Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # S50WN

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # S50WN

13 reviews
View this product

Monitor Audio Silver 50's-Can't Go Wrong Here!

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading reviews from a few different places I finally made the tough decision between these and the Silver 100's. I ultimately chose these for the size which fits perfectly, and because I did not really need the depth of bass the 100's provide due to having a pair of SVS SB-2000 subwoofers and an Outlaw 2160 mkII receiver with excellent bass management. Seems my choice was perfect for my situation. Remarkable imaging and beautiful sound. Right out of the box they sounded great and they are getting better every time I use them. I am replacing a really nice set of RSL speakers with these and have NO regrets. As good as the RSL's are they are not the equal of these. The What Hi-Fi reviews for the 50' and 100's were both excellent ! Check them out if you are on the fence. If you are looking for a speaker with an Excellent build quality,Great sound, and a size that actually fits a bookshelf-you won't go wrong here.

Pros: Excellent build quality,Great sound and Imaging and a size that actually fits a bookshelf or cabinet space. Easy to blend with a sub or two also.

Cons: Nothing at all!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Silver 50

Cary from Griffith on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Silver 50 is top-rate sounding. I have been purchasing speakers for 40 years (as a hobby). Rated a "2" because of the following. Monitor's rose-nut finish is highly deceiving. The pictures and videos (google and likewise) do not show the rose-nut finish in its true state. When I purchased the rose-nut finish, I was heart-broken. The finish was like a light brown paint with tinges of red throughout. As such, you are much better off with the walnut finish (if you are into woodgrain). Again, great sounding speaker, but I place a lot of emphasis on quality wood-grain. Unfortunately, the market today does not offer quality wood-grain like back in the 1970's and 1980's unless you pay $10,000 and up. However, the sound of the speakers of today blows away the 1970's and 1980's. I wish it were reversed (because you could always buy a better amp to improve the sound).

Pros: Great Sounding Speaker. One of the best out there.

Cons: Very poor finish on the Rose-nut. The google photos and videos are not realistic. I wish I could have viewed this speaker in the sound-room before I bought it. Not possible (obviously).

Crutchfield response on 4/5/2021
Cary contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great combo of sound, appearance, and footprint

Tom from Boston, MA on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a great match for our medium living room (11x19) firing across the 11ft span. We had the Boston Acoustic A23 speakers coupled with an 8" powered sub, but often listened without the sub (via direct mode on the Denon amp). We wanted something that had a little larger woofer and enclosure, but not too large, and a very nice cabinet. The appearance was important to us because we look at them so frequently. We tried the Klipsch RP-500m bookshelves, originally destined for a desk, but they didn't sound good. Tried them in the living room and they also sounded way too bright (and frankly the black cabinet looked like it was straight out of a Radio Shack Realistic speaker from the 80s). If I need to look at these every time I'm in the living room then I don't want to cringe at their appearance. We returned the Klipschs and upgraded to this speaker with a nicer cabinet and smaller size. The Monitor Audio Silver 50 is a good balance of great looking speaker, smaller size, and quality sound. The highs are nice; not too bright and clear and smooth. The feel and appearance ooze quality! These fit the bill perfectly. Luna was great helping my wife and I decide on this solution.

Pros: Fantastic appearance Build quality and solid enclosure Surprising low end without cheap boominess Seamless integration into room without hijacking space or becoming a focal point 5 year warranty

Cons: Requires you pay a premium compared to UK prices (with FX rate calculated)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic Speakers

zeek from Economy, IN on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We went and Listened to these at another store in Roanoke, but Ive bought many things from Crutchfield also and these sounded great. I had $500 a pair Klipsh and these just blew them away as they should They made my Defintive Mythos center channel speaker sound better. My wife wanted these speakers over all the others and some towers. We both said WOW what a difference in sound. Their Cheeper speakers of this brand didnt sound as good to me but theses sounded fantastic. I have a 5.1 system with the Monitor Audio Silver 50's as the front. The Def Tech Mythos 6 as the center a Klipsch Woofer and Klipsch surround speakers at the rear. powered by a Yamaha Neo HD YMC-700. If you can go to Crutchfield and listen to these I think you would pick them in a room of speakers at this price. But if you cant and you want "small" speakers that sounds great and puts out lots of volume at least in our 250 sq ft room you wont be disappointed

Pros: Best sounding Bookshelf Speakers Ive head even better than some towers

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Crutchfield customer from Ames, IA on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Music taste and how music is presented are so subjective. Replaced my Paradigm Atom SE with the Monitor Audio Silver 50. I tried the KEF LS50. While the KEF LS50 sounded slightly richer and warmer with a better midrange, the Monitor Audio Silver 50 were more focused and made the KEFs sound veiled in comparison. The Monitor Audio Silver 50 provided a brighter and more detailed presentation which I preferred. Bass response is good For a small speaker. But I am pairing these with a small powered subwoofer and could not be happier with the results. Highly recommend!

Pros: High build quality Lots of clarity and resolution Small footprint

Cons: Sound lacks "weight" Pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Crutchfield customer from Signal Mountain, TN on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound out of a small package. Good bass given the size. Better overall sound with a sub. After listening to for awhile, got even better. Exchanged for 200's for more bass, but would have been happy with on their own. Highly recommended.

Pros: Size, appearance, sound was amazing.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Michael from Norristown, PA on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely transparent and detailed speakers that cast a large open soundstage that's very precise. The midrange and high end is clean and clear of distortion or grain. In my opinion this is a five star speaker in a small room but moving to a larger room you'll need a fast quality subwoofer to keep up with the Audio Monitor silver 50s quick bass response then you'll get Bass authority and depth back along with the bass control a separate Subwoofer offers. I found the speakers sounded best for me just barley angled in towards the listener and they did take an unusually long time to break in. They are the most transparent and detailed sounding speakers I've owned. Very happy with them!

Pros: Exceptional transparency and detail.

Cons: In my opinion they sound best in a small room,moving up in room size you may want a small subwoofer at some point, but that's not necessarily a bad thing and I can think of several reasons why someone may prefer that. Also the speakers had an unusually long break in period.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Andrew from Olney, MD on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Need a compact bookshelf for our home theater that still put out big and balanced sound to fill a basement. Paired these with a C150, two elac subs, and monitor audio radius 90 for surrounds and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Big Sound in a compact package

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT BASS, BAD TREBLE

BOB from Odessa, TX on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LIKE THE POLK LSI 703, THEY JUST DONT HAVE THE HIGH END, GUITAR SOLO'S, IF YOU READ MY REVIEW FOR THE POLK'S, PLEASE DISREGARD IT, I DID NOT REALLY LISTEN TO THEM, AFTER MANY HOURS, AND AMP CHANGES, THE POLK 703, AS WELL AS THE MONITOR SILVER 50, AND ALSO THE KEF-300. ALL 3 OF THEM ARE DULL SOUNDING, THEY HAVE GREAT BASS, BUT POOR HIGH FREQUENCY, I TRIED THE ELAC UNI 5 SPEAKERS AND HOORAY, THE GUITAR SOLO'S COME THUR. THANK YOU CRUTCHFIELD FOR A RETURN POLICY, BEST IN THE BUSINESS.

Pros: SMALL SIZE

Cons: LACKS THE HIGH END, GUITAR SOLO'S

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Monitor Audio Silver 50

Brian from Haddon Hgts, NJ on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First hard wired speaker set in many years!. Sounds is amazing for their size. Easy to set up. Crutchfield was very helpful as usual. I would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Speaker - Unfair Review

Blake from Des Moines, IA on 6/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying this is going to be an unfair review. I purchased these mostly to get a consistent look to my Monitor Audio Silver 300 speakers (GREAT SPEAKERS). To start breaking these in I hooked them up in place of the Silver 300s. Boy was that a HUGE disappointment. The bass was lacking which was expected. The biggest disappointment was the midrange. To make this unfair these aren't fully broken in. The 300s took at least 100 hours to get broken in then they just opened up. I will say though that these sound better than my B&W 600 series towers. I'm definitely not comparing apples to apples I know. As another unfair test I didn't rerun the Audyssey setup. I put things in direct mode which I understood to bypass Audyssey...not sure if that is true or not. The point being if you have room for towers and room in the budget definitely go for the tower version of the Monitor speakers. The speakers aren't all bad. I purchased them to use as rear speakers and they will definitely do the job as rears. Monitor Audio does a tremendous job with cabinet design. The cabinets are definitely furniture grade and compliments the rest of the home nicely. It is pretty neat that Monitor matches the veneer on a pair of speakers. The cabinets are very sturdy. If you are looking for a nice speaker for a smaller room I think these would be great. Records sound great, but a little lacking on lossless audio compared to the 300s. If you want bookshelves th

Pros: Great cabinets

Cons: Just ok in midrange and bass. A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Just amazing, you have to hear them to believe them.

Skyler from Dallas, TX on 5/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went through several speakers, Monitor Audio Bronze 2s, Dynaudio Xeo 2s, Emotiva 4s & 5s powered monitors, in the end all of these had some kind of draw back, something that left me wanting more and the MA Bronze's were my favorites but still not quite as refined as I would have liked and overly large, so I went for the Silver 50s, and boy did they deliver, there sound is detailed, revealing, and expansive. And they aren't big speakers. Its worth it to go the distance with the cabling on these, I went Audioquest Power cables, Type 4 speaker cables, and Carbon USB connection. Also well worth Tidal's Hi-fi subscription if streaming, these babies are so revealing you can hear the compression of Spotify/Apple/etc streaming services. The speakers are so good the quality of the components before them matter!

Pros: Relatively compact, strong sound for their size, quality cabinets, excellent MA Sound

Cons: A tad pricy, but you get what you pay for. Bass could be a bit bigger, but then for 5" drivers its very good, but not for large rooms at medium-high levels.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing bookshelf speakers!

Eric from Ontario, CA on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was recommended these by my Crutchfield Advisor, and boy am I glad. So far, they handle ALL my music wonderfully. There is an openess and delicacy that reminds me of listening on my high end headphones. But even for small bookshelf speakers, they are very surprising on the low end with very accurate bass response. Running off my Onkyo TX-NR727, so far they are handling all the bi-amped goodness I can throw at them!

Pros: Extreme accuracy and clarity Small size High power handling Bi-Amping capable Small footprint

Cons: Pricey for the size and competition

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

TOP