Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Good Value

Crutchfield customer from Manhattan, KS on 10/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am pretty sure that this product is being phased out by SVS. At under $500 it is a very good subwoofer. For movies in LFE it's sold for a small room. For music it comes down to type, taste and tuning. If you have a small setup for movies / TV / sports, don't over think it. This sub will cover you. The only drawback is size. Since it is a ported/reflex design, it is a larger than average box.

Pros: Good value

Cons: Larger than expected

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 9/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is a monster!! It shakes the floors and walls of my house!!

Pros: Low powerful deep bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5 stars for SVS

Benjamin D. from Charleston, ME on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent low bass and excellent SVS customer support! I have it setup in a smaller room so it's a little overkill. I'm impressed with how it acts like it's acoustic suspension even though it's ported... not boomy at all. I'm sure it would sound even better in a larger room where it could utilize more space for lower frequencies. Very well built and a nice hefty weight. I think there's something to be said about quality when it comes to the weight of speakers and subs. The new Bladerunner movie (and soundtrack) sounded particularly entertaining to the feet and ears. I don't think you can go wrong for the price at all. I will say that it was bigger than i expected a 10 inch sub to be, but I'm not complaining. The sound makes up for it. I would recommend reading up on the size dimensions to make sure it is the right fit for your setup. And if it isn't then hey....you'll just have to move some stuff around lol. I definitely recommend this sub.

Pros: Not boomy at all for a ported sub Goes down to 19 hz High quality material Excellent customer support and warranty

Cons: None for the price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer for the price it can't be beat

Pros: Deep sounds, clean and awesome

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Pinckney, MI on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Mexico, MO on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Steven from Naperville, IL on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not sure where to start with this review. This is my first SVS product and I'm disappointed. I've had this for a little over three days and the subwoofer, connected to my Marantz NR-1200 network receiver, suddenly decided to default to stand by mode. The light on the front of the unit is permanently red, not blue. I have to unplug the receiver or shut it off to have it reconnect. It will play some tracks but then defaults back to stand by. I will call Crutchfield and determine if there is something wrong with the amplifier in the unit. As far as sound, it does dig deep. The bass is tuneful and rattling when it needs to be, although if I could do it over, I would likely order a sealed unit as our living space is not that large. I do hear a little port discoloration ,muffling when a movie soundtrack demands it. I look forward to resolving this issue soon and then will update my review. But for now, it's just a black coffee table.

Pros: Yet to determine. Very deep bass, rattles our room with aplomb when it needs to effortlessly

Cons: Unit may be defective. Does not remain connected. Fairly large footprint. Somewhat muffled sounding at higher volumes, not as tight as it could be. May be the cabinet which is not very inert.

Crutchfield response on 3/15/2021
Steven contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

New life to my listening experience

TJ from central Illinois on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received and installed this subwoofer yesterday evening, as a compliment to by Klipsch Hershey II speakers. Jenny really did me a big favor this this recommendation, as it totally brought new life to my two channel sound! What my Klipsch speakers were missing on the low end, was quickly fixed by this units addition. Saving up for a 2nd unit, as this was Jenny's recommendation as well. Had the sub installed by 7 pm and was still tuning and listening until after midnight!!! So much fun to listen to my music with this new addition. Base was not of the booming type, just more of the tighter bass sound that the Klipsch speakers were missing. Unfortunately the woofer was not as plug and play as the quick set up sheet from the manufacturer showed. Had some tuning to do on my receiver, as the subwoofer outputs where not active. Not SVS's fault but they should mentioned that some of your sound equipment may need some tuning to active the sub out. After some YouTube watching, had the receiver tuning completed within 1/2 hour. Shipping recommendation: While my speaker arrived without damage, the corner rigid foam protectors were nearly destroyed. Something SVS needs to look at if they plan to sell to their audience in this manner. Not sure how I would have returned it if I needed to.

Pros: Great sound addition to my 2 channel listening. Filled my listening experience with sound that my Klipsch speakers were not providing.

Cons: -Not as easy to get working as the quick set up instructions showed. Had some reciever tuning to do to active the sub ouputs. SVS needs to add this to their quick set up guide. -Packaging just barely survived delivery to me.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Sandy, UT on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of deep, great sounding bass. The box is bigger than a typical powered subwoofer. This version is a ported enclosure and offers higher volume at lower frequencies. SVS also makes a sealed version that is said to have punchier bass but not as boomy on the very low (below 25Hz) bass frequencies. However that sealed box is substantially smaller. I went back and forth before deciding to go with the larger ported version since I love good bass and I did not want to sacrifice this.

Pros: Best in class powerful, beautiful bass.

Cons: Stuff in our room rattles due to powerful bass. Takes up space. Power and volume controls are on the rear so a bit hard to access when needed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Buy this dont waste your time

Marciano from Bloomsdale, MO on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear. Low. Loud. Prefer over the Klipsch I have also.

Pros: Loud Clear Low

Cons: Big for a 10. Same size as my 12 inch Klipsch

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 1/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Thornton, CO on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a large sub works great has good low end bass going to order another one. Awesome customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

First time SVS Owner

Crutchfield customer from Etters, PA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hesitant at first, I've always been a Paradigm enthusiast. Recently my 18 year old Paradigm PS-1000 died so I started to research subwoofer options. Review after review customers praised SVS so I gave it a shot. I am not at all disappointed. If my Paradigm Ultracube 12 in the theater room ever bites the bullet I may just be looking at SVS for a replacement, or two!

Pros: Deep, accurate bass response Bang for the buck!

Cons: Symmetrical port layout on the PB-2000 vs single port on the PB-1000 look so much better for customers that want to keep the grill off.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding!

Christopher from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is in a large family room with a vaulted ceiling. It is replacing a ML Dynamo 500, which is a very good sub, but was a bit lacking in low end and dynamic punch for movie night. I was initially hesitant to buy another sub with a 10 inch driver, but the PB-1000 reviews are on point. The SVS is in one word - "Outstanding". It has great low end dynamic range and punch for movies while also being tight and accurate for music. Don't be put off by the PB-1000 being their least expensive subwoofer - it is excellent at this price point. No regrets and very happy with the purchase! Oh, and it goes without saying Crutchfield rocks. I have been a customer since catalog mail orders in the 80's.

Pros: Deep bass Tight response Equally great sounding for movies and music

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good sub. More costly can sometimes be a more feasible plan

James from Monterey on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The original sub with my present home theater/music system was the SVS SB-1000 and it is still operating OK three years on. Last year I decided to add a 2nd sub and bought a different brand that sold as 1/2 price special purchase (trying to get by cheap), and I thought my system sounded OK like this after calibration. Recently, a friend needed a better, larger sub so I sold him the "1/4 price special purchase." I then dropped by Crutchfield for another 2nd sub. I almost went with a larger special purchase, but decided at the last minute to go with the SVS PB-1000. The salesman told me that my friend and I were both getting better setups. He was right. I have a Anthem 720 receiver which runs 2 subs in parallel (can't adjust separately), so I set the level of each sub separately to the exact same sound level (turning one at a time on) before turning both on and running the room correction software. Wow! I played the Abbey Road LP this evening and it sounds like a completely different record. Surround sound movies & SACDs and stereo streaming audio are better too. Not only the bass, but the entire system sounds better. Good decision! The bass is now tight and just right. My windows don't rattle, but that isn't what I wanted.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Not really a con, but the SVS PB-1000 is much larger than the SVS SB-1000 twin, even though the SB-1000 has a larger driver

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

thumbs up!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Guest from Spring Hill, FL on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a lot of research before buying these subs. I found studies which state better to go dual instead of one bigger sub. Well they were right. I have 2 of these in the living room and could not be happier. They are amazing and there are no gaps in the sound wherever you are in the room. Look into dual subs vs single sub to see the advantages to going dual.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Rome, GA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great sub woofer. Beought out the lows that i was looking for in my movies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value and great sound

Crutchfield customer from Winters, CA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my old school JBLs. Easy to adjust and dial. I'm using the speaker level inputs with my older Sony amp. Ported box gives way to great lows in both musics and video. I am a happy camper!

Pros: Easy to install Easy to adjust Speaker level inputs Nice price Great lows

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Buckhannon, WV on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great features!

Pros: features

Cons: pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Bluffton, SC on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean and crisp bass. Puts the punch in Marvel DVDs. Now the sound brings the action to life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Centerville, IN on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sounding sub I've ever owned.

Pros: Very good sound, no distortion even in my war films

Cons: Very big

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Stow, OH on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup, great for smaller, longer rooms, using in conjunction with a BIC H100II, love the accurate deep response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sharp deep bass. Blends well into the room . Great customer service . Delivered as promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best choice for this pricepoint!

Michael from FORT MILL, SC on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never had home theater quality components until I purchased the SVS PB-1000 and paired it with the Denon AVR-X1600h. I can tell you that the bass isn't the overly warm, rattling type that you may hear from more consumer oriented subs, but rather this is the definition of "tight" bass. The sound starts and stops when you'd expect it to, and it's not at all overwhelming. For music or movies, this sub adds the near perfect dynamic that would be expected. The design is minimal and elegant, the brushed wood texture looks great and should match any decor pretty well. It's simple, and one small LED (red if in standby, blue if active) isn't distracting. Setup was easy and the online manual does a great job explaining ideal placement, connection and settings based on a few different use cases. Overall, as a novice in this space - the reviews I had read about the technical specs of this unit and it's actual performance thus far has left me very pleased. I'm happy with this sub and would suggest it wholeheartedly.

Pros: Tight, neutral bass

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect sub for the person who wants ultra-respectable low end but doesn't need to rattle their house to the ground. I think I'll buy another...

Pros: Tight and goes deeper than I need, so lots of headroom.

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not Bad

Anthony from HUNTINGTON, WV on 8/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

300 watts rms with a 10in subwoofer is just good enough. Dont have high expectations. It wont test your homes foundation. Might have a few rattles here and there. But thats it. Not the greatest at filling large rooms. Maybe if svs offered a 12in ported version of this sub. For not much more money. For what you get from this subwoofer for the price. I give it a solid 4 star. Some wont like its bulky size. If you are a crazy bass head. Definitely concider buying 2.

Pros: Blends well with most bookshelf and floor standing speakers. Has 5 way high level binding post. Goes pretty deep for a 10in subwoofer. Good for small to medium size rooms. Stanby mode works great. Has thick removable sturdy grill.

Cons: Hard to blend with small bookshelf and satalite speakers. Can sound muddy with the crossover set high. Sounds sloppy with the really low notes at high volumes. Doesn't sound flat across the frequency range. There is noticable machanicle noise at high volume on the lower notes. The amplifer does clip. Although never gets warm. Crappy power cable.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome Sub for serious listening

Yoram from Greater Grand Rapids, MI on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Our PB-1000 replaced another subwoofer after a brief trial. We added it to our stereo system to complete the sound of our Paradigm Atom bookshelf speakers. We use it in self-powered mode with the subwoofer output from our Yamaha RS700 receiver. We placed it about midway along the long wall of our 13' x25' living room, firing perpendicular to the Atoms for tightest acoustics. We set the crossover and phase settings exactly as recommended by SVS for this configuration -- LFE and 0 respectively, and only played with the gain (volume) to blend it with our bookshelf speakers. The result is outstanding. The bass is very tight and natural sounding, never distorted or boomy. It can easily go very low and deep depending on the music source, such as with cathedral organ, but remains always balanced and musical. It is obvious from the sound quality that the built-in amp has high reserves and very low distortion. The end result sounds very much like a pair of very good full range floor standing speakers costing much more than the combined cost of the Atoms and the PB-1000. A truly excellent subwoofer for serious music lovers with limited space or main amp output. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sound quality Sound quality Sound quality Multiple hook-up options Good finish Excellent value

Cons: none we can think of

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SVS PB-1000 replaced my old Polk PSW-10 which is a good sub for the money but can't get very low and is rather boomy for my taste. The PVS just blows it out of the water. It has better integration with my speakers for an overall better enjoyment of movies in my home theater. Now every film is an experience.

Pros: Amazing lows Great integration with speakers

Cons: None that I have experienced

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Morrow, OH on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this thing!!!! Huge upgrade from my Polk PSW10's. I plan on getting a second sub hopefully soon. Can't go wrong with this sub!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bch Gdns, FL on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do you have kids? Do you dread waking them up? Sometimes do you just want to cuddle up with your wife and watch a movie? If you answer is yes to these questions then this is the subwoofer for you. Yes, SVS has much more powerful and more dynamic subs, but the SVS pPB-1000 paired with a a set of bookshelf speakers (I have Logan Martin 35TXI) and a center channel (Logan Martin Motion 30) , is perfect for the bedroom. Funny thing about being a parent, is that sometimes less is more, and to me a dynamic soundscape, that does not wake up the kids is priceless. The SVS PB-1000 is fast and accurate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

This is the best sub I have ever owned!!!

Beau from NORTON SHORES, MI on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So let me tell you about my subwoofer journey... 16 years ago I purchased a 10" Velodyne sub for my dedicated theater room and was really impressed with it, but after 13 years I needed to replaced it with a new sub. I decided to go with the Klipsch R-110SW because it had similar specs to the Velodyne and was in my price range(around $480 at the time), but I never felt like it delivered the quality bass that I was used to. So after 3 years of not being completely happy with the Klipsch I decided to pull the trigger on a Paradigm Defiance X12($1,150 on sale), because I thought going to a bigger woofer and a higher end brand would get me everything I needed for my room. The X12 had really impressive low end bass that added a thump that I had never felt before with any sub, but it didn't really perform well with music, so I returned it. And after the pain of returning that sub I was going to just keep the Klipsch, but I really started to miss that low end thump, so I began looking at subs again about a month ago. I looked at the frequency range of all the subs in the $500-$1,000 price range and seen that the PB-1000 was rated down to 19Hz, so I decided to try it out even though I was skeptical about a 10" woofer giving me that same thump that I felt with the X12... Well I'm happy to report that the PB-1000 sounds amazing with music AND it gave me that same thump as the 12" sub did(for almost a third the price), so I couldn't be happier with this SVS subwoofer!!!

Pros: Super clean bass that hits lower than most 12" subs do! Really nice build quality and design! This price is an absolute steal for the performance and quality! Beat the Paradigm Defiance X12 in every single category in my theater room for almost a third the price!

Cons: LED light is pretty big and very bright, so if you have your sub in the front of your room, then that could be considered a negative...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thunderous when it needs to be and a subtle accompanying component when not. I replaced an older Klipsch down firing 8" sub, which was getting long in the tooth. I had never tried SVS, but I am glad that I did. And at the value price of under $500, the SVS 1000 series is probably the best in the market in that range.

Pros: Thunderous bass, great for home theater. Easy to connect.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's really awesome Got a lot of bang for the buck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Daytona Beach, FL on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smoothed out my music and put the rumble in movies. A must have for any set-up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great sub!

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When upgrading my surround system the current sub I had (Polk 12") did not seem to have what it took to make a great sound-especially with action movies. I purchased ELAC speakers for front/center/surround/Atmos fronts and even their 3010 10" sub. I was missing something-until I researched further and discovered this SVS sub. Speaker manufacturers make speakers with subs as an after thought. SVS makes subs and then adds speakers to their product line. Listening to this big guy was a revelation-I can only imagine the PB2000 pro! This size fit my room and is not ridiculously large-but what a powerhouse-for this price point it destroys the Polk and ELAC subs-comparing the sound with the same movies the bass is not only deep but you can feel it move you. Make sure you consider getting the SVS isolation replacement feet-that will give a tighter sound with less glass movement and wall cracking. Explosions and gunfire are incredible-thought my neighbor across the street was going to call the police. Plus look at the warranty--five years-much better than ELAC which is one year or even Polk with three. This tells you something about the build quality and amp reliability. The company returned my inquiries almost immediately-helping with set up...try to get in touch with other companies. Of course, Crutchfield support is always there to help.

Pros: Exception bass production without the boominess

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Superb Bass

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is superb! The bass is strong but not overbearing. If the music or video has a strong bass line and the volume on my receiver is turned up, I can feel the vibrations in my seat! What an amazing experience!

Pros: Great sub at really reasonable price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good affordable subwoofer that's great for a mix of movies and music. Can go clean and tight on music while still punch and thump loudly for movies. The sub plays all my reference movies (First Man launch sequence, Blade Runner 2049, Revenge of the Sith) and music (Classical, Jazz, Rock) with utmost accuracy. Needs some tweaking as far as volume and settings to get it just right to fill out a medium-large living room. Speaking to Trish in discussing the sub definitely helped. Wasn't a hard push to sell and answered all the questions accurately. Great sub for a great price.

Pros: Accurate bass that can go down to 19hz. Great bang for the buck. Can be tight when it needs to be and booming when it needs to be.

Cons: That it wasn't free! Like every sub, needs to spend some time to get the right setting and placement.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Old music head

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using vintage stereo equipment and decided to invest in a subwoofer. I listen to all types of music from symphony to jazz, 70's rock R &B to today's music. Love the bottom clarity and richness of the SVS PB 1000. Can't imagine needing more. The again...

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sub one of the best period

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Monster Subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love Crutchfield for always recommending exactly what I need. The SVP PB1-100 Subwoofer is an amazing piece of equipment. As a music lover with a vast taste in music genres, the SVP PB1000 really does the job. The bass on this monster goes deep especially for music that has a heavy bass foundation. I couldn't believe the bass that was coming out of this Subwoofer. If you're considering or thinking about purchasing the SVS PB-100-please do not wait any longer. "GET IT!!!"

Pros: Everything about it is a pro for me.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big bang for your buck

Christopher from WAYCROSS, GA on 1/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had looked at many different subwoofers, not sure what to do at first. I finally decided to settle for this SVS subwoofer over Klipsch (rest of my speakers are Klipsch) and doing so was the best decision. This speaker has such a clean bass sound that definitely rocks my theater room. I plan to eventually buy a second PB-1000 to match my current one. So if you're looking for a subwoofer that will give you the best bang for your buck, without going broke or blowing your budget, this is the one to go with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Swedesboro, NJ on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent subwoofer. I have a large family room (20' x 40') and this subwoofer provides more than enough base to fill the room. Excellent purchase at a great price. Also, the 5-year warranty exceeds that of other brands which is an indication that SVS stands by their products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Evans, GA on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product Awesome sound Highly recommend this production Fast shipping by CRUTCHFIELD Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great ported sub

Crutchfield customer from Perkasie, PA on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so great! Quality built product. I have a dedicated movie room about 12 by 14 and I bought two of these for each front corner. They have plenty of power. I still feel there is tweaking to be done with the levels but the house shakes when I want it to, and that's at 3/4 power. Great for my ears for both music and movies. I would recommend these subs. I had a 16" ported sub I bought back in the 90s that stopped working a few years back. That was a very great powerful sub that you could feel in your chest. These match that effect and my chest will rumble if I turn it up. I only wonder what the next couple of levels up from the PB-1000 would do...maybe blow down the house? Some day I might find out but really these are great ported subs.

Pros: Controlled power Quality build

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Morton Grove, IL on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Subwoofer easily connected to my Onkyo receiver. Since it is the holiday season we watched the Polar Express on family movie night and it sounded awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Rougemont, NC on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and Play, with some very helpful adjustment capabilities. Wonderful sound quality.

Pros: Ease of use / setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Swanville, ME on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent--sounds GREAT! She'll really vibrate the china cabinet!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bass, especially in duals

Sid from Athens, WV on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased 2 for a dual setup. Highly recommended. Great low bass and impact. It may be SVS's entry level sub but its not a low end subwoofer, especially in a dual setup. Can't go wrong here.

Pros: deep deep bass, good impact

Cons: Being picky: the blue power light can get distracting, cover it up and you're good.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Happy Audiophile here

Terry from Sterling on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just added a second SVSpb1000 to my two channel set up.Sounds fantastic!It's actually easier to blend two or more subs into a system.These subs are articulate and natural sounding.

Pros: Flexible hook up options Easy to place

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal subwoofer!!

Crutchfield customer from Severn, MD on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One word. WOW! This sub is fantastic. I bought this to replace my JBL 10 inch venue series subwoofer and this thing pumps! It does take a bit to get the settings correct but once you fine tune this bad boy you will not regret the purchase. The bass is clear, clean and it rattles the house. I have it in my finished basement and just having the sub volume halfway and it rattles everything on the top floor. It is also phenomenal for movies. Every explosion is like it is taking place right in the room. I did a lot of research before purchasing this sub and I can say I have never purchased an SVS sub before. However for the money this thing is top notch. You will not regret the purchase.

Pros:

Cons: Slightly bigger bigger sub box than expected but not much of a con really

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Noise makee...

Kabir from Houston on 3/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One way to describe this source of sound .... Unbelievable and Unbreakable .

Pros: Need to move out of this condo...

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Alex from Great Bend, KS on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!! This sub really sounds good. So good I had to turn the volume down on it. It was shaking things on the walls and rattling the light fixtures in the ceiling. Best sub I've listened to. Can't beat the price either. Great sub! Love it!!

Pros: Sounds great at all volume levels with no distortion and hits very low frequencies.

Cons: Absolutely none!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Sub

Chad from Grove City, PA on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the SVS PB-1000 to replace my old sub. Not too big and had good tight bass. Unfortunately, it wasn't quite enough power for movie watching. You really need two of these if you have the space.

Pros: Solid construction nice tight bass for music

Cons: not enough umph to fill my room on its own

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first, I ordered the different brand name subwoofer. Unfortunately, the unit didn't work out very well after 2 day. It's bothering me too much to the point that I had to call for the replacement. The replacement is SVS PB-1000 (by error, supposed to be SVS SB-1000). The SVS PB-1000 provide a very good bass that I did not expect for its price. I love it so much that I am thinking to get another one in a later time. Thank you Crutchfield Customer Service, River. She made the transaction simple and I got the SVS PB-1000 just only 2 days after we talked on the phone. I am the Crutchfield first time customer. Very please with the service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Port Townsend, WA on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of deep power and low frequency for a great movie experience, and clean bass for music. Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Powerful lows for the size and price

Doug from Jefferson, NJ on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old Paradigm 10" sub quit and I replaced it with a PB-1000. Initially the bass was overwhelming, but once I got it dialed in and the placement just right (a couple feet to the left of a corner), it's amazing for both movies and music and quite an improvement over the old one. It's plenty loud for my 18.5' x 15.5' room and fits in nicely with my Paradigm tower system. The low frequencies it can hit are a new experience for my home theater and Blade Runner 2049 is the perfect reference disc for that. For the price, I highly recommend trying it out.

Pros: Excellent low end bass. Plenty of power.

Cons: It was tricky to calibrate and took time to get dialed in.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Excellent sub

Brian from Midlothian, VA on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bass from this sub is impressive, and a great bargain for the price. It is a great match to small bookshelf speakers, really filling out the bottom-end that was missing. The bass is punchy without being overbearing, even when placed in a corner behind the TV stand. The level is easy to balance with the sub's volume knob.

Pros: Deep, powerful bass, attractive cabinet, priced right

Cons: Cabinet a bit large for a 10" sub

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great sub, I think for just about any room size

Gerry from Estero, FL on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have a medium to large home theater room. Some one at one of those big box stores talked me in to buying the SVS PB-1000. They did not have one in or on display so I could here it. So enter Crutchfield, I called to talk to Anthony in support. We spoke about what this sub can do. I was sketchy buying it with out hearing it. Anthony was right it is a great sub it fills the room nicely. The wife even likes it. I told Anthony I was considering buying two, He did not push that sale at all, Told me to get one and try it first. I need new backs first. Yes Crutchfield you have all my business. New backs and possibly SVS PB -1000. Great sub for a great price.

Pros: Great sub, What I like about it goes deep, Never herad a sub go so DEEP and CLEAN !!!

Cons: I did not buy TWO.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Bill from Durham, NC on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Testing the speaker with the new Jurassic World movie- the walls were shaking

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Don from Bakersfield, CA on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The subwoofer and the insolation kit were easy to install and I could not be happier with the sound. I just bought a new receiver and speakers and by changing the setup to small so all the sound goes to the subwoofer it sounds so much better. I will be buying a second one to balance out the sound. Shipping was fast and the customer service at Crutchfield is hard to beat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Punxsutawney, PA on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with sound and performance. Replaced a Polk sub that stopped working after 5 years. Much better sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boom Boom goes the room

Brian from Lewiston, ID on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, Good bass. This is the first sub I have owned for home audio system. I know hear the difference as the response of the sub differs from the standing speakers and bookshelf speakers with louder and sharper bass. I find I adjust the bass with the receiver app on my phone more as some songs now have too much bass and other songs I want more bass but that's my personal preference with my music. This sub can pound hard enough to rattle pictures on the other side of the room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, LA on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

outstanding bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Performer!

Chris from Murray, KY on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is absolutely outstanding in every regard. Accuracy, output level, build quality, features, all superb. This thing will absolutely slam if you want it to, and it digs DEEP. Response seems pretty uniform, there's no apparent cabinet resonance. I've got it paired with a pair of JBL L-112s and a Denon AVR-1910. It keeps up with those large JBLs pretty effortlessly. A couple tips for tuning: This subwoofer is better than the Audyssey tuning on my AVR-1910 seems to expect. I ran the tuning routine and the subwoofer was totally overpowering on LFE effects and a bit much on music at low system volume levels too. In my case it's configured for LFE+Main (mains set to large) with an 80Hz crossover point. If you're running LFE only, you could adjust by sub level alone, but it my case I had to set the LFE output to -10db to avoid cutting the sub-80HZ content from the main channels back. I also found the best performance at low volume levels by setting the Audyssey Dynamic EQ reference level to 10db rather than 0db, which eases up on the dynamic EQ curve at lower volume levels. With these settings, it works amazingly. Never overpowering, but plenty of punch when the content warrants it. In short, don't be afraid to dig into the settings menus and experiment if it doesn't sound right at first.

Pros: Plenty of power, responds extremely deep, great build quality, very accurate.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great sub

Michael from Brookhaven, GA on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this sub to replace a 14 year old Jamo sub that finally died. I am impressed with the range of the frequency response and tightness of the bass. I also purchased the SVS Soundpath Subwoofer Isolation System and an SVS RCA sub cable (I purchase this directly from SVS because Crutchfield does not carry this item.). I have hardwood floors and the Isolation System does a great job of reducing the vibrations and seems to tighten the bass up even more. Marshall, Crutchfield product specialist, was helpful in helping me narrow down my choices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not worth the price tag

Paul from Pelham, AL on 5/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointing. I bought this sub a week ago and was so excited to receive it. Once I hooked it up I was very surprised at how unimpressive it was. I anticipated something phenomenal and what I got was an over priced sub that is only good for certain parts of movies ie. explosions etc. SVS has great customer service and the return policy is superb. This sub is huge for a 10''.. and weighs a lot! It was a hassle for me to return it. II went ahead and put two PSW505s in my theater instead of the pb1000 and it sounds better to me. Sure, the SVS destroys in very very low hz but overall it is over hyped in my opinion.

Pros: Very solid low bass

Cons: Not good for music, only movies.. not loud by any means.. meant for a small room.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 42 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Peninsula, OH on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like that you don't have to rely on the auto-on feature to turn it on. I have an older receiver that doesn't always turn on the sub. I can turn it on manually and it's not a problem

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great sub for the money. Heard organ low notes that could be felt.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Valley Springs, CA on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sub for price point, sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is bar none. Nice deep sound and flows well with my Kilpsch towers and Klipsch center channek

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Will from Fernandina, FL on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. All the bass you need and I have it in a hanger for a crossfit gym.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is awesome. Deep, deep bass. Somehow improved the sound of my speakers !!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Yakima, WA on 3/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW...... had no idea adding a bass unit would improve both music AND theater sooo much! Easy connect, Great sound, yeah totally happy with it! Also would like to thank Marshall for all the advice..... he actually saved me a couple hundred just on the unit, as I was going to purchase another unit that was more expensive......I'm glad I listened and so is my wallet!

Pros: Great price, Great result!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Chevy Chase, MD on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a amazing subwoofer. It has movie theater like accuracy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

william from Sparta, WI on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker easy hookup sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thunderlicious

César from Barceloneta, PR on 12/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 5 years with a top of the line Definitive Technology speaker system I decided to do an upgrade with Klipsch new Reference Series. The Klipsch R115SW is a big, bold & powerful sub but for almost the same price you can get 2 SVS PB-1000 subwoofers and that's what I did. This sub has seismic powers and it will hit you hard like the God oh Thunder. It can really go deep without any sign of stress or distortion near 19hz field. Another thing I really like was that the unit came very well protected in a double box. I have spent many hours testing various Blu-Rays and this sub never disappoint, the bass is deep, clean & powerful. Excellent product from SVS and top customer service from Crutchfield.

Pros: Excellent bass performance under $500 Goes down to 19hz Powerful & clean amplifier Great double box shipping protection

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Sub, but do your homework!

Artie from East Northport, NY on 9/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub, but do your homework. Specifically understand the pros and cons of ported versus sealed subs. This SVS sub really hits the lows and has excellent power and impact. Your specific room size, floor covering and furnishings as well as your existing speaker system will also determine the type of sub that works best for you. In the end after direct comparison, I chose the Definitive Technology ProSub 1000 over this SVS because I felt it was a better match with my existing Boston Acoustics 5.1 speaker system and I also felt that it was tighter and more accurate than the SVS (this is a characteristic of sealed subs). The SVS sub would be best suited for medium to larger rooms where your main focus is movies as it provides great low end impact.

Pros: Really hits the low frequencies, great amplifier power and impact

Cons: Not as tight and accurate as a sealed sub design

Crutchfield response on

7 of 12 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from St. Louis, Mo on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub. Replaced a Paradigm unit. Sound is better and very competivley priced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Really hits the lows

Thomas from Buena Vista va on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Words can't explain how low this sub can hit. Keep in mind it is taller than the 12-inch because of the ported subwoofer but this thing blows me away. No complaints at all. I recommend getting a good set of towers and center to go with it. My recommendation would be the bronze monitor series tower and center.

Pros: I watch all of my movies over and over now. Can't believe what I was missing without this kind of bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tremendous bass for my 400 sq ft room. Extremely accurate and really helps transport you to the movie.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent powerful bass. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Dorado, PR on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To begin with, I can say that the decision made based on the information provided by your sales representative, Gil advised me regarding my needs and requirements, I can say in full confidence that it was the best purchase I made. The bass reproduction in my SVS PB-1000 are spectacular from the most subtle bass to the most powerful are harmonious. Those basses played in my favorite movies like Apollo 13, Armageddon, Transformers ect. SVS PB-1000 was the key piece to give my dissonant system the touch of elegance and power. The music the movies in short everything, there is nothing that my Denon 4310 CI sends you that this subwoofer does not match it in a unique experience. Many Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

The SVS PB-1000 is awesome!!!

Julio from Houston, TX on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The SVS PB-1000 is an awesome powered sub-woofer. I bought it to replace an ELAC S-10 sub-woofer and could not be happier. Bass is powerful, accurate and room filling. The fact that it is large and beautiful is icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

Pros: Great powerful bass, Great looks...

Cons: Would have liked the metal grill from the 2000 series better...

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best subwoofer $500 will get you

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this subwoofer as an upgrade from the Polk Audio PSW-505. The PSW-505 and the PB-1000 have the same RMS power rating and take up similar floor space due to the fact that the SVS has a front firing port and therefore can have its back much closer to a wall, but the difference in performance of the two subwoofers is amazing. The Polk is a great subwoofer above roughly 35 Hz, but below that is pitiful. The PB-1000 will rattle the kitchen cabinets with a 20 Hz test tone. I will just leave it at that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Excellente Perfromance !!!!

Mario from Manatí, PR on 3/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking for improvement in the bass section in the home theater, I thought the Klipsch Reference R-110SW subwoofers, since my voice system is that brand, however when reading the various reviews, I was struck by the SVS PB 1000 performance , I treasured myself with Troy from Crutchfield and highly recommended that line to me as designers specialized in subwoofers. I bought two SV 1000 PB and was surprised by the quality with it makes part of the action of the film, very powerful the performance of those subwoofer, certainly I think I will have problems with the neighbors. Excellent Costumer care from Crutchfield People !!!

Pros: Very Powerful, very low curve that produce an earthquake shake, Very accurate Bass for Movies and Music, Excellent in Atmos Performance

Cons: Not Yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Not ready for the big time

Ken from Sharpsburg, GA on 3/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an ok sub. Really didn't give me what I was thinking. Plus side is it does go down low in the Hertz range. Downside is, it almost seems like not enough Horsepower to drive it that low. I bought a Klipsch R-110SW prior to finding out about SVS. My older Klipsch died, so I picked this PB-1000 up to replace it. The 110SW was far punchier, crisper, and louder. It was 100 watts less. Maybe had a bad PB-1000, don't know. Talked to an SVS rep and he said with Yamaha receivers to hook up both LH and RH RCA connections to get more out of the sub. Still didn't seem right. It did go way lower than the Klipsch, but was muddier too. So I sent it back and bought the SVS SB-2000. WAY better! I'll post a review on it next. Thanks to Crutchfield support and no hassle return policy!

Pros: Goes way low down the Hertz range! Well made. Ok for Movie watching.

Cons: Not enough wattage to drive down the low 19 hertz range. Kinda muddy sounding. Not very good for Music

Crutchfield response on

7 of 18 found this helpful

OK sub for smaller room or music

Brian from Denver, CO on 1/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK sub, rather clean sound but could not the output I was looking for even at max recommended settings. Wound up buying a Power Sound sub which absolutely blows the SVS away (granted it was twice the price) and putting the SVS in a small room.

Pros: Smooth sound Little distortion

Cons: Weak output

Crutchfield response on

6 of 40 found this helpful

Best Bass

Bob from West Chester, OH on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great sub, you will not find a better one!

Pros: great bass

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great looking cabinet and huge too!

jack from Staten Island, NY on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say is WOW! My previous Klipsch RSW12 was great and did an amazing job for the last 7 years......until the internal Amp died! I was about to order another Klipsch sub but decided to look around at other brands. Glad I did, I am very pleased at sound quality, build quality and appearance too. I was a bit concerned going from a 12 inch to a 10 inch, believe me you will not hear any less bass. I think it's actually improved bass response and a bit better on the music as well. Check measurements before you order, cabinet is huge!

Pros: Improved bass response for music lovers

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Wow

Keith from Columbus, OH on 12/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's the first word that comes to mind when firing this thing up. I knew I was upgrading (I had a 6.5" HTIB "sub") but I didn't know it was going to be like this. First off, I ran it through a quick frequency check to validate the specs listed and it does indeed go down to 19 Hz. Then I started throwing media at it. Frozen - the snow monster is chasing the group away from Elsa's castle and you feel every footstep as he pounds down the mountain. Finding Nemo - Darla taps on the fish tank and it feels like you're inside the tank. Polar Express - you think the train is pulling up outside your media room door. Titanfall 2 - sounds and feels like you're really inside the mech. The list goes on. Yeah I listed a lot of kid's stuff, but these movies have some great LFE that are great for showing off a sub. For reference, I have this unit in a room that is about 13' x 14' x 7' and sealed (no constant openings to other rooms).

Pros: Smooth bass you can hear and feel

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Incredible Subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Michigan on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup, sounds great! Nice clear, powerful sounding sub that can keep up with music and movies both. Adds a great dimension to my sound system. My next consideration is a second PB1000 to help smooth out th bass response across my entire room. Great unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing Upgrade!!

Rene from San Juan, PR on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I acquire this to replace my HTIB sub with a supposedly frequency response of 25 Hz to 150 Hz. I was happy my sub, but deep inside me I knew something was missing. This was a difficult decision because this sub alone cost 1/2 price I paid for my whole (Home Theater In a Box) system. Upon connecting and firing the PB-1000... WOW!!! The difference was day/night. On movies and sound demos, my old sub was more like a loud rumble. This sub really goes low. You can feel the room/windows vibrate and the hum of bass in movies. Now I understand why most people recommend to get the best sub you can afford. I can literally feel the bass in my body near reference levels on my 14x14x8 room. At that moment I was wandering if I should have bought the PB-2000 instead. This sub made my HTIB a whole new system!!!

Pros: Deep bass, easy setup, great quality.

Cons: Size (it's heavy & big) but it matched my decoration and room perfectly.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome Subwoofer

Chad from Nazareth, PA on 11/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are considering buying a subwoofer this is the one. I had purchased this subwoofer for my home theater. Paired with Bower and Wilkins 600 series towers, center, and surrounds. I had purchased two different subs and thought that they were amazing until i tried the SVS PB1000. It is amazing how much sound and feel this subwoofer puts out. For music listening it is accurate enough for fast bass notes and loud enough bass heavy music. For movies, this sub really shines in this area. I turned the sub all the way up just to see what it could do, and was amazed at how clean the bass was even though it was shaking my house apart. I keep the sub at about half power and it is perfect for bringing movies to life. It truly is an Awesome Sub!! Subwoofer is definitely worth the money, spend the extra and get a quality product, you won't regret it!!

Pros: Accurate Bass, Awesome Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

SVS PB 1000

Martin from ALabama on 11/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with B&W CM5, CM Center and 610 Sub. Needed a little more low end to fill out movies, got so much more than that. The SVS has a supervising clarity with music, especially hi res classical. Nothing like hearing the bass string vibrate. Very surprised in the performance for the price, trust the reviews, this sub is awesome for the price point.

Pros: accurate and decisive bass

Cons: Size, but overshadowed by performance

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pounding bass

Thomas from Marysville, CA on 11/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy. Had no idea how bad my old subwoofer was. It has great punch when needed and is adds warmth to normal tv viewing. I am very happy with the purchase. It was easy to set up the SVS people were helpful with info prior to the purchase. And as always the Crutchfield advisors were very helpful.

Pros: Great bass. Easy set up. Stylish. Warm sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS Subwoofer

Wayne from Ocean View, HI on 11/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent subwoofer... Simple as that!!

Pros: Excellent subwoofer !!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

oh yes, great bass

Eddie from Carolina, PR on 10/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mainly use my Onkyo home theater for music and replaced the factory sub with the PB1000, boy was my time researching subs worth it. very happy with this sub the bass is cleaner and way tighter! this is my first purchase experience with crutchfield and regarding service, delivery and quality they have my five stars! Shipping to Puerto Rico is usually a hassle for some sellers, not with this team 3 day free shipping is excellent! Will buy again !

Pros: adjustable bass all the way, well made

Cons: a little big

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very happy with SVS PB-1000!!!

Keith from Watertown, NY on 9/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an old Altec-Lansing PSW-10 that I'd always been happy with. The SVS blows it away!!! I expected some improvement just due to newer technology but the PB-1000 delivered much more than I actually expected. Very clean natural sounding bass on both music and video. I researched quite a bit before this purchase and no regrets going with the PB-1000! A great Sub for the $$$

Pros: Awesome sounding deep clean bass. Love the Class-D Amp Quality construction and nice looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Deep Bass!!!

John from Ambridge, PA on 8/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great subwoofer. Im using it mainly for music but it will really work well with any audio you throw at it.

Pros: Deep, tight bass.

Cons: its large!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boomer

Ken P. from Philadelphia, PA on 8/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very surprised the amount of low end this little guy puts out. Great sub, clean lines and quality bass.

Pros: Great low end bass

Cons: Little big

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fills the room.

bill from Chicago Heights, IL on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I was looking for, full, deep base that fills the room. Also quality construction and looks good!

Pros: sounds great and looks great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck

Taylor from Jefferson, MD on 6/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was skeptical about its performance and did it ever prove me wrong. Earth shaking bass in my home theatre. Blows away any other sub in this price range.

Pros: Cost, performance, style

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding Subwoofer

Jim from Wayne, MI on 5/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit far exceeded my expectations and my needs. The first things I noticed were, the tightness of the bass which is a very welcome difference from others I have owned especially playing music. Instead of muffled rumble sound (noise) it is very natural. The controls on the rear panel are immediate and precise. The lack of heat produced by the subs Class D amplifier is a welcome change given the fact that heat is the electronics worst enemy, I see this unit lasting a very long time. The furniture look alone caught my eye when I first laid eyes on it. I am still in the process of experimenting with settings and locations to determine the best location for it in my apartment living room. I have been without a subwoofer for several years and now that it is again a part of my system, I could not be happier with my selection. Originally, I was considering a dual subwoofer set up however, this unit is so effective it changed my mind. On another note, I am just as concerned with the company I do business with as well as the product I select and so far, I am impressed with Crutchfields customer service, shipping turn around and selection of product not to forget the website which contained all the information I needed to make my selection. I'm one of those people who occasionally suffers from buyers remorse but, definitely not in this case. The more I listen to my system now, the more I want to. Thank you SVS & Crutchfield for making this a very pleasant purchase.

Pros: Beautiful furniture look, natural tight sounding bass and no heat issues to be concerned with.

Cons: Non whatsoever!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

BASSSSSSSSSS!!!!

Rob S from Chester, NJ on 4/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried a klipsh top end sub first,no comparision.For my application of 2 channel music only in a two car garage with a wide open second story this powerful yet crisp and authentic.Great company reps who take all the time to talk with you too

Pros: Easy setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Sub!!! SVS PB-1000

Brandon from Quakertown, PA on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After arriving super quickly from crutchfield, I un-boxed this and wow. It really is massive, dwarfs my old Polk. I bought this for my ~250 sq ft media room that I'm building but for now its in an open fam room with vaulted ceilings and open floor plan and this still rocks the house. Setup was a breeze through audyssey on my Marantz receiver. Keep gain at 10 o'clock and run then adjust levels manually if you want and if you want more punch adjust gain from there. Popped in dark knight and revenge of the fallen after a week or so of easy listening (even though you don't really need to break in I always like to take it easy) and Wow!!! Wife was upstairs and said bedroom was shaking. Highly recommend SVS and Crutchfield

Pros: Best value sub under 500 imo.

Cons: a little big but thats about it if your trying to save space

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS PB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Iowa on 1/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a 16 year old paradigm 12 inch subwoofer with this 10 inch SVS Subwoofer. The sound quality is absolutely superb for the price. The tech support is excellent. I recalibrated my speaker system using the microphone and the bass comes across perfectly on my Denon AVR 2800 system. I appreciate the tech's recommendation on spending an additional amount over the Polk Audio 12 inch subwoofer. The packaging, set, and handling were excellent. This subwoofer outweighs the older model by about 6 pounds and is solid. I am thankful I was steered towards this better product. I am using book shelf Mission speakers on pedestals for surround sound. The sound is so refined and solid. I positioned the subwoofer in a corner. You can't tell where the base is coming from.

Pros: Solid base across all sound and music. It seamlessly blends into my system. Movies are theater like.

Cons: Nothing I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

excelent

Vidal from Puerto Rico on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

exceptional, deep bass, you have to calibrate well for better sound

Pros: deep bass!!!!!!!!

Cons: the box is huge

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great SUB

DougD from Idaho on 12/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks to the Crutchfield adviser I picked this model over the larger one. Fits in perfect, even though it is Very large. It replaced a 10 year old 12" Sony Sub Woofer that I thought sounded ok, but time to replace. Well, was I surprised! This sub blows the Sony away with clarity and if you turn it up, with feelings. Looks great, sounds fantastic. Have to believe that the black ash vinyl they put on all these speakers come from the same source. It matches my JBLs perfectly.

Pros: Sounds fantastic. With the volume set at about 9:00 on the dial (about 1/4), it adds so much to the 5.1 sound system. Almost think you are in the Millennium Falcon, or fighting on the the Bridge of Khazad-dûm with Gandalf.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP