Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

SVS SB-1000

Powered subwoofer (Black Ash)

MFR # SB-1000 BK Ash

SVS SB-1000

SVS SB-1000

Powered subwoofer (Black Ash)

MFR # SB-1000 BK Ash

57 reviews
View this product

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Liverpool, NY on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two SB-1000's and sound path isolation system in a 2 channel setup. I listen at reference levels every time and these subs are incredibly fast, accurate, and have well defined bass. Buys these! They will put a huge smile on your face at every listening session. ??))))

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dat bassssssssss

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Offers the right level of dat bassssssss. I can feel the thumping in my loins!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Rincon, GA on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the SVS SB-1000 subwoofer. It creates just the right amount of bass. It is a good sounding tight bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Added the low end I needed!

Crutchfield customer from Allen Park, MI on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a set of Cambridge Aeromax 2 bookshelf speakers in a 2 channel system that sound fantastic, but I needed the low end punch. After reading many reviews I chose the SVS SB- 1000. Very detailed bass, not muddy at all. Fits in perfectly with my setup. I have separates at 150 watts per channel driving my system and I'm loving it!

Pros: Awesome sound Great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Jason from Brooksville, FL on 7/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SVS's SB1000 is an incredible subwoofer. I purchased the SB1000 to accompany my Polk LSI9's and I have to say it is perfect. If I desire, I can easily turn the volume up on the SVS and bring down the walls, but I really appreciate the fact that I can sit and admire how articulate, subtle and precise this sub is as well. This is demonstrated with an album such as George Michael's Symphonica, or any Brian Crane or Michael Dulin album. Do not miss understand me, this sub can perform the work of melting your face off with some raining blood or Fear Factory's H-K. Try Soilworks The Panic Broadcast and prepare to have the police at your door step and a letter from the HOA. The fit and finish is beautiful, the piano gloss black is perfect and it looks excellent. I greatly appreciate that it doesn't have the metal grill as the sb2000 does. The quality of feel for the knobs on the amp feel solid and tight with a subtle click that softly reassures the user that it's a quality piece. I'm glad I decided to pull the trigger on this guy. The SVS logo is on the dust cover of the speaker which is a nice surprise because the image provided of the product never has this detail which adds value makes the weaker look more aesthetically pleasing. So I am well pleased with this subwoofer period. I'll likely purchase a second in a few months because I am that satisfied.

Pros: Beautiful finish Deep loud bass Small size Can make your eyes bleed. Very happy with this subwoofer.

Cons: One of the rubber grommets that the grill presses into was deformed. This actually turned into a great opportunity to contact SVS and evaluate their customer service which I discovered is absolutely excellent. I provided them with my serial # and they sent 4 news ones. I only asked for 1. Good stuff. I will provide a picture of the before and after so you will see that SVS is very supportive.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

cardes

Crutchfield customer from Butler, PA on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sub I've ever owned. Had several in the past but none compare to the quality bass this sub puts out.

Pros: Giant accurate sound from a compact sub

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Adam from Brooktondale, NY on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific sound in a compact size. You'll be surprised how oomph still unassuming box has!

Pros: Tight, clean sound, small

Cons: Doesn't dig as deep as it's ported sibling. Can easily anger the neighbors!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

No Boom!

Jaime from Huntington Park, CA on 3/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No boom! I'm coming from an 10" klipsch ported sub. The ported sub was great for movies and music. Very loud no distorted. But I got curious with sealed subs. The difference is really night and day. At low volumes I could not hear the ported sub at all. At loud volumes you knew it was there. With its boom boom sound. Now with the sealed sub, I had to turn the gain up past half way to match the volume of my efficient speakers. The sound was pure hard bass!! No boom. Even at low volumes I could hear the bass. At loud volumes I could feel the bass. The difference is I couldn't hear the sub. Meaning I couldn't tell where my main speakers left off and sub came in. Again with the ported sub it was a constant boom sound. It's true what they say about the seal sub sounding musical. The bass sound like an instrument not just like a generic sound. For this reason alone I decided the SVS sealed sub was worth it. Lastly the wood grain finish is not the best looking and I didn't want to spend extra on the piano finish. But since this sub is still small you can easily hide it away. Plus most of the time you will only see the front and with the grill on the two (piano vs wood grain) would look the same.

Pros: Tight hard bass. Chest thumping. Small size for a 12".

Cons: A little pricey. Vinyl is not the best looking.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Tight Accurate Bass Definition, SeparAtion, Tonality , Subperb Extremely Deep Powerful Bottom End

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome for Music & Movie's

Manny from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this sub but I'm more impressed by the service that the Crutchfield Team offered. Summary: I had already purchased another sub from my local BB, a Definitive Technology SuperCube 2000, the sales rep was really pushing it as the best in this price range. After taking it home and listening to it, it was OK, had plenty of volume BUT something was missing. I listen to music extensively (w/Martin Logan's) more then I watch movies (although I do enjoy movies), the DT2000 just sounded muddy to me with most music I listen to, Rock, Fusion, Classical, Jazz (to name a few), so I thought lets see what else is out there so I came across Crutchfield's site and noticed they offered live chat, I figured why not ask, can't hurt? I didn't mention I purchased the DT's right away. I was chatting with Chad, he asked the right questions and recommended I try this one especially because I'm more of a music listener. I got a good feeling abut Chad so I went for it and I'm glad I did. The bass sounds much more pronounced and with movies it's equally impressive as it gets the floor shaking 'plenty' (sorry neighbors). For now on when it comes to sound I'll be sure to check in here before I pull the trigger again. It's a refreshing feeling to do business with a company big on expertise/service and fair terms with competitive pricing. You just can't go wrong with that these days. Job well done Crutchfield Team!

Pros: Clear, Punchy but yet can get low and dirty for that floor rumbling effect!

Cons: For the money it doesn't get any better than this, for small to medium sized rooms I say just go for it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Chapin, SC on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ordered fri before noon and received sub next day. easy to set up and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

I like it!!

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really pleased with unit. Blends well with my speakers ( svs prime bookshelf's ) in a small to mid-sized room just fine, crossing it at about 60hz which may in fact be to high but still playing with the controls so it will get better with time. Like I said, really pleased.

Pros: Tight bass, not sloppy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Wenatchee, WA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Returned supercube 2000 and ordered svs sb1000. Just fit in space under end table as allocated by my wife. Fills in dialogue and music well. Tight and not boomy. Makes dialogue and music quite natural with onkyo tx-rz830 with older mk bookshelf speakers Works fine with svs wireless kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sub!!

Trevor from Omaha, NE on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought one of these to use as the subwoofer for my new media room. Awesome bass! Everyone who has heard my system comments about how the bass is perfect.

Pros: Easy to set up. Great Bass. Easy to adjust.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Really Good and good with KEFs!

Allan from Royal Oak, MI on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently picked up some KEF LS 50s and while they are great speakers, they just don't go as low as i would like. I'm using the KEFs for music and decided to get a CyberMonday deal on a sub. Crutchfield obliged with an open box SVS SB-1000. I needed a relatively small sub that would blend well with the KEFs. A sealed box sub seemed to be a better bet than a ported box for my usage so the SB-1000 was what i decided to go with. After a few days the sub showed up on my doorstep. After a relatively short period of twiddling dials, I got a pretty decent blend of speaker to the sub. I settled in for a listening session and these things sound great!!! The bass is tight and i'm not getting any negative interactions with the KEFs. This is just what I wanted. I would highly recommend this for matching up with a bookshelf speaker or a bass deficient floorstander., I'm confident that I made the right choice for my system and I should be listening to this sub for years to come.

Pros: - Good Match with bookshelf speakers for a music system - Light weight, easy to position and more than adequate for my (small) listening room

Cons: For the price - none.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Thumping Bass

Terry from New York, NY on 11/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker is excellent for music. You really feel the percussion and thump. i'm pairing this with the Definitive Technology pro 800 for the boom. These speakers compliment each other really well. Highly recommended. For those who hear rattle from the Definitive sub tighten all screws, tighten the red speaker tabs on the back and remove the rubber pieces from the feet.

Pros: Fits neatly in the corner. Handsome looking woofer.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Steve from Orange, VA on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hands down the best sub I've ever owned! Tight bass for movies and music and worth every penny.

Pros: Tight, room filling bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Detailed sound that blends perfectly

Chris from Grants Pass, OR on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one amazing sub. My Living room is 15x30 with 8' ceilings and it is perfect. Perfect sound and does not overpower the music. Sounds excellent with music and movies. I am running it at about 55% volume. I first ordered the Polk HTS12. Holy smokes! Way to much sub for my needs. I had to put it in the middle of the room toeven make it usable. Problem was at about 35% system volume, I could hear the bass 3 houses away. So, I sent that back and got the Definitive Technoligies pro sub 1000, and it was too boomy And not clear at certain frequencies. So I sent that back and decided to try the SVS SB1000. I'm glad I did as this thing is amazing.

Pros: Great sound, wont dominate your music, works excellent for movies. Not muddy at all. It won't bother my neighbors as long as I keep the volume respectable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

William from Weimar, CA on 7/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good support sound for highs and lows. It compliments my Elac-6 speakers with a Yamaha R-N602 with excellent matching of all frequencies. All with the great advice via Crutchfield expertise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal Value

Alex from Eagle River, AK on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this sub as part of SVS's Prime Satellite 5.1 package. We got the package for our ski condo where the potential to disturb neighbors is high. We wanted something small that provides deep accurate bass but not really deep, transfer through the door and walls bass...still does to an extent but it isn't a ported sub which would be more of an issue. This sub is very accurate and often surprises me when it hits a really low passage. It's better for music than for movies but does an outstanding job with both. For the money it can't be easily bested. For a more movie centric use I'd suggest one of SVS's ported subs. Very happy with this sub! The satellited are great too, Crutchfield should start carrying SVS's speakers too, FAR better than Bose for the same money. Not even a remotely fair comparison really.

Pros: Compact size Accurate Musical

Cons: Not a bottom dwelling sub

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tight response

Tom from Alabama on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using sub in a 2.1 setup for music matched with Polk Audio RTI-6 speakers and Rotel Preamp. Replaced an old JBL bottom firing sub. Listening to classic rock, blues, jazz, bluegrass and contemporary Americana. Tight bass, not booming. I like it.

Pros: Tight response, variable phasing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome!

Johnny from Hales Corners, WI on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read a lot about sub woofers and all reviews pointed to SVS, I decided to go with dual subs because of recommendations and I am highly impressed! These subs rock!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Accurate little powerhouse.

Dave from Katy, TX on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks Doug at Crutchfield! Doug confirmed exactly what I needed. A small yet powerful sealed, non "booming", accurate front firing sub for an office with very limited space and placement options where my use will be MUSIC- primarily classic rock, folk, country, jazz, pop and classical listening. The SB1000 is very tight as opposed to most ported subs and very accurate when it comes to reproducing low frequencies for music. I am fortunate enough to have bass management thru my amp, but this little sub has every other connection option imaginable if needed. For the money you simply can't beat the sound of this thing for HIFI in a small to mid sized room. Don't make the mistake of investing in hi end speakers only to ruin the sound with a muddy sub. If you like accurate music and great movie sound at reasonable volumes, this sub is a winner. If you have a huge room and/or just want to shake the place for movies or rap, look for a bigger or ported sub.

Pros: Accurate, tight bass indicative of sealed subs. Very small cabinet, not overly placement sensitive. Front firing design seems to help with placement for my specific application. YMMV.

Cons: Not really a con, just be sure you want an accurate high end sounding sub for music that is also sufficient for movies in a small to medium sized room. That's what this sub does really well. If you have a super large room, like rap or throw frat parties get a larger ported SVS or get two.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice sub for the money

Jimmy from Long Is City, NY on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this sub so far (still relatively new). I use it for my home theater, not for music. I'd qualify my review by stating that I like it for the money. Considering the size of the driver, it does feel a little under-powered. Probably should have bought the next size up. Too soon to determine build quality but styling and finish really look great. Can be a little muddy on the low-end but not so much that it gets in the way.

Pros: Very decent depth of sound Nice finish Low price

Cons: Slightly under-powered Lacking (just a little) on the low end definition (can sound a bit muddy)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs.

sabra from Charlotte, NC on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a powerful and CLEAN sub. I'm using it in a 15' x 15' room for mostly audio. Running it off a pro mixer (control room out) and have it mixed so ever-gently (paired with some Klipsch bookshelf speakers) and it gives a very natural warm sound without being muddy. I'm not sure how any of the reviewers that say it "lacks volume" are getting that impression. It may just be a matter of personal taste. However, I want real-sounding bass that replicates the instruments I'm listening to in a sound-recording. This sub works perfectly for my needs. Highly recommend! .. oh. and I have my sub sitting on a hard-wood floor surface about 1-foot way from a wall. It DOES matter where you locate your sub.

Pros: Compact. Clean sounding.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

william from Altamont, NY on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Comparing this sub with my retired Boston acoustic mss-130 sub I'm a little disappointed. That was a 10" sealed down firing sub, this is a 12" forward firing with more power yet it seems slightly less powerful. It suits my system but I was expecting a little more. It still fills a larger HT room though. Shipping was quick and the price was decent. If I had th cash and to do again I'd opt for the SB2000 though. Over all good sub.

Pros: Small size. Good sound quality

Cons: Expected more bass from a 12" sub rated at this power level

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, compact

Crutchfield customer from Calabash, NC on 3/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with my bookcase speakers and room size. Easy setup using the SVS recommendations. However, if you have a large room, this sub may not be what you're looking for.

Pros: Small size, great sound.

Cons: A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Nice low end but want more

Crutchfield customer from Big Pine, CA on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good but not enough volume. I just ordered a svs2000 to supplement

Pros: Small and clean presentation. Lows tight and clear

Cons: Lacks volume

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Great with music

John from Stratford, CT on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sub. Had hooked up with speaker wire. Now it is with RCA with full input ,using its own crossover. Works great either way. Kicks out those low tones. Used just for music. Went on SVS web site and gave me starting point crossover for my speakers. Very nice sounds much better than my surround sound sub did. Thanks to Tyler for recommendation.

Pros: Compact size and made nice. Like blue light when it's working.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Subwoofer

Logan from Lapeer, MI on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want booming sub for a great price. This is the product to go buy. Deep sub that vibrates the whole house.

Pros: Deep rich sounds Adjustable nobs to customise to your liking

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Ingleside, TX on 1/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using in my bedroom and it has nice tight clean bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Good bass

Jim from Palos Park, IL on 12/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great add on your if looking for that extra bass. Go larger if you want a really big bass sound Works great for regular music

Pros: Compact

Cons: Not for massive bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bass so loud it shakes the place

NIKKO from Santa Clara, CA on 12/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing rocks. I'm definitely no expert but for my living room, it can easily overwhelm you. Some people talk about feeling bass in your chest and even at higher volumes, this sub doesn't give you that sensation but you do feel it in your butt as it vibrates and shakes the floor. We have had to add felt pads behind all of our picture frames on the wall because they vibrate and the cabinets in our hallway on the complete other side of the house "breathe" when the bass hits so we have had to felt pad those doors as well. Overall - this thing rocks and makes music and movies whole.

Pros: Smallish, powerful, powerful, completely transforms the movie watching experience.

Cons: I needed to fortify everything in my house to stop it from rattling when this thing really starts to slam.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, PA on 11/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking to compliment bookshelf speakers in a small to medium sized area, this sealed subwoofer is simply outstanding. Tight, detailed electric bass blends seamlessly and drums have clarity and impact. This subwoofer is easy to set up and I haven't mentioned a price that is half what you should expect to pay. I would recommend a SVS PB1000 ported subwoofer for use in a surround sound system for even more dynamic punch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Accurate Bass Response

Arjun from San Francisco, CA on 11/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This woofer is amazing! Precise and real loud. I was contemplating between the ported vs sealed woofer and i can assure you that i made a wise choice choosing the SVS SB-1000. My apartment is pretty small and the living room where i am using this is around 14*10 feet. This woofer makes me feel every beat and thump that i was missing with my previous Bose home theater. I am using it only at 50% volume but boy... This thing is real good. I tried cranking it up to 100% and i could hear everything rattling around in the apartment. I am pairing this with the Denon AVR-X4300H and keeping this to LFE with 0 phase and 50% volume. I am so happy!!

Pros: 1. Precise Sound 2. Accurate Reproduction

Cons: 1. Should have included the SVS stands. Neighbors would be really unhappy!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bass for Days!

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 8/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a tough time deciding on this mainly due to the price. It was a lot of money for a single sub-woofer especially compared to my previous ones. Though this time I wanted to try something different to see if I was missing out on anything. Oh boy was I missing out! This sub-woofer works beyond great with movies and music and is really accurate even as you crank the volume up. I had to talk to several people (friends and Crutchfield advisers) and everyone said to go with SVS hands down. I'm glad that I did and wish I took the plunge sooner. If you are on the fence like I was just dive in! You will not regret it!

Pros: Accurate and house filling sound (it fills way more than a room with sound)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boomy Bass

Donald from VA on 7/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this subwoofer based on the recommendation of a representative from Crutchfield. After having it for a little less than a year, I can say that I do not like it. Bass, yes, there's lots of it but not the kind that pleases my ears. The SB-1000 is very boomy and not well defined, in other words, mushy. It will not be part of my surround sound system for much longer.

Pros: Bass and lots of it

Cons: Boomy and mushy, too large and they are not very attractive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 22 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000, Black Ash

Ronald from Huntington, NY on 7/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially I did not notice any difference from my old Polk sub. I spoke with SVS and they suggested I use my receivers auto calibration system. What a difference! The bass is clean clear and awesome. Thank you Crutchfield and SVS

Pros: Easy to set up and great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome sub!

James from Sayreville, NJ on 6/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sub for the money period. I mean this thing really rocks the house, and I only have it on 50%. Really great sub that really makes a home theater what its supposed to be. I'm just thrilled with the PB-1000.

Pros: Super deep bass for a low price. Its a high quality bass too, not boomy at all.

Cons: None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clean tight bass

Aron from San Diego, CA on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clean tight bass, blends in beautifully with music and movies. Sealed sub is the way to go.

Pros: Tight hard hitting bass, blends in perfectly. Small compact size

Cons: my neighbors are to close

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

You can feel the boom.

Chris from NC on 2/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this subwoofer. It has deep tight bass. Awesome with music. Great bang for the price. It has better bass than my 10 year old M&K.

Pros: The compact design works well with smaller rooms.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love it!

David from Jersey City, NJ on 1/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This SVS subwoofer is used along with a Arcam integrated amplifier with Sonus Faber Venere 2.5 speakers and a Peach Tree DAC iTX. All my music is FLACs including high-bit rate (e.g. 24/192) from a Synology NAS via async USB B. It sounds great as an audio 2.1 system and it has no issues for film / TV / BluRay. Great low bass with high accuracy / tight. I've played all sorts of music -- pop, jazz, blues, classical, hip hop, metal -- and it does it all. I've set it only at 1/3 volume and can't imagine going much above it in the living room of my one bedroom apartment which is not a tiny room by any means. Aesthetically the black gloss piano finish and compact size goes well with my decor -- real walnut furniture (mid century modern), walnut veneer speakers, back glass entertainment console, black LCD TV, etc. So it's a win / win for me!

Pros: Has all sorts of inputs -- high level, LFE, etc. Adjustable -- cross over frequency, volume, phase control Standby mode (both awake/sleep) works flawlessly without the mono trigger cable to amp Good looking in black gloss piano finish Modest price for the sound quality On-time free two day shipping as usual

Cons: Can't think of anything besides wishing that Crutchfield had a local listening / viewing center

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

There's a reason for all those great reviews.

Ken K from Buffalo, NY on 1/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an older down-firing, rear-ported beast of a sub with the SVS SB-1000. Sorta like replacing a manatee with a gazelle. No more one-note, bloated, boomy bass. Instead I now have velvety, deep, fast musical bass. Who knew bass players played more than one note?! My living room is 16'x 20' with 9' ceilings. I was concerned that the SB-1000 would be a little underpowered for the room. Not at all! Not even close. This thing rocks the whole apartment just fine. Finding a sweet spot for it was easier, too, due to it's compact size. Holds it's own with movie soundtracks, too. Super deep, well-controlled accurate bass at a decent price. I couldn't be happier.

Pros: Bass like butter! Great on movies, but really shines with music.

Cons: I'd like to have the option to purchase a steel grille for it (like the one on the SB-2000).

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! It sounds like the movie theater in my living room. Easy to install and setup for flawless sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice, tight bass

AP from Friendswood, TX on 12/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this sub! I replaced a Klipsch 12". This SVS 10" is less "boomy", with a tighter sound. I plan to add a second one, once I pay this off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compact size and good bass

Gene from Spokane, WA on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub passed the wife test first as it is compact enough to fit behind some furniture and isn't seen. It was easy to setup and adjusted to my room and system easily. I using it with a .Marantz integrated amp which uses speaker line level outputs for the sub and also Klipsch Rpm160 speakers in a room 25 by 35. I found the bass to be tight and gets deep deep enough for the jazz and blues i listen too. I like it and am happy with it.

Pros: compact size, good bass for music

Cons: none i can think of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Strong, tight and fast bass

Paul from Ottawa, Ontario on 12/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a great deal of research, I puchased an SB-1000 as a modern upgrade to my HK 3350 receiver and B&W satellites. I was seeking a sub that could deliver clean and accurate bass in a 12 x 16 foot living room connected to a slightly smaller dining room. My interests are purely musical though quite broad (60s-80s classic rock, 70s prog rock, Motown, R&B, and the odd pop riff), so I wanted something that had a capacity ranging from drums to bass and cello. The multiple inputs (including a high level one) simplified the connection to my older system. Owners of newer amplifier/receivers also have the choice of line-level or LFE hook-up. Either way, the initial set up was very simple (see SVS' article on subwoofer set up). The SB-1000 delivered fast, tight, and accurate bass right away. It dramatically improved my system's sound stage to the point where a blindfolded listener could be excused for thinking that I'm running a systen of hundreds of watts (RMS) through towers. The form factor of the SB-1000 is compact, fitting into my living room unobtrusively. Sonic performance is superb and very linear. It proportionally delivers strong bass, saving one from the hassle of having to fiddle with gain at low or high volumes. I really enjoy this sub and would highly recommend it for apartments and medium sized homes. In my view, it offers the best bang for the buck out there, making it a safe choice for those new to subwoofers.

Pros: Performance, ease of installation and set-up, small form factor

Cons: Rear mounted controls (would be handy setting up initially near a wall or corner), difficult to find at retail level (best ordered online or thru distributor)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SVS SB-1000

Crutchfield customer from cochecton ny on 10/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have only had this sub a short time but so far it has performed very well with jazz pop and rock excellent sub at a very good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sub.

DenWyg from Burlington, VT on 6/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub pairs perfectly with my old school Paradigm bipolars. It's musical, but provides plenty of punch. I am very pleased.

Pros: Easy setup. Small footprint. Fantastic response.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointed

James from Goose Creek, SC on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like to set my sub to "Auto" so it will turn itself off after I turn my receiver off (Denon mid level receiver). In standby it shows a red light and it has a blue indicator light which turns on when the unit is on, but my unit doesn't come on when I think there's enough bass in the movie or program i'm watching to warrant the subwoofer to be assisting my speakers. When it comes on it sounds good, but my unit comes on intermittently and not when I think it should be on. I read the reviews for this unit before I decided to buy it and there were enough positive reviews for it for me to decide to buy it. I need to call Crutchfield and discuss this with one of their techs.

Pros: It sounds good when it works.

Cons: 50% of the time when the unit is set to "Auto" it stays in the off mode even when there is clearly bass in the movie or program i'm watching that needs the sub and the unit doesn't come on like it should. I'm disappointed to say the least.

Crutchfield response on 6/7/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 28 found this helpful

disappointed

Brent from Indianapolis, IN on 5/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic Packaging, nothing like i have ever experienced, thats where the positive ends. Understand your room's cubic volume, I would rate this sub at best as a PC sub or for a very small room. SVS S B-2000 could have and should have been what I was sold. RCA Jacket pulled off the LSE speaker jack, you only get one opportunity to make a first impression. Im sure a good product, just a poor fit and a wrong selection by my sales person.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 33 found this helpful

very good sub

lisa from Tucson, AZ on 5/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this with the intention of replacing my HSU sub (excellent sub but massive). I decided to see if I liked having two subs instead of just one before removing the HSU sub. I liked having two so much that I intend to buy another SVS sub soon so I can finally get the beast out of my living room .

Pros: small but has plenty of punch

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sub woofer .

Richard D. Bills from Jacksonville, FL on 4/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the last 6 year I have had to replace 2 sub woofers,( paying over $600.00 for each name brand)due to amp fail. I picked this sub, because of 5 year warranty and good ratings. Set it up with my 3D sound system(6.1) Testing with some of the DVD I knew had outstanding sound. Did a fine tune and I love the sound. I did get what I was looking for at a price I liked.

Pros: None

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

SVS is now my favorite powered subwoofer

Paul from austin, TX on 3/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The SVS SB-1000 powered subwoofer surpasses all my expectations. The compact design that houses a large 12 inch subwoofer in an acoustic suspension means loud, deep and accurate bass. This subwoofer blends perfectly with my Definitive Technology ST8020 as the low extension of the SVS subwoofer round out my entire system. The bass is always nicely controlled and even on very loud passages the driver never had a hiccup. I have always had ported powered subwoofer and after hearing how clean and accurate an acoustic suspension powered subwoofer sounds I am never going back.

Pros: Powerful accurate bass Very easy to adjust and tailor to your existing system Low distortion at loud passages Very compact and light design for a 12 inch subwoofer

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Powerful

steve from las vegas, NV on 2/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recommended by my advisor Rex, I even called the company to talk to them about there products. SVS answered all my questions and concerns, very friendly, helpful, and explained the difference between each of there products I was interested in. Set up for this subwoofer was easy, did exactly what the company said in there instructions book., This sub ROCKS!!!!, everything I have watch is fantastic with it. I have had def. tech. subs before this one and the SVS is just incredible, I'm impressed with the company,warranty, and the quality of this product.

Pros: BEST subwoofer I've bought, easy set up, and will be buying more SVS products in the future

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Very Very Smooth Sub

Dunamis from Hawaii on 1/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The old. Onkyo Receiver, Bose 6.1 system that's 10 years old, still sounded good and was working well, buy It was out of date. No bluetooth, wifi, usb, etc... In with the New! Yamaha Aventage RX-A840 purchased from a different online retailer. Everything else is from Crutchfield. Cables are AudioQuest Pearl & Cinnamon HDMI. Speaker cables are AudioQuest Type 4 & Rocket 33 for speakers & Black Lab for Sub. SVS SB-1000 Sub (Scratch & Dent) Focal Chorus 705 Bookshelf Speakers & Focal Chorus 716 Floor Speakers. Center Channel Klipsch RP-440C. And all housed in a Rosewood 7ft x 9ft entertainment center with a 3 yr old LED Samsung 50 in TV. I probably spent $3K 10 yrs ago and I did not use AudioQuest cables. The old system was nice, but my ears have matured away from Bose since upgrading my car system to Focal, listening to Hi-Res music files with a DAC, and having high end Headphones and Earbuds. I understand there are much nicer systems for a lot more money. But, for the money, I am a very happy customer. I would have loved to use a Focal Center, but I needed a center that could hold my TV, and Klipsch had one. The sound is amazingly Smooth, balanced, and powerful! Everything blends well despite being a front facing 5.1 system. I get Great separation on movies, music, and TV programs. Yamaha does an excellent job of processing and I don't miss having speakers behind or beside me. Very clean Highs, Mids & Lows singing in perfect harmony...

Pros: Powerful & Very Smooth Bass. Not Boomy unless you want it to be.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 14 found this helpful

Makes a Big Difference

Ken S from Maryland on 10/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was running a 3.1 set-up with a Yamaha RX-V677 AVR, and Definitive Technology 800 side speakers and sub, as well as a DT 1000 center speaker. Sounded good, but decided to upgrade a bit. Changed my side speakers to Definitive Technology 1000. Nice difference. Movies sounded good, but felt music was a little underwhelming. Planned on upgrading the sub to Definitive Technology 1000 Pro Sub, but decided to do a little research first. After reading a number of forum posts and reviews, came away with the impression that there were better choices for a powered subwoofer. SVS subs consistently received stellar reviews from customers and industry reviewers. Picked the SB 1000 sub over the PB 1000 because 1) many reviewers said it was better for music, and 2) it was smaller. I live in a townhouse and my living room is not too large. I added a set of SVS Soundpath Subwoofer isolation feet which raised the sub a bit more off the ground and helped prevent floor and wall shaking. Want to stay on good terms with my townhouse neighbor. Love the sound and depth coming from the SVS sub. Much more complex than what I got from the DT 800 sub. Of course, I didn't compare it to the DT 1000 sub, but I'm very happy with my choice. The SVS sub and Definitive Technology speakers are a great package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

31 of 32 found this helpful

TOP