Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Music Hall PA2.2

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges, with USB output and headphone amp

MFR # PA2.2

Music Hall PA2.2

Music Hall PA2.2

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges, with USB output and headphone amp

MFR # PA2.2

15 reviews
View this product

Music Hall PA2.2

scott from GOSHEN, CT on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with this little gem. I had need for 2 specific features, neither of which was actually a turntable preamp... I wanted a headphone amp with attached volume control, and I wanted an additional line level input attached to that volume control so I could conveniently use my iPad with my stereo amplifier and tower speakers. This device does all that perfectly. Obviously it also has a phono preamp, which I did not especially need as my player has a built in preamp, but I suspect almost anyone looking at this unit will have started off looking for a phono preamp, kind of backwards from my approach, and it does a fine job in that application. No added electrical hum or white noise, which is always a concern when adding components to a system that includes a turntable. It's an ideal unit for any or all of these functions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Faulty device, toxic Music Hall customer service

Eugene from HUDSON, MA on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Two years into ownership, I had the opportunity to test the MC side of the unit. It turns out one channel did not work. Since I was past Crutchfield's warranty/return window, they recommended I contact Music Hall, which I did. I asked them if exists any options for unit, such as: rebuild, replace, discount on new unit. After expressing disappointment, I received from MH a very snarky email asking me if I would anticipate an auto manufacturer to address a similar concern 12 months post warranty. (I did once and they did cover the costly repair expenses.). Their response was unnecessary and, pun intended, backfired.

Pros: MM side of the unit worked as appropriate.

Cons: Two years in, either the MC side didn't work or never did. Insulting Toxic Music Hall customer service.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Killer phono amp

Crutchfield customer from Columbia Falls, MT on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a fantastic sound AND value this phono amp is ! Not only does it produce a sound stage that is mind blowing,you have the option of listening to old recordings on mono and using your headphones if desired. Oh ya and recording your faves to your digital world.it is also built like a tank. That's everything

Pros: Listed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Works Great with my Ortofon Quintet Black S

Edgar from Wausau, WI on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent phono preamp regardless of cartridge. It has peer performance with phono amps costing 4 times its price and is thus a bargain. It handles low output MC catridges like my Quintet Black with aplomb while maintaining a virtually silent noise floor. It also was excellent with my previous 2M Black and clearly resolves the differences between the 2 cartridges. Strongly recommended! If you are considering a multi thousand dollar phono amp you are doing yourself a diservice if you don't try this one first. Whatever you save you can spend on a nicer turntable or cartridge!

Pros: Audiophile grade sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall PA2.2

Crutchfield customer from Freeport, NY on 8/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best all-in-one electronis device I've found to date to facilitate my project of digitizing my collection of vinyl records.

Pros: Very easy to configure and use.

Cons: Somewhat pricy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's great to finally hear my records again.

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great to finally hear my records again. It's been a while since receivers had a phono input so the records started collecting dust. I bought a cheap phono pre-amp and it was a waste of money. Now my albums sound the way they're supposed to: clean, full range and with plenty of gain. The only problem is now I want to purchase a new stylus! I was considering the NAD PP 2e because it had similar reviews but I wanted to start digitizing my collection so I went with the Music Hall because it has the USB connection. It also has a line input so I can digitize my cassettes through it as well. I haven't used the USB yet but I'm looking forward to it. I recommend this unit. PS Crutchfield has the best customer service anywhere. Their reps are actually knowledgeable about the gear they sell and they'll will connect you with an engineer if you have a technical problem. But you probably already know that if you are purchasing from them.

Pros: Clean sound, rugged, compact, line in, A/D converter w/ USB, headphone

Cons: Haven't found one yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solves a problem...and sounds great

Jeff from Phoenix, AZ on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to consolidate my den set-up by connecting my TV ( through HDMI ARC) and turntable to a new Sonos Amp. My turntable doesn't have a pre-amp, and the Sonos Amp, whole a wonderful device, does not have a headphone jack. The Music Hall PA2.2 does everything you need a pre-amp to do, plus it allows me to listen to records through a completely analog signal path using my headphones. I don't intend to digitize my vinyl collection, but the on-board ADC will likely make this unit even more useful for others. The mono setting is another great feature, and, of particular importance for a Sonos setting, the PA2.2 lets you choose between fixed and variable line level outputs. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros: Sounds great. Fixed or variable output. Integrated headphone amp. Great build quality.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Music Hall PA2.2

Craig from Hampshire, IL on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The PA2.2 was a perfect compliment to my new Music Hall turntable. I enjoy listening to music through my headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall Phono Amp

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, CA on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service and quick delivery. The phono-amp works very well!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music Hall PA2.2

H from Thompsons Stn, TN on 5/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After consternation when I bought my Sony ES receiver, little did I know it did not have a headphone jack. Got on the phone and Brooke guided me through a workable solution. This included research and explanation on how to use a solid Headphone Amp as an alternative.

Pros: Great advice from Brooke at Crutchfield. Fast shipping Excellent communication

Cons: Item was pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great addition

Reg from Portland, ME on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent little addition for the analog side of my system. Provides a little more oomph for phono and CD. Love the mono/stereo switch, too. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tremendous bang for buck.

Michael from Edison, NJ on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This pre-amp is crystal clear and super versatile. VERY happy with it.

Pros: Clean, quiet power. Awesome.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Music Hall PA2.2

Crutchfield customer from Delmar, NY on 10/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. The clarity at higher volumes is well worth the price of admission. Not all pre-amps are created equal and if your budget allows go for this one as you get a headphone ?? jack in addition to superior sound far better than anything in the lower price ranges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome!!

Steven from Odessa, TX on 7/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just upgraded to a Teac TN-570 turntable with a built in pre-amp, and the sound was great. With the small size of the Music Hall PA2.2 phono pre-amp, and good reviews, I decided to give it a try on my system. I experienced even better rich, wonderful room filling sound. This small pre-amplifier is amazing! I highly recommend it to anyone wanting amazing sound from their vinyl collection. Set up was very easy, and done in 5-10 minutes. I would recommend some higher quality RCA jacks to get the most out of the amplifier.

Pros: handles MM and MC cartridges. Small size great sound adjustable volume

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound!

Ed from Snohomish, WA on 1/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to buy this elsewhere because it is not yet available at Crutchfield, but would have bought from Crutchfield if I could have - they are the best place to buy audio from online. Compared and A-B'd this against a Cambridge CP1 and found the audio quality to be more detailed and to my ears, it had a slightly larger sound stage -honestly very very close though. Despite the specs (lower signal to noise ratios than the CP1), when I recorded silence to computer (needle up, record spinning) I found this to actually be a tad more quiet than the CP1 on my setup. (highest signal at -74.7 db vs -72.4 for the CP1). Some other nice features are that you can digitize other audio sources because it has a line-in. Also, you don't need to turn on your amp when digitizing vinyl - that goes direct to computer. Its a mini-headphone amp to boot! I was concerned that it was doing too many things and sound quality would suffer, but has not seemed to be the case. Given that I liked the sound better, and add the 24 bit/96K Wolfson ADC for digitizing my records, support for MC and MM cartridges, this was a no-brainer. Excellent phono pre!

Pros: Soundstage Highly detailed sound Very very quiet 24 bit/96 KHz ADC Line-in

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

TOP