Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
404 256 572 3
Connect ID #
404 256 572 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

SVS SB16-Ultra

Powered subwoofer with app control (Piano Gloss Black)

MFR # SB16-Ultra PBG

SVS SB16-Ultra

SVS SB16-Ultra

Powered subwoofer with app control (Piano Gloss Black)

MFR # SB16-Ultra PBG

23 reviews
View this product

Excellent Subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since I only had room for the sealed box non-ported SB-16 Ultra Subwoofer at 20-inches deep, instead of the ported PB-16 Ultra Subwoofer @ 30-inches deep, it still has excellent heart pounding deep bass sound. I previously used a sealed 12-inch Velodyne Optimum Subwoofer that has good bass with a 1200 Watt RMS amplifier, but not near as good as the SB-16. I got the Velodyne on sale at half price about 5- years, ago. So, I placed the Velodyne near the back of my living room, as a second subwoofer. They integrate very well together and provide amazing bass sound for my approximately 18' x 18' living room, and 7.1 surround sound home theater system. I purchased my SB-16 at the Crutchfield.com outlet store, as an open box item. I would buy another SB-16 Ultra, if I could afford it. Playing action movies will knock you out of your seat, if you like it loud. Of course, if you don't like it loud, then there is no need to spend this much on a subwoofer.

Pros: The pros to this subwoofer are the excellent deep bass sound, versatility of the adjustments, and beautiful look of the gloss piano black.

Cons: Two minor cons: 1) There is an On\Off button on back panel, but not on the remote. However, the Automatic option will shut it down & turn it on when a signal is received from a receiver. So, the automatic option may pull more electricity, than turning it off using the On\Off button. 2) The front metal grille curves out about 2 ½-inches further than the 20-inch deep box, & with the back connections, the minimum distance from wall to front grille is about 26-inches. So, take this into

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cracks concrete

Crutchfield customer from Orange, TX on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Trust the 5 star reviews for this sub. Hits bass you wouldn't think a larger sub could hit. You feel it in your soul.

Pros: Deep rich bass, hits all ranges, clear.

Cons: None to date

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glue down everything that moves on tables !!!!!!!!!! WOW

Pros: BOOM BOOM BOOM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons: WOULD HATE IF SOMETHING WENT WRONG AN HAD 2 REPACK IN SAME BOX !!!!!!!! HAVE A GOOD FRIEND HELP SET UP AN PACK UP .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

In today's music and movies subs can add so much to any system

Crutchfield customer from Youngsville, NC on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the SB-16 Ultra and loved it so much I decide to buy the PB-16 Ultra. First something about me. Purchased my first stereo in 77, after college, I remember the nice sound systems in the dorm and new once I was finished with school I would look into purchasing $600 system, with 2 way speakers but I love the sound. I'm very happy with my system now and the new subs add so much more depth to simple songs and especially movies. The PS-16 has base that seems tight and accurate the PB-16 lower base and more open. Putting them together and the wow factor is the first words that come to mind.

Pros: Realistic base, tight and deep

Cons: Pricey, but worth the expense

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BEAUTY and the BEAST

BURG from Lumberton NJ on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound will put a big smile on your face and frighten you at the same time. I am using a pair of these subwoofers the BASS is smooth and even throughout the room. The opening scene in EDGE OF TOMORROW had me giggling like a little kid. I am rewatching my SCIENCE FICTION movie colledtion because now I can hear and feel things that were hidden before I installed these MONSTERS.

Pros: world class sound and buid quality

Cons: Very heavy my back is still sore

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything about this sub is top notch.

Pros: Very flexible in a system. Works great in home theater yet also blends well with music. For this price point it is extremely hard to beat. Could not be happier.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Brett from CASPER, WY on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is big, beautiful, heavy and it really thumps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Corey from Waynesboro, VA on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best sounding sub I have, but most expensive, it needs breaking time, takes up alot of floor space. Best looking :) when I first got it home it didnt work I called svs very helpful, we diagnosed the amp was bad, the Crutchfield experts got me one the next day I installed works great ever since, I couldn't give it a 5 because of that but over all great product one note of concern is the grill over time has started to vibrate. So I took it off.

Pros: Very stylish, sounds great love the app, on screen is usuable

Cons: It's big if that's a con,very pricey, possible grill issue.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crazy Precise Sub

Chas from Victor on 3/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Howdy, I've been running the SB16-Ultra for a few months now. I was initially worried about muddy or slow transient response from such a large driver. My Magnepans will show a slow muddy sub immediately but know worries. I think it works so well because of the 8 inch voice coil controlling the large driver. It is truly amazing!! I thought I'd always have to give up deep base to be balanced unless I spent closer to 10K. The reviews are accurate. Lots of control and tuning can be done for subtle, precise pieces for the "live" music experience. Love the sub!!

Pros: Accurate, subtle, yet thump like Thor's Hammer

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Jaw dropping performance

Kim from Beaver Dams, NY on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently bought two of these subs to enhance our movie and music experience. Running two Klipsch RT 12D's in rear and these beasts up front. They are incredible sounding and totally blew me away! And, I haven't made any adjustments yet. They are still in factory settings. Also love the app to control them. No buyers remorse what-so-ever.

Pros: Quality build, incredible sound, great app for control

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Strong and tight bass

Todd from Center Valley, PA on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the best subs around. Comparable and better than some of the top high end brands.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Jeff from Richland, WA on 8/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two SB16 Ultras in my theater room, along with a full compliment of SVS Ultra and Prime series speakers to make up a 7.2.2 system. The SB16 Ultra subs are nothing short of spectacular in how powerful, accurate, deep, and fast they are! They are awesome for big movie impact, but really shine in their musicality and ability to disappear into the other speakers! Couldn't be happier with these subs, and SVS customer service is just awesome! I ought my SVS equipment directly from SVS, but only because Crutchfield wasn't carrying SVS equipmentvat the time. I'd have happily purchased through Crutchfield had that been an option at the time. Both Crutchfield and SVS customer service is top notch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Charles from Union City, TN on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super heavy, but once you get it placed it delivers a great sound. After a week, we're glad we bought it. Room is 23x23 with 16 foot ceiling's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS SB16 Ultra

David from Bark River, Mi. on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When you buy something like this it's gotta be good...right? Well it is but it wasn't. Long story short. Got it. Hooked it up. Ran the Audyssey and was introduced to bloated mid bass like I've never heard. Time to google and learn the intricacies of subwoofer setup. Didn't realize how geeky audiophiles get involved with bass reproduction. Now that I've got it somewhat dialed in after educating myself I must say it's quite nice. Watched Blade Runner 2049 and a bowl came out of my cupboard shattering on the floor. I couldn't be happier.

Pros: Deep accurate bass reproduction. Doesn't distort. Crank it up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Kevin from Garland, TX on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The SB16 Ultra is hands down the best subwoofer I've ever owned. I've owned a lot of very nice subs over the past twenty years, and never have I experienced this much power and low frequency extension (especially from a sealed box sub) with such accuracy and precision as the SB16 ULTRA delivers! In fact at this price range I bought two! An absolute beast of a sub for both music and home theater.

Pros: Very powerful amp with tons of power in reserve, beautiful piano gloss finish. iPhone app to control the volume and all the DSP features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Far and away better then 12" front firing!

Adam from MA on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After countless 10" and 12" front and down firing Klipsch, Yamaha and Poke subwoofers this SVS is far and away better then them all. First off I've got a junk pile of broken beyond warranty subs and the SVS has a 5 year warranty. Second the sound quality is everything that the reviews say. The difference is truly amazing moving from a 12" front firing Klipch R-112SW in particular. The SVS SB16-Ultra truly fills our 13' x 17' Media Center. One of the biggest downfalls of the 12" subs is the loss off sound moving 6' off center. The SVS SB16 has the ability to fill the room. Sound quality is rich, full, deep and all that I can ask for listening to Classic Hard Rock, Reggie to Indie. The phone app is flawless and a pleasure to utilize. These guys no how to build them and have allot of faith in the durability given the 5 year Warranty. Buy one if your even considering it, it's worth every hard earned dollar.

Pros: Top quality construction, appearance and excellent sound. Phone app is a handy flawless feature. 5 year warranty.

Cons: Heavy in a good way, but be sure to have friend around when it arrives.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Beach, CA on 11/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bass sounds unreal!!! Deep & Rich .. Crystal clear & still booms!!! Easy set up.. Factory preset @ -10 D is actually the perfect level & sound. Looks unreal with piano black finish & metal grill. Sounds way better than the Velodyne subwoofer it replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Incredible sub and worth every penny

Mark from Spring, TX on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Believe all the reviews out there, this sub is phenomenal. Incredible bass output without being "boomy", the bass is tight, hits HARD and sounds amazing. With movies the sound is just unreal, the bass literally puts you directly in the action yet with music it has "finesse" and doesn't overwhelm. The app and controls are excellent as well, very intuitive to use and convenient. No more reaching behind the sub to make adjustments, you can control everything right from your seat. The In addition to the performance, the piano black finish is gorgeous and overall the design is superb. I've had some nice home theater equipment over the years and this sub is one of the finest pieces of gear I've ever purchased. The only problem is that it's so good I'm going to have to get a second one! Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

So Ridiculously Beautiful

Raymond from Fresno, CA on 10/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stunning design and the most beautiful sound I ever heard. I cannot comprehend how people could have the nerve to say it's expensive. For what you are getting, its worth AT LEAST double the price. I simply can't get my eyes off of them (ya, I have 2 SVS SB16 Ultra Subwoofers) because of its gorgeous glossy finish and beautiful design with its massive 16" driver. These subwoofers sound so incredible that you have to hear to believe. Well, you still might not believe even after hearing them lol. SVS is SERIOUS about true sound. The phone app is a brilliant idea and extremely useful. I ONLY recommend these subwoofers to true audiophiles because we are the only ones who appreciate true audio.

Pros: Performance, Price, looks, color, finish, weight and quality

Cons: What a dumb question when it comes to these subwoofers. Of course nothing!!! :)

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

SVS SB16-Ultra

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub! may have to get another one. Endless bass volume

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS SB16 Ultra Piano Gloss

Matthew from Ringwood, NJ on 5/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is fantastic, reaches really low, cleanly and accurately without boominess or overhang. Will hang with any type of music with ease. Can truly pressurize a large room. Tons of adjustability if needed, easily blends with my Revel Performa3 F208's. Will be looking to add a second one soon. Seriously sounds better than more expensive units I've auditioned locally. Great sub.

Pros: Digs deep with quickness and authority Musical Adjustability and system integration Good value vs the competition

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

A Beast Of A Subwoofer - And Well Worth The Price

Charles from NY on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a relatively high-end Home Theater which has included an SVS SB13-Ultra Subwoofer for several years. While I loved this sub, I saw that SVS recently released their new SVS SB16-Ultra Subwoofer and wanted to know if this larger unit would make a significant difference in my system's overall sound. Having now had the SB16 for a week, the answer is a very clear "yes". Now to be fair to what is truly an excellent product in the SB13, both models are very fast and clear even in the lowest portions of the sound register. The SB16 separated itself, however, in several regards. First off, for relatively simple recordings of rock, jazz, and pop the SB16 was a bit more accurate so that you heard a "cleaner" version of what the musicians had recorded. For more complex music such as heavily instrumented rock, tracks with a heavy drum/bass line, or a full orchestras (either with music discs or within the score of a movie), the SB16 made an even greater difference in that the overall sound of my system became significantly fuller and more "immersive". That was huge! Finally, for various "effects" that take place in movies (e.g., stuff blowing up, helicopters moving overhead) their was no question that the SB16 provided a fuller sense of in-your-face action - a critical aspect of achieving an excellent home theater experience. Overall, SVS offers a great line of subwoofers and the SB16 now stands out as the "beast of the bunch". Very highly recommended and a "must hear"!

Pros: Clarity, depth, and sheer ability to fill a room with accurate bass/low-end sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Best sub hands down!

Chuck from Burnsville, MN on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I was able to move this to my Home Theater system and connect it, I was able to do the setup, which was very easy with my Denon AVR 7200-WX processor. Once balanced with my DEF Tech 8000 Cube, the low end was astonishing and crisp. With both music and video, the bass response was pure, deep and lingered like the live version with a bass feel in your bones.. This thing is built like a rock! I am so pleased with the performance, I will double up with a second SVS SB16-Ultra soon. Worth every penny. The APP is so cool and has so many options to customize and save. Great technology and 'thinking outside the box'.

Pros: Performance and sound.

Cons: Need 2 to 3 people to position it.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP