Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

SVS PB16-Ultra

Powered subwoofer with app control (Black Oak)

MFR # PB16 Ultra BK Oak

SVS PB16-Ultra

SVS PB16-Ultra

Powered subwoofer with app control (Black Oak)

MFR # PB16 Ultra BK Oak

16 reviews
View this product

SVS PB16-Ultra

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The SVS PB16-Ultra is extraordinary. I'd had a Velodyne DD-15 for 7-8 years, and it's a very strong and capable sub...but the PB16 kinda kicked its butt right out of the (gigantic) box. I didn't expect much of a difference in performance, especially at non-offensive listening levels...but the PB-16 delivers incredibly powerful and unbelievably CLEAN bass with zero tuning and (so far) no concern for placement. It was quite a revelation to understand that in spite of the quality of the Velodyne, it was far more prone to boomyness and distortion than I had ever realized. Until you hear truly clean effortless bass, you haven't lived. I'm a home theater junky, so I may get a second PB16 just to ensure absolute absurdity, but rest assured one of these monsters is more than capable of satisfying the most discerning of users. Spectacular product, no question.

Pros: CLEANEST and LOWEST bass I've ever heard and felt, unmatched flexibility in setup options, P-O-W-E-R to spare and then some

Cons: At 175 pounds, it's not the easiest thing to maneuver...but it's worth it!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very linear

Ernie Holmes from Citrus Hts, CA on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is unmatched. I say if you can't go big go home.

Pros: If I had bought a smaller sub I would always wonder if it could have sounded better

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

SVS PB16-Ultra

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Oh my good this is what you want loud and beast house shake very very good deep clean bass ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB16-Ultra

Crutchfield customer from Greencastle, PA on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sub. No need for 2 subs. This thing rocks the house. Love it! Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

One of the Best Subwoofers on the Market

Bryce from Broken Arrow, OK on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To give this subwoofer anything less than five stars is an insult. This is easily one of the best, if not THE best subwoofer I've had the pleasure of hearing. SVS took the time to make sure the PB-16 Ultra can handle anything you throw at it; movies, music, games, you name it. I've owned the PB-16 Ultra for little over a year and I've had zero problems with it. The SVS app is a breeze as well, and is an easy way to customize the sound to your liking. SVS teamed with Crutchfield is like a dream team in customer service, both companies will go above and beyond to make sure you're well taken care of. Many people may hesitate to purchase because of the price tag, but it's worth every penny if you're a basshead/audiophile. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Sleek design, superb accuracy, jaw dropping bass

Cons: ZERO

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB16-Ultra

Marcus from Girard, OH on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are some really good subwoofers. This one will definitely shake your walls and floors in your house. I decided I'm going to order another one.

Pros: Clean bass, definitely will shake your walls and floor.

Cons: Nothing negative, just extremely heavy to move around

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Supercharged Bass

T. Eugene from Cheyenne on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the PB16 Ultra for about a week now, set it up with my Klipsch 7.1.4 speaker system (now 7.2.4). Makes a huge difference in movies sound with the deep bass when combined wth my Klipsch R-115SW. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 20 found this helpful

SVS PB16-Ultra

Dwight from Boones Mill, VA on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best Subwoofer I've ever owned, it can go very low and deep bass

Pros: Bass lots of bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Bass, Bass, Bass....

Khalid from co on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW. this thing is a beast, trust me it will shake the house. if you are looking for the best , this sub is for you.

Pros: rich bass, well build, buy it you won't regret it. The app to control it is great...

Cons: The nails are coming out my house's walls...

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

SVS PB16-Ultra

DANIEL from Mechanicsvlle, MD on 1/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice and huge sub. It hits much lower than my only 12. The ultra low bass the my old sub couldn't produce is a much needed addition to movies. Now I just have to figure out how to fix all the rattles my drop crawling makes now

Pros: Huge impressive sub to look at. Hits hard and low.

Cons: I wish I could talk my wife into buying a second one. I guess I will just have to settle for 1 SVS 16 for the time being.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

SVS PB16-Ultra

Brien from Valparaiso, IN on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, what a subwoofer. I have had a few subwoofers over the years. None have even compared. The bass response, both from a quantity and quality perspective, is simply amazing. When it arrived, my girlfriend's immediate reaction was "That is absurd." That all changed the first time she sat down to watch a movie. Her mind was changed instantly. Expensive, and the remote stinks (but who needs a remote for a sub?), but well worth every penny.

Pros: Insane, insane bass, with precise, fast and HUGE response. For a sub this large, the speed with which it starts and stops boggles the mind.

Cons: It's expensive (but those things that are, are usually worth it!), and the remote is chintzy. Not too worried about the remote, because once this beast is set up, you really don't need to do anything to it.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Bad to the bone !

Keith from Douglasville, GA on 9/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Go ahead and add this to your cart, I guarantee you have never heard or felt the bass this sub puts out ! Warning, you will have to re-tighten your light bulbs every few days ( they shake loose )

Pros: It's big and sounds that way!! I doubt you need two of these but I could only imagine it would be heart pounding!!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

INSANE!!!

Larry from Chicago, IL on 8/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is insane. It's not like it pounds, it push vibrations all through the room. It causes things to fall off tables and pictures to fall off walls. I can feel the room rattle beneath my feet. No need for a vibrating recliner, this sub handles that as well. This has insane bass, I can't say it any other way. I plan on getting a second one in the near future. Best home subwoofer product out there right now, hands down.

Pros: Insane bass.... the phone app is not bad.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 35 found this helpful

Pounding bass !!

Nicholas J from Saginaw,mi on 6/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After having the sub for a week now and getting where it needs to be I think the bass sounds phenomenal and deep ! It makes movies and music come alive !

Pros: Beautiful sounding the best I've heard !

Cons: Huge but very worth the money !

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

SVS PB16-Ultra

Bobby A. from Honolulu, HI on 4/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For 90% of the residential community this sub will be serious overkill. Definatley gonna have a problem if your in a condo/apartment. If in a house with decent sized yard and have great relationship with your neighbors, and don't mind spending the $$ ........ it's mind blowing. Running Def tech bp9060 fronts, marantz 6011 av reciever, and svs's king Kong here... I've done a lot of car audio systems in the last 20 years. I'm not a stranger to a room pressurizing however this was the first time I visually SAW sound waves move from my living room thru my kitchen and finish at the opposite wall where there's a window. I literally whatched as my kitchen ceiling flexed in and out and then the motion transferred to the walls and they also flexed in And out like a giant lung breathing. Standing inside your kitchen and whatching as the entire room appears to expand and contract will make you fear your life is in danger. Ths box doesn't play around. It will reproduce anything you throw at it. Better then the movie theater. I whatched every unbovxng video around so when it arrived I was ready with a hand truck and large furniture sliders. My prep allowed me to transport from curbside to plug and play in 10 minutes or so. Yes it's heavy but it ain't that bad like everyone says , just gotta think a little first. I suppose I had a lot easier time not having to deal with more then 2 stairs.

Pros: Digs deep into the ground, doesn't distort, very well made/sturdy

Cons: Have to wait a year to afford going dual.

Crutchfield response on

23 of 26 found this helpful

Amazing sub

mark from Westchester County, NY on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being an owner of two JLAudio subs, one f112 version 1, and most recently an f212 Version 2, which is a dual 12" woofer sub weighing over 200 pounds, I have an excellent basis for comparison. First, let me say that for the money, the SVS is a killer deal. If you like movies and effects, it can't be beat. It is also very musical. I've tried it A-B comparison against the much more expensive F212 and it's difficult to tell the difference, except the SVS goes lower. I'm actually surprised the walls of my house haven't fallen down, it is that good. Run, don't walk, run and put one in your cart. You will not regret it.

Pros: This thing plays low. The app is awesome and works perfectly.

Cons: None. some like to say its size. Well if you want the prodigious output, size comes along with that.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 22 found this helpful

TOP