Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Manual belt-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # MMF-1.3

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Manual belt-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # MMF-1.3

19 reviews
View this product

Get what you pay for

george from Medina on 5/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this turntable about 2 months ago. It looks nice and sleek and that's as far as it got for me. It would never speed up enough even after trying the dial setting underneath the unit. No matter how much I tried to dial and reset it , it would just remain lagging the song behind. Also I was not impressed with the sound. I was planning on taking my new vinyl collection and getting rid of them and sending the turntable back. I decided to look up the needle as it was very inexpensive (hint...cheap). I thought about changing the needle but, why not just buy a turntable with a good needle already on it. The Pro-Ject Debut carbon Evo. It cost a bit more but they put a Sumiko Rainier ($160.00) cartridge on it. The needle alone cost about half of what the MMF1.3 cost. So the should tell you who is serious about their turntable. The sound of the Pro-Ject made me go buy more vinyl. Good by cds. Clean full sound with every note having full fallow through on ever sound...even chimes and sysmbols.

Pros: looks nice!

Cons: Turtable motor very weak and slow. Cheap needle

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The vinyl play is on !

Crutchfield customer from Selma, AL on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was better than I expected , easy to setup with on line video to help.

Pros: Easy to read setup instructions..

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, IN on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very satisfied with my purchase, it was an easy assembly and works great, the sleek looks are also a positive. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent choice for the dollar!

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 4/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't think I could be happier with this turntable for the price. As others have stated, the lid can close a little hard if you are careless, but it takes very little effort to assure it closes softly. Someone clever could maybe invent replacement soft close hinges for it and make a mint :-) Sounds quality is excellent. We have begun to amass some Vinyl since we ordered it (mostly used) and have not had one skip yet.

Pros: No skipping Price Easy to assemble Easy to use

Cons: Hinges not soft close (very minor to me but wanted to add)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great beginners turn table, the sound is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Mount Shasta, CA on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build, beautiful to look at, and easy to set up. But the key is sound quality, which is wonderful. My first venture back into the world of vinyl in 45 years, and I don't understand why I ever left!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Turntable review

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The advice was perfect for my needs and the turntable sounds awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

You can't go wrong with this turntable

Crutchfield customer from Bellefonte, PA on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

During the 80s, I had an Akai AP- B20 belt driven turntable. It wasn't an audiophile's dream, but it sounded fine for the type of music I prefer (bluegrass, old-tyme fiddle tunes, etc.). Sadly, the turntable spun its last vinyl 20 years ago. For some reason, I never replaced it until recently as my records had remained quite long enough. I spent quite a while researching the turntables that were on the market. The Music Hall MMF-1.3 turntable caught my attention. The reviews on Crutchfield's site left me with a distinct impression that this turntable would be a good replacement for my 80s era Akai. I didn't want Bluetooth, USB, or the capability to digitize my vinyl collection. So, I took the plunge and purchased it. When it arrived, I opened the box and was elated. The packing was secure. The included instructions helped guide me through the setup process. The RCA cables included were not permanently attached to the turntable. The black color complements my other black 80s stereo equipment. It took me about 20 mins. to get the turntable put together, tone arm set, and hooked up to my stereo system. I placed a Norman Blake album on the platter, turned on the power, lifted the tone arm and placed it on the record, and waited. Suddenly the sound that came from the speakers was truly amazing: Bright tones, a clear sound, and sweet music - even better than I'd remembered. The turntable was exactly what I wanted and the price point couldn't be beat. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, WV on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems well built. Easy set up and sounds good. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Entry Level!

Jacob from Temecula, CA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I opted for the outlet version of this product, and it basically came brand new! If you're trying to save a little bit of money, I definitely recommend utilizing the Scratch & Dent/Outlet store! This is a great entry level turntable that gives off this "audiophile" vibe. I enjoy that I'm able to switch from the internal pre-amp to an external one, with a switch of a button! I do think it's crucial to replace the cartridge after awhile, since you'll gain better sound with a higher quality cartridge. Also, the counterweight, the cue-lever and the anti-skate mechanisms are so useful AND crucial for maximum optimization. I have pretty shaky hands because I'm always scared of ruining things, so being able to utilize the cue-lever has been a dream come true for someone who has immense anxiety. It isn't aggressive with lifting either! Gently lowers and raises the stylus off of the platter. The cartridge came pre-aligned as well! So that's a plus. Also, the sound is HUGE! I haven't felt the need to mess with the speed adjustments that are underneath the unit, so that's been a blessing for me. Sound reproduction is pretty dang accurate and spot on, so don't worry about having to adjust the speeds. I do recommend purchasing a cleaning kit that has an anti static brush so you can get ride of those annoying little pops/feedback. Other than that, I'm super happy with my purchase! I cant wait to upgrade this unit a bit more and truly make it the ultimate record playing device!

Pros: Cue Lever, Anti-Skate, Counter weight, internal pre amp for plug n play, detachable RCA cables, nice piano black finish that doesn't feel cheap. Rubber platter mat

Cons: Maybe, MAYBE, the cartridge since it requires 3grams for tracking? May be to heavy for some, but I don't mind it. It is a dust magnet, so be sure to consistently keep this baby dust free.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great turntable

Crutchfield customer from Sidman, PA on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first turntable and I couldn't be happier. The design is excellent and the sound is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Thompsons Stn, TN on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the money. High end quality throughout.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been beyond impressed at such a quality Turntable at such a great price! The sound is amazing and it's a beautiful addition to my gear which 90% came from Crutchfield! Longtime customer and plan on many more purchases!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and operates very nicely. Sound beyond my expectations.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High Quality Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Dayton,%20OH on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a high quality turntable! It looks good, has a weighty platform, and sounds great! Exactly what I was looking for.

Pros: Platform has good weight to help offset vibration. Comes with a nice Audio/Technica needle.

Cons: Would have preferred some semi-automatic or fully-automatic features

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional!

William from Southfield, MI on 5/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable is labeled entry level but I would strongly disagree! It plays like a top of the line turntable. I paired it with Klipsch RP160M reference speakers and my albums sound crystal clear! I can't play enough albums to satisfy me! Love it!

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: Wish it had auto return but no biggie!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My neighbor fortunately helped me yesterday wi.th final setup. I'm loving playing old albums!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.3 Turntable

Joseph from Perkasie, PA on 2/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very nice turntable at a very nice price. Easy to assemble. Sonically exceeded my expectations. Only negatives are that the cartridge tracks at 3 grams and the dust cover, although a plus to have, has to be lowered by hand all the way down to prevent "banging" and/or stylus skip. Turntable lives up to the reviews it has received.

Pros: Easy assembly, turntable comes with moving coil cartridge, dust cover.

Cons: Cartridge tracks at a hefty 3 grams, dust cover weight will create an audible "bang" or stylus skip if not lowered completely to rest by hand.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Superb Value!

James from Nevada, MO on 1/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is simply the best turntable I've ever owned. It's the first non-plastic table I've owned (and I've had quite a few). Our LP's sound better than ever. They actually seem more quiet than previous, with the ticks and pops not being nearly as noticeable as before. So far, I've only used the built-in phono preamp, but it sounds good to me. Still, I'm sure I will eventually try it with an external pre. I'm extremely impressed with the design and quality. It has good heft and a beautiful finish. This is a gorgeous looking and sounding record playing combo for a very reasonable amount of money, IMHO. If it holds up for me, and I expect that it will, it is an easy recommendation at this price point.

Pros: >sound quality >build quality >feature set >usability >looks >value

Cons: >heavy recommended cartridge tracking force (3 gm) might cause extra record wear >no auto return and shut-off >dust cover is heavy (good) but can fall hard, causing stylus to skip (bad!), so care is needed when closing it with a record playing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

TOP