Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Manual belt-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # MMF-1.5

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Manual belt-drive turntable with built-in phono preamp

MFR # MMF-1.5

34 reviews
View this product

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Irondale, AL on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Nice Starter Table

Richard from Valrico on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would have given it 5 stars but it won't work with all cartridges. Let me explain, all cartridges weigh a different amount and the one that comes with it is a light weight cheap cartridge. I tried several of my Moving Coils on it and the counter balance weight doesn't give you enough off the back of the arm to be able to balance the set up. Now I know this is a starter table and I only bought it to look cool and vintage next to a 1970's Harman Kardon Citation power amp and preamp. The Ortofon Red just does work. My Technics SL1500c has an extra weigh that is added when using something like a Denon 103R or several other MC's I have. Just would have been nice for and extra 1$ to include that. Just set it up and having a loud hum through both phono section on the HK preamp so I'm using the phono section in the table into an AUX and it works fine. More than likely something in the HK preamp phono section or a grounding problem. Not a deal killer since it's not my main system and I also have several high end outboard phono preamp's yet to try. Well made, looks cool, seems to be quiet enough but will be adding some Mortite to the bottom of the plater for much better damping. Perfect table for those just getting into vinyl but do upgrade the cartridge.

Pros: Nice build quality, Cool looks Quiet and like the "S" arm for changing from one cartridge to the other.

Cons: Cheap pre-mounted cartridge, Speed control on the back of the table and not enough weigh adjustability for heavier higher end cartridges.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Manlius , NY on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a great turntable. I only wish it automatically stopped at the end of the record. But it looks beautiful and plays beautifully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Adams, NY on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected. Looks great in our new entertainment room and sounds incredible!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MMF- 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Guayanilla, PR on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente, me sorprendió mucho su peso. Combina con mis Wharfedale Linton y se escucha increíble.

Pros: Es una máquina pasada el brazo me encanta. Le cambie la aguja pero la que trae suena muy bien también.

Cons: Nada.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful rich sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is the greatest phono I have ever owned, highly recommended for all your record enjoyment!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is beautiful and very sophisticated looking, sturdy, and high quality. It was not difficult to set up. Our previous turntable had skipping issues but we had absolutely no skipping with this one. The sound quality is fantastic - we do not feel the need to upgrade anything. We are very very happy with our purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very much worth it.

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, KY on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I rarely take the time to review things, but this was so nice I felt I had to. I bought this as an entry level turntable. I couldn't find a ton of stuff about it, but everything I did find was very positive and now I see why. It assembled very quickly and easily out of the box. It sounds and plays great. Also, I have had zero issues with it so far and I have already put a lot of mileage on it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, PA on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I been thinking about buying a turntable for a while and had read a review of the MMF-1.5, so I decided to go with it. Couldn't be happier with it. The set-up was easy and it sounds great. Wanted a unit with all 3 record speeds, so this was perfect. Had to purchase an additional cartridge to listen to 78s.

Pros: Easy to set up Sounds great

Cons: None that I have found

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Damahed stylus

Wayne from Aiken, SC on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't got to play it yet as the stylus was bent backwards when I took everything out of the box. Crutchfield is sending a replacement cartridge, not the Music Hall Melody though which is disappointing as they did not have one. It is a beautiful turntable though and hopefully the cartridge will be here soon and I can see how it sounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 6 found this helpful

my new turntable

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worth every penny classy cherry finish classic sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Better than expected.

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 10/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than expected. Have about 10 hours of play time on this unit. Have owned various brands over the years. Bought this unit for my bedroom system. My main system is a VPI scout with a Karat cartridge. This unit sounds good, but I have ordered a better cartridge Goldring E3 with hopes this will improve sound even more. The only con would be the dust cover, very cheap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Money well spent!

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, TN on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an improvement over my old turntable. The quality of the music just blew me away. I was expecting some improvement but was floored at how good it actually sounded. Beyond the sound, this turntable is beautiful,build quality is top notch. I highly recommend this to anyone that is looking to upgrade from an entry level turntable, you won't be sorry with this purchase.

Pros: Sound quality, phono pre-amp, 3 speeds

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Fast and easy

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, MI on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First turntable in years .sounds great easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Buy it!

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After purchasing and returning two Audio Technical turntables that had speed problems from another retailer I purchase this one from Crutchfield. Great entry level turntable. Easy to assemble. Great sound. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect "daily driver" turntable!

Salvador from MODESTO, CA on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 'table is of high quality finish, and perfect features for ease of use. It's got just enough features to bring the newbie into vinyl, but not so many, that the "audiophile" would disregard it. I own the Rega P3 but wanted something with a few more features and ease of use. (something like a "daily driver") It's not much of a step-down even though it's less than half the Regas price. All of the touch-points are of a high quality, solid feel. Gorgeous turntable, and the sound is deep, broad, and thorough. I would recommend using your own phone pre-amp if you have a good one, though the one supplied is highly satisfactory. I've also swapped out the cartridge as I wanted a little more depth of sound, but the supplied cartridge is more that satisfactory. Crutchfield made purchasing this from them, more than easy. It was a fantastic experience from purchase, to delivery, to set up! I'm very pleased with the transaction all the way around.

Pros: High quality finish. Elegant, refined appearance. Convenient speed selector. 3 speeds for listening to almost any record. 1/2 inch mount makes it easy to swap out cartridges.

Cons: Nothing at this price.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

A fine and beautiful turntable

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a replacement turntable for my old (1976) Rega Planar 2. The Music Hall has many excellent reviews and it deserves them. I picked this up as a scratch and dent and, as I expected, the only marks are on the clear cover. Otherwise, the unit is flawless. My slight modifications are an acrylic mat and an upgrade cartridge (Vessel A3SE). Sounds great. Runs through an emotiva phono pre- amp, Marantz 7705, Audio Outlaw 5000 Amp, Golden Ear Triton 3+ Speakers and Golden Ear Forcefield 4 subwoofer. Also a dbx decoder is in the mix for my small, but rare, dbx collection.

Pros: PROS: adjustable speed control, three speed settings, spring loaded cover that pops up with a touch, easily changeable pre-wired cartridges, beautiful base wood.

Cons: CONS: no VTA adjustment (Music Hall's more expensive units have this), non-leveling feet, thin acrylic cover feels cheap, anti-skate adjustment not accurate ( I used a blank disc to adjust).

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Columbia

Mark from Columbia on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has replaced my Kenwood fully automatic table. I wanted something that had great sound and a minimalist, but stylish look. I did the cartridge measurements and it was very close. RPM speed was spot on. Another quality purchase from crutchfield.

Pros: Beautiful, and sounds just as beautiful.

Cons: Non adjustable feet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Looking and great sound.

Norman from New York, NY on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to assemble. Solid build. Sounds great. Best table I have ever owned.

Pros: Have no issue with recommending.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great purchase

Crutchfield customer from Hailey, ID on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a beautiful turntable. It looks great and the sound quality is fabulous. The precision of the belt drive and platter is amazing--you literally can not see it is turning with out a record on it!

Pros: Beautiful, solid, precise

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Looks great and built in pre-amp is a big plus since I haven't gotten a new amp yet. Sound is better than I expected from an entry level turntable.

Pros: Built in pre-amp.

Cons: Non yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Sea Cliff, NY on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a great product. Looks great and sounds great. Seems to be built pretty well. The only knock I have is that the instructions could have used some diagrams, as there is some minor assembly required. Still was pretty straightforward and it doesn't affect the performance at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality of this turntable is as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

The right features and the right look

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Power/speed switch, cue lever, arm and damping are solid and sturdy but do their work gently. Just as one would want in a turntable. It's exactly what I've been hoping someone would make: a contemporary TT with a S-shaped tone arm, removable headshell, and ability to change speeds with a switch (as opposed to removing the platter and moving the belt). I had a stanton table since the late 90s (modeled after technics 1200). I love it still, but as I got older I grew tired of it's intrusive industrial appearance. That said,I didn't want to sacrifice the above-mentioned features for the sake of aesthetics. When Music Hall came out with this it was exactly what I was looking for. I upgraded to a different cartridge and usually use the phone stage on my amp. The built-in preamp is just OK (but that's generally true of all on board preamps). I say that's fine for someone just starting out or on a tight budget. The feet aren't height-adjustable (so they're no help in leveling) and they conduct a few more vibrations than other TTs I've used.

Pros: Smooth and steady. Solid arm, precise and gentle cue lever. easy to change cartridges, play 45s. Looks good.

Cons: The feet should be better.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first new turntable in 35yrs. I ran it though an older EQ my albums sound great from my JBL monitors .

Pros: Got here really quickly .

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful all around, but most important great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great gift!

Luana from Castro Valley, CA on 10/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a gift for my husband's birthday, talk about a gift that keeps giving! The rich sound of vinyl is amazing when played on this turntable. The wood tone really does compliment the warmth this baby turns out. This is a fantastic addition the entire household can enjoy. After hooking it up i did need to purchase a separate preamp (schiit mani) under $130, worth every penny!

Pros: Good value

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking, but even better, great sound quality..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Rolling Prairie, IN on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything that iI expected. Shipping was prompt and the turntable works beautifully. Great sound!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Jeffrey from Kenai, AK on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose this turntable as part of my minimalist analog system. Visually the wood plinth looks very classy, the platter is reasonably heavy cast aluminum, tone-arm and controls are simple and effective, the all manual configuration requires some attention from the listener. This turntable is paired with an all tube class-A 15-watt integrated amplifier and Wharfdale Diamond 220 speakers in a relatively small listening room; the result is amazing for its warmth, clarity and outstanding mid-range sound that compliments acoustic instrument recordings at moderate volume. Overall this is an exceptional entry level turntable; you can spend much more and have many more features but I don't see any need to upgrade for my needs.

Pros: Cost Performance Appearance Simplicity

Cons: Built in Pre-amp marginal

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Loudon, TN on 3/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've tried lots of turntables over the years and this particular table is one of my all time favorites; can't beat it for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 11 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-1.5

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Looks awesome! Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP