Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
368 317 031 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
368 317 031 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Astell&Kern Kann

Portable high-resolution audio player (Eos Blue)

MFR # 3PPM417C-CMLAN1

Astell&Kern Kann

Astell&Kern Kann

Portable high-resolution audio player (Eos Blue)

MFR # 3PPM417C-CMLAN1

13 reviews
View this product

It Certainly Kann

Crutchfield customer from Diamond, OH on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Whether I am listening with headphones or using a bluetooth speaker, I am well past amazed at the sound produced by my Kann. The built in amplifier drived my cans with perfection. The touch screen simplifies operation of the unit. The menu is easy to navigate for any user. The build feels quite solid. I have used numerous mp3 players and cell phones for music playback and can safely say that the sound produced by the Kann is unparalleled. Take the next step up to a quality DAP and invest in audiophile level sound. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Superior sound on playback. Ease of use. Attractive build.

Cons: None apparent in my view.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Astell&Kern Kann

Greg from Bayport, NY on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound from the Astell & Kern Kann is amazing. I use Sennheiser IE 800s ear buds with it and have never heard music like this before. Well worth the money.

Pros: Incredible sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound

Gary from Schenectady, NY on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and more capacity than I will need for a long while. This replaces a Pioneer DAC that died on me. I decided to spend the extra money & get something better. I'm not disappointed. Loading music from a Mac is easy. It truly is drag & drop. Only drawback is the bluetooth cuts out frequently when listening with my earbuds while walking around. I ended up getting a bluetooth transmitter that I hooked this up to. Worked great.

Pros: Sound Capacity Ease of use

Cons: Bluetooth not great

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid DAC / powerful amp

Jeff from Silver Lake, OH on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deep, rich, full sounding DAC with a powerful amplifier that can drive 300 ohm Sennheisers without difficulty. For me, the Kann replaces a FIIO X7 mark 2, which sounds almost as good but has a slow, buggy Android OS that occasionally crashes. The Kann's OS is sparse, by comparison, offering fewer options, but it is fast and rock solid. I also like the combination of touch screen and physical buttons. The interface is intuitive and easy to use. And the Kann eliminates any need for an additional headphone amplifier. It looks great, sounds great, and feels great in the hand when you are using it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Astell&Kern Kann

Octavio from Tucson, AZ on 11/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is true that the player is clunky but it features excellent sound. The battery life is short if you listen at 125 (about 4 hours). I haven't tested listening to it at lower volumes.It charges fast. It takes a while to scan the media and build a database if you have an extensive music library. I wouldn't go back to that other ubiquitous music player. It is well worth it to listen to high res files.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Astell&Kern Kann

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, WA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound & quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

John from Seattle, WA on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Astell&Kern Kann

Guest from Washington, DC on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would not recommend buying an AK player. Both SD card slots on mine failed during the warranty period; when I tried to return the player to AK, the company made it difficult-to-impossible. I still do not have a working player or a refund, and they are not responsive. There is no customer service phone number or other contact provided on their company website. For such an expensive item, this is a big risk for a potential purchaser.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/21/2018
After receiving this customer's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his player is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact Astell & Kern Customer Service at 949-336-4535 for further information about the 1-year warranty on this item.

3 of 5 found this helpful

Astell&Kern Kann

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's amazing, the quality of the songs and its functionality are great. The storage allows to have its 90% of my Salsa collection on hand when I travel

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Astell&Kern Kann

JORDAN from Long Beach, NY on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think the sound that the Kann produces is superb. When i listen to the Kann with my westone w80 earbuds, which i feel is a great combo sounds incredible. The Kann really drives these phones, much better than my samsung galaxy note 8, its night and day, cant even compare.

Pros: Great sound, clarity, separation and really drives my cans.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Astell&Kern Kann

Larry from Mechanicsville, MD on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this unit because need two major features: Increased memory life because prior player lasted only about 4 hours Needed more memory than avaialable in other comparably priced units: with addition of sandisk 256gb micro SD and 512 GB SD card have plenty for very large CD collection If I have have to downsize KANN would work great with KEF S50 wireless as complete system

Pros: Top memory expansion Great battery life Bluetooth aptx hd

Cons: No additional app except AK Connect

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Could be better

Gerald from Boston, MA on 11/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, I think the Kann is a great hi-res player.. The sound is one of the best I've heard. I have some gripes.... It's too chunky! Very cumbersome to carry around with you. Another is, I've performed a software update via an alert I received on the Kann. Ever since that, it was tough to upload new music files to the unit. About 90% of the time, my MAC wouldn't acknowledge the Kann. When it would, I would see a dozen error messages asking me to unplug, restart Kann, and reconnect. I would do this multiple times and still wouldn't successfully connect. I went to A&K Support and they weren't that helpful at all. Also, you cannot interchange cards with other Hi-res players. For instance, the Kann won't read the card that was in a Sony player... ETC... Not sure why if the music files are the same. But so be it I guess. For the money this costs, I would think the unit would be better with upgrades and reading additional cards...

Pros: Sound is unbelievable! Love the memory capability.

Cons: Too chunky! Also, handled poorly with software upgrade. Needs to be able to read additional memory cards from other hi-res players.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound !

Big B from Brooklyn on 8/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First I would like to say that Astell & Kern (iriver) is good at what they do. The Kann sound is awesome. The design and control features knocks it down to 4 stars that including the useless instructions you definitely have to learn on the fly. The only real problem I have its doesn't have an open android system like the Onkyo DPX-1 . The Kann limits you to installed subscriptions 2 Chinese which are no good in the U.S. and Tidal . But if you have large music collection this should be a minor thing. Still learning it. I will give another review when I figure out how to fully master it.

Pros: Amazing sound .

Cons: Closed Android system limits the possibilities.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 26 found this helpful

TOP