Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
607 730 772 3
Connect ID #
607 730 772 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Fortin EVO-ONE-SUB1

Digital high-current remote start system for select 2012-up Subaru vehicles

MFR # EVO-ONE-SUB1

Fortin EVO-ONE-SUB1

Fortin EVO-ONE-SUB1

Digital high-current remote start system for select 2012-up Subaru vehicles

MFR # EVO-ONE-SUB1

8 reviews
View this product

Be sure Dcryptor procedure completes, to avoid problems

Frank from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/2/2020

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The vehicle specific instructions downloaded from the Fortin website were very clear, regarding the wiring. The firmware version and option setting information seemed to be irrelevant. The photos included with the instructions were very helpful. Less helpful were the Direct Wire chart, online Wire Color information, as well as the firmware version and option info, which added to my confusion when problems arose. Prior to installing, several updates need to be addressed. To begin, you need to download, from Fortin, the Flashlink Manager software, along with two User Guides, Flasklink Updater and Flashlink Manager 4. You need to update the firmware on both the Flashlink Updater and the Evo One module, which is pretty straightforward when following the How To section of the Flashlink Manager 4 User Guide. Vehicle specific required options and firmware were set automatically during this procedure. Wiring went rather well. Final programming using the Dcryptor wouldn't work, perpetual clocking of software. I was attempting this on a Sunday, twice. My theory is that Fortin shuts down their servers on Sunday. I tried installing and using the remote starter without completing this process. The car started and stalled, flashed out a trouble code (via parking lights) indicating no tach signal. After several frustrating hours of chasing a problem that didn't exist, I decided to retry the Dcryptor procedure on Monday. The procedure worked perfectly, the remote starter now work

Pros: Pretty clear vehicle specific instructions Uses original vehicle remote to operate Monitors several items (brake, tach, parking brake, etc.) using data from vehicle computer, meaning less wires to hook up.

Cons: Direct Wire chart and Wire Color information not needed, vehicle specific instructions provided all necessary wiring and photos. Fortin tech support not available on Sunday.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thanks Crutchfield!

Crutchfield customer from Old Bridge, NJ on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once installed I love the product. Was a difficult install due to access to wiring and finding the correct wiring sockets. There is no way I could have installed it without the great Tech Support at Crutchfield who provided wiring diagrams and pictures illustrating where and what wires to tap into...and staff was super friendly.

Pros: Works great with additional features such as alarm and valet mode and I love that I can use/program my current key.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressed with this Fortin Remote Start

Chris from Bridgeview, IL on 8/25/2019

2019 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this Fortin remote start system in my 2019 Subaru Crosstrek. This review is primarily covering the initial impression and the installation process. It's only been installed a few days and so far it's working perfectly but I can't give a long term review of the performance just yet. My initial thoughts when I opened the box was, wow the module itself is small, definitely smaller then some of the units from 5 or 6 years ago especially considering this unit is a remote start, bypass module in one and the starter relays are contained within the module itself. This unit is small enough to fit in the palm of my hand, which makes it very easy to locate it in the under dash for installation purposes. The T-Harness this unit comes with is a great feature. Some of the negative reviews come from the T-Harness, just be aware that the T Harness only covers the starter wires. It'll save you time and having to splice the starter wires in the steering column but it does not make the unit a total plug and play install. Aside from the T-Harness there are about 7 additional wires you will have to splice in to in the Crosstrek wiring. The install instructions and wiring guides that Fortin provides are great. You get detailed explanation and location info and description of the wires you need to tap in to, including photos that are vehicle specific. As usual, Crutchfield was great, fast shipping and great customer service. Fortin also provides great customer service inf

Pros: Easy to install Works with factory key fob/remote T-Harness included Feature Rich You are provided with just about all the info you will need to install backed by good customer support by Crutchfield and Fortin

Cons: Programming and configuration instructions are somewhat confusing Requires purchase of firmware flashing unit

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great, installation is a challenege

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 7/27/2019

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works great for my 2015 key start Subaru Forester. The installation directions are a little vague however, the material provided is quite accurate. The Fortin technical support is excellent however, they are only open m-f until 6 pm.

Pros: Works great, highly configurable

Cons: Installation instructions vague in key areas

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wife didn't know how nice it would be.

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it is very nice wife likes it. Jumping in a warm car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does Not Work For Subaru Forester !!!

James from Portland, ME on 2/15/2018

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Despite what Crutchfield's listing says, Fortin, the manufacturer, today directly confirmed that the EVO-ONE-SUB1 does not work out of the box for a 2015 Subaru Forester. I had purchased an installation card and was thus saved much of the headache experienced by the two other reviewers here, who also tried to install the EVO-ONE on their own without success. My installer, who's been in the remote starter installation business for 12 years and installs many EVO-ONE units in other types of cars, spoke with Fortin directly and told me that they absolutely confirmed the EVO-ONE requires an additional RF unit to work in the 2015 Forester. This information was in direct contrast to what a Crutchfield advisor told me over the phone when I was shopping for the unit. Both the Crutchfield site and advisor told me that the EVO-ONE would work with the original Subaru key fob (three unlock clicks), which was the reason I chose the EVO-ONE over other remote start products that required a separate fob. So, if you own a late model Subaru and want a Fortin remote system, you'll have to spring another $100+ for the RF kit. That's what I ended up doing, since our Subaru dash was already open and I had purchased the rest of the equipment anyway. But still a major downer after being promised something else entirely. BOTTOM LINE: NO GO FOR LATE MODEL SUBARU.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/26/2018
We're sorry for the trouble, James. According to notes associated with James's order on the day of his purchase, it does appear that one our 12-volt specialists, Lee, informed this customer of the need for the RF remote if James's Subaru was not made in Canada. One of our Customer Support advisors, Sabra, also helped James in setting up a refund for a part he ended up not needing for his installation.

7 of 8 found this helpful

One solid NOPE!

Goran from Arvada, CO on 1/3/2018

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start this review by stating that this was far from my first rodeo with wiring, splicing, firmware programming, or vehicle electrical work. I have 15 years of experience of servicing complex electronic equipment, so when I read the testimonies of those who were having trouble I assumed those were just folks who got in over their head by trying to save a few $ on the installation. Certainly, an "expert" like me would be fine and in and out in 1h max, right ;)? Well, in one word - wrong. This unit is made to fit in all vehicles. From what I have seen, the only thing that makes it Subaru specific is the cable and the harness that connects it to the ignition, and the schematic you get showing you where to find the wires you need to connect to. The brain is the same and what makes it work with your vehicle is the programming that you download from their server. You specify the model/make/year and, boom - there it is. Except, not really. You end up with a confusing list of options, most of which seem like they have nothing to do with your car, but somehow play the role in the configuration. I started my day by not being able to remote start, and ended by not being able to shut it off with the key once it remote started. Long story short, I fought this unit for one whole day, placed 3 calls to Crutchfield tech support, browsed the Fortin troubleshooting tool and user forums, and realized that this is just too unpredictable of a device for me to put in charge of my car's ignition.

Pros: Cool idea

Cons: 1. Complicated configuration process that is not at all well documented 2. Unpredictable device with unpredictable firmware. It seems like it is expected of you to install different versions until you luck out on the one that works. 3. I had it not working, then I had it working, then I had it not working for no apparent reason at all (yes, my wiring was solid). If would give errors specific to the manual transmission even though it was installed and configured for the auto...

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Good product, great service.

Michael from Lockport, IL on 12/12/2017

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the EVO-One to install in a Subaru. The install went exactly as expected with the wiring diagrams and the pictures I studied online. No issues there. The problem started with the door locks. When remote started, the aftermarket RF remote wouldn't unlock the doors. Talked to Crutchfield and they said it may just work like that. Spoke with the company and they said to hook the door lock analog wires up. I did that and it finally started working as expected. The other issue I had is the parking lights would always be on, as soon as I put the keys in. Fortin said that the unit may be damaged as the relay was not working properly. Called Crutchfield up and they exchanged the unit without any hassles. While I had a couple of issues with the unit, I would say that working with Crutchfield has been a fabulous experience. Always available whenever I called, and was able to exchange the unit when I confirmed there was a problem with it. If it wasn't for this great customer service from Crutchfield, I would leave a 1 star. But because of it, I'm leaving 5.

Pros: Works as expected once everything was sorted out.

Cons: Had to spend a number of hours diagnosing a problem on a unit that was having issues.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

TOP