Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

High-resolution portable music player with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Onyx Black)

MFR # 3PPS217C-CMBLN1

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

High-resolution portable music player with Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® (Onyx Black)

MFR # 3PPS217C-CMBLN1

18 reviews
View this product

Very nice unit, sounds great

Michael from CARY, NC on 8/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really nice player. I don't use the apps that some other reviewers complain about, and so that's not been an issue for me. I just download music files from my computer into the storage of the SR25. I haven't quite filled it up yet. The unit appears to be nicely made, very nicely finished and the controls are easy to use once you get used to their locations. I compared it A/B to my former player (HiFiMan) which has fabulous sound, and this one is equal and likely just a little bit better sounding than that one. The UI on the HiFiMan is abysmal, so this is a nice improvement there. The only thing I don't like is that it takes so long to boot up. It's an awfully lot of money, but overall I'm happy with it.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Slow to boot (turn on)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing Hi-Rea player

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing best on the probable hi-res player company you can really hear the difference

Pros: Sound

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Crutchfield customer from Colville, WA on 7/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just amazing! Sound quality is beyond. Still learning how to use it to its fullest. Looking forward to the total experience. Worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, WA on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is excellent, the customer service at Crutchfield is even better. My first device had some issues, Crutchfield immediately sent out a replacement by 2 day air. The sound is very clean and detailed whether using headphones, through a stereo by cable or via bluetooth. I am using uncompressed WAV files as there is so much memory when augmented by an outboard microSD card that there seems to be no point in saving memory by using a compression scheme, lossy or not. Even a no loss scheme such as FLAC still requires the device reverse the compression before playback. Why stress the CPU unnecessarily? The volume control is very easy to use and the volume limiter helpful. The user interface is a little difficult at times. I am hoping to become more familiar with it as I use it more. Albums are listed alphabetically, but not by group name. I am hoping this is user error. There are plenty of options in the settings area, so again, I am hoping to be able to work this out

Pros: Very good sound quality Sturdy build Plenty of features Detailed screen

Cons: Interface is a little difficult

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

More than an entry level DAP

Crutchfield customer from Chadds Ford, PA on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product for its portability. Very clean sound and has been able to drive my Audeze LCD2s quite well. I am awaiting a pair of Audeze LCD i3s IEMs which will be even better, I suspect. I highly recommend getting a case. The edges are quite sharp and a bit uncomfortable (at least in my palms); the case helps tremendously. Some issues with APK services - unable to get Spotify service to work. Player keeps on crashing. Will settle for Tidal, Pandora and Amazon Music. Have played various high res formats with great success. Hooked it up to an ifi DSD Diablo HPA/DAC with an iPurifier 3, no issues. Music is clean and I didn't hear any issues when switching formats when listening to the A&K directly. However there is a noticeable "pop" when hooked to the Diablo. Still experimenting with that connection (with and without the purifier ...). User interface is reasonable (I have seen better) and one does have to spend some time getting familiar with it to become second nature. Highly recommend the product. Mush more than an entry level device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the price of entry

Crutchfield customer from KIRKLAND, WA on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When compared to FiiO, Hiby etc, AKs are more expensive but definitely well justified by its sound quality and refinement: the music instruments are clearly separated and soundstage is well layered and wide. As to some of the Sony players, they handled MQA tracks poorly and can't stream them at all. Highly recommended this AK SR25 to power relatively efficient CANs and IEMs directly on its 2.5mm balanced output, For Senn 6XXs, use an IFi headphone amplifier with AK as source and DAC will be a winning combo as well.

Pros: Sound quality Full aluminum body Optional leather case

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Crutchfield customer from Sandy, UT on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build quality and great sound and user interface

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost there

Crutchfield customer from Lone Tree, CO on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding DAP. However, SW and app support is not that great. You will have to do lots of internet searches to load Tidal/Spotify SW to allow you to use offline. Support info on A&K via the Internet is not complete. Almost worth it to get a DAP that has better SW support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Crutchfield customer from Corsicana, TX on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's very nice , I have mounted it in my truck , and running it through my KENWOOD receiver , it is not true hi res but clearer than anything I have , great product, Wayne

Pros: Another way to get music to my stereo

Cons: A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Astell Kern SR25-black

William from Modesto, CA on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my 5th gen Ipod (with their best DAC) that would rival any player outside of a good hi res player. However, the SR25 is even more detail and can carry my entire library if FLAC files. With no app for music management you need a little more knowledge about how a file directory work.

Pros: Detailed Quality build Great feel

Cons: No music manager app Some IEM's may sound a little light on bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Total Satisfaction ....

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, IN on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Love It !! .... Lots of GIGs to store music ... I've only used 13 gigs of the 55+ ....Sound quality is really ......As I'm learning all this toy can do I'm more impressed !! ... I'm glad I talked with Hunter to help me make my decision

Pros: Quality of the unit itself ....Metal!! ... Ease of operation

Cons: A bit pricey .... but oh, so worth it !!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Crutchfield customer from Punta Santiago, PR on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent player love it.the sound is beautiful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beware of Wifi Issues

David from CONCORD, NH on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm on my second SR25 and both have wifi issues with streaming. The only way I've found around it is to download any Tidal track I wish to listen to. A&K doesn't want to acknowledge the issue, so I'm on my own here. But, the sound is really good. It's quick, well built other than wifi, and is a really good player for the money. I'm frustrated with the wifi issue, but I'm keeping the player, so I guess that says it all.

Pros: Great sound Small and Quick

Cons: Wifi streaming is unacceptable

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Crutchfield customer from Gurabo, PR on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Classic Astell & Kern: well built, great sound quality and improved operating system. I come from a Kann that has a unique in it's class amplifier but wanted a more modern, smaller form factor without sacrificing high quality playback capabilities. The SR25 meets my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Crutchfield customer from Anniston, AL on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good but the usb function doesn't work well in my mustang with b and o sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome sound and form factor marred by sub-par WIFI

David from BELMONT, MA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first A&K device. I was pleased with the size & how it fit into my hand. After installing / formatting new SD card, I was ready to load up my Flac library. Android file transfer would fail randomly, so I ended up removing the SD card and doing the file transfers on a computer. So users likely will have to do these extra steps to transfer files. Sound quality met my expectations. In wired mode, the SR25 was the sonic equal of my current home studio computer & Steinberg DAC. Low noise floor, great dynamic range. LDAC and APTX-HD were excellent. The SR25 brought out the best audio experience yet on Cambridge Melomania, Shure AEONIC , B&W PX and Sony WI-1000X. Next came install of Amazon HD music. App installs from APK (while nicely explained) are a clunky experience where you download / xfer / install. It seems to me that a company that has all these devices in the thousands of dollars could do much better for the customer. Thankful I only need one app. With app installed, I started to stream music and that is when the WIFI experience was less that desirable. Dropouts and pauses were the order of the day. I live in a 800 sqft apt with mesh Google WIFI coverage (100 mbs+ routinely on all devices). Thankfully, I prefer to download music for quality offline listening. And even that would fail from time to time and I would have to restart. So note that if you expect to use streaming apps, you may be disappointed

Pros: Sonic excellence. Low noise floor. Form factor and design. Build quality.

Cons: Pitiful WIFI performance. App installation via APK is too clunky for words. Android file transfer is frustrating & not reliable, so users may have to remove the SD card and copy files on a computer for reliable file transfers.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Astell&Kern A&norma SR25

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The A&norma SR25 is really nice! I love music all kinds, its a bit of a learning curve and the directions doesn't offer enough guidance yet if you call Astell&Kern customer support they can guide you Thur how to download your music. I haven't bought any Hi Res music yet because it's really expensive yet my regular music sounds incredibly better. I paired it with a pair of Wireless SennHeiser Momentum 2 Blue Tooth ear phones and my music sounds great it even makes my cheap factory Jeep radio sound great.

Pros: makes my regular music sound incredible with a great pair of wireless head phones like Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless 2 and it makes my Jeep factory radio sound like I upgrade to a new radio.

Cons: a bit expensive and the directions and manual needs improvement I had to call Astell&Kern customer support to figure out how to actually down load my music on a Mac, it was a good thing Crutchfield support had Astell&Kern support number because I didn't find it in the manual or on their web.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great music player

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. I was hesitant about the price, but I love it. Has all the features I wanted.

Pros: Great sound Integrates easily with car and home systems

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP