Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Audiofrog GS42

GS Series 4" 2-way car speaker

MFR # GS42

Audiofrog GS42

Audiofrog GS42

GS Series 4" 2-way car speaker

MFR # GS42

11 reviews
View this product

Audiofrog GS42

Stephen from RAYMOND, WA on 11/16/2021

2007 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good in my loud 07 dodge cummins. Cut through the noise better than my kicker or JBL's did. Got these to fit in the dash with little modification.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiofrog GS42

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Hills, CA on 10/9/2021

2003 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely needs to be broken in for at least 20 hours before sounding smooth. It is only a 4-inch so you do need mid-base drivers to fill out the lower frequencies. It does sound better than most mainstream brands but still falls short of Audiofrog or higher-end component speakers. I'll move it to rear fill when I get component fronts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

62s out of stock, 42s pleasant surprise

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 9/11/2021

2016 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only bought these because GS62s were out of stock and I wanted rear fill. These little guys blew me away! If you can't get the 62's to fit I'd strongly recommend the 42s.

Pros: They play surprisingly low and well for a 4" speaker.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic!

Lucas from Groves, Tx on 3/7/2019

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never been happier with a set of coax speakers. I put these in the rear pillars and matching 6.5 inch coax in the doors of my 2001 Chevy Silverado standard cab. these are audiophile grade speakers in my opinion. I can hear subtle things I haven't noticed before with other aftermarket speakers. They sound fantastic. I'm powering them with a kicker q class 4 channel 65x4. The amp definitely helps get the most out of them by being able to adjust distance from speakers, high and low pass on each speaker, delay, etc. But even before I made any adjustments to the amp they sounded fantastic. Highly recommend. They said they did not fit my rear pillars because of a fraction of an inch on the mounting height but they did fit. Instead of using the bracket that comes with them that raises the mounting height I did a super easy mod and bent the sheer metal inside the speaker hole with a hammer and used dynamat to fill in the top space.

Pros: Sound, sound, sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AUDIOFROG is my new favorite company.

Ryan from Waconia, MN on 3/13/2018

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was skeptical of trying a newer brand but these little 4inch speakers blew me away!

Pros: Sound is exceptional for a small 4 inch speaker.

Cons: My only disappointment was I could not use the cool speaker grills because of my install. I was also hoping for a sticker.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound for a 4" speaker

Richard from Los Gatos, CA on 1/13/2018

1993 Land Rover County

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed some 4" speakers that could handle high power from my existing multichannel amp and took a chance on these. The audio quality is excellent and the grilles have a nice, understated look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Smooth, clear and spacious!

TC from Hoschton, GA on 8/14/2017

2014 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally was able to get my new Audiofrog's installed. I went with these along with a pair of GS690 in the doors. I wanted a three way system for my front stage, but had limited options to achieve this in my SUV without major surgery. I struggled to find a quality coax that would get me close to what I was looking for. After reading wonderful reviews about Audiofrog components I thought I'd give them a try... My 4Runner has dash locations that are for a MUCH smaller driver, so I had to get a bit creative on the install (not for the faint of heart or experience hand), but I want to keep a stock appearance but also wanted to get a great soundstage and not compromise. The installation effort was worth it. I am still tuning with my TwK88, but paired with the GS690s and my new 900/5, these little drivers really produce an insane top end. Smooth, clear and spacious. These aren't just incredible coax speakers, they are just incredible drivers. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Pros: Incredible driver Great sound A true point source driver, not just a coax.

Cons: Required some serious modifications to make them fit. I knew this going in, but they have a seriously large assembly on the back of them... But then again this is what makes them so darn good.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audiofrog GS42

Gary from Overland Park, KS on 7/24/2017

1964 Ford Galaxie

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound, great design. Even on a older amp, these things sound great, but after upgrading all my gear, these were fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome coaxials

Alexander from San Diego, CA on 9/4/2016

1991 Toyota Supra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers, took a little fabrication for me to fit them into the rear seats of my 1991 Toyota Supra, but since then, they sound great!

Pros: Great highs, crossover works well for a coaxial.

Cons: Assembly could be a tad cleaner.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great rear fill speaker

Bill S. from So Cal on 5/21/2016

2002 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was at first hesitant to buy Audiofrog speakers due to the minimum amount of information (reviews) and it being a new company. After doing as much research as possible, I decided to buy them from Crutchfield. I bought the GS62 for my front doors and the GS42 for rear fill. After modifying the stock speaker enclosures to accept the Audiofrog's, they were wired up with 12ga wire and connected to an Arc Audio Kar Series KS 300.4 amp. The head unit is a Kenwood KDC-X998. Extensive Dynamat was used for doors and trunk. The first CD I played was a classical recording of Stradivarius violins and violas. I was blown away with how good these coax speakers sounded. After playing more CDs of classical, acoustic Jazz & classic rock over the past 2 weeks I'm still quite impressed. They are more tonally accurate than all coax speakers I've heard in the past and are pretty close to the Boston Pro (old school) separates in my other vehicle. All instruments are reproduced well... Have I heard better? Yes, but not in this price range, and not by the other coax speakers I auditioned. I'm very pleased with this purchase. On the downside, after 3 hours of listening, the glue holding the surround on one of the GS42's separated. I called Crutchfield and they would have sent me another pair but they were out of stock and did not expect more for 2 weeks. A call to the owner of Audiofrog resulted in a new pair of speakers the next day.

Pros: Great Sounding Good Service at Crutchfield Great Company (Manufacturer)

Cons: Product defect that was quickly resolved

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

1967 442 Cutlass Mark III audio install

Michael from winchester, VA on 2/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I was designing the audio system for my 1967 442 Cutlass. I am was very limited in what audio equipment I could use for the installation. My car is a frame off restored original muscle car. It is completely factory. I had only had limited locations for for speakers to be installed. The front kick panels where the only location I had for front speakers. I was also limited in the size of speaker I could use. Not to mention the many modifications that had to be made for this to happen. I wanted a high end speakers for this installation. My choice of front speakers where the Audio Frog GS 42 . When I powered up the system and faded to the front speakers to tune the amp to them. I turned the volume up to start tuning them. I had a friend there when I was tuning the system. We looked at one another and I said to him, can you believe the sound we're hearing from the these speakers. We were beside or selves. So if if your worried about what your going to get for your money with the GS 42 speakers. Don't and buy them.

Pros: Extremely well built

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound