Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge

MFR # MMF-2.3 SE

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge

MFR # MMF-2.3 SE

18 reviews
View this product

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is fantastic. Even old records sound the best I've heard in years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Appleton, WI on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I have been really happy with this turntable. It sounds great and looks classy... I feel like it's a great starting point for a manual turntable. As time goes by, I can continue to upgrade this turntable. I have already upgraded to the acrylic platter. Next year I'll upgrade the cartridge.

Pros: The sound is so much bigger than my first, inexpensive turntable.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Daphne, AL on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been wanting a turntable for years and am completely satisfied with it. I don't need the bells and whistles, Music Hall clearly focused on the sound, which is excellent. It was easy to set up. I bought a new 180 gram copy of Steely Dan's "Aja" and was blown away by the sound. The low end was especially tight, sounds much better than the digital version on my phone, I mean, noticeably better. If you are looking for an audiophile turntable without breaking the bank, this is the one. Crutchfield had a substantial sale price going and the rep helped me pick out the best one for my needs.

Pros: Great sound, easy set up.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Newark, NJ on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great entry to mid-level turntable; Easy to set-up....was listening to my old vinyl collection within minutes. Service and support from Crutchfield was A+

Pros: Classic design and finish Easy set-up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Newport, KY on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth every penny. Buy one i have five turntables here three hooked up this is the best sound by far.Inever jumped off the vinyl train so get one try it you will like it .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing turntable, looks beautiful, sounds amazing!!

Fernando from El Paso, TX on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great turntable, I was leaning towards a different brand but with the help of the Crutchfield team and asking around on different forums, I decided to buy this one. The sound is simply great, the build is amazing, it features a carbon fiber tonearm, electronic speed selector and the finish looks amazingand the sound is even better. Now for the people mentioning the antiskate weight, it's actually the same as the one on the ProJect DC and actually the Music Hall is made at the very same factory and with many of the same components. The arm lift ideally should go a bit higher but it works fine. Setup was a breeze and it sounds amazing with the included cartridge, I can only imagine how it would sound with something like a 2M Blue... You have some very interesting upgrade accesories and everything is adjustable. I would buy it again...

Pros: Beautiful, everything is adjustable (tracking force, antiskid, tonearm height), electronic speed control, four adjustable feet, carbon fiber tonearm, amazing sound... And amazing sound!!!!

Cons: Antiskate system bothers some people.., it works, they are just being picky

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and great price! Perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice, with a few issues.

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mc Coy, FL on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a very nice turntable. I knocked off a star for a few reasons: 1: the motor has no torque. Using a fine record cleaner brush slows the platter down with even slight pressure. The band is thin and I'm scared I am stressing it by slowing the platter while cleaning LPs. 2: the arm lift, although works fine, has far too much "slop" in it and feels like a $50 turntable toy. 3: the hokey anti-skate system. Look at it wrong and the string falls off the arm. Also, there is nothing in the instructions to tell you what the multiple positions on the arm do (how much anti-skate force each notch would provide). These are not deal-breakers, just things a turntable in this price range shouldn't have issues with. As far as sound...I'd give it 5 stars. My old turntable had bad issues with the arm picking up bass vibrations. This one has none of that, at all, and I am shaking the floor sometimes. The dust cover comes off very easily, I remove it while playing so no rumble for that. I didn't even try the included cartridge, went straight to a MC cart I have, so can't rate it. The plinth is gorgeous! A tad fingerprint attracting, easy answer keep your fingers off it! Enjoy the music!

Pros: Very good arm, gorgeous.

Cons: Weak motor, sloppy arm lift, hokey anti-skate

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Looks Great, Sounds even Better!!

Crutchfield customer from Redlands, CA on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They skipped the bells and whistles which add nothing to a turntable and put all of the efforts into building a turntable whose great looks are only surpassed by its exceptional performance.

Pros: Looks, cartridge, quality sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been thinking of adding a turntable to my system for a while, a special edition of a favorite musician's latest album was the final straw. As always, I chatted with a Crutchfield advisor and discussed what I was looking for and options I had seen - I was able to get this on a special and glad I got it. Loving the vinyl revolution and in addition to being a great turntable, I have to say this one is also gorgeous.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Crutchfield customer from Oak Park, IL on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, sounds awesome and looks really nice. Great purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Turntable

J from Atlanta, GA on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this turntable after careful consideration and a lot of research. What convinced me on this unit was the excellent quality of the materials with the 2.3 Special Edition - this turntable is really solid and has a great build quality. The wood finish is beautiful and I find it far more attractive than the plastic component turntables typically in this price range. The pre-installed Music Hall Spirit cartridge is adequate, but nothing spectacular. I recommend a cartridge upgrade to maximize the capability of this unit. I paired this with a Pro Ject Phono Preamp and it sounds wonderful. Set-up was relatively simple, especially after watching a video with step by step instructions. I am happy with this turntable so far, and look forward to hearing it after I upgrade the cartridge.

Pros: Excellent sound High quality materials, especially platter and wood plinth Easy set-up Pairs well with integrated amp using phono preamp

Cons: Mediocre cartridge supplied with turntable

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Beyond expectations!

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 2/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so happy I purchased this turntable! It is my first belt-drive turntable and I immediately noticed a much more quiet noise floor over my direct drives. The tonearm has fantastic, smooth, bearings and great adjustability The cartridge sounds much better then I expected with real nice detail and separation. It really opens up after 20 hours of play. I do plan on replacing the stylus with a carbon fiber cantilever one which is available online. I own a lot of cartridges but am really satisfied with this table's sound as is. Speed is very consistent and I don't detect any annoying wow and flutter. The plinth is beautiful and the electronic speed switching is a nice convenience. I highly recommend this turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Very very nice sounding and looking for the money. Recommend.

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellen, CA on 2/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace an early 80s technics belt drive. It's a significant improvement. PROS: -Great looking veneer. - sounds very good - well made and substantial plinth - adjustable VTA - good low mass tonearm and smooth bearings - replaceable interconnect cables. - W&F measured by me at about 0.1%. - electronic speed control (no belt switching) CONS: - dust cover and hinges pretty cheap - not enough vertical clearance when VTA is adjusted up when dust cover is closed. - headshell/tonearm wires VERY fragile. BE CAREFUL CHANGING CARTS. Overall, it's an excellent value. Great sounding table and you can tell they put the money into the components that matter to the sounds quality. They do need to make a taller dust cover for the acrylic platter and taller carts. Compared A/B with Fluance RT-85. No comparison. The Fluance looks nice but can't compete with the MMF 2.3 in any category.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

This is the Modern World.

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first modern turntable! I sold off backup Dual 510 and a junker Pioneer table to put towards the purchase of new Music Hall MMF2.3SE. I was tired of sinking time and money into older equipment with diminishing return. Modern turntables reportedly benefit from current technology in many ways. Rega equipment seemed overpriced, and I just didn't dig Projects designs, so Music Hall it was for my budget backup. Research led me to the 2.3SE. Platter speed is locked in by microprocessor, its motor bearing is decent, and the carbon fiber arm all reflect current technology. Plus, I'm old school and like finished wood plynths. I immediately upgraded to the acrylic platter, upscale Project belt, and an ADC clamp. Setup of the table was really pretty simple, the only part requiring a sure hand and attentive eye was adjusting the VTA for the new platter. Don't enter into this exercise lightly - it requires patience and dexterity. The 2.3SE is very easy to use, and with the acrylic platter and clamp in place it provides a very stable and inert playback experience. Though not yet broken in, the included Music Hall Spirit cartridge is really this systems Achilles heel. So far, not much bass extension, mids mostly accurate, highs overly pronounced without being shrill. I was hoping to be way more impressed with the carbon fiber arm, the cueing action seems loose and vague to me. This table will never replace my vintage Thorens with killer SME arm, but for my backup system will do fine.

Pros: Speed control, carbon fiber arm, wood plynth, plenty of upgrades available - though they do jack up the budget price.

Cons: Included Music Hall Spirit (rebranded AT) cartridge weak, carbon fiber arm not all that.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Music Hall MMF-2.3 Special Edition

Blanca from Seminole, FL on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im rating this turntable as a 5 because it was rather straightforward to put together once I found the owner's manual online and watched a few videos. It matches effortlessly with the Polk speakers in cherry. Beware there was no manual included in the box. Based on the manual there were only a few steps needed to put the turntable together. It works nicely with my Yamaha receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Turntable for the Price

Crutchfield customer from Hartselle, AL on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this turntable in my system and broke out my LPs from many years ago. Wow, they sounded fantastic! Much better sound than my old turntable. It was mostly easy to set up (that anti-skate fishing line, weight, and wire support was a bit wonky to set up), it looks fantastic, and it's easy to operate. Got it on sale and it was quite a bargain. I'd get it again in a heartbeat.

Pros: Great sounding, easy to use, looks really nice, very stable sound, mostly easy to set up.

Cons: The anti-skate system is a bit weird and takes a steady hand to install. Maybe if I were 30 years younger, it would be easy to get the little fishing line, weight, loop, and support set up.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Super value - in this price range!

Crutchfield customer from Saxonburg, PA on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice value- especially since I purchased 'on sale'! Only thing I can criticize is the Manual is 'sub par' in my opinion- a case when the addition of some pictures would be appreciated- it just has a couple 'etch a scetch' diagrams. It describes how to setup- but it is 'up to your imagination' to do. It shows it has '3 legs' in which you have to install the 3rd yourself- BUT it has 4 - all of which are mounted. Of course if you have set up turntables before this wouldn't be an issue. The very best manual I have used is for the OPPO 205. One thing of interest is that after I set up tracking force @ 2.0 grams- and later checked with a stylus gauge - it came back '1.95'! I just bumped up to '2.04' using the gauage. It says to 'install anti skate weight line' onto the 3rd peg- but there is no explantation exactly what these '3 peg positons' do! In closing 'its a great turntable' - lousey manual.

Pros: Quality construction and appearance!

Cons: Lousey Manual- go to Youtube to find a better 'visual setup'!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP