Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Floor-standing speaker (Rosenut)

MFR # S300RN

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Floor-standing speaker (Rosenut)

MFR # S300RN

10 reviews
View this product

My pick over KEF & Focal

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Silky smooth sound, very nice mid range, highs were more relaxed compared to KEF Q950 and Focal 726. Build quality is hands down better than KEF, and a bit better Focal 726. Finish on the piano gloss black cabinet is wonderful.

Pros: Best finish and build quality in class, also best sound. B&W is all I would put these up against.

Cons: 200wpc amp is hard to find, I used a 150wpc NAD C388, but I feel like I might be leaving some bass and mids on the table .

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Crutchfield customer from Great Neck, NY on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Size is perfect for my home office (mid sized room). Position is fairly important to get the full presence of these speakers. Very pleasing on the top and mid range. In a bigger room a sub woofer would fill it out nicely. Bass is more than adequate in a mid sized room. The sound to me is generally relaxed and accurate. If you want a more in your face treble I would look at something else. I prefer a smoother soundstage and more accuracy than very bright treble. The warmth of these speakers fit me just right.

Pros: Finish is as good as it gets at this price range. Pretty narrow for their output. Sound is very spacious with a proper amp. Very warm accurate to my ears with nice soundstage.

Cons: Position matters to get most of the 300's. Works well on lesser amps but comes alive on 100 watt plus amp (mine is 160 WPC. Look elsewhere if you want in your face treble.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Crutchfield customer from Zionsville, IN on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace some Klipsch synergy speakers. Wow, what a difference! The music really comes alive with the Monitor Audio Silver 300's. There is much more clarity and detail in the music across highs, mids, and lows. Excellent speakers.

Pros: Clarity and detail is amazing.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean, Clear, Crisp

Wes from Wexford, PA on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp, Clear, Awesome! I just upgraded my system to include a Yamaha A-S1100 and this pairing sounds amazing! Very clear and crisp. Tight lows, great highs, but I am more impressed with the mid-range. Horns, tom-toms, guitar strums - it is amazing what you can hear. The speakers produce a very impressive sound for their size. My last speakers were very large Klipsch RF-82, so this is a huge quality upgrade while downsizing on the dimension of the speakers.

Pros: Very, Very polished sound quality for this price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

It's all relative...

J.E. from Bozeman, MT on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the 300's for a second stereo system consisting of a Marantz ND8006 player and a PM8006 integrated amp. For critical listening and break-in I used my entry level audiophile signal chain that I had since 2001. It consists of a CD, pre and power amp of British origin, medium powered (840 VA toroidal), no EQ. It's a fairly accurate and very neutral sounding system costing 4.5x in 2001 of what I recently paid for the Marantz combo. Out of the box, the accuracy and detailed sound stage of the Silver 300's were quite noticeable. There seemed to be an increased presence in the upper mid range adding a layer of detail to the music. On the downside, the overall musical representation sounded very sterile and disengaging. The first 5 hours of listening were quite the ordeal to get through. The next day, after a total of 10 hrs. the speakers had notably opened up. The bass became fuller, the treble a tad smoother, and everything seemed to blend together better. The sound stage became a bit more 3D like. Yet, there was still quite a bit of clinical coldness to the overall sound. After 20 hrs. of run-in I felt I could give them my stamp of approval. After 40 hrs. the Silver 300 sounded pretty awesome, very detailed, balanced, 3D like, and non fatiguing. Finally, plugging them into the Marantz gear warmed things up a notch, produced a bigger bass and smoother tops, while loosing some midrange presence and detail. Overall I think the 300s are a good match for my Marantz s

Pros: - A very, very detailed speaker, which can be a curse or a blessing, depending on the quality of the recording, and the gear used in the signal chain. - With good recordings, and if placed properly, speakers can produce a detailed sound stage with 3D feel. - Well balanced reproduction across frequency spectrum. - With the right amp, they handle loud playing volumes with ease. - Ample bass production that can be decreased or increased with speaker positioning. - Good match for my

Cons: I can't really speak of any cons. It all depends on the rest of the gear. Sometimes too much accuracy is not favorable to the listening experience. When playing the Silvers through my other gear, I suddenly realized things that were goofed up in a recording that I had not realized before, such as studio overdubs of live recordings - no kidding. Compared to my other speakers, the Silvers delivered the music to me with immediacy, whereas my older speakers seductively pulled me into the music.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Michael from Chenoa, IL on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound in a large room. Best speaker I've ever owned.

Pros: Sound and ease of unpacking and set up.

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Rick from Seattle, WA on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow...I've completed my Home System... Have been listening to Monitor Audio Bronze BR5's for 5 years and decided to upgrade to the Silver 300's. Being powered by Rouge Audio's Magnum II amp, when I first powered them up and listening to Alan Parson's I Robot album (Original Master Recording 45lp) ... I realized I had a grin ear to ear! The depth, clarity and discovery of mixes within the music I've never heard before. Listening to a Pink Floyd album, I had to turn it down because of a sound I thought to be someone knocking at the door... acutially turned out to be a Bass riff in the song I've never heard until the Silver 300's For you audiophile's, running these speakers in Pure Direct brings chills to the back of your neck ! The more power you put to them the deeper and fuller the music becomes. Strongly suggest spinning some Original Master Recordings, it will bring tears to your eyes!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great investment in fun!

Bert from Chester, NY on 9/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am crazy about the biggest investment I have ever made in stereo speakers. I am also glad that I bought them from Crutchfield! Great service all around. Special thanks go to Jess from Crutchfield as she directed me to these speakers while on a shopping chat. Initially, I had them connected to my Sony SDN1050 receiver and a Sony HAP1EZ hi res player using a single pair of wires and the receiver set to straight 2 channel output; I sat there and was absolutely amazed at the sound, my first impression was how "musical" they sounded, you can hear the tones and notes so clearly. I certainly never heard such detail before. In the interest of keeping up with technology I broke everything down and ran enough cable to bi-amp them. I was very disappointed in the sound, but I owe that to my listening space being small. When bi-amped, these beauties boomed way too much and we're awfully bright. I reinstalled them again with a single pair of wires and I am back to the most amazing sound and thoroughly enjoy them. So bi-amping did nothing for me, but again, not the speakers fault in my opinion. I am about 40 hours away from them being broken in, and it's hard to believe they will sound even better, but that will be the case. These are the perfect speakers for me, even at low volume the details come in crystal clear. These make listening to music fun!

Pros: Sound is wonderful at low volumes. Clarity of the instruments is over the top. I had no idea... Extremely well made and sturdy Not too much of a hog on amp power

Cons: Don't really have any... 100% satisfied so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very fine resolution

Norman from Anaheim, CA on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Micro details that can draw you in even at low listening volume seem to present the amplifiers a easy load to drive there is nothing harsh or fatiguing about these speakers can listen to any GENRES of music all day.I believe one would be hard pressed at this period of time to find a better sounding Loud speaker at this price point.

Pros: Very easy on the ears easy for amps to drive very well packaged speaker great micro dynamics low distortion

Cons: I have none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker

Guest from Somerville, MA on 3/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't believe I'm the first to review these. They are absolutely incredible. You owe it to yourself to demo them if you're in the market for towers in this price range. They sound even better bi-amped.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP