Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MartinLogan Motion® 40i

Floor-standing speaker (Matte White)

MFR # MO40IMW

MartinLogan Motion® 40i

MartinLogan Motion® 40i

Floor-standing speaker (Matte White)

MFR # MO40IMW

11 reviews
View this product

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my listening room, excellent range, and unobtrusive!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sparks Glencoe

Andrew from Sparks Glencoe on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the revision before the 40's same thing basically. Short answer these are power hungry (as most audiophile speakers are). Sure they will run on 4, 6 or 8ohm as listed. But they sound best at 4ohm. I have the 40's as F/L, 50 XT as center, and 20's as rears, also coupled with 2 pairs of Motion AFX's. Sure sounds good with Marantz SR7011 set at 4ohm, but I would say not great. Add a separate amp 4ohm capable another story. 1st tried with an older Rotel RMB-1565 (Class D) 5 channel Amp...200wattx5 @4ohm, HUGE improvement. Bass alone is tripled with separate amp. Have all separates in main theatre room btw. Then bought Parasound A52+ 255w x4 ohm x 5 (Class A/B) and they are completely different speakers for the positive. Actually demoed some high res tracks (no sub on) 5 channel 40's, 50xt, 20's rear and those present well they were blown away in everything bass included (and some have setups they spent MUCH more on). Bass on quality speakers requires power, and lots of it, those reviewing negatively on that have not invested in the power required to get the most out of these speakers as I have. A home theater receiver will work just fine but literally unlock about 40% of the potential of these speakers in mine and many other Audiophiles opinions.

Pros: Sound (With quality power)

Cons: As is typical (High quality 4ohm speakers require plenty and lots of quality expensive power to sound their best)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Summerfield nc on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not what I expected, glad I purchased a sub without it I would be shipping them back,

Pros: Good looking cabinet

Cons: Mid range nonexistent

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Broken Arrow, OK on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal Clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Allen Park, MI on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Speakers!!! The sound from them is so vibrant and full. Excellent choice to my original speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Bellflower, CA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound clarity and looks

Pros: Sound clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Madeira, OH on 1/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound spectacular, and they aren't even broken in yet (which Martin Logan says takes 72 hours). The treble is truly breathtaking, and the bass sounds deeper to me than the claimed 40Hz. A subwoofer does sound nice for the deepest tones, but I wouldn't rate it as an absolute requirement. I'm very pleased with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Martin Logan 40i, worth the cost?

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1) Looks, weight and 'furniture appeal'....Excellent. Could not get any better under $2000 a pair. Just like the Crutchfield advisor recommended. 2) Performance: clarity, distinct 'each instrument/frequency' sound....excellent again on highs and mids. 3) Rich, complete 'spectrum', fulfilling audio: Tried 2 channel stereo music/HD Cable TV shows/Youtube 'Lyrics only' and 'scratchy, high pitch' selections from sixties oldies to present day 'digital tech rick' BillBoard Top 100's/Famous movie themes like John Williams, Mancini/Orchestrals from Yanni and 'Two Cellos'/ Jazz by Al Hirt/Hits from Mariah Carey, Drake, Avicii, Julio Iglesias, Top 20 country countdown over the years,....and the list is endless. Verdict: Not worth a dime over $800 a pair unless you add a subwoofer. These ML's could not even come close to my old $700 a pair Klipsch RF82ii's. I will save some $$s and go with Klipsch RP8000F as main front channel speakers hooked to my Anthem MRX720 7.1, completed with old Klipsch RF82ii surround pair, Klipsch subwoofer and Klipsch atmos bookshelf pair. Next speaker upgrade: After I get the new Anthem MRX 1140. Worth a mention: there are far too many brands and advisors in the audio industry. Each one with a yet another preferred champion...Polk, Bose, Definitive Tech, Magnapen, Bowers-Wilkins, ML's, Wharfedale, ....But I will forever stick with my friends at Crutchfield. Due apologies for some recent returns.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Gilroy, CA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I expected!! Just awesome!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 40i

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Martinlogan 40i sound great matched with my onkyo receiver, crutchfield reps stirred me in the right direction.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Perfect in every way at this Price

Joe from BUFFALO GROVE on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best I have heard at this price point , currently also have Klipsch RF 82ii and as much as I love the Klipsch the 40is are much more refined in all areas, easy to drive as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

TOP