Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Professional monitor headphones

MFR # ATH-M50X

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Professional monitor headphones

MFR # ATH-M50X

59 reviews
View this product

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Ft Wayne, IN on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a set of earphones that were at least 20 years old, with the Audio-Technica ATH-50x. They sound 20 years better. They are a major improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Highlands Ranch, CO on 11/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very comfortable headphones. Great low end without sacrificing the high end.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Torrington, CT on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced a 6 year old on-ear Pioneer headphone that was cutting out due to a worn cord. The difference is amazing; the over ear design of these blocks out so much surrounding noise. Should have got these sooner.

Pros: Very comfortable. (3) different cords included and (2) are the longer lengths.

Cons: No complaints.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wonderful sound, a bit uncomfortable.

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound. A bit tight on the head is the reason I would not give it a 5 star rating.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Too tight on the head.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great clear sounding phones.

Gary from Ft Worth, TX on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're here! They arrived in perfect condition today. Very luxurious and comfortable compared to my more modestly priced previous Sennheiser headphones. They're terrific, so much better than what I had before. I'm going to make mashed potatoes from the starch packing peanuts. (just kidding). The sound is a quantum leap past my previous phones. I will write another review in a few weeks after I've upgraded the sound card in my computer. I'm thinking I want to get a separate headphone amp now. I think I might need more power. I'll let you know. Thanks Crutchfield for the buying assistance and prompt free shipping with no state tax. Cheers.

Pros: Great clear distinct sound. Very comfortable for me.

Cons: None so far. Be careful to properly insert the cord into the headphone and align the two white marks so that you get full sound unlike what this doofus first did. Then I figured it out. DUH!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent sound clarity. Fantastic highs and lows. Recommended!

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of ATH-M30x for my daughter last year and those sound very good. Then I purchased this pair of ATH-M50x for myself and these sound GREAT! Excellent overall sound clarity with fantastic treble and bass. I definitely wanted over the ear headphones and these are extremely comfortable to wear. I've been very happy with these and I highly recommend them.

Pros: Sound quality. Comfort.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Headphones

Crutchfield customer from Senecaville, OH on 4/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones in a word,"great". Has outstanding highs and lows. Blocks out ambient noise that enhances the listening experience. Headphones are extremely comfortable and can where for hours. Well worth the price and quality is up to what you expect from Audio Technica . You will not be disappointed in choosing these headphones. I would also like to commend Crutchfield on how fast they got the product to me.

Pros: Great highs and lows. Base is great and highs are crisp and clear.

Cons: No cons that I see.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Top shelf stuff

Crutchfield customer from Rapid City, SD on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent tonal quality; multiple cordsets were a big plus; would buy again.

Pros: Frequency response

Cons: Probably not quite as comfortable as some of the competition.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

David from Gretna, LA on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome audiophile headphones! Great highs and midrange with perfect amount of bass. Details every instrument. Vocals are clear. Love them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Great headphones

Sam from El Paso, TX on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent pair of headphones. They do not disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Kevin from Kalispell, MT on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Comfortable for extended listening and excellent sound. The short cable is ideal for traveling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 10/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like my age appropriate ( those of us born post WWII ) headphones. I plug in to listen and read the closed captioning to know what I am hearing ( the joy of aging ! ) .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

clear and detailed sound

Nick from Wood Ridge, NJ on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

decided to give these a try after not having much luck with bt headphones in this price range. sound is clear and detailed with no polluted extra bass. choice of 3 detachable cords is a great idea, should be standard on all headphones. comfort needed some tweaking, had to add half inch of padding to headband. Also did the sock hack on ear pads as they seal pretty tight and caused sweating/ stickiness on the ears. lastly the initial clamping pressure is pretty high, so to gently expand these I bought a bag of balloons filled the first one to about the size of my head and placed headphones on it. then every 3-4 days I would make the next balloon 1 inch bigger. now I am able to wear these comfortably for hours.

Pros: sound warm and detailed, choice of 3 cords

Cons: weight, cheap protective bag, needs extra headband cushion

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Berwyn, IL on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these headphones. The build and design is solid. Doesn't feel cheap. Three different types of cords to choose from. You'll hear the true sound of what was recorded. Awesome buy for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Adequate for my purposes.

Bill from Athens, GA on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

headphones have increased the clarity of speech I was seeking. Getting used to heaviness.

Pros: good quality of sound for speech

Cons: heavy

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Bernard from New York, NY on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality even when turned up loud, great all around headphone,an they are though an beautiful at the same time, great for Jazz,Classicals,Hip hop, reggae excellent price

Pros: Excellent price excellent sound quality very durable comfortable

Cons: It doesn't have a microphone wire, BUT it's very very easy to do one yourself, fantastic headphones

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice clean sound at a good price

Scott from Newville, PA on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered these base on other reviews and pricing. They sound great and fit well very comfortable to wear. They are not heavy on bass and are perfect for listening to older Classic Rock on vinyl, they do deliver a nice clean bass line and range through mid & high ranges! Very good quality for a good price.

Pros: Clean sound through all ranges.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible customer service...... Incredible product! Comfortable fit with superior clarity/definition. Highly recommend for any application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good sound

Carl from Racine, WI on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear neutral sound, they are well balanced

Pros: Clear neutral sound, they are well balanced

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Rob from Pueblo, CO on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones! I love the range without the booming Bass. Very comfortable for long listening.

Pros: Great highs and mid-range without the booming Bass.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome sound!

jim from Bedford, IN on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using Sennhausier 280's for the last 10 years, and I thought it was time for a change. I am a shift worker and I listen to my music and movies through headphones when everyone in the house is asleep. Man oh man what a upgrade, I love the sound, with movies or music! And with my AVR or my phone, these sound awesome. They are comfortable and I like the fact that the cord can be detached, plus the carrying case comes in handy as well. My son has a pair of 299.00 Beats, and in my humble opinion these sound better, the bass is tight not boomy. I think for 169.00 they'll run against Beats Any day! Save your money and get these, they are worth every penny

Pros: Great sound for the money Very comfortable Comes with multiple cords and a nice carrying case Dealing with Crutchfield is easy, as always!

Cons: None what so ever

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Anthony from North Brunswick, NJ on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ATHM50x I had the beats studios and the beats pros blows them both away hook up the dragonfly red and Un Believe able sound these will blow U AWAY

Pros: Excellent sound and clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

CL from Oakdale, CT on 11/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great and comfortable. Can't beat the sound in that price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great headphones, would buy again

Ryan from Salt Lake City, UT on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great headphones for the money. These headphones are comfortable, sound good, and basically do everything I expect them to do at their price range. The only negative I can think of is that they get a little heavy on the head after a while, but you can't ask for perfection at this price.

Pros: Comfortable, good sound, and good value.

Cons: Slightly on the heavy side.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Joseph from Nashville, TN on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are really comfortable headphones with great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Melissa from Boise, ID on 5/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to give them five stars because they sound great - particularly sharp with increased volume (as compared with another brand of headphones I have)! I will say, though, that they are very large - if you have a smaller head, you probably want to look for something different. But these will be good around the house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

great purchase

Mike from McLean, VA on 5/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound! Even lossy/compressed mp3s sounds pretty darn good! I love the fact that they dampen noise quite well without actually being noise cancelling. I am an audiophile at heart (who has not invested tens of thousands in audiophile equipment), and these headphones were a great purchase. The headphones do fold flat, but they are still a little bulky to be considered portable unless you have lots of room in your backpack and are really addicted to nice headphones. But they are perfect for sedentary music listening. They are a bit heavy on my head and my ears get a big warm after listening for an hour. (Could be that i have a small head). A 4.5 star rating would be ideal.

Pros: Fantastic sound!

Cons: A little heavy on my head after an hour of listening.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great buy!

JR from Honolulu, HI on 5/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needing some over the ear headphones, I turned to this set based on the reviews and how long they've been in production. It's always hard to buy something that you cannot try in person, so this was an iffy situation for me. But, I knew that based on the reviews, it would be a great buy. People have different ears and what sounds good to them is totally based on what they've heard in the past, etc. That said, I think that the ATH-M50X's sound really great. People say that it has a neutral sound. I don't really agree. This pair is definitely not "flat" in the tone at all. If you're looking for bass heavy headphones, this is not the one to buy. There is adequate bass that is there, just not overpowering and in your face with artificial boost. No, those are other headphones. The highs (treble) is great as well. The clamping force of the headband isn't tight at all. After a few hours of listening, you don't notice them and they don't feel tight or will give you a headache. I loved the detachable cable connector and the included pouch to slip them into. They also collapse smaller so this is great when traveling. The noise isolation (via the super padded ear cups) is not bad at all. With the music volume at the correct level, you'll drown out the ambient sound. All in all, an excellent sounding set of headphones with an excellent price. Highly recommended as an entry into the headphone market!

Pros: Excellent sound quality, bass, highs, detachable cable, affordable, comfortable to wear

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Ty from Kansas on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones definitely have a flat sound for Studio listening.

Pros: Flat sound, and multiple cords

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great cans ...

bobba from Boyceville, WI on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug in, Turn on, Tune in, Lay back & Enjoy !!! Well worth the money...Glad to have them !!!

Pros: All that is stated, and then some...

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Closed-back vs Open-Back

Neil from Grand Rapids, MI on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After owning a pair of open-back Grados for years, I ordered the ATH-M50Xs. They're preferable to the Grados for phone and computer listening, as they offer highly detailed sound and comfort, and can be used without people around me hearing every note of what I'm listening to. They also provide more volume on those devices than the relatively low-efficiency Grados. On my home stereo, it's a toss up. When volume's not an issue and they can both be cranked up, I'm still debating which style I prefer. The ATHs provide more bass thump and a brighter high end; the Grados have a flatter, possibly more accurate, and wider soundscape. I think I'll continue to use both of them.

Pros: Very comfortable to wear for a long time, excellent sound. The three cord choices. Great service and price from Crutchfield.

Cons: Closed back means a narrower soundscape compared to my open back pair.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Edison, NJ on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product Fits well and excellent sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Goodyear, AZ on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these for my son. They are great headphones.. I now wants them for myself. You will not be disappointed with how your albums sound with these, GREAT!!!!! Rock on!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these headphones for quality sound and good isolation. I don't need active noise cancellation, just reasonably good ambient noise suppression. Sound is quite adequate, but highs are slightly bright and from lower midrange on down, somewhat foggy. These phones are satisfactory for travel purposes, but I would not use them for critical listening to classical music. Comfort is good, but I'd prefer a little more clearance around the ears. Among the cords supplied, the short cord with the mini jack is perfect for travel and using a small digital player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Great Build Quality you can feel

Mike from Las Vegas, NV on 10/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific product, sturdy feel, great sound, good comfort. Love the fold flat feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great pair of headphones

Scott from Dayton, OH on 9/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things have an amazing sound - very crisp and clear, and a good amount of bass. I'm hearing details in songs that I never noticed in my old Sony headphones. They get a little uncomfortable to wear after many hours (I wear them pretty much all day at work), but that's probably to be expected. And as always, buying from Crutchfield was a no-brainer. These guys rock!

Pros: Sound great, lots of bass, quality construction

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, WI on 8/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones offer a robust, natural well balanced sound across the audio spectrum. They are also quite comfortable on the head and the ears. They are likely one of the best values in a studio type headphone. They come with a case, a 10' coiled cord, a 10' straight cord, and a 4' personal use cord. The 2 year warranty is also above average. I added a 6' extension cord so I could comfortably be seated on a couch in my listening area.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Well worth the price

Jay from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 6/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a good, solid choice for headphones under $200. I use them exclusively in the house so the "coolness factor" isn't an issue (nor should it be anyway IMO). As for the performance, the ATH-M50x faithfully reproduces the music without a lot of fuss or bother. I never get the impression that the headphones are either enhancing nor subtracting from the source material. While this is a desirable goal you should be aware that this transparency will also reveal shortcomings in the original recording, especially in compressed files. I am sure that there are "better" headphones to be had at higher price points but I am very happy with these both in terms of performance and comfort.

Pros: overall performance

Cons: ear pads tend to get a bit too warm after a time

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from Sandia Park, NM on 4/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with these headphones. I wanted something without all the whistle and bells but still had excellent sound. These exceeded my expectations.

Pros: Great sound, comfort and price make these a very good deal.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love the AT ATH-M50xs!

Jason j from Hastings on Hudson, NY on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really solid sound for price. Built like a tank and comes with 3 cords plus the 1/4" adaptor, which is appreciated. I wear them for hours at low volume, thus protecting my ear drums but getting great sound. Very comfortable.

Pros: Rugged. Great sound. Comfortable.

Cons: Bulky (but in a good, show-offy way)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Very Satisfied

Stephen from Charlottesville, VA on 4/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great pair of editing headphones - the only quip about them is that sometimes they begin to hurt my head, but that's not enough to stop me from using them. I highly recommend them if you're looking for something "pro" at this price point --

Pros: Quality, Dynamic Range, Various Cables

Cons: Discomfort at times on Earts

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Crutchfield customer from chesterton, IN on 3/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best headphones out there for the money...but...buy a head phone amp if listening to music on p.c.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Audio Tech

Cliffehanger from cincinnati, OH on 1/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the true sound and detailed tones.

Pros: Sound

Cons: A bit big.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing sounding headphones

Cliff from Alabama on 12/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Headphones sound great. A good value for the money. The bass is fantastic. I'm using them with a DAC and my computer. There is one issue, and Crutchfield is working on correcting it. The headphones come with three cords. Two of the cords have mini stereo plugs, one short and one long. The short one works fine but the longer one had an issue right out of the box. The sound cut in and out. A simple call to Crutchfield has a replacement on the way.

Pros: Good value for the money. Good sound, hefty bass.

Cons: A problem with one of the cords, but Crutchfield is sending a replacement.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Nice headphones

Dan from Tennessee on 12/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent headphones for this price. Very high sound quality. They are a bit easy in the way they flop around in any direction, think that could be a little more pressure needed to adjust, they are a bit "loose" in that way, is the only reason for the 2 four star ratings. I also needed an extension cord, 1/4" of good quality, so that cost more. Still, I have listened to 200 dollar headphones that sound no better than these. Hope they last.

Pros: Excellent sound quality, easy feel and fit, cancels all but high noise, lightweight.

Cons: Easy to flop off when adjusting, need to hold in place better with adjustments. Needs to stay adjusted while off.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Go-To Closed-Backs

Matthew from Virginia on 11/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I decided I wanted to nice headphones, I discussed it with a friend who knew a lot about this topic. After I told him I wanted Sennheisers, he let me listen to everything he had, and I eventually decided on the Grado sr80. When I went to Crutchfield, Jon was very helpful and knowledgeable when figuring out what I needed. Since I was using these in an office setting, we decided the Grados were not the way to go since they are open backed. I didn't want to spend much, so it was between the Sennheiser 280 and the Audio Technicas. After listening to them, there was no way I could go with the Sennheisers. The sound was just very lacking, but that seems to simply be the Sennheiser style, which may work for certain settings and music. The M50x cancels out sound pretty well, doesn't leak much, and has great sound quality. They're comfortable, and it's nice they come with 3 different cords (short, long, and curly ones). I'm really satisfied with them, and I'm really happy I spent the money on them. In the future, I will absolutely buy the Grado sr80 for quieter listening and whatnot. The sound quality is just incredible. But when in need of some closed back cans, the Audio Technica M50x is the way to go.

Pros: Sound quality Comfortable Blocks out sound well

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

Andrew R from Florida on 9/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clean sound across wide frequency range

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

All Day Comfort

Crutchfield customer from Arizona on 8/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These headphones are the most comfortable I've ever used. Locked to my computer all day, comfort is a must. Can't beat the quality and value

Pros: Great comfort with high quality sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

LOVE 'EM!

MusicMonkey from South Carolina on 7/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love these headphones! They are quite comfortable which allows them to be worn for hours on in.

Pros: Good Sound. Comfortable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The best headphones.

JM from Texas on 6/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the M50 with a sound booster and it can take the three volume settings on max with no distortion at all and the detail is perfect!!!!!! Few things I've bought have exceeded my expectations like the M50x and my Emerson projector, both are must haves...

Pros: The BEST sound quality from ANY brand of headphones!!!!! Comfortable, calapsable, comes with many cords. Look great.

Cons: None.....

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great cans!!

Luke from Charlotte, NC on 5/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was shopping for nearly a year before I finally settled on these headphones. I was looking for something that had a good balance and sounds great for the type of music I listen to (hard rock and heavy metal). These headphones do not disappoint. There is no active noise cancelation with these headphones, so if you put them on with no music, you can still hear external sounds. Now pump some music through them, and most external noises go away. I say most because I haven't tried these out on an airplane yet. The first song I tested on these was Lamb of God's "Blacken The Cursed Sun". For the first time since I've been listening to this song, these headphones picked up background sound effects and echos in the intro that I never heard before. It was like I was hearing the song for the first time. The bass on the songs is strong but not overpowering. The mids were clean and crisp, and the highs were bright but not overwhelming. These are very balanced headphones and I'm looking forward to rocking out in these for years to come.

Pros: Great sound Durable Options for cord length Easy to fold and store Price

Cons: The case is a little flimsy (just a leather bag - would have liked a hard shell case) Headphones do feel warm after a couple of hours usage Not exactly stylish and do have a little 80s throwback to them; however, for what I need them for, style is not a strong factor in my purchase

Crutchfield response on

9 of 14 found this helpful

Didn't work for me

Al from Colorado on 4/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ATH-M50x are nice headphones, but I didn't enjoy the sound quality. The bass was boomy and somewhat loose, and the lower mids were recessed. The build quality is solid and I appreciate the variety of cables. Comfort was great - I could wear them for hours. I tried them for two weeks and then returned to Crutchfield.

Pros: Comfort and build quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

audio technica mk50x

roger w from Pennsylvania on 4/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best set of headphones I have ever purchased. sound quality and comfort are great.

Pros: all around, the best headphones audio technical mk-50x.are the best. I have tried beats,sony,skull candy ,bose nothing compares to the mk50x. I bought 2 pair.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Awesome!

jjojeda98 from AZ on 4/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are some awesome headphones, better than I expected that's for sure. The sound quality is great and I love the flat response for the most part.

Pros: Build construction Sound quality Comfortable

Cons: Kinda big for my head

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Quality Product Fast Shipping

lc91 from 60046 on 3/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got exactly what I was looking for. The build and sound quality are solid, plus I like the detachable cords.

Pros: High quality product, fast shipping.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Ath-m50x

Kicker_man from Kc, MO on 3/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these after a few weeks of research and I wasn't disappointed. Coupled with a Fiio portable headphone amp, these sound way better than any system or cans I've ever used.

Pros: Sound,look,feel great

Cons: I'd like to see them come out with some higher ohm editions, as my amp doesn't like to run these for long periods of time.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Audio Technica ATH-M50x

Jason from Minnesota on 2/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow so, I did a lot of research online before I finally decided to purchase these headphones, and I must say, every one that I read recommended these cans, and I can see why. These things sound amazing, especially compared to my older Bose on-ear headphones. The soft cushions envelope my ears and do a good job sealing out unwanted noise, the sound is crisp and clean even at loud volume, and the build quality is excellent as they feel and look solid yet cool and comfortable to wear through long gaming sessions or just rocking out to some music. The 3 included cables are awesome and just what I was looking for, and more, since they are long and made to last. This is my first pair of Audio-Technica headphones and I recommend them myself.

Pros: Comfortable, Great Sound, Sturdy Solid Build, Long Thick Cables

Cons: Only con I can think of is the carrying bag is a little small for these big cans and all 3 cables to be packed into, but it is useful and a good addition to the purchase.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x the best

T from Pennsylvania on 1/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used Audio-Technica headphones and catridge/styluses for a number of years, they never disappoint. Always far better than the "big name -newer" competition.

Pros: Sound quality, highs and lows.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome, simply awesome

The Frog from Fairfax, VA on 11/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these headphones after reading a lot of reviews and research. After over a month with them I can say that I honestly love them, the only negative I can suggest about them is the comfort of the headband after a long period of use. The three varieties of detachable cables seem to fit my needs.

Pros: Sound Quality, Detachable Cables

Cons: Comfort

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP