Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Wired smoke & carbon monoxide detector

MFR # S3003LWES

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Wired smoke & carbon monoxide detector

MFR # S3003LWES

29 reviews
View this product

Nest Protect protects me

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product combines the functions of a smoke alarm and a carbon monoxide detector in one. It works well, connects with a phone app (for remote monitoring), and has a smart, neat design. I bought the wired version, since that is what is needed for my condo. I had to have the building's handyman install it properly, because of those wires. This 2nd generation version should last ten years, which is good, given that the cost is so much more than a typical detector.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, peace of mind to have connected home smoke detectors can't be overstated. As with all Nest protects, they look good, are easy to install and work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value for the money

Crutchfield customer from Dade City, FL on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and has more features than your typical detector. I purchased the wired version and it also has a movement sensing night light which only activates when it's needed. It may cost a bit more, but it has features you wouldn't get otherwise. Highly recommended.

Pros: 2nd Gen Smoke and CO2 Alarm Wireless connectivity for monitoring from any location Night Light built in Alarm History 2 Year Warranty

Cons: Cost a bit more than a traditional alarm

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Purchase this item you wont be sorry

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, NJ on 3/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We love the nest smoke alarm/ c02 sector I don't know how we ever lived without. This unit is trplaceing a 30 year old hard wired just smoke alarm. Purchase it you won't be sorry

Pros: Easy to install looks beautiful with our newly remodeled home we trying to install smart electronics in our home

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

George from Richeyville, PA on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! The is the second Nest Protect i have installed. Slowly replacing the building grade smoke alarms in my home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Navarre, FL on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Nest Protect 2nd Generation has worked really well. The installation was easy and straightforward. I used this Nest detector to replace an old conventional detector that was failing after only a few years of service. This is the second nest product that I have purchased from Crutchfield. Both products have worked seamlessly. One thing to note though. Before installing the detector on the ceiling be sure to set up the Nest app on your phone and scan the QR code on the back of the detector.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Mullica Hill, NJ on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well ordered by me, I must say! I called, talked with a Customer Service agent to verify if he knew if the Nest Protect powered and battery Protects could be installed and used in the same system, and he found out for me that they could and we were off. The Protects arrived the next day. I began the installation by reading more recommendations and reviews and I installed five Nest Protects the following Saturday. Common Sense and some experience with basic connectivity and wiring is helpful (like turning off appropriate circuit breakers, testing connections with a connectivity meter and carefully reading all directions)....my only faux-pas was installing a cover upside down. This didn't affect anything and I'm the only one that knows. I took my time, labeled all boxes with exactly where installations would be, instructed Nest with the names and locations and proceeded. Completed in 4.5 hours and everything works fine, including the subtle lighting to assist in dark areas....this feature can be turned off if you don't want it.

Pros:

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect is Awesome!

Jon from Lenoir, NC on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife and I are really enjoying our Nest Protect. We bought two wired Nest protect, (1st picture) is the living room (2nd picture) is upstairs and the installtion was very easy as well as straight forward. After installation we downloaded the Nest app, both detectors linked together, I put all our information in the Nest app as well as linked the detectors to our WiFi and we were live. I had everything installed and finished in under an hour. Another great feature I like is on the Nest app I was able to add my mother and my brother to receive notification if anything was to happen. I also have the Nest app to automatically call the our local Fire Department in case of an emergency. We also love how the Nest protect shines a little light at nighttime when it senses motion. The Nest protect even picked my motion up while I was at the bottom of my steps! If you are thinking about getting the Nest protect and or do not have one I highly recommend it! I will also be purchasing other Nest products in the near future!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 12/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful and state of the art.

Pros: Easy to install, talks to our Nest smart thermostat

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Praveen from Plano, TX on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Only drawback is that it will not support interconnected (hardwired) existing alarms which will not trigger alarm for the monitoring company. Nest will speak to other Nest products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's a smoke detector, not much to say.

javier from Wadsworth, IL on 12/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up, no false alarms (thus far), and I like the "night-light" feature. I do have to paint that portion of the ceiling as the base for my old ones was wider.

Pros: Easy setup, looks good, nice features.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Chevy Chase, MD on 12/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed product, nicely packaged and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Wahoo, NE on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. Easy to setup, worked with existing wiring.

Pros: Easy to setup, worked with existing wiring.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 5/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install.The kids like the pathlight feature as a nightlight. Also a nice peace of mind that they do a self-check everyday.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Vincent from Wayne, NJ on 3/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product & easy to link up to the phone app

Pros: Easy to install, looks good & reliable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product! Would recommend.

Josh from Washington, DC on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. I installed six of these throughout my home. Easy to install (even if you've never installed smoke detectors before, like me); did not take too long. Easy setup. Works great with the Nest iOS app and fits into my home ecosystem perfectly.

Pros: Easy installation, looks great, not overly sensitive

Cons: Expensive (but within range of inferior competitors)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Darrin from Framingham, MA on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy install. Replaced existing hardwired smoke/CO detectors. The mounting bracket allows you to rotate the unit to get correct alignment (doesn't depend on alignment of mounting screws). Nightlight feature is great but would like it to be a bit brighter on the brightest setting. Did some research on alternatives and chose this based on the not so great reviews of the cheaper options. I think they are a good value for the price. They look really nice also.

Pros: Easy install, modern design, pre-alarm warning

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Protect 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from Smithfield, RI on 11/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup, communicates with other nest products. Auto nightlight feature is nice.

Pros: Easy to setup and install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice product

Will from Glenview, il on 10/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and easy to set up and install. Also nice that it coordinates with other next smoke detectors and thermostats in the house. Self tests so you don't have to

Pros: Nice looking, easy install, coordinates with other neat products

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very polite and user friendly

LDM from New York, NY on 6/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. First, Nest's customer service is excellent. While installing the mounting plate cracked. I emailed Nest and explained to them what happened and that I'd like to buy a new mounting plate. The said No, and sent me a new mounting plate for Free. For that 5 stars. The next day after installation I was cooking, and the Nest Protect said something like, "Smoke is detected the alarm will sound." I then went to the Nest App and silenced the Alarm. It never went off after that. Last there is a really cool night light feature. When the room goes dark an unobtrusive light turns itself on. If you do not want this feature you can turn it off with the App. The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is that I havent cooked a steak yet, and ribeye's tend to smoke up my apartment. However I am looking forward to getting the next thermostat one day. If you are worried about 2.4Ghz or 5.0 ghz, 2.4Ghz band travels longer distances and through walls better. If your Nest isnt close to a router you would need 2.4Ghz

Pros: Easy to set up, easy to use. attractive, well built and loud. paired with iphone no problem.

Cons: A little tricky to install but not difficult. On a scale of 1-10 (1 easy and 10 difficult) I'd give this a 3

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Well-designed product

Jeffrey from minneapolis, MN on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You won't find a better design for a smoke-CO detector.

Pros: Internet connection; Nest integration.

Cons: Only connects to 2.4GHz WiFi.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product for a very basic function

Fabrik8 from huntersville, NC on 3/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was blown away by the fit and finish of the Protect, especially the gasketed battery door and bonded gasket on the mounting baseplate. The almost infinite rotation of the unit on the baseplate was a welcome surprise too, as you can tweak the angle you your heart's content to make it square with the walls or read the logo in a certain direction. Pretty meaningless for a smoke detector, but a nice touch regardless. I had some connection problems on the first unit, figured out I needed to switch to the 2.4GHz network and still had failed install problems after that. The second unit failed a few times and then finally worked, and then appeared to have sent a proper setup to the first unit. Everything was fine after that, and maybe the iPhone setup works better than the Android version, who knows... The Pathlight function is pretty cool for a stairway landing or hallway, and is plenty of light while navigating a moonlit area of the house. I haven't actually triggered any of the alarm functions yet, so I'm not sure how well it works as a smoke or CO detector. It seems to completely reject light cooking smoke that gets carried to our second floor which would nuisance trigger our old units. I'm planning to buy a few of the battery units to round out the areas that still need protection.

Pros: Looks great, very well designed Lots of nice small details

Cons: The box and packaging looks far more expensive than it needs to be, but maybe it's deceptively cheap? Minor network connection hiccups during installation with Android device, multiple failed installs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nest Protect

Lndsmithny from NYC, NY on 2/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install and hook up to app.

Pros: Install ease.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Protect

safer than yesterday from mount juliet, TN on 1/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple programming, simple installation. I like the night light feature. Effortless link to the Nest thermostat. I will be buying more

Pros: simple programming, simple installation.

Cons: a little pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Ging144 from Houston, TX on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice to have peace of mind knowing any pets you've left at home aren't in an emergency. The night light feature is a fantastic bonus. We love it for that alone. No false alarms yet. Reviewers from previous model seemed to struggle with that, but no issues here.

Pros: Attractive, knowing batteries are in working order, tests itself periodically, night light

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice features.

John from Virginia on 11/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features. Can alert you when you are away of problems.

Pros: Many features. Straight forward install. Will be buying more to replace other smoke debtors in the house.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best solution available, in a generally cringe-worthy market

MSV from California on 9/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At the end of the day, it is a smoke/CO detector, so not a lot to get excited about. However, while nearly all the products of this type are generally hideous, the Nest manages to at least be aesthetically non-offensive. Setup and installation are easy as you'd expect. The lighting features, especially pathlight, could be useful for some, but I ended up shutting it off after one night. This is just a result of the Nest Protect's proximity to my bed and it could illuminate just from shifting around in bed. Perhaps one day Nest or another company will make a smoke/CO detector that is a flush mount and better disappears into the decor, but until that time, I feel this is the best solution, if a bit pricey. Perhaps they could drop the price by a third if they scaled back on the packaging.

Pros: Appearance and features.

Cons: Price.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Easy to Install, simple to configure, good to have

Mike from California on 9/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Nest Protect is very simple to set up. In fact if you are setting up more than one the second and subsequent units are even simpler to install.If you are replacing an existing alarm this is a 5 minute job at the outside. The Protect lets you know when the lights go out that it is functioning properly and the "pathlight" feature is a really nice way to illuminate areas of the house when you need them without having to install always on night lights.

Pros: - Easy to configure thanks to a simple step by step process in the app. - Easy to install, physically - Everything you need is in the kit - Looks great - Always lets you know it is working - Pathlight feature is a nice touch - Very easy to monitor from the easy to use app. or via a browser

Cons: - Expensive alternative to traditional alarms.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nest Protect Gen 2

Mike L from San Marino, CA on 7/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A better fleshed out product when compared to the original. No false alarms (thus far), easier to access battery compartment, hasn't had any connection failures, ability to silence false alarms. Things you would expect for a smoke/CO detector at this price point. Set up is easy, the makes it easy to see all of your Nest or Dropcam products. Installation even for the 120 V version is fairly straight forward.

Pros: Sleek design, easy set up, a vast improvement over the original, plays nicely with of Nest products. A great product if you are investing in the Nest universe of smart home products.

Cons: Doesn't connect to 5 G No Z-wave nor Zigbee nor WeMo compatibility

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP