Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audeze LCD-3

High-performance planar magnetic headphones

MFR # LCD-3-ZW-TC

Audeze LCD-3

Audeze LCD-3

High-performance planar magnetic headphones

MFR # LCD-3-ZW-TC

10 reviews
View this product

What an upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, IA on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these as an upgrade to a pair of Sennheiser HD650's and what an upgrade it was! The LCD-3's have fantastic detail with no hint of harshness in the highs. I hear things I have never heard on recordings I have listened too hundreds of times. Bass is strong, solid and very detailed. Bass drums sound like bass drums, upright bass sound delicious. The same for the mid-range and highs, voices have to be heard to be believed. The best part is there is no ear fatigue like you can get with some other headphones that tend to be a little bright (harsh) on the top end. Good recordings sound wonderful and poor recordings are still very listenable with no fatigue. If you want headphones that will compete with a very high end two channel system these are the ones. I listen to Blues, Jazz, Rock and Classical these play will with everything. These are my end game headphones.

Pros: detailed, smooth, musical, comfortable, no fatigue on poor recordings. Crutchfield service goes out of the way to make sure everything is right.

Cons: Only the price but Crutchfield has some good priced on open box and scratch and dent.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great cans for audiophiles and the hard of hearing

Jon from Saint Augustine, FL on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new cans. While they are traditionally used to listen to music, I actually use them as headphones for work. I found using the Audeze Stock Cable with mic for LCD-GX Headphones works perfectly as a book mic for the Audeze LCD-3. There is no degradation of hearing the person on the other end. FYI, I am using these headphones because I am super hard of hearing, e.g. I wear hearing aids. BTW I do by use them with an amp too to watch movies on my iPad and while I am not good listening to highs and lows; what I can tell you is that it pushes out some serious sound. I highly recommend these headphones!!

Pros: Super comfortable and great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audeze LCD-3

Crutchfield customer from Atascadero, CA on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very comfortable, and beautifully made. The sound is a bit warm thru a tube amp, but detailed as well. I've never used phones before, and these reveal the best and worst of recordings in my collection- issues that didn't Pop up in room ambiance. No listening fatigue, but I wonder what they will sound like thru a solid state Amplifier.

Pros: Comfort, quality, detail, range.

Cons: A bit mid range focused. The chord is a little short for my sitting location.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audeze LCD-3

Crutchfield customer from Monterey Park, CA on 2/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding headphones. I recommend upgrading the standard cable it comes with to a high end cable. It will open up the sound to a fabulous level.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh; I'd like more at this price range.

Matt from Tenino, WA on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall: I found these to be very comfortable, good looking, and capable of reproducing great bass. But the sound just does not come across as natural in the way that many other earphones do, especially not at this price. I found them boring and lacking life. I compared these with the Focal Clears, which are ~$500 cheaper at the time of this reading, and tested them with a Marantz DAC. By comparison, the Focals were much more clearly detailed and alive. The LCD-3s certainly have beautiful bass, but it didn't come across as more audible or detailed than the Focals, which put less emphasis on it. The stereo imaging also seems particularly "narrow" by comparison to both these, my Grados, and my AudioTechnicas, but perhaps that is by design. Not sure. Overall, I can't give a higher rating because at this price they should have made me say "wow" after trying out the Focals, but just the opposite was true.

Pros: Great bass Great packaging and overall fit and finish

Cons: Good, but ultimately uninteresting or detailed sound.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Audeze LCD-3 Review

Shamimul from Fremont, CA on 7/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are many excellent reviews on AUDEZ LCD-3 on Internet by both users and professionals, and to my experience with these cans they are true and accurate. I better not dilate upon the usual attributes lest I end up in repetition of other reviewers. I wish to highlight, however the stellar performance of these cans for classical music whether occidental or oriental. I listened to my favourite erstwhile tracks and found great shine to their melody. Musicality was above the mark. It was like an old wine with new companion. Good news for baby boomers. Give new life to your old songs. I am using these cans with OPPO HA-1 and the combo is lethal. Agreed they are heavy but when on head and over the ears, the weight is well distributed and you can go for extended period of listening.

Pros: Excellent audio and sturdy build

Cons: Heavy and pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audeze LCD-3

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 3/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these with the intent of getting the highest sound quality I could afford without having to buy new speakers, and for listening at higher volumes without disturbing the neighbors in my apartment complex. The headphones definitely lived up to their reputation and reviews; the sound quality is the best I've ever had access to.  Is that sound quality worth $2000? It was for me, but that's a question each person will have to answer for themselves. Considering that a pair of speakers with equal or better sound quality would cost several times what these cost, I thought these headphones made a lot of sense. Even then, the cost forced me to consider the purchase carefully, but I was able to save enough money in less than a year and Crutchfield's 60 day return policy let me try them risk free. You'll be asked to buy a headphone amplifier with these, but I don't think that is necessary IF you have stereo components as opposed to portable devices such as iPhones or laptops.  I use these with a Marantz PM-8005 integrated amplifier, but have also used the SA-8005 CD player, NA-8005 network player, and a SR7007 AVR. The headphone jack in each of these components provided enough power to drive the headphones with no issues. In any case, you'll need to look at what you have on hand and do your homework when deciding if you need, or want, a separate headphone amplifier to drive these. Again, Crutchfield's 60 day return policy can be your best friend if you are unsure.

Pros: Outstanding sound quality. Rugged storage case. Spare parts are available from the manufacturer.

Cons: One of the larger and heavier headphone sets. The price is significant, so make sure this is what you want.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audeze LCD-3

Crutchfield customer from Louisiana on 10/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's like being in another world!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great!

Jared from Riverton, Utah on 5/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had hd650 with benchmark DAC and now I have the lcd-3, burson soloist, and grace m903. At first I was underwhelmed and as much as reviews mentioned the "smooth" sound I thought it was too laid back through the bass and mids and the highs seemed bright. After just a couple of days I now think otherwise. The headphones are great, very smooth, and they do indeed have a magical, musical behavior . No matter the song I find myself being thrilled with what I hear. Truly excellent headphones. Don't look to be amazed as soon as you put the headphones on but breath, relax and listen and the experience is very much worthwhile.

Pros: Smooth, magical, engaging sound.

Cons: Build quality was rated lower due to flimsy headphone cable, but I suppose most will get aftermarket--i am. Heavy headphones that felt like they were pinching my head which resulted in a headache on my first day with them, but the following days didn't have that probably and felt like I am used to the weight.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Impressive and quite an experience

Brent from Sacramento, California on 11/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already own the Denon AH D7100 and am comparing them to it. The planar sound is different of course and is soft and a little muffled. The Denon's are very clear, precise and the bass is tight. The Audeze is definitely better at fullness of sound and creating a stereo on my head experience. The sound from the Audeze seems to be all around me and I can feel it more. I prefer more treble sound. The Audeze is like turning down the treble on a stereo...I guess it is just a matter of taste. I have listened to them for a week now and occasionally compare the Denon's to it just for reference. Bass is crazy good in these, it's exhilarating actually. It's tough for me to compare my Denon's that I have had and love for the past couple years. Hmmmmmm. I am kinda tempted to listen to the Grado PS1000e also. I do prefer a more sharp/higher treble sound, but I am going to give these a month to get used to. If you are not fond of the planar sound whether from floor speakers like Magna Planar or Martin Logan, then you probably will not be fond of these also. Its just a different sound. It's a lot softer sound and not punchy and like a said, a little muffled sounding. If they were more sharp, I would give them a 5 star. Overall, they are pretty cool. You will need at least a $320 headphone amp for these at a minimum. I am not saying buy these on buy these. I will have to hear the Grado's I think to compare. That's just me.

Pros: Full room filling sound on your head. Great for bass sound. Creates an experience on your head.

Cons: Sounds muffled and not as sharp as I wanted it to. Have to spend hundreds on a headphone amp to run them.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 21 found this helpful

TOP