Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Monitor Audio Silver 100

Bookshelf speakers (Black Oak)

MFR # S100BL

Monitor Audio Silver 100

Monitor Audio Silver 100

Bookshelf speakers (Black Oak)

MFR # S100BL

10 reviews
View this product

A British Gem

James from Oak Creek, WI on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am reviewing the Silver 100 in RoseNut. These are truly beautiful speakers in a smallish but chunky form factor with high WAF. Fit & finish of the reddish wood veneer is stunning. Grills are magnetically attached. Magnets in the grill snap them in perfect alignment without adjustment. The tweeter & 8"woofer are held in place with a tension bolt each, adjusted on the back and pulled against the front baffle to reduce resonants. Monitor Audio designed an 8" woofer into this form factor. This design results in surprisingly excellent bass, not just deep but also detailed & nuanced. I listen to a lot of jazz trios & quartets where the double bass is prominent. The Silver 100s reproduce the entire range of the double bass, down to 41hz. It is astounding that a smallish speaker can reproduce that much quality bass. Mids are reproduced very airy, real and convincing. Both male and female vocals are in the room. Treble is too forward at first, not glaring but too prominent. British speakers have a reputation of brightness. Give these about 20 hours (manufacturer spec says 70 hours) and the high end will settle down into a very detailed but balanced presentation. They are not a excessively warm speaker but neither are they excessively bright after break-in. They excel in detail presentation. The solid sound stage is pleasing, broad and deep with great instrument separation and placement. Whether or not you like them depends on liking the British voicing.

Pros: Beautiful finish, deep detailed base, detailed, excellent imaging.

Cons: Forward soundstage but not too bright. (British voicing)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MONITOR AUDIO 100's

Guest from USA on 2/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok so just like the previous reviewer, I compared these MA 100's to Kef R300 and ended up with the MA, the best description for me was that they are more lively sounding, they can get bright on certain recordings like another reviewer said but it may these speakers are so accurate that they will play what you put to them as to recording of music, good or bad you'll see the results. It took me a long time to decide between these two because the Kef R300's are outstanding in their own rights but I just kept coming back to the MA's because to me they were a bit more clear and you can pick up more. Either way you go they are both outstanding. I'll hang on to these for now and enjoy the music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audiophile excellent

John from Hollidaysburg, PA on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Speakers and subwoofers need to be tuned to room acoustics. Driving mind with a Cambridge Topaz SR 20. Given my room is 20 by 20. More bass was achieved by a Cambridge mini x201 subwoofer. Bookshelf often need warmth added due to weak lower end. Placement and subwoofer when placed will provide amazing sound.

Pros: Monitor Audio quality

Cons: Must tune to room acoustics

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audiophile or not?

James Bond from Denver Colorado on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are pretty nice looking, a take from the B&W 705 S2 albeit the giant cone aerial atop, cosmetics are top notch, they are BIG so heed the warning and plan accordingly with sturdy stands. , As to sound, the midrange is excellent a bit forward for now but these can fill a large room easily , the speakers are new but I'm hearing a bit more treble than I usually care for , hoping that will take as the bass driver breaks in and settles , vocals are crystal clear, when you get into dance music the treble is revealing. This could be that what you put to them they will either play with finesse or show the flaws of the recording. That's not a bad thing but that high frequency, man it can sound quite HOT!! The good, they are quite spacious and image like beasts. Bass is quite good but I've not heard it yet explode as some have claimed that you don't need a sub, I agree you probably won't after the bass driver breaks in properly with a few good hours ie 50-100 but perhaps for movies a sub, yes? Time will tell. Are they audiophile, verging on the spectrum. I've done a direct A-B comparison to the reverent Kef LS 50's. Pretty damn close, I think the Kefs edge them a tiny bit in midrange for now and with no break in and obviously not as bright as them in current status. if there's one issue with these that's it. Again hoping that will cool down. Other than that they are brilliant speakers. I'd compare them to Bowers & Wilkins which I've owned several from the

Pros: Clear Crisp as refreshing evening walk

Cons: None at this price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Silky sound

Edward from Waco, TX on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My journey to replace my 22 year old B&W Nautilus 805 speakers was not an easy task. The market for bookshelf pairs in the $1000-$2000 is filled with excellent speakers. In my journey, I auditioned B&W 606s, Martin Logan Motion 35XT, Monitor Audio Gold 50, KEF R300, and the Monitor Audio Silver 100s. I spoke to sales people and read abut Revel, Klipsch, and Polk. So with the help of the good folks at Crutchfield, I settled into a decision between the KEF R300 and the Monitor Audio Silver 100. I listened to hours of music with both. I took notes on what I heard, when I heard it, and my impression at the time of what I heard. I went with the Monitor for three reasons: 1. This is a speaker (in my estimation) that is not going off any cliffs. The cymbals are there, but not metallic. The bass is distinguished, but not booming. The sound stage is apparent , but the listener is on the 12th row, not the first row. 2. I heard a number of songs that the word "silky" came to mind. These were smooth jazz arrangements to begin with, but the Monitors did nothing but be natural in the sound reproduction of those songs. 3. I was not tired after hearing these speakers. I had not been bombarded by bass, shrill vocals, or tinny highs nor was I frustrated by trying to hear things I thought I heard in other speakers. Everything was there and in the right place. These speakers need to be on your list!

Pros: Great sound/value in a universe of excellent speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Time For A Haircut!

Dan from Denve on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Giant SCISSORS that are so clear you can hear every SNIP - sharp and super forward speakers that cause yours ears to bleed

Pros: Sharp as scissors

Cons: Trebles will cut your hair

Crutchfield response on

5 of 14 found this helpful

Thumbs up

Wade from Cleveland, OH on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally bought the Klipsch bookshelf speakers which I am sure are fine in their own right, but as this is a decision that will last years I upgraded to the MA Silver 100 and have no regrets. These cost more but add the highs and lows better. Would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Bookshelf Speakers !

Harold S. from West Columbia, SC on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A definite upgrade from my Elac UB5 speakers. I also tried the more expensive KEF LS50 speakers and I like the Monitor Silver 100 better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 100

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Midrange and treble are truly excellent. The bass, however, is over-ripe. I've only had them for a couple of weeks and I'm waiting for a few more before I begin experimenting with bungs and distance to the back wall. Six weeks or so should be enough to loosen up the woofer surround and change Q of the driver, hopefully for the better. I expect that this will tame the bass hump once I get it perfect. Unless break-in changes the bass more than I think it will, Monitor Audio erred on the side too much bass. The next few weeks will tell for certain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

The very best bookshelf speakers at this pricepoint

Brian from Denver, CO on 4/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Warm, punchy well made bookshelf speakers that immediately eclipsed the B&W 685 S2 they replaced, so much so I forgot to turn on my subwoofer when I initially hooked them up and didn't notice for awhile. Great right out the box, they became more punchy and revealing after 4 days or so. Brilliant shiny highs, accurate mids and the 8 inch woofer easily and accurately handles bass. I have become re-interested in all of my music collection instead of just my go to songs.

Pros: Great sound for a reasonable price Real wood veneer and very well built

Cons: None noted, great all a round speaker

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

TOP