Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Crown XLS 1502

DriveCore™ 2 Series power amplifier — 300W x 2 at 8 ohms, 1,550W x 1 at 4 ohms bridged

MFR # XLS1502

Crown XLS 1502

Crown XLS 1502

DriveCore™ 2 Series power amplifier — 300W x 2 at 8 ohms, 1,550W x 1 at 4 ohms bridged

MFR # XLS1502

25 reviews
View this product

Audio Bliss

Crutchfield customer from Floral Park, NY on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased three of these to replace old 5 channel amp. First tried a new 7 channel AB style amp from other brand but the twin toroidal transformers had so much hum, that even during a short lull in music/movie I could hear it from 10 feet away. The Crowns are silent. The three amps have fans but even during an intense movie the fans have never kicked in. Two amps are in stereo and the third is bridged for the center channel. And the best part is that these Crowns gave new life to my speakers. I can hear bass that was missing from my main towers for which I always blamed the speakers. It appears to be true - you can never have too much power. Hooking up was a breeze with XLR's and as far as powering up all three, it's as simple as getting a green power strip so that when the AV processor goes on/off so do the amps. Try playing "Kodo - Heartbeat Drummers of Japan" from Sheffield Lab #10507-2-G. Take it easy, as even these Crowns can catapult your speakers onto your neighbors yard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crown Performs - Crutchfield Delivers

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 8/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this amp to pair with my Mackie 1400 (no longer manufactured, recently repaired). The Crown sound is so clear and powerful enough to easily drive our big speaker cabinets. My rig has never sounded so good. I am impressed with the light weight of the unit and overall quality of construction, too! Thanks Crutchfield, for having this most excellent amp in stock and shipping it in time for our latest music festival.

Pros: Light weight, sound quality, output power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Fall River, MA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All power and looks great to love it

Pros: Power

Cons: To light

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, MI on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp is used in a home setup without Preamp. Very neutral sound with plenty of power at a more than reasonable price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for our baseball field PA system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Bigelow, AR on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this for a bass amplifier. Best bargain amplifiers on the market.

Pros: Reliability and price.

Cons: No cons I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Above my expectations

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I love the amp. I am using it to power two sets of 10in 4ohm subs in a 7 cubic foot bin.This is in a home system with onkyo/polk rti a9 and mission speakers in a 7.2 system. Sounds phenomenal. Bass pounds hard and tight. Rtia9 and missions being ran by adcom gfa 555 and 5500. I. Just ordered another xls 1502 for bass in another room..

Pros: so far very happy

Cons: Shipper dropped the ball, so to speak. Crown box was well packaged and insulated but the shipping box was essentially the same size so no room for shipping popcorn. Amplifiers should be packed better. I am crossing my fingers that no permanent damage was done the the delicate amp parts.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Murphy, NC on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased. Listen mostly to classical -- medieval through 20th century, but also 60s rock and celtic folk. Purchased 2 to replace Hafler DH500s which have died after 30+ years, to bi-amp ADS 1530 speakers with Sunfire TGP-5 preamp. The sound is clear and bright, with plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Very clean Class D amp

Cara from Lamar, AR on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4 stars just because the Ch 2 gain knob is a bit stiff around the halfway point. Shouldn't be a problem for me since I'm controlling everything with a 4X10HD miniDSP. I bought the 1502 to drive the midrange speakers in my homemade high output active 3 way towers. The Crown seems much better than the Behringer iNUKE that it replaced. It's dead silent and the Behringer fan was much too loud. Also, the Crown doesn't pop my speakers. Both 3000W Behringers I've used and the 1000W Behringer popped my speakers when powered on. The only thing I like better in the Behringer amps was a much better DSP. Since I'm now controlling everything through the miniDSP this is no longer an issue and I'll be getting the Crown 2002 for my woofers and the 2502 for my 18" sub. Would highly recommend the Crown DriveCore series to anyone looking for lots of clean Class D power.

Pros: Good value, Clean, Quiet, No speaker pop when powered on or off

Cons: Limited DSP compared to Behringer iNUKE amps

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Johnny from Hales Corners, WI on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this amp, it's feeding a set of Polk Audio RTI A9's and no complaints so far, easy setup, a noticeable upgrade in performance

Pros: Plenty of power

Cons: Liek a previous reviewer mentioned, the amp may slide a little when pressing the power button, outside of that, I love this amp.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 20 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502 + Maggies = :o)

Stephen from Dayton, OH on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Crown XLS-1502 to replace my old war horse ADCOM GFA-555 Mk.II The ADCOM has served me and my Magnepan MG1.5QR speakers well for the better part of 30 years now. So far the early impressions of the 1502 are very good. The first thing I noticed was the more authoritative control this amp has on the Maggie's woofer panels. To my ears the bass is firmer, tighter, punchier and more extended than before. The mids and highs seem to have an extra layer of detail that was missing before. This added detail did NOT come at the cost of adding any harshness. I've been very impressed with the 1502 in the short time that I've owned it. I will make updates if I have anything to add once I've logged in more listening time with the amp. I do have one very small criticism of the amp. The thing doesn't weigh enough. When I push the power switch the amp tends to slide on it's rack shelf. I'll have to see what I can do about finding some cabinet feet that are a little more grippy. At 40 lbs. the ADCOM never had this problem. UPDATED 9/3/18: Returned the amp today for an odd problem that recently popped up. I have the amp set up with the VU meters disabled. I cranked up some music and noticed that the bottom LED in each channel was flickering. Went into the amp's control panel and the meters were still turned OFF. I turned them ON and back OFF again and the meters went completely dark as they're supposed to. Powered up the amp the next day and the same thing happened again. This has been going on for the last 4 days. Due to this small but annoying problem I have lowered my rating to 4 stars.

Pros: Noticeable improvement across the board over my previous amp. More detailed mids & highs along with tightened & extended lows.

Cons: Amp is too light and slides easily on it's shelf. Needs feet with better grip.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Phenominal !! When set up correctly

Bill from Harrisburg, PA on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set this up in basement listening room hooked up to a pair of B&W CM5 bookshelf speakers. Was using a Yamaha A-S501 integrated amp, nice sounding amp but when using turntable something was missing sonically. I hooked up the Crown 1502 and used a Rolls Promatch RCA to XLR converter and cables, set my Audio Technica turntable to line output, hooked everything else up and I was blown away by the performance of this set up. The B&W's are a totally different sounding speaker with vinyl now, don't let the looks and weight of the Crown XLS fool you, this is a very powerful and clean sounding amplifer that is well suited for a home studio or just pure listening.

Pros: Very powerful crisp and clean, very versatile

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Tri-amping high end home audio with the Crown XLS 1502

Ron from Orangevale, CA on 5/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got a fantastic deal on a pair of B&W Nautilus 802 speakers and my vintage Class A/B amplifier just was doing basically nothing to drive the bottom end. I bought a pair of the Crown XLS 1502 amplifiers and I tried them in several configurations. They sounded pretty good vertically bi-amped with one channel to the top and one channel to the bottom end of each speaker. The internal Y feature is excellent for this. For this price point it's a good high end solution that's fun. Then I made a huge step forward and bought a new amp to power the top end. This amp is getting very positive reviews for way outperforming its price point. With the Crown amps bridged for the bottom end on my power hungry speakers and the very detailed amplifier driving the top end, the different was profound. The class D Crown amps just don't have the detail and transparency to really make the system come together powering everything. As bridged bass amps, they're pretty incredible.

Pros: Lots of power and pretty tight and controlled.

Cons: Not the detail and transparency of a high end home audio amp for the mids.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 4/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

all the good as regards the XLS1002, with a little more power "Good Clean Power, with nice features"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Breezy Point, MN on 4/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super nice amp for home audio. High and low level inputs for voltage matching to get the best power out of your amp also to include remote turn on ports so you can use you AVR 12v to turn the power on and off. It really deserves five stars but nothing is perfect even though this comes close.

Pros: Great power, remote turn on, dual inputs (xlr and rca)

Cons: Rack mount, bright lights

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

More power than my neighbors can stand!

Frank W from Jacksonville, FL on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great way to add power to a home system if you have some kind of extra output that can send the pre amplified signal; Zone 2., Per Amp Out, or even a tape monitor output. It will cost pennies on the dollar to what you would spend on a similar powered home stereo amp. Very good sounding with excellent stereo separation. Not many professional amps also have the capability to wire directly to a home stereo Pre Out. If you need help wiring it up, just ask the folks at Crutchfield and they will help walk you through what you need to do!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

15 of 15 found this helpful

Try this before you get bigger speakers.

Mike from Socorro, NM on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm driving my front channel Klipsch RF-7II's with this thing, using signal from my Marantz NR 1504. Below -20 DB, the Marantz is better for music, but only slightly, for stuff you have to try to listen for, and it's a technical reason. The amplifier is probably in the middle of its operating range, therefore more efficient. When you go above -17db with Bypass L/R on, the Marantz gets overwhelmed. I ruined a tweeter on a Klipsch RF82 by clipping the Marantz amp. When I want more volume, I switch over to the Crown amp. I can drive my system to uncomfortably loud levels. At 0DB, I get 330WRMS playing "Vacant-Let Go" You feel the bass in your chest. It's so loud, you WILL cover your ears. You can cover your ears and it still sounds better than a TV. I never go to concerts anymore. It's better than a theater. This system sounds like a good set of headphones. I do still have RF-82 II's in quadraphone and I feel those are equally impressive as the 7's. Either way shakes the floor so hard, the turntable will go into a feedback loop above -17 db. If you're wanting bigger speakers, try this amp first. The RF 82's and RF7's sound equally impressive with this. The horn on RF82's is at ear level when you sit in a couch and it makes movies better. The horn on the 7's is higher and better for when your're standing 20 feet away. Both speakers go to uncomfortably loud levels even at -10 db. The 82's never throw in the towel. No sub needed.

Pros: Plenty of power. Impedance isn't an issue. Fan never switches on unless you're at un-safe sound levels.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

14 of 14 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great buy,crisp sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Power and Value that sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Nashville,TN on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Our need for power for an interactive speaker wall lead us to this amplifier for its performance and value. We use this together with a DTS Play-Fi enabled preamp to power a set of Thiel Audio speakers. We run three of these setups in the AURORA Studio to enable staff to quickly demonstrate products and at offsite at events.

Pros: RCA input with selectable sensitivity Power vs price Small form factor makes for easy placement

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Mike from Racine, WI on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good amp for the money. Have it hooked up to a Yamaha a1060 receiver to power my cerwin vega xls 215. Having some humming issues thru my speakers but I bought a ART cleanbox so hopefully that will eliminate the issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 1/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier was recommended to us by Crutchfield after our previous amplifier fried itself. It is currently hooked up to 4 250W speakers and is working like a champ. I also like that it is rack mounted, our previous one was not.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Crown XLS 1502

Crutchfield customer from Merced, CA on 9/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bang for your buck, I give it 4 1/2 stars. Crisp highs big punch in the bass my new speakers love it and so do I. If you need good power with a clean fantastic sound for a fairly low price this baby has it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great value amp

Spahnsky from Danville, CA on 7/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After researching online, we bought this amp to power a pair of Bose 802 articulated array speakers (with 802 controller) in a church sanctuary. It replaces an old Hafler P500 that died. A local audio expert had loaned us an expensive European brand amp for a couple of weeks as his recommendation for replacement. It was twice the power we needed and three time the price, so we ignored his advice and took a chance on the Crown XLC 1502. We were pleasantly impressed that we could not hear the difference between the two amps. It doesn't provide a direct connection to the internet (which we didn't require) and it operates at 75% volume instead of 35% for the European model. What it does provide is clean, ample power in a small, light-weight package, and, most importantly, a low-cost solution for a basic amp! The only reason I'm not giving it five stars, is because we didn't have the opportunity to compare it to similarly priced brands. However, it appears to be the perfect solution to our situation.

Pros: Clean sound. Great power to cost ratio.

Cons: No USB interface.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 13 found this helpful

BEST AMP

Frank BG from sarasota, FL on 2/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have a NAD main surround unit, only the unit lacks power to my rear speakers which are DBX 7 way w/18 inch woofers added this CROWN & wow! The system comes alive the CROWN handle the highs & lows with that great rumble 18 inch DBX woofers can make1 Thinking of picking up another CROWN & setting my system up with only CROWN XLS

Pros: set it & its perfect

Cons: XLR connectors but once i set them up no issues

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Very Light Power Amp

Mario O from Puerto Rico on 11/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buyed this to replace a PB-2 Crown, very impressed for the easy handle of this unit, it sounds powerful and clean sound. Hard to believe !!

Pros: Very Light, sounds clear and powerful !!

Cons: Not yet I used only one time at lower levers

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

TOP