Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Floor-standing speaker (Satin White)

MFR # S300WH

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Floor-standing speaker (Satin White)

MFR # S300WH

24 reviews
View this product

Very good speakers for the price

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still "burning in" these speakers but very satisifed so far. The physical fit and finsih is very nice. These suckers are solid. I originally ordered the standard black finish but they arrived damaged. Crutchfield quickly swapped them out and the second set arrived in perfect condition. The second time I ordered them in walnut and actually prefer the walnut finish for the contrast vs. my black component stand and equipment. Regarding sound, the really need a good amp to shine. I tried the with a little 50 WPC integrated amp and the bass was a bit lacking. I then moved to a newer/better 100 WPC amp and it woke up these speakers. I think these speakers need an amp with good current for them to sound their best. Bottom line - they sound great but don't skimp on the supprting amp/equipment. I think you would have to spend 2X more to get a slight improvment in sound. Good bang for the buck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Listening Awe

Tommy from FARMINGTON on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They outplay the cost! Just breaking mine in, but I'm in mouth open awe. The soundstage is so spectacular, I hear the voices front and center, and keep getting up to see if my center speaker is on!

Pros: Fit and finish, sound to cost ratio is off the charts, Crutchfield customer service and delivery time.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No need to pay more. Buy these.

Crutchfield customer from Middlebury, VT on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful looks and beautiful sound. Best bang for the buck and best speakers for under $5k. Extreme clarity for a speaker in this price range. I would compare them favorably to speakers in the $5k to $10k range. These replace an ancient pair of Vandersteen 2ce's. I am running a CXA81 and a PB-2000 sub. Sources are MBP w/ Tidal, SL-1200GR, and CXC transport. Speakers may be a bit bright for some, but that was taken care of with proper placement and a small amount of room treatment. This is a big (32x14&24x9), "L" shaped open space and these fill it no problem. My listening spot is ten feet from each and they are ten feet away from one another. Pulled out from the walls 18 inches and toed about fifteen degrees. Compared them to Linton Heritages. The Lintons are certainly easy to listen to. Classic vinyl sounded very good on those. But they do not possess the clarity, stereo separation, and low midrange punch the 300's do. The 300's are quite revealing, which is both good and bad. Good because you will notice things you never noticed before. Bad for the same reason, in some cases, and because they're slightly unforgiving. Could not be happier.

Pros: Clarity Separation

Cons: A little bright You may find recordings you aren't quite as impressed with as before

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers.... Perfect for my Living room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Tracy from Bullhead City, AZ on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to swap out with my JBL Decade L36 speakers I bought new circa 1975 at Ramstein AFB in Germany. Had the woofers re-foamed a couple times and they still sound good to me. Decided to try out these Monitor Audio speakers. They come nicely packed so no damage from shipping. Per another reviewer I made sure the bolts were snug on the drivers with supplied wrench. You really do have to break these in, initially they sounded awful but I carried on. After 10 hours or so they loosen up dramatically then the improvement is more subtle after that. Have well over 100 hours on them now and they sound really good but not much better than my old JBL's. So I didn't really get anywhere after dropping $2200+ but they look cool and the finish is really nice. And the tower design is nice simply because the drivers are higher up off the floor. I use these solely for stereo music and am pushing them with a 10 year old Yamaha AX-497 integrated stereo amplifier at 85W x 2 and my listening room is 17'x 27'. I wired them normally at first then bi-wired them but that didn't seem to make any difference. Have to wonder what the next model up with the larger woofers would sound like but I'm too lazy to pack these up to send back and then have to break in another set! These sound just fine and now the JBL's can go in a closet for a rest.

Pros: Visually attractive, good sound, British design.

Cons: Made in China.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Overall Package in the $1k Speaker Price Range

Steven from WEBSTER, TX on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Listening Environment - 14'x16' open concept living room into dining and kitchen, no room treatment, speakers placed ~18" minimum from the wall (no port plugs used) Usage - 50% Movies/HT, 50% streaming (progressive rock, laid back jazz, indie, some EDM, Jpop/Jrock, Kpop, NY style hip hop) Additional Setup Items - Gaia III from IsoAcoustics installed, 150W amp (high damping factor, 2O low load), high grade optical cable, hand-made hifi cables (bi-wired) Initial Impressions - Piano gloss back is very beautiful and highly reflective, but I've not found it distracting. The front facing sliver plate on the tweet is a bit distracting though (compared to other brands), but nonetheless it is a welcome design. The packaging and quality of boxing is top notch, very structurally sound. Treble - A bit warm and laid back, but very clear. Treble not as articulate and airy as the Focal 826, but not missed and compensates elsewhere. Bass - Bass range opened up as the speaker began to break in, and was very punchy for the Jpop and prog rock I listen to. Bass notes were always able to be distinguished and separated, but without being muddy, flubby, or at all lost in the sound. Voices for HT and vocals have a wonderful warmth, providing an immersive experience. Conclusion - This speaker for the price blows me away and gets better with time. Get this if you want a compact loudspeaker that does everything well and love vocals, warmth, and want that extra

Pros: - Amazing sound in a compact loudspeaker - Warm and clear sound - Great vocal and guitar performance - Sufficient bass sans sub-woofer

Cons: - Piano Gloss gets dusty easily - Gloss finish buffing on super close inspection appears scratchy - Would likely scratch or dent easily - Not for those who want airy and pristine articulation - Bass goes low, but may not be as tight or as punchy as the competition

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Guest from Catonsville, md on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speaker. I have towers and bookshelf to fill my room.

Pros: Extremely well made. Beautiful balanced sound.

Cons: Pricey but worth it!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very Good Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, MN on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Monitor Audio Silver 300 speakers are a very nice match for the electronics I currently own. I'm using them with a Schiit Vidar and Schiit Saga combination. The Silver 300's are a bit more forward than the KEF R300 I was using previously but they have a much better bottom end and a very natural midrange. The high end is not crispy and harsh. Soundstage is just outside the speakers but I attribute some of that to the electronics and the placement. Where the KEF speakers could sound recessed and a bit constrained the MAS 300's sound open and have a deeper front to back soundstage. It's very easy to locate the instruments in the music. By moving them around by just a few inches can really improve the sound quality and dynamics. I purchased the walnut veneer version and will say the cabinet build is excellent. No errors in the finish with excellent matching of the walnut. They are beautifully executed cabinets. All said I would easily purchase these again if I needed to. They are a real joy to look at and listen to. Along with all of that was the excellent delivery and service from Crutchfield. They certainly made me a repeat customer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent value for the money

Brent from Bellevue, WA on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers! I have owned a pair of Silver 6 bookshelf speakers for 15 years and loved them, but felt it was time to upgrade. I do not regret the decision in the least, despite the steep price tag. (The Silver 6's were $700 a pair back in 2005 when I bought them.) I'm running these with an old Primare I21 integrated amp, and the tonal balance is very nice. There is very good low end for the size of these speakers. I didn't expect that, but was pleasantly surprised. Mids are excellent - vocals sound amazing. Highs are maybe a bit sparkly, but I like that in my setup...it goes nicely with the Primare playing from a Cambridge Audio CXNv2 DAQ. Build quality is absolutely top notch! Beautiful speakers...my wife even suggested we leave the speaker grills off to show them off a bit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Extraordinary

Crutchfield customer from Whitethorn, CA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes, you pay more, but you get a listening experience well worth it. Natural, balanced, distortion-free. Audio pleasure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Crutchfield customer from Downingtown, PA on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the Exceptional value and Outstanding sound performance of the Silver 300. No wonder it made the Editors Choice Award in 2019 "Loudspeakers $1,500 - $3,000.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

These Pop, Boom & Sing

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa Beach, FL on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Speakers for my studio. Replaced my pair of Klipsch RP280F "rock'n rollers". The Monitor Audio are much more alive than the Klipsch for the music I listen to. Just the right amount of presentation across the entire listening spectrum... and they rock too! Their construction, surface finish, and especially the custom adjustable feet/out-riggers show off the sublime level of design effort, QC & manufacturing excellence. One note for sure: All the Driver Retention Bolts on the back of the cabinets were loose after I set everything up. Make sure to follow the procedure in the manual that describes "Retention Bolt Adjustment' procedure. After I took care of this and tightened all of the bolts, the speakers effectively became sentient!

Pros: Finish detail Mid-range speaks so well but leaves plenty of room for great highs & lows.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Look and sound great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Hollis New Hampshire on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield was wonderful when my original speakers ordered came with the boxes damaged. I chose the monitor silvers in white to look good in our living room. They came in very substantial packaging and were perfect. The look and sound of these speakers is way beyond what I paid for them. I actually line them better than the B&W speakers I paid over twice the price for in my man cave. The detail and warmth of the sound is amazing. I'm seriously considering getting MO surrounds and an additional sub. These are wonderful speakers.

Pros: Substantial packaging will ensure your speakers arrive in perfect condition, sound from them is warm, detailed and have excellent bass. Truly beautiful additions to your room.

Cons: They are so good I want more.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Crutchfield customer from Powell, TN on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound.Well built.Very nice.looks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My pick over KEF & Focal

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Silky smooth sound, very nice mid range, highs were more relaxed compared to KEF Q950 and Focal 726. Build quality is hands down better than KEF, and a bit better Focal 726. Finish on the piano gloss black cabinet is wonderful.

Pros: Best finish and build quality in class, also best sound. B&W is all I would put these up against.

Cons: 200wpc amp is hard to find, I used a 150wpc NAD C388, but I feel like I might be leaving some bass and mids on the table .

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Crutchfield customer from Great Neck, NY on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Size is perfect for my home office (mid sized room). Position is fairly important to get the full presence of these speakers. Very pleasing on the top and mid range. In a bigger room a sub woofer would fill it out nicely. Bass is more than adequate in a mid sized room. The sound to me is generally relaxed and accurate. If you want a more in your face treble I would look at something else. I prefer a smoother soundstage and more accuracy than very bright treble. The warmth of these speakers fit me just right.

Pros: Finish is as good as it gets at this price range. Pretty narrow for their output. Sound is very spacious with a proper amp. Very warm accurate to my ears with nice soundstage.

Cons: Position matters to get most of the 300's. Works well on lesser amps but comes alive on 100 watt plus amp (mine is 160 WPC. Look elsewhere if you want in your face treble.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Crutchfield customer from Zionsville, IN on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace some Klipsch synergy speakers. Wow, what a difference! The music really comes alive with the Monitor Audio Silver 300's. There is much more clarity and detail in the music across highs, mids, and lows. Excellent speakers.

Pros: Clarity and detail is amazing.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Clean, Clear, Crisp

Wes from Wexford, PA on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp, Clear, Awesome! I just upgraded my system to include a Yamaha A-S1100 and this pairing sounds amazing! Very clear and crisp. Tight lows, great highs, but I am more impressed with the mid-range. Horns, tom-toms, guitar strums - it is amazing what you can hear. The speakers produce a very impressive sound for their size. My last speakers were very large Klipsch RF-82, so this is a huge quality upgrade while downsizing on the dimension of the speakers.

Pros: Very, Very polished sound quality for this price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

It's all relative...

J.E. from Bozeman, MT on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the 300's for a second stereo system consisting of a Marantz ND8006 player and a PM8006 integrated amp. For critical listening and break-in I used my entry level audiophile signal chain that I had since 2001. It consists of a CD, pre and power amp of British origin, medium powered (840 VA toroidal), no EQ. It's a fairly accurate and very neutral sounding system costing 4.5x in 2001 of what I recently paid for the Marantz combo. Out of the box, the accuracy and detailed sound stage of the Silver 300's were quite noticeable. There seemed to be an increased presence in the upper mid range adding a layer of detail to the music. On the downside, the overall musical representation sounded very sterile and disengaging. The first 5 hours of listening were quite the ordeal to get through. The next day, after a total of 10 hrs. the speakers had notably opened up. The bass became fuller, the treble a tad smoother, and everything seemed to blend together better. The sound stage became a bit more 3D like. Yet, there was still quite a bit of clinical coldness to the overall sound. After 20 hrs. of run-in I felt I could give them my stamp of approval. After 40 hrs. the Silver 300 sounded pretty awesome, very detailed, balanced, 3D like, and non fatiguing. Finally, plugging them into the Marantz gear warmed things up a notch, produced a bigger bass and smoother tops, while loosing some midrange presence and detail. Overall I think the 300s are a good match for my Marantz s

Pros: - A very, very detailed speaker, which can be a curse or a blessing, depending on the quality of the recording, and the gear used in the signal chain. - With good recordings, and if placed properly, speakers can produce a detailed sound stage with 3D feel. - Well balanced reproduction across frequency spectrum. - With the right amp, they handle loud playing volumes with ease. - Ample bass production that can be decreased or increased with speaker positioning. - Good match for my

Cons: I can't really speak of any cons. It all depends on the rest of the gear. Sometimes too much accuracy is not favorable to the listening experience. When playing the Silvers through my other gear, I suddenly realized things that were goofed up in a recording that I had not realized before, such as studio overdubs of live recordings - no kidding. Compared to my other speakers, the Silvers delivered the music to me with immediacy, whereas my older speakers seductively pulled me into the music.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Michael from Chenoa, IL on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound in a large room. Best speaker I've ever owned.

Pros: Sound and ease of unpacking and set up.

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 300

Rick from Seattle, WA on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow...I've completed my Home System... Have been listening to Monitor Audio Bronze BR5's for 5 years and decided to upgrade to the Silver 300's. Being powered by Rouge Audio's Magnum II amp, when I first powered them up and listening to Alan Parson's I Robot album (Original Master Recording 45lp) ... I realized I had a grin ear to ear! The depth, clarity and discovery of mixes within the music I've never heard before. Listening to a Pink Floyd album, I had to turn it down because of a sound I thought to be someone knocking at the door... acutially turned out to be a Bass riff in the song I've never heard until the Silver 300's For you audiophile's, running these speakers in Pure Direct brings chills to the back of your neck ! The more power you put to them the deeper and fuller the music becomes. Strongly suggest spinning some Original Master Recordings, it will bring tears to your eyes!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great investment in fun!

Bert from Chester, NY on 9/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am crazy about the biggest investment I have ever made in stereo speakers. I am also glad that I bought them from Crutchfield! Great service all around. Special thanks go to Jess from Crutchfield as she directed me to these speakers while on a shopping chat. Initially, I had them connected to my Sony SDN1050 receiver and a Sony HAP1EZ hi res player using a single pair of wires and the receiver set to straight 2 channel output; I sat there and was absolutely amazed at the sound, my first impression was how "musical" they sounded, you can hear the tones and notes so clearly. I certainly never heard such detail before. In the interest of keeping up with technology I broke everything down and ran enough cable to bi-amp them. I was very disappointed in the sound, but I owe that to my listening space being small. When bi-amped, these beauties boomed way too much and we're awfully bright. I reinstalled them again with a single pair of wires and I am back to the most amazing sound and thoroughly enjoy them. So bi-amping did nothing for me, but again, not the speakers fault in my opinion. I am about 40 hours away from them being broken in, and it's hard to believe they will sound even better, but that will be the case. These are the perfect speakers for me, even at low volume the details come in crystal clear. These make listening to music fun!

Pros: Sound is wonderful at low volumes. Clarity of the instruments is over the top. I had no idea... Extremely well made and sturdy Not too much of a hog on amp power

Cons: Don't really have any... 100% satisfied so far.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Very fine resolution

Norman from Anaheim, CA on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Micro details that can draw you in even at low listening volume seem to present the amplifiers a easy load to drive there is nothing harsh or fatiguing about these speakers can listen to any GENRES of music all day.I believe one would be hard pressed at this period of time to find a better sounding Loud speaker at this price point.

Pros: Very easy on the ears easy for amps to drive very well packaged speaker great micro dynamics low distortion

Cons: I have none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker

Guest from Somerville, MA on 3/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't believe I'm the first to review these. They are absolutely incredible. You owe it to yourself to demo them if you're in the market for towers in this price range. They sound even better bi-amped.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

TOP