Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi® System (RBK50)

Tri-band Wi-Fi 5 router with satellite signal booster

MFR # RBK50-100NAS

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi® System (RBK50)

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi® System (RBK50)

Tri-band Wi-Fi 5 router with satellite signal booster

MFR # RBK50-100NAS

65 reviews
View this product

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I actually have wifi throughout my house! First time ever. Super easy to set up. I bought a scratch and dent and saved $100. I was a little nervous but just had to reset it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works like charm

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performance of this mesh network is excellent. I have a 1,400 Sq. Foot house and I get the same upload/download performance everywhere in the house. With my single station router, the upstairs rooms were maybe 70% of the room that held the router. These units also look great, more like a modern lamp than anything else. Only one quibble, the different color lights to signal different stages of satellite connection... just didn't happen. Just a blinking white light... then no light at all. But the app shows the satellite is connected and my speed tests confirm the satellite is working fine. Would buy again. Will recommend to others.

Pros: Delivers wide range Fairly easy set up App is useful and informative Nice to look at

Cons: Minor - set up lights did not work as described... but units function as advertised

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Orbi = better wifi coverage

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We had some areas in our house where wifi strength wasn't great. Orbi has solved that issue. Installation was really easy - we were up and running in no time at all. Great advice from Crutchfield to get Orbi. Thoroughly recommend them and this Orbi system if you'd like better wifi throughout your house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Glasgow, KY on 7/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, I set it up with the master in the living room at one end of the house, the satellite in the center and hard wired my old Nighthawk X6 in the garage configured as an AP. Used the app to set everything up and Bingo! I have excellent WiFi everywhere I need it. Be patient setting it up, when the app says "it may take awhile" it probably will take longer than you think the first time. One of the smoothest, least troublesome setups I have done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works Great

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works amazingly well with whole house coverage as well as some outdoors. Crutchfield was incredibly helpful when I had problems setting it up with FIOS. They always have the best customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy setup. Great coverage

Crutchfield customer from Boxborough, MA on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Clear directions. Covers my entire house with 1 satellite.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and working great so far! Highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Worked very well until...

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 7/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked well for about 2 years. Then after what I presume to be an automatic firmware update, all my mobile devices (Android and Apple) smartphones and tablets started having severe battery drain while idle, in the magnitude of up to 40% drain when the device is idle overnight - used to only be 3-5% idle drain. I now have all my mobile devices connected to my older Nighthawk router to avoid the device drain. Rating would have been 5 stars had it not been for this issue I started experiencing in Feb of this year now that the product is out of warranty. Also, if there is a power outage, it take multiple reboots of the router for all my 20+ IoT devices to reconnect. Seems like the firmware release test quality has severely degraded rendering what used to be an awesome product now inferior to other less expensive routers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

As Advertised!

Alan from Fort Thomas, KY on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had an Airport Extreme with two Airport Expresses, but still had some weak signal spots. We have a four-level home built in the 1920s, with a large addition added on 15 years ago. Bought the NETGEAR Orbi (base and one satellite) to see if it would eliminate our Wi-Fi coverage issues. It did! Set up was easy. Had an issue with the fiber optics cable box, but got that figured out with a little help from Crutchfield. Very pleased with the Orbi!

Pros: Provides strong and consistent Wi-Fi coverage even in a large old home with plaster and brick walls. Easy set to set up.

Cons: Instructions were not clear on how to deal with a fiber optics cable box that wouldn't connect at first. But the issue could have been more due to the nature of our cable equipment.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took an anemic WIFI system with dead spots into a system with complete fast coverage. Everything it was touted to be. Real easy set up was an added feature that I loved.

Pros: No dead spots, fast up and down MPS

Cons: Maybe I'll find one as it ages, but nothing now

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Steve from Cleveland, OH on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be working OK with very good coverage throughout our home and surrounding outside areas. There was lot of trial and error during setup but eventually everything start to fall into place. Still having some issues with my Desk PC / iPhone sync software (contacts, calendar, notes files). Trying to find out ways to resolve these problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

George from Rochester, NY on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a huge improvement over our existing system (Apple Airport Extreme hardwired to 2 Expresses). We have much better coverage and throughput for a big and old house (thick walls). The set up was relatively easy. We bought an open stock system that had not been reset and required some customer service interaction to figure out. They were great and offered a modest rebate for the inconvenience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy wifi

Ted from Los Angeles, CA on 10/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was very easy to set up and has great coverage in my 3000sqft house. I have been using Apple Airports for a long time and they were always a pain to set up and didn't have the coverage of Orbi.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Rob from Darien, CT on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great. I have older home and WiFi was pathetic or impossible upstairs. Now it reaches everywhere and is fast. Best money I've spent in months. Easy to set up also

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great WiFi solution at very reasonable cost

Dewayne from Oklahoma City, OK on 9/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazed by this product. Replaced a faithful, working Apple Airport Extreme which was failing to reach several areas after moving to a new home. The ORBI was easy to unpack (extremely well packaged), easy to install (you have to be a little patient during a couple of stages), and now we are getting our high speed internet in every room and on the patio just fine (speed increased by factor of 4-6x in several areas. The satellite synced to the router when placed in a central location per setup guide. The web-based admin procedures are easy to use and it was simple to give a new name and password to the network. The installation and checking of all areas took about 30 minutes. This product saved me a bundle, as one estimate I got from a local specialty shop for equipment was $1500 plus installation charges which no doubt would have been several hundred dollars. Thanks Crutchfield for the good advice and answering all my questions before purchase.

Pros: Elegant system, easy installation, works as advertised, high speeds in every location

Cons: Better to use laptop for install than mobile app in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent performance and easy setup

Crutchfield customer from Egg Hbr Twp, NJ on 9/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this. Full bars in all our room now (3000sqft house) and outside. Had one bar at best in many rooms previously with an older Apple router. The setup was very easy, and seamlessly connects on the same Wi-Fi name, unlike a desperate extender setup. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Barry from DuPont WA on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good! It is fast!

Pros: Very fast

Cons: Little confusing to get it started!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful mesh system

Mark from New Orleans, LA on 6/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2800 sqf house is over a hundred years old and my old router had difficulty covering all areas. The ORBI RBK50 system provided good coverage of my house with no dead spots. It not only provided excellent signal to non-adjacent TV/audio rooms it was able to cover a front porch and backyard with relative ease. In addition, it was very easy to set up and to get running (less than 15 minutes). I would highly recommend this product.

Pros: great coverage simple installation good web based interface and mobile app

Cons: somewhat expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 2/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the functionality of this product. I now get great wifi reception in my basement and bedroom, which was the goal of ordering these. They do not come with much in the way of instructions, so there was some trial and error issues with setup. We had to use the website to set up the system completely rather than the app - the instructions seemed to indicate either could be used. Now that everything is set up, I couldn't be more pleased!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

carlos from Miramar, FL on 1/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is exactly what i needed for my condo! My bedrooms , dining room and studio are covered by cement walls .. and the positioning of the satellites linked perfectly( i bought and extra satellite) Downloaded the app , easy for me to set up

Pros: I don't lose any of my original speed

Cons: I've had to turn the router on and off a couple of times

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Dan from Asheville, NC on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. I have a 4,000 sqft timber frame house with three levels. My ISP provided modem/router delivered adequate service via ethernet and WiFi close to the service entry point. WiFi past the 1st floor was almost impossible. I tried range extenders with little improvement (not enough to stream videos). I read about the ORBI and talked with Crutchfield advisor (Zack) and after a long discussion I ordered the AC3000 ORBI. The initial setup was not as easy as advertised. Netgear support was very hard to engage (website keeps pointing you to community forums), frustrated I called Crutchfield tech support (Daniel) and explained the problem. Tech support suggested a workaround that immediately solved the setup issue. Once set up, my whole house WiFi is excellent. I am able to pull WiFi throughout the whole house. Am streaming videos in the lowest level with no buffering. I would highly recommend the ORBI and most definitely Crutchfield for both pre-sales advice and post purchase technical support.

Pros: High quality, excellent coverage and ease of use.

Cons: Pricey, NetGear technical support---hard to engage.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Allen from Dallas, TX on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The NetGear Orbi AC3000 system simply does not work long-term. At first, it seems terrific. But it doesn't last. I bought my system in March 2017. It gave up the ghost before a year had passed. Crutchfield allowed me to return it for a replacement. The replacement stopped working within 90 days of its first use. So, the system comes in like a lion but then whimpers and dies. Crutchfield has offered me a gift certificate second time around...but what I really need is a reliable wifi system with wide coverage. I am probably going to try to get NetGear to give me my money back. When you look at the internet lots of folks are having the same problem with this product. There is an implied warranty that a system such as this (fairly expensive) should have a working life longer than 9 months.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good for us. Located the satellite in an adjacent steel building. would not sink up. Moved it next to a clear fiberglass panel in that building and it works great. Guess it doesn't like steel buildings.

Pros: Great range.

Cons: Wont work in steel building without windows.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great coverage!

Bill from Hacienda Hts, CA on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have a two story 2800 sq ft house. Had the Orbi up and running in about an hour. Great wi-fi coverage. Keep satellite at least 20 to 25 ft from router.

Pros: Easy to use app for setup.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Terrible

John from California on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have spent over five hours trying to get this router working. without any success. I just removed it and reinstalled old router so that I could start using the internet again.

Pros:

Cons: Simply doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Good Router

Barry from Hixson, TN on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The router arrived earlier than expected. I set it up in around 15-20 minutes and it has been working as expected.

Pros: Easy to set up, speed is good.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Eddie from NORTON, VA on 12/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome WI-FI coverage now! With my old router I would lose my signal if I went out to my front porch. Now I still have the strongest signal in my front and .back yard. My download speed wasn't increased any, but the Orbi makes my WI-FI signal much stronger and steady with no drop outs. Well worth the purchase price

Pros: Awesome WI-FI coverage!

Cons: None as far as I can tell.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solved Wi-fi Issues

Greg from MT on 11/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are very pleased with the Orbi AC3000 system. We get internet access in our 2-story, 3000-square foot home through Charter, and have used a Charter-provided router. We routinely experienced poor/weak signal at our devices and resulting slow loading of web pages and interruption of streaming movies and music. When I recently purchased an NAD integrated amplifier with BluOS and tried to stream lossless music files, I could rarely listen to a single song without interruption. We were looking for a router that would solve these problems. After carefully considering the options, we elected to go with the Orbi and we have not been disappointed. The installation and setup were very quick and easy, with clear directions and a very good website interface (contrary to some negative reviews of these aspects which were proven wrong in my experience). Once installed, the system has performed flawlessly. Our internet access now is fast, and I am able to stream movies and lossless music files without any interruptions. Another note: although we were able to find the Orbi at a lower price, we opted to purchase through Crutchfield because its customer support is so great. Anytime I have had issues with any purchase, Crutchfield has helped me through the issues and replaced items without question when appropriate. For our situation, the Orbi has been a great purchase.

Pros: Easy installation and set up, excellent performance.

Cons: None, really. Some reviewers comment on price, but in my opinion, the Orbi is well worth its price. To me, saving money is not worth the aggravation of poor wi-fi to feed the quality devices we have purchased and enjoy.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice well rounded set up

Charles from Greenville, SC on 10/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great WiFi coverage for the whole house and easy set up. Just enough flexibility in the UI to customize the setup to your preferences, or keep it simple and use the defaults for an easy install.

Pros: Powerful WiFi signal, simple set up if desired

Cons: UI seems a little date for more complex installs, but is reasonable enough to figure out.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Casey from Milliken, CO on 10/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The concept is good, but in our home the Orbi didn't work as well as one single modem/router. I'm not sure if that because on the single router I was able to utilize all three bands. The Orbi I was only able to use two of the three bands, because one band is dedicated to communicate between the main and satellites. I can say that I did have good support trying to set up for the best performance.

Pros: Easy to install, easy to use software, nice looking

Cons: Cost, didn't work well enough to justify cost

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Travis from Charlottesville, VA on 10/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My network is now so responsive and fast and I don't get any dropouts throughout the house. I should have invested in this sooner. I'm getting good coverage in the yard as well!

Pros: Speed. Great coverage throughout my home. I even get some good coverage in the back yard.

Cons: It would be nice to have a small indicator light to know it is working. It went out one day, turns out I my power strip must have stopped a small power surge and it was off. It took me a little time to realize what was actually going on because normal mode is the same as being off.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, WY on 10/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up in a two-story house. PC's, iPhones, iPads, Blackberries all connected with no problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Filled in wifi dead zones quite nicely

Ruppie from Seattle, WA on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Orbi is very simple to set up; instructions are very clear. The 'guest' wifi is also easy to enable. If you know how to map MAC addresses to the products you add to your wifi (tablets, computers, smart home devices, etc), you can give each MAC address (device) an easy to read name to keep track of what is connected to your network. The satellite Orbi solved all the 'downstairs' connectivity issues I was having in my 3 story home, and I have better signal/connectivity on my roof deck and in the back yard. While Orbi is a little more expensive than some other wifi mesh systems, so far it seems worth the cost. I did have to manually adjust my Sonos Boost to a different wifi channel, which further solved some bandwidth contention issues.

Pros: Easy to set up Advanced Features (Guest wifi, VPN, Port Forwarding, etc)

Cons: Pricey compared to other wifi mesh systems

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Peter M from Wyalusing Pa on 6/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not boost the original signal you have coming in, but increases the wifi everywhere. My house is 4200+sq. ft. and the original signal is everywhere. Its outside the house on the decks too. Live in the Mtns very wooded. Log home (thick walls).

Pros: Wifi is much better

Cons: Does not boost original signal (speed)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Davenport, IA on 6/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great! Finally have whole home Internet!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

kristin from Cumming, GA on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. 3 story house with good coverage. Would like some type of small outdoor adapter for a backyard in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Consistent connections & very quick speeds

Dez from New York, NY on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the Netgear Orbi for about a week now. Setup was quick and easy. Download the Orbi app, connect the router and the setup process is painless and simple, even when connecting the satellite Orbi in the other room which was my problem area. Not anymore. I have a consistent FULL strength signal throughout my large apartment. Great coverage. The router is installed in my home office and connected to my cable modem. The satellite is 3 rooms away in my Living Room, between thick walls in my apartment. Connections are seamless when I move around my home, as I have the router & satellite set to using the same exact SSID. My previous Linksys router had issues getting several devices to connect in the Living Room. They either connected with a low WiFi signal or don't connect at all, even with WiFi Extenders. I also would have to reboot the old router to get full bandwidth speeds from my ISP. Cumbersome. I have since disregarded my old equipment and am very happy with this purchase. As I stated before, connections are consistent and speeds are faster than ever before with the Orbi. Although pricey, I thoroughly recommend this kit. I wish it came in black color though and wished the USB port supported NAS drives/flash drives to share media in my network. As of now, the USB port is dormant. My only real negative feedback of this unit.

Pros: Simple setup Consistent connections Very fast speeds Satellite has generous 4 Ethernet ports

Cons: Pricey. Built in USB port does not support NAS. The port is basically useless at the moment. Also would prefer the Orbi to be black in color.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, KY on 5/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, I have the best network coverage in my home since I moved here. The connection with the cable company was in the worst location, in a corner of the basement with concrete on all sides. Now I have fast internet speed even on the second floor. Very glad to find this product. It does what it is advertised to do. I can recommend it to anyone considering upgrading for better connections in all areas of your home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Router

Steve from Goshen, IN on 4/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Comcast modem router it was made by a Arris, Comcast is giving me giving 25 MB per second. So I took a speed test thru out my house. And up to 40 ft away I could get 25 MB per second which is good but it fluctuated a lot, meaning that the needle on the speed test would go up to 25 MB then go down to 15 then back up. I checked it up to 70 foot away from the router modem and I was getting 21-22MB and also fluctuating a lot. These speed test was done first thing in the morning when nobody in the neighborhood was on there Internet. same locations in the evening sometimes I could only get 6 MB. So I chose the Orby after reviewing for about a month. I guess I would say it is well worth the money if you want Internet on all your devices with good speed. after installing the Orby I did a speed test, WOW every location was 29.5 or megabytes for better which is more than I'm paying for from Comcast. so much higher than I expected I checked it on the computer which is hardwired to my router and I am getting 29.8 to 29.9 through a cable hook up. I tested the Orbi at 9 o'clock at night when everybody in the neighborhood is usually on the computer. For devices all checked that high. I have a 2500 square-foot ranch with the router modem in the far corner and I put the satellite in the basement in the opposite corner I have a garage outback which is 75' away and could still get 15 to 20 meg out there. no problem set it up,just put my Comcast modem router into bridge mod

Pros: highest megabytes per second anywhere in my house and it's consistent it does not fluctuate. call net gear customer service three times before made a purchase asking questions this help so I knew what I was getting into our set up and they were very helpful and I didn't have to stay on the phone very long.

Cons: can't think of any cons

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great purchase

Joey from Sacramento, CA on 4/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted full coverage of my property and this absolutely delivers...simple set up...looks good...definitely worth buying...

Pros: Covers entire property and then some, simple set up and worth every penny

Cons: None it works as advertised

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Nicholas from Athens, OH on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pricey, but literally doubled the wi-if functionality throughout my three story home. Easy enough setup, would recommend to a tech illiterate, person, that is annoyed with buffering (like myself).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 4/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, great coverage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Coverage

Mike from Rock Island, IL on 4/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Setup can be a bit confusing.

Pros: Good coverage in my home 3000 sq. ft.

Cons: Setup

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Would not work

Don from Brookfield, CT on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could not get the product to work, very limited instructions and online information made matters worse. I got IP conflict messages that I saw on Blogs others had issues with but could not resolve. Crutchfield Technical Support was great but we could not solve the problem. They sent me out a new router to try thinking it was the Ethernet port but I guess now was not the issue. I think the software needs to be more sophisticated in identifying possible issues and resolutions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great coverage and streaming

Chris from Grimes, IA on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this product, I have Much better streaming and connection in general throughout my home. My connection point in in the corner of my basement and I put the satellite receiver on the main floor on the other side of my house about 3000sqft of great coverage.

Pros: Excellent coverage, streaming, and speed. Easy set up!

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Will not work with Amcrest security cameras

David from Magnolia, TX on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Orbi does deliver a great signal throughout the home but it is very expensive. Will not update firmware. We also have several security camera around the house that will not work with this router. Been in contact with the security camera rep and he tells me these cameras will not work with Orbi. Will have to go back to the older router.

Pros: Great signal

Cons: Cannot get firmware to update, there are not lights on the router indicating it's on line, will not work with my security cameras

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 2/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The orbit is great. We had very limited signal in our home. Now with the Orbi, it has been great. Only problem is it is expensive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Finally, a strong wifi signal everywhere!

Crutchfield customer from Grand Haven, MI on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want a good strong signal throughout your house, this product will do the trick. Previously, I had an Apple router and two additional Apple routers set up as satellite units (Bridge mode). Although it worked okay, my Internet speed was mostly 5-10MBs in most parts of the house except when I was close to the main router. Then I would get 20MBs which is what my service is supposed to be. With the Netgear Orbi setup, I'm getting the full 20MBs everywhere in the house and even 25-30 feet outside the house. This is a great system and I would highly recommend it.

Pros: Good strong signal everywhere Lots of control over network settings (DHCP reservations, port forwarding, etc.)

Cons: Not quite plug n play but not too bad iOS App is okay but not as well thought out as some of the competition

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi® System

Kirk from Henderson, NV on 2/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. haven't found any dead spots in my home.

Pros: Great coverage, nice looking with innovated look.

Cons: Not at this time.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent WiFi!

Joe from Northport, NY on 2/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new Netgear Orbi WiFi System is excellent. It was easy to setup and signal strength has improved throughout our home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Brick NJ on 2/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful product. I will be purchasing at least one more satellite

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome so far

Michelle from Springfield, GA on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The setup was flawless, and we've had stronger, more consistent signal than we've had in ages! This thing hasn't dropped the signal even once since I connected it.

Pros: Easy to setup and strong consistent signal.

Cons: Size and they don't have hanging holes on the back, so I had to put it in my bathroom midway down the hallway to reach the end of the house.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Glendora, CA on 2/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LOVE this!!' We could not get any wifi signal upstairs, no matter what we tried. Now there is an awesome signal everywhere in the house!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Covington, GA on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pricey but well worth it. Within 15 minutes of taking it out of the box I had it setup and running. Very good to excellent signal throughout our two story home. Very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very happy!

George from Northwest Indiana on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been having issues with Wi Fi in my home (approximately 5000 sq. ft.) for some time. I even had a professional install some ASUS repeaters that did not work all that well. The Orbi works great and was very simple to set up. I would highly recommend it

Pros: It works as well as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Adam from Ipswich, MA on 1/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. I now have wifi over my entire house.

Pros: Works well Looks good

Cons: A bit big, but not that bad Expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Smithtown, NY on 1/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Covers the entire 4500 sq ft house and even extends to the backyard patio. The app could use a refress so it's more user friendly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does not work with Nest Cameras.

Troy from Milton, FL on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do Not buy if you own Nest Cameras. I was not aware that there has been a known bug with Nest Cameras disconnecting until it happened to me. I researched, and the Netgear Support forum has been reporting this for months with no fix. I will be returning this.

Pros: None

Cons: Does not work with Nest Cameras.

Crutchfield response on 1/18/2017
NETGEAR is aware of this compatibility issue, and their engineers are actively working on a fix.

11 of 11 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Troy, NY on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple setup. Works great! 3 story house and now we have wifi everywhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

No Weak WiFi signal

Mike from Ok on 12/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this router and satellite the first day available. I used to have multiple dead zones of wifi in my house and a signal outside was not a possibility. All of that changed with the Orbi. I have full signal in every corner of the house (2846 sf) now. I also have a signal up to about 30 feet from the house outside. If you have dead zones, this router really works well. If your home is bigger, they now sell an independent satellite to add on to your existing system. I don't need it but the option is nice to have.

Pros: Easy to set up Attractive in appearance Signal strength for WiFi at full across entire house

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Joseph from los angeles, CA on 11/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I have 4000 sq ft house and was using a router and router extender. but even with that my upstair bedroom were getting poor signals as my modem/router was in the master closet which was on the other side of the house. But now that orbis is installed I get signal in all the bedroom. The speed has almost doubled. Wished would have bought earlier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Blair from Bartonville, TX on 11/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is the best way to utilize the bandwidth you are paying for through your provider.

Pros: Ease of setup Complete coverage Great bandwidth Only one wifi

Cons: Expensive, but you get the best

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Marty from Baltimore, MD on 11/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm in a large apartment in an old building, and my modem/router is located in a remote corner of the apartment so that the television can be plugged into it with an ethernet cable. This location made signal strength in the back of the apartment marginal, and I had problems with some of my Yamaha Musiccast system speakers breaking up. The Orbi pair resolved the signal strength problems and works as claimed. I might add that in my case, changing the name of the Orbi network to my prior network name and password wound up being more trouble than it was worth. I had to re-register all my devices anyway, so I might as well have used the default SSID for the Orbi. Unfortunately, the improved signal strength did not completely resolve the Musiccast problem, but that is not an Orbi issue. I suspect it's from interference due to living in a dense urban area with dozens of active wi-fi networks and possibly other interference in range, even though I'm using a lightly-used channel. Musiccast now works well more of the time that it's on, but I'll keep looking for ways to improve it. The Orbi was a necessary first step for that, and I'm pleased with it.

Pros: Works as advertised, easy set-up.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Coverage and Incredible Speed...

Tom from Mckinney, TX on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously had two Wireless Access Points across the house in addition to the wireless router. This system had been in place about 5 years, but on occasion had issues, especially when moving from an area of the house served by one WAP to another section of the house requiring your device to change to a different WAP. In addition the system was set up on WEP security, which is outdated. For these reasons I decided to try the Orbi system by Netgear. Setup was fairly simple following the directions. The only hiccup on setup was I had to use my iphone to complete the setup, as I could not logon from my wired PC directly to Orbi. Other than that the system works great. Terrific coverage inside and outside of the house. No drop offs when moving around the house or out into the yard. And speed...that just blew me away. Previously I was getting about 20 mbs download and 10-12 mbs upload. Now I am consistently getting 140-160 mbs download and 20-25 mbs upload. Bottom line, a terrific system with blazing speed.

Pros: Coverage area, ease of setup, speed.

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

NETGEAR Orbi AC3000 Tri-band Wi-Fi System (RBK50)

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, ky on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy setup and fast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

TOP