Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Professional monitor headphones

MFR # ATH-M40X

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Professional monitor headphones

MFR # ATH-M40X

17 reviews
View this product

Outstanding!

Crutchfield customer from San German, PR on 8/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound! Very comfortable and easy to carry in its pouch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Bob from Laurel Springs, NJ on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good neutral sound like all Audio-Technica headphones. Very clear and accurate. Good headphone for the price. Like the long cord.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, CA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife wanted beats for Xmas I had not heard great reviews on them especially for what they cost. So after researching a little bit I found these bad boys and am ever glad did not only am I husband of the year, now when she's asleep I have a great pair of headphones to listen too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is very good however they seem a little big for my head and can slip off easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Brian from Columbus, IN on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones for the money! Can listen to for hours.

Pros: Great value

Cons: A little lacking in comfort

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pleasantly Surprised!

Chris from Carrollton, GA on 8/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Five Star Rating Is Based On "Sound Value!" Flat? Nope. Most Comfortable I Own? Nope. With This In Mind For Less Than $100.00 They're Still Exceptional Closed Back Cans. The Bass From My Laptop's Realtek Output Sounds Bloated, Mids Are Decent, And Top End Has Some Sizzle. Mating Them With A Decent Source Pays Off. Using An Inexpensive SoundMagic XS Reins In The Bass and Tames The Sizzle. Plug Them Into A Schiit Modi/Magni Uber Stack With Some HD Flac Files And You'll Start Questioning Just "How Much Better" Some Of Your Much More Expensive Cans Really Sound. I Could Nit Pick, But For The $$$, I Ain't Going There. If You're Considering Full Size Headphones These Are An Excellent Place To Start Or Replace Your Older Cans With. Given A Proper Source I Believe You'll Be Pleasantly Surprised With How These Compare With Much More Expensive Cans. If You're Going To Spend More, Consider The NAD Viso HP50.

Pros: Fed Properly, They Have A Non Fatiguing Sound. (Huge Benefit) They Perform Well Above Their Modest Price

Cons: Fresh From The Box They're A Bit Snug. Bass Heavy With Some Sources. They Won't Dazzle You A Huge Soundstage. For Me, Their Fit Is More Like An On Ear Type.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 5/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent device. Recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Crutchfield customer from Morrisville, NC on 4/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice neutral sounding headphone, well worth the price. Docked a star for not including a short 5-6 foot cable, like with the M50x. I was a little concerned at first, they felt tight on my 23" in round head, but they loosened up and are comfortable now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound but uncomfortable

Tammh from Grand Junction, CO on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality but headset is uncomfortable

Pros: Great Sound Quality Nice carrying case

Cons: Uncomfortable

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x

Crutchfield customer from Santa Maria, CA on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Christmas gift for my wife who is a singer. She says great accurate sound ...but they squish her head. She prefers the AKG they have in the studio. More money. Returning.

Pros: Great sound. Noise canciling. Accurate maybe a smidgen bass-y. not a bad thing

Cons: Squish head. Not comfortable to wear.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

High quality

D from Boston, MA on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality build, excellent sound quality.

Pros: Excellent build quality, accurate sound signature. Lighter and more well built than expected. Better than Sennheiser 280 Pro in every way.

Cons: Should include a shorter cable like the M50X.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Headphones on a Budget!

Jackson from Tacoma, Washington on 11/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful Headphones. I've using the headphones for a month or two now and I am SO GLAD I didn't buy the cheaper 30x. On day 4 I bent the included coiled cable. I ordered a 1.2M braided 3rd party cable which I am still using. The headset is lightweight and fairly compact. It feels a little cheap with a full plastic build that sounds hollow. It sounds great, best inexpensive over ear I've used yet.

Pros: Great Sound, Design, Size and Price.

Cons: Build Quality, Included cable to long for phones.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent Headphones

Ozz from plattsburgh, NY on 1/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these mainly for my small "home studio", as the semi-open cans I had bled into the vocal mic a lot. I was also having trouble getting mixes to translate well to other systems with the monitors I was using (good monitors, but, probably just not set up optimally). These keep mic bleed to a minimum when doing vocals, and I actually did a couple of remix experiments, and though still not perfect, they translated much better to other systems...so that alone made them worth the price to me. They seem to be built well, and are comfortable for me to wear. Overall, I would buy them again.....glad I picked them over the next model up...which are supposed to be VERY nice as well, but I've heard not quite as accurate or neutral for mixing. (Not sure how neutral THESE really are, but my mixes came out much better....so whatever you call it....I like it :-) )

Pros: Well built, comfortable, seem accurate....good for recording to avoid bleed. Comes with a couple different cords...

Cons: For just listening to music, I like open back better, but that's just me.....for what I bought them for, they're great.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice headset but a little warm

MS from California on 12/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After using it for a few weeks, I have to say the sound quality is excellent, neutral and clear without too much booming bass. It's great for classic music or vocals. The high and mid are phenomenal. It does get kind of warm after awhile so will likely not a good choice for hot and humid climate. Can't imagine wearing this in the summer, even in California. May be because of my glasses, the headphone does pinch a little, causing slight discomfort after prolong use. I'd have to shift or adjust the position now and then. Although not a noise canceling headphone, it does block out some surrounding ambient noise. Built quality is excellent, feels robust.

Pros: Fantastic neutral sound and clarity

Cons: Warm, pinches

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Headphones

Ace S from California on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones that is well balanced and easy on your ears. Everything is more rich and nothing overpowers one another. If you listen to hiphop/rap and love huge bass that this is not for you. Don't get me wrong the M40 has bass but its much more well rounded not overpowering. Great headphones for a great price. I might upgrade to the M50x during Christmas.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ATH-M40x

ant from Illinois on 9/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You get what you pay for.

Pros: They sound better than the sonys and sennheisers in the same price range. (To me at least)

Cons: Coiled cord is too long

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Clean sound

Jorge from Denver City on 1/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was what I expected from the reviews on line about the product.

Pros: Clean undistorted sound, when connected to my home receiver the sound was excellent!!!

Cons: When connected to my phone and iPod the volume was not loud enough for me.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP