semi-auto return/shutoff. Makes a groaning sound briefly, more than even my original 1974 Duel TT (still operating). I will talk to Crutchfield to see if this is common.

Pros: MM Cartridge and general solid feel to the components are an enhancement, and sound quality is fuller/richer. Walnut base contrasts well with the chrome-trimmed platter and arm. Even appreciated when not playing.

Cons: Semi-auto shutoff makes a groaning sound briefly when lifting the needle.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Music Hall = Quality

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with the quality and sound from this turntable. The built in preamp feature Is great. Incredible sound paired with Denon receiver and Klipsch speakers. Highly recommend this turntable if you are looking for quality.

Pros: Great sound High quality Great looks

Cons: Assembly instructions could be more clear.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall Classic

Crutchfield customer from Grand Junction, CO on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems like it is well made. However, the one I got didn't function correctly. It took 5 or 6 "bumps" at the end of the record to finally lift the tonearm...3 albums it wouldn't lift at all. And when the arm lifted, it made a squealing sound like the belt was slipping. Return it to Crutchfield. A+ for the great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Exceptional value and great sound

Crutchfield customer from Warren, RI on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent a lot of time comparing turntables before deciding to the Classic to my very modest setup. With a budget of under $800, I had planned to upgrade the cartridge, platter, and pre-amp later on. Setup was very easy and I was impressed with the good looks and build quality. My setup is with a Yamaha A-S501 and a pair of Polk TS-i300's. Right out of the box, the Classic sounded great and now I'm not planning on those upgrades any time soon. The Classic's low end is defined and does not need any help from the Yamaha's EQ. The high end is clear without unpleasant harshness. My older records (used and yard-sale treasures) sounded much better than on my old table and my newer heavy vinyl records sound amazing. If you are a new vinyl enthusiast and want something nicer than the typical entry level tables, this is a great choice. The preinstalled cartridge and built-in pre-amp are a great match and make getting started a breeze. The one add-on I would suggest would be a set of acoustic isolators, such as those made by IsoAcoustics (also sold by Crutchfield). I get a little rumble, but this may just be the room and the furniture I have the table on. Depending on your tastes, you may at some point want a tube pre, but I would suggest seeing how you like the built-in pre first. All in all, this is an excellent able for the money and beginner or even more seasoned vinyl lovers will not be disappointed.

Pros: Sound quality, good looks, ease of set up.

Cons: Semi-auto tone arm return mechanism is a little noisy, but it can be disabled (I don't use it).

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Great purchase

Crutchfield customer from Elkhart, IN on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my turntable. It is beautiful as well to look at. Sounds great with my new system. Enjoying listening to old and new records. I would recommend this turntable to anyone.

Pros: Easy hook up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

TOP