Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audeze Penrose X

Planar-magnetic gaming headphones with wireless transmitter and Bluetooth® (for Xbox Series X/S, Xbox One, and Windows® PC)

MFR # 205-XB-1122-01

Audeze Penrose X

Audeze Penrose X

Planar-magnetic gaming headphones with wireless transmitter and Bluetooth® (for Xbox Series X/S, Xbox One, and Windows® PC)

MFR # 205-XB-1122-01

14 reviews
View this product

Audeze Penrose X

Nelson from Philadelphia, PA on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are insane! I heard so many reviews on these and their sound quality that I finally bit the bullet and purchased. The price had me second guessing for a while because they're are so many more headsets that are good for half the price. These are another monster though. This is "PREMIUM"! I'm glad I finally went with my gut and said screw it. Lol I'm using with DTS-X, a total game changer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The ultimate gaming headset

Crutchfield customer from Severn, MD on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Audeze Penrose X, is the best sounding gaming headset I have ever heard. In the past I have used Astro A50, Steelseries arctics pro wireless, but they don't hold a candle to the penrose. Everything is so much clearer, and cleaner sounding with the penrose. I have used them on my PC and Xbox series X and they both sound awesome, the app is pretty basic but it works, and you could also use the Dolby atmos settings on the Xbox. I didn't have any connection issues with any thing I used them with even with Bluetooth they connected fast. The mic is ok with no complaints, but you would be buying this for the top notch sound, not the mic. I would recommend the penrose to anyone wanting that next level in gaming sound.

Pros: The sound is the best yet for a gaming headset.

Cons: The mic quality doesn't match the sound

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap, overpriced headphones

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 10/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not only the most overpriced headphones I've ever had, they're also the worst headphones I've ever owned. When I first got the they already had some issues that I had to troubleshoot, thankfully I was able to and could keep on using them. I then started noticing a sort of metallic crunching sound whenever I'd put them on or move. Sometimes it would freak out and start saying "Connected" over and over again, but I put these things aside and kept on enjoying them. Testerday, after about an hour of use, my left side goes completely silent. I turned it off and turned it back on, I hard reset it, I turned it off and let it rest overnight and nothing. Finally, to top it off, a piece on the headband popped off and now the right side slides out whenever you put them on. I spent this much for "top quality headphones" that didn't last three months. I can't even return them because the return policy is only 60 days. If you're planning on buying these don't, it's a waste of money and the only reason I'm giving it 2 stars and not 1 is because the sound quality was good for the little time it lasted.

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Connection Issues, Uncomfortable, Poorly Built

Crutchfield response on 10/25/2021
After receiving this customer's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his headphones are still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact Audeze at 714-581-8010 for further information about the 1-year warranty on these headphones.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Oak Creek, WI on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy and great sound don't forget the free app to customize your experience!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, not easy to adjust levels

Crutchfield customer from Hinesburg, VT on 5/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, but a little clunky with volume levels. The app is a must.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound comes to those who wait and do thier research

Crutchfield customer from Downingtown, PA on 5/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After I bought the Penrose for my Xbox series x I was worried that 300 dollars was to much. I had done a ton of research and viewed many Utube videos. I bought turtle beach 700's for a lot less which I still have, the first two days while playing I was very disappointed, there was so much sound I couldn't separate the things I could hear. While doing my research I spent time on the Audeze website where I found presets for different things listened too. So I downloaded the presets for what I need and loaded it into my headset. WOW!!!!!!! OMG!!!! These things are fantastic I hear things I never heard, they are clear, crisp, true to life sounds. I play warzone, black opps, and listen to music and use them on my TV. These are definitely worth 300 dollars, I am very happy with my investment. I also downloaded the dolby atmos app on my Xbox. The headset will not process Dolby Atmos but if you have the sound processed before it gets to the headset they play that sound. All I can say is these things kick ass !!!!!!!!

Pros: Sound quality, information, adjustable to what you want to listen ?? too. Dynamic headset.

Cons: If you don't do your research, you will not get you money worth.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Macomb, MI on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This headset sounds great on Bluetooth. Hands down the best I have ever owned. However mine had a defect and the wifi audio is horrible. They just went back to Audeze today. If I get a functional pair I'm sure these will be 5 star.

Pros: Bluetooth sounds great Comfortable

Cons: Wifi dongle and capabilities are awful

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Granite Bay, CA on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphones are heavy, but actually very comfortable. The sound is crisp and clear and I've been told the microphone is strong and clear. I use this for work calls, music and Xbox One gaming. The first time I used it to play Dragon Quest XI, I was impressed. I never knew how much of the sound I was missing with my old headphones. I wasn't listening for improvement when I put them on, I just wanted to play the game and see how easy it was to connect the headphones to the Xbox (easy, just flip the switch on the USB dongle to "Xbox" and plug it in). You know it's a big improvement when you immediately notice the sound difference when you're not expecting or listening for it. The low end leaves something to be desired, so minus one star. I downloaded some Audeze equalizer presets from their website which I have yet to try out, but I did notice that if you increase 32Hz (the lowest setting you can adjust), the dynamic range takes an immediate hit where the everything gets muted. The Audeze presets all adjust EQ in the negative direction, so maybe that's the trick.

Pros: Sound Microphone Versatility Comfort

Cons: Bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audeze Penrose X

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality lives up to the hype and then some--the clarity is astounding. It wasn't until I got these that I realized how bad the stock EQ settings on iTunes and iPhone are, and I've had a blast coming up with my own presets on the Audeze app (PC). I like that the controls are actual buttons and wheels, and the headset is comfortable for reasonable extended wear (2-3 hours). I'm docking a star for a few minor things: 1.) No iOS app (although one was promised in marketing last spring), so iPhone owners have to plug into a PC every time we want to tweak a preset or switch to a different one. Audeze blames Apple for this, but I find it unfeasible that two respected companies can't figure out a way for users to get an app for these. 2.) When connected via wireless (to gaming console) and a Bluetooth device simultaneously, there's no way on the headset to balance the two volumes. You're stuck relying on pausing your game and digging for the volume setting on the console, and going back to your game to see if you've struck the right balance. 3.) No included case. You have to spend an extra 40 bucks for one on top of the 300 you already paid. Bose, Sony, Lucidsound and other high-end brands include one--why can't Audeze? Those quibbles aside, these are a keeper, I'm so happy I found a headset that connects to Xbox and my Switch via dongle (there aren't many that do aside from the Arctis 7x) AND gives me a great music listening experience to bo

Pros: 1.) Fantastic, near-audiophile sound quality. 2.) Will also connect to Nintendo Switch via the dongle (rare for wireless headsets marketed for Xbox). 3.) Comfort (provided you aren't wearing them longer than 2-3 hours at a stretch). 4.) Vast tweaking potential with the app.

Cons: 1.) No app for iOS users. 2.) No way on the headset to balance wireless and Bluetooth audio when streamed simultaneously. 3.) A headset this expensive should absolutely come with a carrying case.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audeze Penrose X

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performance has been well beyond expectations. The price seems steep, however let me tell you quality reflects. Some of the reviews discuss a low battery time; however in my experience it's good. The USB-C capabilities makes charging a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audeze Penrose X

Michael from New Holland, PA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Headphones work wonderful with very comfortable earmuffs and stays put on my head when I'm wearing them i would say they were worth the money.

Pros: Wonderful Sound, Dad bought them for me, very comfortable to wear

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audeze Penrose X

Crutchfield customer from Pr Du Chien, WI on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome worth the wait

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

amazing sound

Crutchfield customer from Alta Loma, CA on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this is the best sounding gaming headset i have ever owned. from my research i wanted something that sounds amazing and was comfortable, this is both, i am very happy i chose this headset. for those interested i can confirm that this set does work wirelessly with both xbox series x and ps5.

Pros: amazing sound, very comfortable, works wirelessly with both xbox and playstation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audeze Penrose X

Crutchfield customer from Bentonville, AR on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Note: I am coming from the Lucid Sound LS50s to the Penrose. Only reason I did not give this product 5* is because of the position of the controls (mute, volume, game/chat volume). Headset is incredibly comfortable when wearing for an extended time. Audio is clear and no issues with clarity of mic (unless I was breathing in it). Mute button is located as a switch at the top of the headset which takes some getting used to finding. I also wish there was an indicator on the mic boom that you're muted (like the ls50). The volume controls are very close together and are on scroll wheels. Adjusting chat/game mix is done by clicking down on the mic volume wheel and scrolling which can be quite the shock when you get the wrong knob.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP