Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Nest Learning Thermostat, 2nd Generation

Smart remote-controlled thermostat

MFR # T200577

Nest Learning Thermostat, 2nd Generation

Nest Learning Thermostat, 2nd Generation

Smart remote-controlled thermostat

MFR # T200577

23 reviews
View this product
Discontinued item

Nest Learning Thermostat, 2nd Generation

B Frost from charlottesville, VA on 3/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great thermostat. Sorry this isn't available any more, but appreciated the opportunity to save on the close out price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest Thermostat, 2nd generation

Chris from Arizona on 11/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, this has been a nice product. The packaging was very well done, which usually correlates with the quality of the product. It was very easy to install, and setup. The interface is very intuitive and "Apple-esque". Thermostats have typically been clunky, white, square affairs, whereas this thermostat has a very nice aesthetic to it. The glass and metal ring give it substance, and make it feel like it will stand the test of time. I purchased this at the start of fall, so I don't have an idea as to what my savings will be, but i am expecting to see some dollars saved next summer. I will say this. I do pay more attention to what temp my house is at, and how it's tracking. Its nice to be able to pick up my phone, see what the temp is inside, outside, and what the humidity is at in my house.

Pros: great interface easy to use easy to install

Cons: a little pricey compared to others, especially since I need to purchase another one for the 2nd AC unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest

Pauld from Texas on 10/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Been installed approx. 3 wks and already saving me money. Online support great

Pros: Easy install and very easy to program.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

LeeM from Wisconsin on 9/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the Nest. We had another zone on the 1G Nest and it works splendidly. The ability to program and control online is worth the price in itself. Grabbed the 2G Nest after the price drop due to the 3G being released. Look for energy saving rebates in your area too. The 2G is smaller than the 1G which is also nice.

Pros: Programming and controlling online. Cool tech gadget.

Cons: Still a little thick but needs room for the wiring.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Patience Paid Off

DL from Arizona on 9/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been patiently waiting to pick up a few of these thermostats to try to cut back on the A/C bill a bit. I live in Arizona, enough said about the heat. I had been watching these for close to a year waiting for them to go on sale since I needed two for my house. I watched quite a few auctions online but then you have to take the chance that everything will be legit. Well my patience paid off when Crutchfield just put them on sale without any challenges. They got here fast and were incredibly easy to install. I'm about a week in and they seem to be pretty effective. It's nice to be able to turn them on an hour or so before I get home so that house will be cool, but I wouldn't have had the air on all day. Nest and Crutchfield make for a great combo if you want to marry great technology with awesome service. Still patiently waiting for some tower speakers to go on sales so I can upgrade my boat's stereo system (hint to Crutchfield). If only things worked that way.

Pros: Save money. Make your house look more modern. Way more features than a standard thermostat.

Cons: None Yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from New Jersey on 9/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All style, no substance

C from Texas on 7/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a terrible thermostat, all style and no substance. These rave reviews must be written by Nest marketing dept. It sacrifices your comfort to save a bit of energy, and even that's debatable. It was on my wall for 3 days before I returned it. The cycle time was way too long and the temp range too wide. No way was it +-1 degree. It would keep the AC on until I was shivering, then it would stay off until I was sweating. And you can't program cycle time or anticipation. It might as well have been on on-off switch, I had to manually adjust it constantly. I wrote the software for one of the first digital thermostats in 1982 and we achieved an +-1 degree with programmable anticipation. If it "learned" anything, it was bad habits. Looks nice, fancy packaging, hyper marketing, short on functionality (much like Apple products). Buy an Emerson or Honeywell. Emerson Sensi has more features, works great, for half the price.

Pros: Stylish, looks good on the wall

Cons: Terrible thermostat Cycle time way too long

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Gotta have it!

JI from CA on 7/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Where do I begin? The technology is amazing! Wave you hand and it shows you the temp, turn the dial up or down, that simple. Perfect for woman that get hotflashes at night. Getting to hot, reach for your phone app and turn the dail lower or higher. Away from home, forgot to turn the air up so energy isn't wasted, phone app! It is also so sleek looking and again simplified! Can't wait to see the electric bill go down. Oh yeah, it memorizes your patterns of usage. Well worth the money, I'm sure it will pay for itself.

Pros: Everything

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest review

K&k from Omaha,NE on 5/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic device! We are finding that we are saving energy and money!

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: This time of year wasn't this best to install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Smarthomeobsessed

Daniel from Lansing, MI on 4/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am building a home and this thermostat is not yet installed. My review is based on compatibility and connection to a smart home system. The "works with nest" was more of a factor in my purchase than the operation of the thermostat itself. They are innovators in the category and therefore seem to have more compatibility with other leading accessories than other similar offerings. So far I have purchased the nest thermostat and nest protect, along with philips hue smart bulbs and a logitech ultimate home control. All four of these can work in tandem. The most important feature for me aside from the cool techie stuff is the cooperation between the nest thermostat and nest protect. Once your nest protect has sensed smoke or CO it will communicate with the nest thermostat and the thermostat will automatically instruct the furnace to shut down. If you link the philips hue bulbs to the nest protect, once there has been smoke or CO detected the lights can be instructed to turn on and glow red as well. It is cool and innovative yes, but above all it allows you to make your home components communicate to make things more safe and efficient.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy

Kyle T from South Carolina on 3/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For anyone who actually puts the effort into adjusting your thermostat regularly this device is a must. I've only had the device for a few weeks now and I've caught myself walking to the thermostat to adjust the temperature only to realize the Nest was one step ahead of me. Too early to see the cost variance, but I am sure it is saving me money. I hope to get a second one soon for the upstairs.

Pros: Everything it says it does.

Cons: Cost. I wish I had access to more of the raw data.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great, support was excellent

SP from Hartwell Ga on 3/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well, easy to install, had a special wiring issue that was addressed in the first call to support by exchanging texts and photos of the wiring.

Pros: Beautiful and works very well. I love being able to check the thermostat from anywhere in the world.

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nest Thermostat

FredL from Massachusetts on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Who would have known that the mundane home thermostat could be fun and useful beyond anyone's imagination. Nest is fairly easy to install and use. It replaced my 25 year old Honeywell mercury thermostat. It can control your heating and a/c, has endless configuration options, senses when you are home, and is wi fi enabled. You can even control the Nest from your smartphone. It is made well , functions well, is practical, and fun to use. Prepare to be amazed....

Pros: easy to install and use

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceeded expectations

J-Rob from Springfield, MO on 1/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an extremely impressive little peice of technology. Design, installation, interface, materials, and features blow the competition out of the water. I have installed a handful of thermostats, and the the Nest is hands-down the easiest to install. The interface is slick, it truly learns as advertised, and is easily controlled from mobile devices. You can also lock the the thermostat within a certain range - ie lock the settings to only allow adjustment between 65 and 75 degrees (great for my mother-in-law who thinks she can come in my house and crank up the temp to 82). My wife wishes it came in a white model because she thinks it clashes with our white walls and and white trim, but in my opinion it looks fine. Often times the hole from your previous thermostat will require to use the included back plate. This is not a big deal for me, but if you are expecting to have yoru nest flush against a bare wall, you may need to do some drywall work and painting (just an fyi to consider).

Pros: Design, installation, interface, materials, and features blow the competition out of the water.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very easy to set up and use

Crutchfield customer from New York on 12/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product.. simple to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, texad on 12/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product . Good expedite delivery by Crutchfield

Pros: Easy to use, works well , I like it

Cons: Take little time to install! However, did it without professional help. Need to take time and follow the installation video step by step.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nest instructions unclear. Installer rip off.

jriesterer from Saline, MI on 12/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installer charged me over $200 to tell me I need an electrician when the work he did I could have done myself. He was a certified "installer" and didn't do the job I would have done myself. So now I'm going to spend another $200 to try and get it done right.

Pros: Well built product, good reputation

Cons: Totally misrepresented set up support.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome smart thermostat!

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the look and functionality of the Nest. I have one on every floor of my house.

Pros: Easy to set up and use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Modern Thermostat

JR from Torrance, CA on 12/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not very handy and it was really easy to install and setup. Probably took me about 45 min at a slow methodical pace from starting the removal of the old one to having it hooked up to wifi. Easy to control, nice to have the ability to remotely monitor the temp and turn it off. Its got lots of great features and has an intuitive interface. The thermostat you never knew you needed.

Pros: Easy install and intuitive operation.

Cons: None I have come across after 2 months with it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nest Thermostat

Danny from Stamford, CT on 12/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely easy to install. I installed two in my house and I was done in less than 45 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nest Learning Thermostat, 2nd Generation

Crutchfield customer from California on 12/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice thermostat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nest

matt from Massachusetts on 12/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Nest thermostat is an exceptionally well designed, easy to install and easy to use revolutionary product. I have installed two of them in my house and I can acknowledge that this device is saving me money every month.

Pros: An integrated Web based system, I can manage the temperature from any where in the world.

Cons: None I can report

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nest thermostat

Mump from Pennsylvania on 12/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my Nest, wanted one for the past 6 months and finally pulled the trigger. Wish I would have bought earlier. Install was quick and easy, took about 20 mins. Easy to set up and great to use.

Pros: Easy to get from the box to up and running. Great options to use to conserve energy. Love it.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

TOP