Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MartinLogan Motion® 8i

Center channel/multi-purpose home theater speaker with wall-mount brackets

MFR # Motion 8i

MartinLogan Motion® 8i

MartinLogan Motion® 8i

Center channel/multi-purpose home theater speaker with wall-mount brackets

MFR # Motion 8i

13 reviews
View this product

Center

Zachary from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 11/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good center speaker, I love MartinLogan. the sound is really natural and sometimes it really does sound like someone is in the house if i forget to stop playing youtube videos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A good looking monster of a speaker

Crutchfield customer from Nanuet, NY on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a 4 ohm center speaker at a reasonable price and your sales department recommended the Martin Logan Motion 8i and the result were amazing. This speaker brought out vocals and instruments that were missing before. the speaker looks great and comes with built in wall mounts I don't know who else has this feature. Buy it listen to it and if you don't like it send it back, but you won't and buying it from Crutchfield you get the support and return policy with no problems.

Pros: Great features, 4 ohm, 180 w and looks great,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 8i

Crutchfield customer from Peyton, CO on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and they sound great. I replaced a Bose system that came with my house with these. The difference in clarity was immediately obvious. They are absolutely worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't wait to add this center

Jeremy from Atlanta, GA on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Five stars for the product, four stars for the service. MartinLogan is superb as always. The Motion i-series is great bang for the buck: an entry-level option for consumers to enjoy the build quality and technology of a premium manufacturer like MartinLogan, which sells speakers that go for as high as $100,000 a pair (I'll keep dreaming). They look great on a stand or table but can easily be wall mounted in several orientations. I've paired this with two Motion 4i's that I've had for two years to finally get a 3.0 system. Adding a center really does make all the difference for improving the clarity of dialogue. My only regret was waiting this long to add one. As for Crutchfield's service, I'm a little disappointed by the shipping. I knew at ordering that this item would ship in its own factory box, but Crutchfield should have at least added additional packing tape over the opening. The only seal on the box was one of those clear circular adhesives, which was broken when I received the item. I'm assuming it just opened under the stress of shipping as the contents thankfully appeared undisturbed. I also ordered with the speaker a 6 foot Crutchfield speaker cable with banana plugs which shipped separately. That cable easily could have been sent in a small padded envelope but for some reason it got its own oversized box filled with packing peanuts. That's probably the treatment the $450 speaker should have gotten rather than the $15 speaker cable.

Pros: Attractive design; wall mountable; build quality

Cons: Finish can scratch easily and requires regular dusting; quality of shipping

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressive sound for such a small center channel

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give this speaker 4.5 stars if I could. The build quality is excellent and the finish is top notch. If looks are important to one of the family members, this is a great choice. It is not very deep and if mounted on a wall it would almost appear to be flat on the wall. A nice touch for wall mounting is that the speaker has a slight curve allowing for ease of speaker wire connect. This also points each midrange speaker slightly to the left or right giving a wider soundstage to the center channel. Paired with my MartinLogan Motion® 35XT speakers for the front left right mains this center channel had a very similar sonic signature which matched fairly well. Only in the lower frequencies would the center channel not match the mains as well. For most movies I watched it did a very decent job, especially with the actors voices, clear and natural sounding. Where I found the speaker lacking was on live concerts. Especially on my copy of the Talking Heads, Stop Making Sense. This is a very dynamic recording, especially for 1984. The vocals just got lost in the mix, and any instrument that feed into the center channel really lost their impact and sonic accuracy. So I upgraded to the MartinLogan Motion® 30 and this made all the difference for live concert recordings. Also for male actors with a deeper voice, the sound was a bit more natural. If I was only going to listen to streaming TV & movies I most likely would have kept the 8i as it did an amazing job for it's size.

Pros: Looks, finish, quality build and a great tweeter in a compact cabinet.

Cons: Small speaker size would show it's weakness in some content.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 8i

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the mainstay of my system . My theater experience has improved exponentially.

Pros: Ties my system together with nice bass and exceptional clarity

Cons: none as of yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 8i

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This center speaker pairs great with my 40i towers they sound great

Pros: overall size fits great on the mantle.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 8i

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice center speaker but i wish they had more better sound i little muddy at times for me i love martin logan i have owned ESL and love love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker!

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtown, MD on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to set up and great sound for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Better Than Expected

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the 8i center speaker to accompany the ML 60XT tower speakers. I wanted to use the 50XT center speaker, but was unable to, due to space restrictions with the BDI credenza. I was concerned that the 8i wouldn't be able to blend well enough with the 60XT's and it that its sound wouldn't be capable of the full range I needed with a good amount of bass to give the center sound it's needed oomph. Well, I was wrong. The 8i blends perfectly with the 60XT's and I am more than happy with it's performance. Just like all Martin Logan speakers, give it at least 2 solid days worth of material to break it in and you'll hear it open it up and give you the sound that you want to hear.

Pros: Excellent sound from a modestly sized speaker. Sound blends well with higher end Martin Logan 60XT's. Removable metal grill is handy.

Cons: The spring type speaker connection posts on the back aren't easy to work with when you have 12 gauge bare wire. It took some finagling to fit the bare wire in right.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker - Excellent. Crutchfield - Terrible.

Tyler from Las Vegas, NV on 8/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this as a center speaker. Happy with MartinLogan quality and this speaker. No issues whatsoever. However, after purchasing $6,000 worth of audio gear from Crutchfield, they put a freeze on a CD player I ordered today that needed delivered on time. They waited to notify me after business was closed that they needed to confirm my order was legitimate. After a half dozen orders using the same billing and shipping address over the previous month they somehow thought the order was not legitimate? And they waited until after business/ shipping hours to notify me via email no less. Worst inept customer service ever. They have lost my business forever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 21 found this helpful

Room full of sound!

Tom from Austin, TX on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product... had the 6i and upgraded to the 8i big improvement... the 6i as ok but the 8i takes it up a big notch!! great customer service!!!

Pros: just a great center speaker!!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion 8i

Guest from Austin, TX on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome center speaker... I combined it with two motion 40 and a dynamo 1000. Martin Logan's are amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP