Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MartinLogan ElectroMotion® ESL

Floor-standing speaker (Satin Black)

MFR # EMESLD

MartinLogan ElectroMotion® ESL

MartinLogan ElectroMotion® ESL

Floor-standing speaker (Satin Black)

MFR # EMESLD

11 reviews
View this product

Very nice for the quality and money

Guest from Lebanon, PA on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meticulous sound quality and detail (if placed properly) Nice lows!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Martin Logan Magic that doesn't break the bank

Crutchfield customer from North Bend, WA on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having grown up with high end Martin Logan's in my parents house it was finally time for me to buy my own. The sound quality that comes out of these electro motion ESL's is unbelievable for an entry level Electrostatic. The soundstage is beautiful and these speakers play much bigger than their size. I'm Running them using an anthem MRX 720 receiver 140W and it's crystal clear and for movies it's just unreal with my 5.2.2 setup. I highly recommend.

Pros: Crystal clear highs. Incredible soundstage.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MartinLogan ElectroMotion ESL

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, NY on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Very crisp and beautiful clarity. Visually pleasing to have in a room

Pros: Sound exceptionally clear and crisp. Good looking

Cons: None, except that that these are not inexpensive to purchase.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MartinLogan ElectroMotion ESL

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, they are beautiful to behold. Excellent design. After the 72-hr "break-in " the sound quality is magnificent. We have tested all genres of music at different sound levels and have not been disappointed. Truly a welcomed addition to our family entertainment!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

PERFECT SOUND

ojeanyc from Rockville Ctr, NY on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. These speakers provide an audio experience. I don't have the vocabulary to express how these have changed the way we listen to music, movies and shows at home. As someone else described, its the closest thing to being there in front of the musician and his/her instruments. There is a level of definition i haven't heard before. My wife and i go over our music library and play tracks for hours just to hear how they will sound. Its just beautifully articulate, crystal clear sound and movie noises. Near perfect.

Pros: perfect sound for the size of my room and amplifier

Cons: speaker size may not be suitable for small places

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Life-like sound reproduction

Rohan from New York, NY on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing life-like reproduction of sound. Set-up is not hard at all. Just a couple minutes of tweaking positioning starts to bring these speaker to life. Because the top part of the panel is semi-transparent the speaker blends into the living room. It's a totally different and a conversational piece vs your traditional speaker box. I am running these speakers with a Def Tech center channel and rears. Honestly, I don't hear much or any difference with a mixed pairs like this. When I watch movies I am not critically listening like music so I can "compromise" with matching electrostatics. I narrowed down to these ESL's after listening to the new Bowers line and ML Motion 40s. I found the folded tweeter design best for long listening sessions and didn't cause ear fatigue. It takes a few hours of listening and these speakers keep sounding better. Lastly, I didn't find I needed a subwoofer to bring out the bass of these speakers, but for TV watching a subwoofer couldn't hurt. I am using the JL Audio Dominion 108. The JLs are an amazing sub and blends amazingly with the ESL. I am using Bluejeans 4S11 Canare cables and an Emotiva power amp (4 OHM rated) however my Denon purchased at Crutchfield is the pre-amp/processor. The Denon is so versatile which is how I was able to build this set-up. Also, I listen to a broad range of music and found these speakers didn't compromise with rock to classical to jazz.

Pros: Life-like sound reproduction No ear fatigue Visually interesting design

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Very nice

Roger from Ladera Ranch, CA on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say WOW !!! The details unbelievable. These speakers sounded much better play on Tidel app , Flack files or DSD files. When I first got them. I spend hrs listening my song collection. As for adding a sub with these would not hurt. But they do has great bass response. I set my sub 80hz below. ( perfect Sweet Spot). Breaking in after 72 hrs. The sound becomes more open and sound stage as well. I had to adjust toe in or toe out the speakers. More toe out wider sound stage. Give time to adjust its worth it. The price yes there $$$$ but its worth it. As for Crutchfield customer service A+. Free shipping service excellent deliver. It was a white glove treatment. I live in souther Ca it tooked 3 days.

Pros: To many to say

Cons: None !!!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

What a change in the sound stage!

Jim from Magnolia, TX on 6/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I auditioned these speakers at a local retailer and was greatly impressed. However, you leave with the thoughts of how their room was setup, power of their source, etc. and it probably won't sound that good at home. I discussed in detail (my current system -Polk and Yamaha) with the Crutchfield advisor and I was convinced to give these speakers a try. It was an excellent decision. I am not close to the 72 hour break in yet but the change in the size of the sound stage and clarity is remarkable. They even make my Polk center channel (CS 400i) sound great. Overall I am very impressed and love the sound. I am sure it will only get better. Now I am trying to Not buy the ML center to go with it. I am not sure I can handle too much improvement all at once! It is great looking speaker, with great sound, I made a great choice.

Pros: Vastly increased sound stage and noticeable increase in clarity.

Cons: Nothing to do with the speaker itself but it would be nice to do the warranty registration online vs using mail in card.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 16 found this helpful

Concert in the family room

Calvin from Delray Beach , fl on 4/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with my choice. Almost done with the 72 hour break in. Just starting to turn up the volume. As you increase the volume the sound field fills the room and suddenly they come alive and your family room is now a concert hall. Still tweaking the placement, only 2' from front wall and like the other reviewer can't move them too far forward. The clarity is amazing. The biggest surprise is the variety in the quality of my music library. Will need to delete some of music on my computer and down load again in higher quality. My ESL are part of my home theater, now movies are at a whole new level..

Pros: Falling in love with music again, the details you never heard before.

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

Next Best Thing to Being There

Dave Z from Rockland County, NY on 8/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not completely satisfied with my existing tower speakers for two channel listening, I called Crutchfield for a recommendation on an upgrade. After a good deal of time on the phone explaining my likes and dislikes, my space, and my budget, we decided the MartinLogan Electromotion ESLs might be a good fit. Now, after a day of listening to them, I couldn't be more pleased. The clarity and detail are amazing and the soundstage is beautiful. Closing your eyes and listening to live performances transports you right into the audience. I am also hearing new things in my favorite recordings. These speakers are easily powered by my Marantz MM7025. Bass is decent (the hybrid design is definitely nice), but I did add a MartinLogan Dynamo 500 and would definitely recommend a sub.

Pros: Great sound, stylish looks, and easier on the budget compared to more traditional speakers delivering the same quality of sound.

Cons: Not really a con, but these speakers will reveal both the good AND the bad hiding in your recordings. Sweet spot seems narrower than conventional speakers. Finally, they do need a bit more room to breath than my previous speakers, but if you have the space that's not an issue.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 25 found this helpful

Awesome, none better for the price!!!

Jarcon from Texas on 8/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought/auditioned 4 different speaker sets before sticking with the ML ESL home theater (including these ESL's). I was hesitant at first because of things I have heard about electrostats. I heard that if they're not positioned perfectly they don't sound good. That's not true. I found their perfect placement and it's about 5 ft from my front wall. The wife disapproved, and the wife won. However, now that they're only just under 2 ft from the wall, they still sound better than any speaker that I've had. I heard that they're hard to drive. That is not true, I borrowed my friends cheap sony receiver and they played plenty loud and still sounded great. That being said, I have them running from a separate pre/pro and amp, and they sound even better when driven properly. They said they're not durable. I dropped them (oops), they still work, however I haven't had them long, so I can't speak to their long term reliability. I have no doubts that they will last as long as any other speaker. Last thing I've heard is that they're not loud enough and don't sound good with some music. As far as being loud, unless you're trying to blow out your ears, they're loud enough. They can play loud enough to make my ears ring, and I have a large listening area (25x20x11ft). As far as music, all my music sounds good on them, however my choice of music may change only because these speakers really do bring out everything (the good and bad) in the recording. These speakers are amazing!

Pros: Look and Sound amazing. Until you hear electrostats, you don't know what they're missing. Try them out, you won't regret it.

Cons: Flimsy feeling speaker wire terminals.

Crutchfield response on

42 of 42 found this helpful

TOP