Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
861 395 422 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
861 395 422 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Auralex SubDude-II™

Subwoofer isolation platform

MFR # SubDude-II

Auralex SubDude-II™

Auralex SubDude-II™

Subwoofer isolation platform

MFR # SubDude-II

52 reviews
View this product

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

cool for sub woofer

Pros: cool piece

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Wise, VA on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed hardwood floors and noticed my two 350 watt Klipsch subs didn't sound the same , I got a pair of these Auralex SubDude II , what a difference , clear clean bass ! I even cranked them up a couple of notches ! These are a must if you have hardwood floors , well constructed and look good too , and as always great service from Crutchfields !!!

Pros: Great , a must have if you have hardwood floors . I would recommend to anybody who wants good clean bass out of their system !

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works ok, still have vibrations near sub where I don't want it.

Pros: Color and size

Cons: 3 dollar piece of wood wrapped in carpet for this price, not impressed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude II

Crutchfield customer from Oakdale, CA on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was the best decision I made for my home entertainment center.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Keizer, OR on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bass appears to be more defined, punchier, has more detail, highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice platform

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, CA on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my Cambridge Audio Minx X301 sub to sit on. I have wood floors where my system is. Does exactly what is says. Isolates the bass from the floor.

Pros: Nice quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Want upgraded sound? Get this!

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing works! No rattling windows ad things shaking off shelves and the sound is much cleaner. You can actually feel the bass. This is the way it was meant to be .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica, NY on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was amazing specially I live in a second floor took away all the rumbling and the sound improved a lot

Pros: Very good for the money

Cons: I don't find anything

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely improved the rattleing I was getting from my subwoofer. Because of limitations in the room I had to locate it in a built in bookcase-not desirable. This pad did not solve my problem completely but the improvement in sound was dramatic and well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works well

Rick from HELENA, MT on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth the money. It seems like a silly thing to purchase but if you have hardwood floors it's a must in my opinion. It will keep the boom in the room and the vibration out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Ivory from Humble, TX on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I AM SHOCK THIS SET UP DOES IMPROVE QUALITY OF SOUND SUB PLAYS

Pros: QUALITY IS GREAT. DURABILITY LOOKS PROMISING. AND PRICE IS GOOD

Cons: I WISH I WOULD HAVE PURCHASED LONG TIME AGO

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No Rattle

Nathaniel from East Setauket, NY on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have my KEF C4 subwoofer on the bottom shelf in an old wooden end-table, and you would never know it. The sound is good, and there are no transferred vibrations.

Pros: Puts an end to transferred vibrations. Does not look out of place.

Cons: Adds height to all subwoofers, and possibly width and depth to a smaller one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Rch Cucamonga, CA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is that this is a great product.

Pros: It works really well in preventing vibration.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

John from Grand Rapids, MI on 11/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We purchased a pair of Subdude-II for tower speakers used in our lower level finished and carpeted basement. The sound improved immensely by placing the speakers on these.

Pros: Very effective!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good product

david from De Soto, IA on 10/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This really works. I have a polk sub that used to shake everything, which is cool- but not really accurate to the soundtrack. This tightens things up nicely while still reaching the lows.

Pros: Works for any sub. Actually works.

Cons: Not a perfect fit on some subs. Might collect dust.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Maybe for you.

Arnie from Fresh Meadows, NY on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking product that is made for subs with a greater output than what I have in my Audioengine 8 sub. Clearly a fine tune for audio file nuts.

Pros: Attractive; well made.

Cons: Clearly for subs with significant wattage.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Rich from Hollywood, FL on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is worth the money. My subwoofer was constantly moving away before I purchased this product now it remains in place and provides an excellent sound

Pros: Excellent product worth the money

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

better sound from my turntable

MICHAEL from Williamsburg, KY on 8/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to sit my ProJect carbon esprit sb on. The size was plenty for that tt and it fit the shelf it sits on better than the slightly longer Auralex product specified for Turntables. The main reason I bought it was that whenever I would walk through the room with my stereo equiptment, the anti skate weight would bang against the TT dust cover. It was annoying and I started to wonder what that meant about lesser vibrations from my B&W 683s2 floor standing speakers was doing to the sound? Well two things happened when I sat the TT on top of the SubDude: 1. No more annoying anti skate weight banging. 2. Some significant sound improvements to the music. What I am noticing is that the lows are much more distinct and soundstaging seems clearer with more separation between instruments. I also think vocals pop a bit more as well. I have to say, I'm surprised at the differences.

Pros: no more banging anti skate weight and better sound out of my TT

Cons: It does make the TT sit up about 2 inches higher. I think I'll get used to it thought.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good base

Crutchfield customer from Bloomingdale, GA on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can appreciate some differences when subwoofer is placed

Pros: Improvement to bass

Cons: Not much information with the package

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes a huge difference with the sound quality! Especially in a small space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

D. from Alhambra, CA on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical of the benefits this product claimed but was intrigued by the positive reviews. Gave it a try for a good price, a small price relative to the B&W DB1 sub it's supporting. A notificable improvement with tighter, refined bass all around. The floor still rumbles at high volumes but bass definition is better. Getting more enjoyment out of action Blu-rays. Unexpectedly, it also looks great showcasing the sub. Strongly recommended for audiophiles. With Crutchfield's satisfaction promise, doesn't hurt to try.

Pros: Nice improvement on sub with fair price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cleaner results on your sub and environment

Adam from Lynnwood, WA on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you need this, you'll love it. Will it fix everything? No. A sub causes rapid vibrations and sonic frequencies that at higher volume makes things vibrate. But it will reduce the vibration and unintended noises caused by those vibrations transferring to floors. When my sub is really loud, there are still vibrations felt, but they feel softer and less hard on the floors. Especially if using a sub facing down, which causes the harshest vibrations. But I'm also talking about when you are pushing a sub at a pretty decent dB rating for the room (rememeber watts don't equal volume). Unintended benefit was by moving my sub a little (to a position I previously did not like due to the muddying of sound), it sounds really clean. Sure, I lost some volume by not having the floor react to the sub, but it now sounds like clean bass. Just remember some of the bass perceived volume is not just coming from the driver.

Pros: Cleaner sound from the sub Less vibrations overall, noticeably Looks really nice

Cons: Pricey depending on your setup Doesn't remove all vibrations (that was expected)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works well

Steve from Concord, NH on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works verywell, no more rattling of glass bass sounds much better .

Pros: Does as advertised and more

Cons: A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Punit from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well made product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent!

NeoTheOne from Elk Grove, CA on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this for my Klipsch R110SW sub and all I have to say is WOW! The SubDude drastically reduced my windows, blinds, pictures on the wall and shelves from rattling. Because of this the bass sounds a lot clearer. It worked so well in the house I decided to try it in my car for my 12" woofer, man it cleared about 90% of all the rattles in the car, I love this thing!

Pros: Reduces vibrations and is constructed well.

Cons: I think it is a bit too pricey.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tightened bass

Lou from Deptford, NJ on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely tightened the bass. I'm enjoying this product.

Pros: Product does what it claims.

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Destrehan, LA on 5/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Removes the annoying vibrations. Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SubDude Works!

Jerry from Whitmore Lake, MI on 5/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This platform made an immediate difference; took the floor and walls out of the mix and the sub (ELAC S10) produced the tight clean bass it was capable of.

Pros: Simple solution that worked as intended.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Argyle, TX on 4/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and looks great for my 10 inch sub woofer

Pros:

Cons: Not big enough for my klipsch SW12R

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Newville, PA on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I immediately heard an improvement in sound quality and a reduction in window vibration. The speaker is behind a chair in a corner with windows directly above it on both walls. The windows still rattle, but it takes more volume than we typically listen at. A big improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth Every Penny

Thomas from Dallas, TX on 2/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These SubDude-IIs work as advertised. My home's A/V setup is in a room with hardwood floors and wood paneled walls, floor to ceiling. Great acoustics, but the vibration issues associate with the 7.2 system's subwoofers were severe even at ordinary volume levels. As promised, these bad boys disengaged the subs from the floor and the improvement in overall sound clarity and quality is, simply stated, phenomenal. Call it addition by subtraction if you want, but with the vibration and attendant audio roar associated with it eliminated the audio image now is crystal clear throughout the audible spectrum. Worth every penny.

Pros: They perform as exactly as advertised. Easy to set up (all you have to do is put them under the SWs and center them).

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Thomas from Tallahassee, FL on 2/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Windows stopped making rattling noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Most effective acoustical treatment

Ed from Cynthiana, KY on 12/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I built a home theater, or some would call it a media room because I don't have a projection television, about a year ago. It's not a large room at 12' by 16' by 8' ceiling and has engineered hardwood flooring. I have 2 each 12" powered subwoofers which some would call an overkill; personally I subscribe to the theory that there is no such thing as overkill. Obviously low frequency management was an issue. The hardwood floor became the first and closest reflection point in the room. I have learned the hard (and expensive) way that there are a lot of "snake oil" acoustical treatments on the market including "acoustical paint"! The SubDude-II made an instant and audible difference. I would rate these as the best acoustical treatment I've bought, they don't reduce the bass, just makes the bass cleaner by helping control the low frequency reflections. My test was some jazz music with an upright bass, you can hear the musician's fingers sliding up and down the strings and still get rich deep bass you would expect.. If you happen to have a down-firing subwoofer I believe these will be even more effective.

Pros: Reasonable price, work as advertised, not visually unpleasant

Cons: None I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II subwoofer isolation platform

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 10/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's pretty simple, really. It's a piece of 3/4" MDF wrapped in felt with a piece of foam glued to the bottom. Seriously, that's exactly what it is. Should it be at this price? No. It didn't make a huge difference to my ear in terms of sound quality with my REL T7i sub. I did notice a slight decrease in output level, actually, but that was easily rectified by turning up the sub a bit. I really only got it because my old house has very flexy floors where the sub sits and when playing very deep bass at high levels, the sub would start coupling with the floor and jump up and down and scoot around the floor. This solved that problem completely, so it gets a passing grade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Houston, Texas on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product it was definitely worth it. The sound is much better

Pros: Got the sub off the floor, great rumble!

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Michael from Hilo, HI on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as no matter the placement of a custom 13 year old 100 pound plus sub did not yield the bass I thought I should be hearing. After placement of the SubDude-2 I couldn't believe the difference. What I thought was decent bass, was in fact muddied bass tones, compared to the clean hard hitting bass I am now hearing. I am not an audiophile, but I know what I like. Mikey LIKE !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Improve your sub bass with little cost. No downside!

Michael from Annapolis, MD on 7/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one of the cheapest upgrades to any system with a subwoofer. Big improvement with very low cost. These really help remove unwanted sub bloat, room noise, and improves sub bass focus. Highly recommended (by me and Stereophile magazine!).

Pros: Easy improvement. Low cost. Removes unwanted bloated lower Octaves.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 5/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product performed far better than I expected. It corrected my bass muffling problem. I was going to desing and build a pad myself but I am sure that this is much more functional. A great product at a reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SubDude-II

Kenneth from Wilkesboro, NC on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great idea. Could tell the difference right away!!! Love it.

Pros: Looks goods and the sound is awesome.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Terry from Kingston, New York on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied. Exactly as advertised.

Pros: Excellent.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great add on!

Jeffrey from Alexandria, LA on 4/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product. Cleaned up my bass response, much more refined and accurate bass. It also eliminated the "wall shaking" that was driving the Misses crazy. Highly recommend if you have a quality sub!

Pros: Accurate bass response. Nice looking under sub. Best for hard (non-carpet) floors

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Does the trick

Jeff from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this with a JL Audio e110 sub which fits on it just fine. It was bought primarily to get the sub off of a relatively thick carpet as it tended to sink into the carpet somewhat. The SubDude does provide a firm and stable platform for the sub and greatly reduces rattle from windows and objects in the room when the volume is cranked up. I can't say if it really provides better definition to the lower end of music as the sub sounded great to begin with but it does do what I purchased it for - very satisfied.

Pros: reduces room-rattle if you like your movies and music loud

Cons: some may think it's a bit expensive for a velour-covered board over a chunk of dense foam but it appears to be very well made

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Melrose, MA on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have super cube 6000's ....The platforms look like they were specifically designed for them. Keeps them off the floor just enough. Great product !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Ed from Berlin, MD on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised, well made simple fix, Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Auralex SubDude-II

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 2/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

No complaints

Alvin from San Jose, CA on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a very sturdy and rigid acoustic pad and I noticed a huge difference in my room acoustics right away. There was much less rumbling in my floor and windows, so that should help me hear the low frequencies more clearly in my music production.

Pros: Durable Absorbs low end rumbling

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Big help for cleaner bass

Jeff from Muncie, indiana on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the bass sound so much more clear and crisp.... without the rattle of the room!! Great product!!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cleans up the Bass

James from Bothell, WA on 12/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this item on a whim with a Crutchfield giftcard. Figured it wouldn't hurt, and might possibly clean up some unwanted resonance issues I have periodically when I have the volume up high. The Subdude fit perfectly under my Martin Logan Dynamo 1000 sub, and is made from decent materials (nice enough to not be an eyesore). I think it accomplishes it's mission of 'cleaning up' the bass from your sub, and I do think it tightened up the bass a bit (particularly the real low-end frequencies). Your results may vary of course. I think its a lot of money for what you get, but it works as promised (to varying degrees). Not a bad product at all.

Pros: Tightens up low end Looks do not detract from your room Fits nicely under my sub

Cons: Slightly expensive for what you get

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Seems to do the trick

Scott from Santa Monica, CA on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered two of these for the subs in my living room. I wanted the impact that my subs put out without rattling the entire building. I'm in a townhouse, so I'm always looking for ways to keep the peace with my neighbors. These certainly seem to have helped, so I ordered two more for upstairs. I still have the punch and the power, but decoupling the source from the structure sure seems to have dropped the waves from rumbling the building. Totally worth it.

Pros: Inexpensive method to keep the peace and still enjoy powerful sound.

Cons: None to speak of.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great isolation platform!

Aaron from Seattle, WA on 8/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great isolation platform! Allowed me to install the sub inside my media cabinet without any additional noise or rattling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great for protecting your sub from robot vacuums

Buford from CA on 7/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My main reason for buying it is to protect my sub's finish from scuffs caused by my Roomba. It served this purpose well. Any audible benefits are gravy.

Pros: Protects sub from robot vacuums, is easy to use, looks fine

Cons: It would look better if the foam bottom had a cover. I'm afraid my Roomba's brushes might wear away some of the foam over time, so I had to attach plastic buffers around the edges. Also, it's a little pricey for what you get.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 9 found this helpful

TOP