Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Professional CD recorder/player

MFR # CD-RW900MKII

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Professional CD recorder/player

MFR # CD-RW900MKII

35 reviews
View this product

Really good unit.

Crutchfield customer from Poland, OH on 11/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works really well, however the owners manual leaves much to be desired. If your already familiar with the operation parameters you'll be fine. But a newbie like me was pretty confused at first. Again, this all comes down to the manual. It's not very clear on what does what and how to do it. I chalk it up to the Japanese to English translations that I'm sure your familiar with! I suggest using a CDRW until you get the hang of it so as not to waste too many CDR's. But again, the unit itself is awesome and sounds really good on playback too! Don't know what DAC it is but it sounds really smooth...

Pros: ALOT of operation possibilities. Does everything and then some! Just read owners manual and get very familiar with it!

Cons: Owners manual can be very vague and confusing to a point. Use a CDRW at first so you don't waste CDR's learning all the features and such...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Steven from Wabash, IN on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Tascam CD-RW900MKII exceeds my expectation. After carefully reading the user manual I am able to make beautiful recordings. The only problem that I do have and it is probably something that I do not yet understand. I cannot enter the disc and track text with an external keyboard.

Pros: Excellent build quality. Cannot tell the recording from the original source.

Cons: I am frustrated that I cannot enter the disc and track text with an external keyboard.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good quality recorder

Rich from Wexford, PA on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this recorder to supplement my Teac CD recorder. I prefer recording with a stand alone recorder rather than a computer with its associated software. This unit uses the standard computer discs. Other recorders require the "music" discs which are getting hard to find. I found this recorder easy to use, but the manual is more of a function document and may leave some questions for someone who has never used a CD recorder before. I needed to make a PS/2 keyboard interface (documentation available on web - only 4 wires and shield) to adapt to a new keyboard (only needed if you want to title your discs quickly). Most recorder operations can be performed from the keyboard as well. You will need to make a keyboard cheat sheet/overlay since this makes use of the function keys (like DOS computers did). I recommend this recorder, and ordering from Crutchfield was a good experience.

Pros: Uses standard CDR and CDRW discs Can be rack mounted Can be controlled from an optional keyboard Analog input level can be balanced using front manual controls and master electronic control

Cons: Need to make or find a PS/2 adaptor for optional keyboards manufactured after 1993 with USB connector Adjusting analog input level using the electronic master control also adjusts digital input level, so you need to remember to check if switching back and forth between analog and digital sources.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Crutchfield customer from Waldorf, MD on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great recorder, easy to operate!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Crutchfield customer from Fresh Meadows, NY on 8/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The CD recorder works great. I have been recording since I got it. It's a pleasure to use.

Pros: All recording functions.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great recorder / player

david from Indianapolis, IN on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's perfect for my needs easy to use with a very good price

Pros: the best for such a great price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MA on 6/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding recorder, simple to use and records and plays the cd- rw discs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great CD Recorder and Features

Greg from Middletown, PA on 5/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace at 18 year old CD burner that had an optical digital input. I have the Tascam Mini-Disk recorder/player that has an optical output that I mix down old open reel tapes from the 60's / 70's of bands that I recorded live. I love the sync record feature on the Tascam CD-RW900MKII that makes it very easy to make a CD from the mini-disk. I don't understand the 90 labor warranty. I would think Tascam would give you a one year warranty for everything, parts and labor. Tascam has a great product support staff if you have a problem ore question on their product. I wish the manual was a little better. Crutchfield customer service is great to work with. I had to call Crutchfield to verify the price drop and making sure it was not a refurbished unit for their great price. The unit arrived in 3 days. Packaged very well! I would recommend this product and purchasing it from Crutchfield.

Pros: Great product support from Tascam and great customer support from Crutchfield.

Cons: Tascam could have a better warranty and a better manual explaining the features/settings of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excelent CD Recorder

Cris from Chicago, IL on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can say only one bad comment about this device, it is ugly like tractor. But it has a beautiful mind. Like tractor it is intended for professional work and it does an excellent work. I record music via fiber and it is perfect. The tray is very fast and loud, I mean you better not have your finger when the tray close. All the menus are well designed. I recorded couple of CDs now and it is an excellent tool. I am not a profesional but i was looking for a CD recorder and there are very few on the market. If you plan to buy, buy it now before is to late. Looks like the human mind goes in reverse and young people think that record player is the best, right. Even if CD it is an old format, still it is the most robust technology and it will surpass your mp3 player by a lot.

Pros: Records a CD perfect.

Cons: Cd tray very loud and fast. It might be a good think for a studio.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good solid unit.

Dwight J. from Union Springs, AL on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built unit that works well. Not quite as easy to use as my old Pioneer but is a nice unit.

Pros: Solidly built, makes good cd's, fun to use.

Cons: None really just a bit more complicated to use than I'm used to.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Victor from Jamestown, CA on 1/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use! Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, OH on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good price---easy use,no problems with unit--performs flawlessly---

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Crutchfield customer from Freeport, NY on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow what a fantastic piece of equipment. Its recording capabilities are awesome, and playback is divine. Just love everything about it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound quality

Greg from salinas, ca on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product records my Vinyl records excellently. When recording vinyl records it is o.k to go into the red periodically I found and no distortion. The instructions with this unit could have been more clear regarding random play. When I recorded some CD's I failed to notice it was on random play etc. Then when I played the CD's back it was in random order also. This was not listed in the instructions as I had double checked. I liked the way Crutchfield double boxed this delicate player too. It is always important to take care of shipping in a careful manner. I received the item without incident. I am glad I bought it. I play back my CD's in all the vehicles I drive and simply love the music.

Pros: Excellent recording capabilities in all recordings.

Cons: Poor owners manual

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

excellent product

peter from Missoula, MT on 10/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

so far so good! no complaints, the displays are easy to see and the functionality has been flawless. seems durable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great CD Player/Makes Great CD Recordings, Too

Festus from pt. pleasant, NJ on 9/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first CD player I ever had was a Magnavox CDB-650 with a stereo 16-bit DAC. That as an excellent machine for its time (1986). I used it for 9 years before it pooped out. Then in 1999 I got a Nakamichi MB-3 with a stereo 20-bit DAC. Sounded great, but the door kept jamming (design defect). In 2001 I replaced it with a Sony 5-CD changer; 1-bit streaming DAC. It lasted 15 years; it still works, but it's time for a sonic upgrade. Got this Tascam player/recorder 3 months ago. 24-bit stereo DAC. It is by far the best sounding CD player I have ever had. I've made recordings from my record and my iPad. They are great, too. I have nothing bad to say about the Tascam CD-RW900MK11.

Pros: YES!

Cons: NO!

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Crutchfield customer from Apopka, FL on 8/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been a couple of weeks since I purchased this product, I had a Pioneer previously which broke. I use CD Recorder to record my CD's on to another to have various artist on one CD. Easy to Hook up and to manage. I love it and have nothing negative to say.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TASCAM CD. RECODER. RW900MK11

REGINALD. PHILLIPS from ADELANTO on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TASCAM CD RECODER . Is One Of The Best I Ever Ues. I Recod From Vinyl Reel/Reel And CD Placer's. I Replaced My PHiLiPSCR785.

Pros: I" Love It.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

DonnieB from Bloomsbury, N.J on 5/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want to preserve your records and put them on cds, this product makes it very easy. The first one that I did came out great. Well worth the money.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Dan C from Auburn, ME on 4/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Vary satisfied with the performance and quality of this product.

Pros: Crutchfield, has an excellent reputation for standing behind their product lines.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Tascam CD Recorder and Player

Milton from salisbury, NC on 2/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For those of us who still think the CD is a great way to access music, this is a great machine. Using the tape play and record input and output on your receiver, you can record CDs from multiple sources. Operation is intuitive and flawless. CD recorders are becoming harder to find, so get one of these and you will not be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very pleased!

CLB3 from concord, NC on 1/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am extremely pleased with both the Tascam CD-RW900MkII and Crutchfield's fast service. I was looking for a quality, budget conscious CD player/recorder to record my vinyl collection to CDs. The Tascam CD-RW900MkII has fit the bill perfectly. High build quality, high playback and recording quality, and easy to set up and use. I highly recommend this player/recorder.

Pros: Quality of build and performance.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII Recorder

Derek J from Layton, UT on 1/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far works great as a CD Player....Sound reproduction played through a classic Tandberg TR 2080 receiver and a pair of Definitive Technology bookshelf speakers (also bought from Crutchfield) is outstanding. Since I haven't done any recording of tapes or LP's as of yet, I have to wait and see if the unit will earn the 5th star. The unit itself appears to be solidly built and the loading tray is far better than on my previous Yamaha. So far so good. One final note: the Tascam arrived ahead of schedule and was very well packaged.

Pros: solidly built; smooth loading tray; excellent sound and stereo imaging

Cons: One little nitpick. After loading and reading the CD, the unit does not automatically begin to play until the user engages the 'play' button on either the player or the remote. I can live with it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

CD-RW900MKII

Frank K from Pennsylvania on 12/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the extra cost over a non professional recorder. The two time saving features are the auto track marking and the auto fade when the disk is full. The nold Sony recorder I had to manually hit the record button to add another track number.

Pros: The auto features an the ease of use. You just have to press the record and walk away.

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unused

Allen from Florida on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace my Pioneer PDR-05, which is the first consumer home CD recorder. The PDR-05 had a "burp". It started to do things on its own, after 18 years. I got lucky with an old CD cleaning disc and the old unit is staying right there! I am keeping the Tascam CD-RW900MKII as a very nice looking back-up. Formats change so fast, and I am staying with mastering CDs on Minidisc and digitally recording that to CD. Looks like a beautiful machine and I am glad I purchased it from Crutchfield. Every purchase from Crutchfield has arrived with the cartons like they just left the factory.

Pros: Beautiful looks. Lots of bells and whistles.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Tascam CD - RW900MK11

Mike from Texas on 8/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was asked if the unit was able to record Lp records and the answer is yes , providing a few items are in place . If your turntable has a built in RIAA filter then a direct connection to analog and adjust levels as needed . And it is ok if it spikes in the red a little it will not show up on the disk . If you choose to use Digital this may present some problems because most Digital turntables are unstable and the recorder may not see it to record . In this case an analog to digital converter is needed and most Pc will perform this task . Stay under 48k because this is the max this unit will receive . In digital mode I would recommend the Coax connection this produces more sound pressure (Louder) . At its greatest a -10 Db is about as loud as you can push Analog into Digital . But for those who prefer more using a Pc with a Daw or a Vst host and adding plugins can produce a 0 Db effect . If your a Purist then non of the above is needed . I find pushing the analog to Digital my preference because the gain of the program is now the level of the Clicks which in a sense hides them . But when using a Vst Host you can purchase and Download plugins to enhance this , such as EQs compressors declickers denoisers and so on . This unit will provide a stable burn platform because it does not rely on the Pc power supply and the reputation of the brand name speaks for itself . This is not there top of line unit but 20 years of usage can be had...............

Pros: This was a question ask by Tom but I could not seem to answer it through my E-mail maybe you will be able to read it here.......... good luck Tom !

Cons: come on guys get it together this man needs his answers

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Value for sure!

JamesT from California on 7/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD recorder provides sound quality and features greater than one would expect given its relatively low cost. For pro or home use, TEAC/Tascam products generally offer super value!

Pros: Sound and features beyond price

Cons: Bit of a learning curve.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Tascam CD Recorder

Rick C. from Michigan on 6/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product for my recording studio. Performs flawlessly. High end product, yet easy to operate. Also looks real sharp on my rack.

Pros: Lots of features. Instruction manual very easy to understand.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

Crutchfield customer from Columbia City, IN on 2/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. The best part of this cd recorder is I like that it uses regular cd-r's. So you just don't have to go out a find the music cd-r's like most other recorder's require.

Pros: Uses regular cd-r's

Cons: none that I have found.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Very nice recorder

EE from Virginia on 2/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice recorder with high quality sound reproduction. I've only had this unit several weeks and still learning all of it's features, once you 'drive' it a couple of times, it's easy to use with the front panel keys or remote.

Pros: Clear display, easy recording with front panel keys or the included remote. I've used it to record old albums and it reproduces very well.

Cons: I have it connected to an older Kenwood system and it's a bit difficult to switch inputs (by relocating cables) but it's something I can live with.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Tascam CD-Rw900mkii

Francisco from Puerto Rico on 2/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is excellent in all recording aspects. sound from its recordings is awesome. very easy to use also. Highly recommend this recorder/player.

Pros: easy to set and use, exceelent recorded sound, affordable.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sounding better.

W R Moore from Kansas on 1/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first received this unit, which is replacing a Denon DN-C550R CD recorder, and after connecting it up in my audio production studio, I wasn't too happy with the sound of CD playback. The highs sounded "rolled off" and the overall audio had a rather "muffled" quality. Since that time, however, the playback audio has somewhat improved, which reinforces the old adage that most electronics require a certain amount of "break-in" before they sound their best. I have recorded several CDs and all is functioning normally there, so if playback quality continues to improve, I will probably add this piece to my arsenal of equipment. One other comment, though. I missed that letter of thanks from Bill Crutchfield which they used to send inside the box.

Pros: Functions well as a recorder.

Cons: Muffled playback sound, initially, but better now. Clunky and noisy CD drawer.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Tascam CD-RW900MKII

PhilipG from Hawaii on 1/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding cd recorder/player. Very clear and concise music reproduction!

Pros: Well written instructions !

Cons: None !

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great burner very user friendly

mike o. from bristol,ct on 12/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very high quality product. Easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome! Especially for the price!

Lite T from Florida on 11/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very fine & professional CD recorder + player. Awesome! Exceptional quality of recordings! Easy to use. My principle purpose is to record my LP vinyl; however, since it is so easy with fabulous quality, I am also using it to record from radio & other audio sources just like the old Cassette Tape Decks -- but with superior quality and easy features to make professional quality recordings (eg fade in/out, auto track management, etc). My Recommendation: invest in this product! you'll use it for many purposes, not just conversion of LP to CD.

Pros: Professional CD recordings & easy to use + professional-grade features

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

TOP