Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
607 730 772 3
Connect ID #
607 730 772 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Fortin EVO-ONE

Digital high-current remote start system

MFR # EVO-ONE

Fortin EVO-ONE

Fortin EVO-ONE

Digital high-current remote start system

MFR # EVO-ONE

20 reviews
View this product

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving it a 4 star rating instead of 5 because it was pretty time consuming and complicated to get it programmed for my specific vehicle and options but crutchfields tech support rocks and helped me get it setup properly. I love the unit because it allowed me to use my OEM fob. It's nice getting into a cooled down vehicle after a hard day at work in Florida.

Pros: Uses OEM fob

Cons: Kinda difficult to get setup

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2019 Subaru Legacy remote start

Crutchfield customer from Schuykl Havn, PA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it says. I only gave it 4 stars because they don't have a t-harness for my 2019 legacy. So I spliced/ soldered a lot under my dash. Also the flash link programming isn't intuitive and can be a little frustrating. Especially after spending the morning under the dashboard with a solder iron. Customer support is fantastic with Fortin and Crutchfield. Seriously the best ever.

Pros: Every thing arrived quickly packaged in peanuts that disappear in water "whaaaat"! Great customer support and I'm very needy.

Cons: Lacks plug and play with my model car. expect to do some soldering if a t-harness is not available.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fortin EVO-ONE

Guest from Verona, VA on 11/11/2018

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good job ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Simple to install and use remote starter

Louis from Riverside, CA on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This remote starter unit is great and easy to install as long as they make a T-harness for your vehicle. The T-Harness for my 2018 Civic Push-to-start is very new and I had to buy one, but it only took a few minutes to get the wiring done. The only thing I don't like about this unit is that there isn't a secure takeover method, meaning the car turns off as soon as a door is opened. This is an inconvenience, but it isn't Fortin's fault really, it is a quirk of remote starting a car with a Push-to-start ignition. And the fact that I can remote start a standard transmission vehicle makes up for the inconvenience.

Pros: T-Harness made the installation a breeze Can be used with OEM key FOB Lots of settings can be adjusted Can be installed even if car has an aftermarket alarm and engine kill switch

Cons: No secure takeover process for Push-to-start Honda Civic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Careful

Mark from Phoenix, AZ on 6/29/2018

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, but much more complicated to install than suggested. I'm not a professional installer, but I am an EE and have done my fair share of auto electronics work/installs. Fortin website has a ton of technical detail, but it is all intended for the professional installer and leaves out key details. For example, the basic installation diagram indicates only a few connections, but fails to mention that to enable the door to lock and unlock, you must also make connections NOT indicated in the documentation. Also to enable the alarm (also not indicated in the harness install guide) you must make connections to the door wiring. This makes sense, but after speaking with the surly Fortin customer service, they mentioned nonchalantly that you must also purchase and install diodes on each door line, then wire outputs together to Pin A15....and there's no documentation for that....really! The Crutchfield technical team is as always excellent.

Pros: Great functionality

Cons: Be prepared to study hard and make some calls

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Frustrating to no End! Toyota 2014 4Runner

Jeff from Denver, CO on 1/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess I'm in the minority here. To me, this product, along with the instructions, and dumb flash updater were horrific. I consider myself a handy guy, and set up all the wiring without incident, but then having to use the flash updater with a myriad of options (none of which are explained in any instructions, online or included) proved too much for me. Then I'm told for a late model 4Runner that the existing fab won't work (despite all the reviews to the contrary I read online). I then bit the bullet and went with the Fortin RF remote kit and still nothing. I followed the programming instructions to a tee. I'm done taking the CPU out and then re-programming and re-checking options. The Fortin app is terrible where you have to unplug the unit, or shut it down, to toggle between bypass and remote. Crutchfield was great and they were as helpful as can be on the phone. But beware of Fortin -- I'll never touch a product produced by them. Terrible!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Fortin EVO-ONE

Guest from Shenandoah, VA on 1/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I love it. I was aable to start my car from the second floor at school.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sold me a used starter with cut up wiring

Christian from Jackson, MI on 1/9/2018

2011 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked great , however Crutchfield sold me a used one with cut up wiring . Had to extend nearly every wire . Pretty disappointed with that but the unit does work as advertised.

Pros: Works great , always loved Fortin products

Cons: Crutchfield sold me a used product that had every wire cut up .

Crutchfield response on 1/15/2018
Our Customer Support team reached out to Christian for a follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

2014 Ford Escape Self-Install - No push to start

Taylor from Midlothian, VA on 12/25/2017

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

(2014 Ford Escape) (Attempt to self install, normal key, not push to start) Crutchfield team is amazing! They will walk you through the whole process. They have resources outside of Fortin wiring diagrams, that shows a lot more detail. They were really helpful and what wires to tap into. I had wires that had two of the same wire colors. I called them up and they could tell what was the correct one based off the gauge wire. Cars now a days have so many computers and wiring. Its not the dozen wires, from back in the 70's, that made a automobile work, anymore. I did have one down fall with this project, and I do think it was my fault. During, the process of programing the Fortin systems with the 2 keys, I managed to erase the security codes on my keys. I went to start the car with the key and the menu on the dash kept saying "No Key Detected", the ignition would turn on, but would not start. $$$ dollars later, a call to a locksmith, and his $7,000 computer, the keys were re-programmed. I have decided I am going to let Crutchfield finish the project. It was not fun forking up those bucks to have these keys re-programed. To be honest I am scared to touch it anymore. I will let the 12V pros do the rest. I should have paid Crutchfield to install the system. Trust me, its worth it! I will have well over $750 bucks into the Fortin install before it is all done and working. I guess you live and learn! I have promised myself I will never touch a remote start again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fortin EVO-ONE

Aleksey from Reisterstown, MD on 10/16/2017

2014 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice remote car start , bypass module , alarm system Thanks to Fortin Evo-One

Pros: Very easy to install Didn't call Crutchfield support, but believe it's fantastic and competent

Cons: You have to read the instructions carefully and completely for all components you purchase

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great remote start system

Tony from Philadelphia, PA on 1/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Now that I got everything sorted out, this remote start works awesome. Installation in the end was very easy but the instructions were very confusing for me at first. The vehicle specific instructions only showed 6 wires being required for my car and there was no mention of what information was pulled off of the CAN network versus needing to be hard wired. It wasn't clear from the instructions as to whether or not I needed to connect some of the generic inputs (such as the hand brake signal). In the end, I only needed to connect the wires shown on the vehicle specific wiring diagram so it was very easy. Programming the unit was also a little confusing to me. The unit needs to be programmed with the Flash Link updater that you buy separately. The unit gets programmed PRIOR to connecting any other wires to it (this part wasn't completely clear in the instructions, I'm used to other electronics where you need to power the system prior to being able to program, such as engine management computers). There were two other things that tripped me up with programming as well. First is the driver is not digitally signed so I had to disable digital signatures in my windows machine just to be able to connect. The second is switching between "special unit" and standard unit gives different options. There was no documentation as to which menu I should have been in. I ended up doing some stuff in each. Overall, I'm happy now. 3 clicks on the lock button an

Pros: Easy 6 wire install Uses OEM remote for start Works with manual transmissions Crutchfield Support is awesome

Cons: Documentation is confusing Programming unit requires digital signatures to be disabled

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fortin EVO-ONE

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, IL on 1/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice system and easy to install. Customer support was fantastic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fortin EVO-ONE

Crutchfield customer from Roscoe, SD on 12/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Installed myself, hardest part was trying to locate some of the wires in the vehicle. Great tech support! These people know what they are talking about and if not, they will find out and ACTUALLY call you back!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Fortin Evo-One

Coddie from Lake Worth, FL on 10/3/2016

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, not overly complicated, and we installed it by ourselves.

Pros: Very simple to use.

Cons: Some of the parts and pieces came separately, which added to the cost.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fortin EVO-ONE

Crutchfield customer from Nevada on 9/23/2016

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're in the market for an add-on remotell starter to your OEM alarm... this is the best option... loaded with features and options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

First time with Fortin

charles from Richmond, Indiana on 2/24/2016

2007 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a week of installation (Crutchfield and their Technicians were absolutely fabulous). Had a few technical glitches but I wasn't in a hurry and certainly glad I went with Crutchfield, I will be a dedicated customer and advocate for their products and technical support services. The system, once it was up and running, was far greater than my expectations. I can start my Honda 300 hundred feet back, thru a 12" concrete wall and another 30' of office area. The best part is I don't have to go to the front Windows in the office to see if it's running by looking for the exhaust, the two way signal on the remote and antenna tell me that it has started. I have installed remote starters in my vehicles for the past 20 years and this system is by far superior. Think about it, a 2100' range with confirmation is peace of mind that I didn't know existed until I was talking to Crutchfield support and they told me what they had available. So glad I went with Fortin and Crutchfield because I was not disappointed even with a small glitch it was well worth it.

Pros: Range, confirmation, installation (I only had to tap into 4 wires), and more than anything the technical support I got from Crutchfield.

Cons: Fortin has a few install steps that were a bit confusing but with the help of Crutchfield it really was pretty easy.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Fortin EVO-ONE on 2016 Forester 6 speed manual

Justin T. Dix from kearney, NE on 2/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although the installation was labor intensive to do a professional job, the functionality is excellent. Programming features from the lap top is easy and flawless. I have yet to find the limit to the range of this unit with the two way remote option. From the back parking lot of a large store to the opposite end of the store the car will still start and give me the green light feedback on the remote indicating that it is running. The security bypass theory and operation is perfect with no additional hardware required. This unit will also allow remote starting with the factory remote which I tested as well and it works as described. Total install took me about 6 hours because of detailed wire extending and splicing in confined spaces. All wires were soldered and heat shrink sealed for OEM apperance. Two of the six hours of time were attributed to me learning the software and setup of the EVO-ONE. If you are installing on a 2016 Subaru and need a hand, feel free to give me a call: Justin T. Dix 336-514-2724

Pros: Great Functionality. Does what it says it will do

Cons: Two way remote system is expensive compared to the EVO-OONE system price

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Evo-one

Roger from Virginia on 1/8/2016

2001 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product works great

Pros: Works great

Cons: After talking to 7 different people at fortin technical assistance and 3 days later got the unit working.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works great

T.J. from Illinois on 1/5/2016

2013 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my wife's 2013 Honda Pilot. I received a call from Crutchfield letting my know I had to upgrade to the separate key FOBs because my wife's key FOBs wouldn't work. Installation was confusing at first. The diagram that it comes with shows how to hook it up for just the remote starter, but it also has you to go to a website for for more wiring info and pictures. The site made it confusing because it shows you wiring for hooking up the remote start, alarm and stuff. But, 3 calls to Crutchfield Tech Support (5 Star support) and my car was hooked up and ready. After the Evo One passed it's "self" check, I went to synchronize the new key FOBs, but one of the steps states the parking lights will come on and the horn will sound. This part never happened. It was after hours for Crutchfield and Fortin is not open on Sundays. The first tech at Fortin told me because I only hooked up the remote start, lights and horn wouldn't work, but I'd see a red LED (which I did). Remotes still wouldn't sync, so a 2nd call and this tech was a tad rude and told me a totally different way for programming the remotes...which didn't work. On my 3rd call, I got a tech who took the time to work with me and stay on the phone during programming. Come to find out, I hooked the antenna wire into the wrong spot. As soon as I fixed that, he told me the original way to program the remotes. They sync'd right away without anymore issues. They work great.

Pros: Installation is actually easy, once you realize what you actually need to hookup and not hookup. Crutchfield Tech Support is definitely 5 star support. All three techs I spoke with took the time to work out my issues (and fears...since it's been over 20 years since I last played with a car's electrical system). Never once did I feel "rushed". Wiring site had great pictures with locations for each wire to tap into.

Cons: Directions for syncing the new key FOBs was missing. Crutchfield Tech Support emailed them to me. Need separate directions explaining the key FOB syncing procedure when you don't have the lights and horn hooked up explaining you'll see a red LED flash on the EVO One when it's ready to sync with the FOBs. Need better explanation on actual wire hookup...these wires are for remote start only, these wires if you're hooking up the alarm.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Fortin Remote Starter

cmiller from Connecticut on 12/27/2015

2013 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the unit with a Toyota T harness. The install was really easy. Had to work splice / cut about 8 wires. What amazed me was one of the wires on the 20 pin connector needed to be connected to the pink wire on the new T harness which meant I had to splice into a new cable. I assume that is true on other T harnesses and I would think they should have made a provision for it. The install time was about 3.5 hrs (it was my first one) and it was more taking time to be cosmetic with the wiring than being difficult.

Pros: Easy install and programming. Their support and Crutchfields is outstanding

Cons: One sticking point for me was the Function 2 Mode 4 for the Toyota. The document for that came with the unit said to select mode 4 was to hit the start key which I was doing inside the car. Had I stood outside before hitting the key I would have noticed the lights blinked twice not four times so the mode was not correct. The car would crank but now start. After calling Crutchfield support their document showed holding the Aux for 3 sec was to select mode 4 which the lights blinking confirmed.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP