Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Bookshelf speakers (Black Oak)

MFR # S50BL

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Bookshelf speakers (Black Oak)

MFR # S50BL

8 reviews
View this product

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Crutchfield customer from Signal Mountain, TN on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound out of a small package. Good bass given the size. Better overall sound with a sub. After listening to for awhile, got even better. Exchanged for 200's for more bass, but would have been happy with on their own. Highly recommended.

Pros: Size, appearance, sound was amazing.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Michael from Norristown, PA on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely transparent and detailed speakers that cast a large open soundstage that's very precise. The midrange and high end is clean and clear of distortion or grain. In my opinion this is a five star speaker in a small room but moving to a larger room you'll need a fast quality subwoofer to keep up with the Audio Monitor silver 50s quick bass response then you'll get Bass authority and depth back along with the bass control a separate Subwoofer offers. I found the speakers sounded best for me just barley angled in towards the listener and they did take an unusually long time to break in. They are the most transparent and detailed sounding speakers I've owned. Very happy with them!

Pros: Exceptional transparency and detail.

Cons: In my opinion they sound best in a small room,moving up in room size you may want a small subwoofer at some point, but that's not necessarily a bad thing and I can think of several reasons why someone may prefer that. Also the speakers had an unusually long break in period.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Andrew from Olney, MD on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Need a compact bookshelf for our home theater that still put out big and balanced sound to fill a basement. Paired these with a C150, two elac subs, and monitor audio radius 90 for surrounds and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Big Sound in a compact package

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT BASS, BAD TREBLE

BOB from Odessa, TX on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LIKE THE POLK LSI 703, THEY JUST DONT HAVE THE HIGH END, GUITAR SOLO'S, IF YOU READ MY REVIEW FOR THE POLK'S, PLEASE DISREGARD IT, I DID NOT REALLY LISTEN TO THEM, AFTER MANY HOURS, AND AMP CHANGES, THE POLK 703, AS WELL AS THE MONITOR SILVER 50, AND ALSO THE KEF-300. ALL 3 OF THEM ARE DULL SOUNDING, THEY HAVE GREAT BASS, BUT POOR HIGH FREQUENCY, I TRIED THE ELAC UNI 5 SPEAKERS AND HOORAY, THE GUITAR SOLO'S COME THUR. THANK YOU CRUTCHFIELD FOR A RETURN POLICY, BEST IN THE BUSINESS.

Pros: SMALL SIZE

Cons: LACKS THE HIGH END, GUITAR SOLO'S

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Brian from Haddon Hgts, NJ on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First hard wired speaker set in many years!. Sounds is amazing for their size. Easy to set up. Crutchfield was very helpful as usual. I would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Speaker - Unfair Review

Blake from Des Moines, IA on 6/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying this is going to be an unfair review. I purchased these mostly to get a consistent look to my Monitor Audio Silver 300 speakers (GREAT SPEAKERS). To start breaking these in I hooked them up in place of the Silver 300s. Boy was that a HUGE disappointment. The bass was lacking which was expected. The biggest disappointment was the midrange. To make this unfair these aren't fully broken in. The 300s took at least 100 hours to get broken in then they just opened up. I will say though that these sound better than my B&W 600 series towers. I'm definitely not comparing apples to apples I know. As another unfair test I didn't rerun the Audyssey setup. I put things in direct mode which I understood to bypass Audyssey...not sure if that is true or not. The point being if you have room for towers and room in the budget definitely go for the tower version of the Monitor speakers. The speakers aren't all bad. I purchased them to use as rear speakers and they will definitely do the job as rears. Monitor Audio does a tremendous job with cabinet design. The cabinets are definitely furniture grade and compliments the rest of the home nicely. It is pretty neat that Monitor matches the veneer on a pair of speakers. The cabinets are very sturdy. If you are looking for a nice speaker for a smaller room I think these would be great. Records sound great, but a little lacking on lossless audio compared to the 300s. If you want bookshelves th

Pros: Great cabinets

Cons: Just ok in midrange and bass. A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just amazing, you have to hear them to believe them.

Skyler from Dallas, TX on 5/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went through several speakers, Monitor Audio Bronze 2s, Dynaudio Xeo 2s, Emotiva 4s & 5s powered monitors, in the end all of these had some kind of draw back, something that left me wanting more and the MA Bronze's were my favorites but still not quite as refined as I would have liked and overly large, so I went for the Silver 50s, and boy did they deliver, there sound is detailed, revealing, and expansive. And they aren't big speakers. Its worth it to go the distance with the cabling on these, I went Audioquest Power cables, Type 4 speaker cables, and Carbon USB connection. Also well worth Tidal's Hi-fi subscription if streaming, these babies are so revealing you can hear the compression of Spotify/Apple/etc streaming services. The speakers are so good the quality of the components before them matter!

Pros: Relatively compact, strong sound for their size, quality cabinets, excellent MA Sound

Cons: A tad pricy, but you get what you pay for. Bass could be a bit bigger, but then for 5" drivers its very good, but not for large rooms at medium-high levels.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing bookshelf speakers!

Eric from Ontario, CA on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was recommended these by my Crutchfield Advisor, and boy am I glad. So far, they handle ALL my music wonderfully. There is an openess and delicacy that reminds me of listening on my high end headphones. But even for small bookshelf speakers, they are very surprising on the low end with very accurate bass response. Running off my Onkyo TX-NR727, so far they are handling all the bi-amped goodness I can throw at them!

Pros: Extreme accuracy and clarity Small size High power handling Bi-Amping capable Small footprint

Cons: Pricey for the size and competition

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

TOP