Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MartinLogan Motion® SLM XL

Multi-purpose home theater speaker

MFR # Motion SLM-XL

MartinLogan Motion® SLM XL

MartinLogan Motion® SLM XL

Multi-purpose home theater speaker

MFR # Motion SLM-XL

9 reviews
View this product

Happy Wife, Happy Life!

Joseph from Charleston, SC on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and they look and sound GREAT! Most of all, my wife got the mantle space that was taken up by a center channel speaker back! Directions say to allow 72 hours for critical listening but they sounded fantastic from the start.

Pros: Light weight with super easy on wall installation. Also comes with a sturdy base for non wall mount.

Cons: Pricey but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion SLM XL

Crutchfield customer from Camden, SC on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker complement my magna planers very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing clarity and vocals.

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 8/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love Martin Logan. Replaced the Motion 8 with the SLM XL and noticed a huge difference. Great highs , mids and clear vocals. You would definitely need a subwoofer to pair with these if you were going to use them as a left and right in your system. But for me it's perfect for a center channel as I already have Martin Logan ESL's which have 8" inch woofers And 2 dynamo 700's . It really does bring movies to life with the clarity that Martin Logan is known for. I will be purchasing another for my bonus room because of how impressed I have been.

Pros: Great highs with amazing clarity and vocals.

Cons: Will need a separate subwoofer to make up for the lows you will be lacking if used in a 2 channel or as a left and right In your home theater.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SLM and lovin' it

Crutchfield customer from Archer, FL on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super smooth high end with excellent positioning of source for movies was why I purchased these. I am very pleased with the low end from these low profile speakers. No, they aren't going to shake your tummy or compress your chest but they have a lower profile on the wall than my OLED TV on its wall mount. Happy wife! They are the perfect setup for a living room arrangement.

Pros: size and smooth 1kHz+

Cons: low end before subwoofer takes over

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great build quality, but sound is lacking.

Steven from Denver, CO on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have the classic MartinLogan ribbon tweeter sound. BUT, they are completely lacking midrange. The rated 100-25,000 Hz frequency response is quite noticeable. These speakers would do well as left and right components in a multi speaker setup, but NEED a center channel with more mid and low range to be useable. The sound produced is almost as if you are only listening to only tweeters, which begs the question of why one would purchase the XL model vs the SLM if it only adds some passive radiators, and does nothing to boost the mid-range. Overall these have excellent build quality, superb form factor, and come with substantial bases. If wall mounting, the template makes them a snap to hang. Perfect if your main goal is to have great looking speakers, but look to other solutions if your goal is sound (especially at this price point).

Pros: Great looking, flawless build quality. Classic Martin Logan tweeter sound.

Cons: Range is too high. Hardly any mids, and the lows are non-existent. Only purchase if you are looking to supplement an existing setup.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion SLM XL

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very clear and detail sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MartinLogan Motion SLM XL

Mike from Des Moines, IA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure they are worth the price but man do I love them. Look awesome and sound awesome!

Pros: Look and sound awesome

Cons: Little pricey for what they are. But then again they are ML

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Center Speaker

Jeff from Lake Oswego, OR on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic center speaker considering the physical depth of the speaker. I placed it in a large room that is not the best set-up for acoustics. Hardwood floors, in ceiling and in wall speakers with a Sony 4k tv and a Denon 4k Dolby Atmos receiver. We needed something slim but other center speakers we had tried really lacked the power we were looking for. This center speaker did not disappoint. Great clarity and power. If this were in my theater room where I have a Marantz receiver and better surround speakers along with my Klipsch RP-250C center speaker (which I am very happy with) it would really blow my socks off but bottom line is if you need a center speaker that is not huge that you can hang on a wall or place on a cabinet (as I have) this is probably as good as it gets. I highly recommend it.

Pros: smaller physical depth and overall clarity and power

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic...what else can I say?

Eyegor from Cary, NC on 5/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Call me crazy, but I'm an old fashioned stereo kind of guy. The system I have will match or outperform any "xx.xx home theater" setup. No, I can't hear things moving around, but my main interest is music...not trucks exploding as they move toward me. Don't get me wrong, I run my TV audio through an optical cable and DAC to my stereo, so I get pretty good sound from any movie you could name (this is in conjunction with the TV speakers (Sony 79 inch w/ front facing tweeters, mids, and woofers that are also pretty dang good). I have 8 speakers in my living room, plus 2 ML 700 subs. Main floorstanders are PSB X2Ts. I was a bit hesitant about adding these very "diminutive" speakers, but I wanted to see what the ML folded motion tweeters could do. These guys are about 8 feet way from my "Captain Kirk's command chair", in other words, where I always sit to watch TV or listen to music. Well, I hooked these babies up (by the way, all speakers are going through a Niles SSVC box so volume on each speaker pair can be controlled individually), and I was in complete disbelief at how great these SLM-XLs sounded. Straight out of the box. No break in. When I'm not watching something like "The Expendables" (lots of blowing things up), I listen to classical music, specifically baroque. These speakers handle both with aplomb. Anyone can make speakers that will make your ears bleed. The true test is something soft (like my classical). Mids and highs are incredibly accurate and smooth.

Pros: Ran out of room for my review, but the lows are also excellent...don't let the frequency response listed throw you off. Fantastic sound all the way up and down the spectrum. The small form factor is great, and will really mislead you as to the sound they can produce.

Cons: I don't know what they'd sound like wall mounted, but floorstanding, again, great. Only con is they're a bit expensive, but as they say, you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 23 found this helpful

TOP