Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

Bookshelf speakers (Black Oak Veneer)

MFR # Ultra Bookshelf - Bk Oak

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

Bookshelf speakers (Black Oak Veneer)

MFR # Ultra Bookshelf - Bk Oak

18 reviews
View this product

Not in love.

william from ERIE, PA on 10/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I want to love these things. I don't. They are very well built, nice looking and have some excellent features. They play clearly and with the detail that you want from a $1200 pair of bookshelf speakers. I have them paired with an Audiolab 6000A, Brennan B2 through a Cambridge Audio Dac Magic and a Denon DCD-6000NE CD deck. I have used three different subs with them starting with a Klipsch 10", SVS PB1000, and a REL T/5X. I have positioned and repositioned then endlessly. They are on stands. They are bright! Almost harsh. Voices mostly but instruments occasionally (saxophone). I will be trading them soon for something warmer. Just hoping that I can find something with spending a ton more money. They stage well, details galore - even revealing things I have missed for years. Mids are great and low end is good too. I expected to fall in love and am nowhere near.

Pros: Build, details

Cons: Bright

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

Crutchfield customer from Sayre, PA on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible. Clarity. Best stereo speakers I've tried.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Why did I choose the Ultra Bookshelf speakers?

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 8/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My listening area is too small for tower speakers. The main listening area is 12x11 open floor plan with 11-foot vaulted ceilings. With the help of Crutchfield and SVS support, I decided to bypass the Linton Heritage, Monitor Audio Silver 100 (1st choice) for the Ultra Bookshelf. Monitor Audio was the closet in build style to my very loved but dying 3-way JBL PT800s; however, I agreed with a senior person at SVS that having a uniform speaker construction (SVS mains, center, sub) would most likely yield the best overall tonal matching. After 50 hours break-in and fine tuning, configuration is: Ultra Bookshelf fronts (bi-amped) and Ultra Center set to SMALL, 60Hz crossover, -1.5 db tweeter // SVS SB-2000 Pro: y-cable connection from single subwoofer cable, LFE Off, crossover 61Hz, -5db for music, -10db for TV and movies // In-the-wall Polk Audio rears, crossover 90Hz, -10db (they are in an odd placement). For the fronts I tried 80Hz crossover as recommended in articles about THX and surround sound but it lacked depth, 70 Hz was better but 60Hz as recommended by SVS was the sweet spot. Setting the subwoofer crossover to 61Hz and turning off LFE stopped the bass bounce between the fronts and the sub. I totally agree with the conclusions of the online reviews about the sound quality and construction.

Pros: Great tonal matching with Ultra Center and SB-2000Pro. Midrange clarity and precision.

Cons: Would love to hear this speaker with a silk dome ferro cooled tweeter.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Walker, LA on 7/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound ,crisp and clear , excellent for 2 channel stero I recommend a sub for real deep base .I tried the prime pinnacles but to me the ultra bookshelf have richer more life like midrange and easier on the ears no ear fatigue even with long listening time.They handle plenty of power and any type of music .Build quality is excellent on any of the svs that I tried ,these are my favorite. Thanks crutchfield for your amazing service and support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost there

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 7/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good and well built. did not sound right with my amp. But I would recommend them

Pros: Good build quality. Great from Rock

Cons: Did not sound right with my amp. Sounded better on digital

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Upgrade Success

Crutchfield customer from Fallbrook, CA on 6/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Speakers. Highly Recommended. Make sure you utilize them with a SVS sub as they are matched perfectly to let the sub woofer do it's job. The bass on this pair can easily be used for a left and right front channel. We have a 14x20 room with a 120 inch screen and these are exceptionally loud. The tweeters are not too high and annoying like other speaker brands after a while of listening. Perfectly tuned. I also purchased a center channel Ultra and you will not be disappointed.

Pros: Excepcional Sound and balance. Workmanship is excellent!

Cons: Heavy for some shelf's. Support well!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Bay City, MI on 6/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We upgraded our 15 year old HT system, replaced some Mission Speakers with SVS. In all we got the Ultra Bookshelf for mains, The Ultra Center and the Prime Satellites. Very happy with the upgrade. The new Yamaha RX-A2A really shines with the new speakers, much better clarity of our TV shows, streaming movies and Blue Rays discs. Just all the missing littles details shine through now. We even have been enjoying the Music streaming in 2.1 mode as well. If you are on the fence, I can recommend you give these a try if they are with in your budget. The Piano Gloss finish is very nice. You can tell once you pick up a speaker they are solid and well made.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

Crutchfield customer from Glenwood, IA on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best money I've ever spent on speakers. I own the Prime Book shelf speakers, as well as a SB-2000 sub, and now the Ultras. Unbelievable sound! The reviews don't lie.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, AL on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME SOUND

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

Crutchfield customer from Pinckney, MI on 2/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker For 1k on the market!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best all around bookshelfs for $1k or less

Crutchfield customer from South Carolina on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the Ultras and the Primes to do a comparison in my listening space. I ran both with an SVS SB-2000 Pro powered by a Marantz SR 6015 via 110 watts for movies and HiFi music. I was afraid 110 watts wouldn't be enough for the Ultras but no worries, 110 watts worked great. The only huge difference is the high end on the Ultras have a lot more detail and that detail fills the room even at lower volume. Even my wife could hear the difference and was impressed enough to justify the cost. Paired with a great subwoofer or bi-amped the Ultras perform very well in stereo HiFi. However, they absolutely shine in movies. The Ultra tweeter crossover combo is absolutely magical for movies. The Primes are almost identical to the Ultras in the low and mid frequencies. The Primes are still speakers for the price even without the high end detail of the Ultras. Both speakers perform best with a quality subwoofer and no dynamic compression.

Pros: Great lows and mids. Ultra high detail in highs, even at low volume

Cons: Really needs a high quality subwoofer or bi-amp to get the most out of them.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Fenton, MI on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent hours checking out reviews on this speaker and never saw a bad one, so I pulled the trigger. I'm glad I did. This speaker sounds great. Nice smooth ballanced mids & highs. And the lows are not bad for a bookshelf speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Ultras Replace JBL 530s

Douglas from Clyde, NY on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just returned a set of Elac DBR6.2s to Crutchfield. First Class service every time. These Ultras are amazing. DT SM65, Elac DBR6.2, Elac DB6.2, Klipsch R51M, JBL 530. All speakers I auditioned this year. The DT SM65s were my mains. The DBRs were powerful like the Klipsch. They both hit so hard my ears hurt. The DBR6.2s are top tier, The SM 65s are so easy to listen too, but harsh treble when turned up. The 530s oh they are so wonderful and spacious. The Ultras are like the 530s but so much more refined, so clear, no matter what the source, at all levels. If you like the 530s sound the Ultras are so close but so different. I got a pair of Ultras in white, open box, full warranty. Yea I know the only way I could do it. The DBRs are so good if you have the source, space, and power they love. I realized I could never properly feed or set them up. The Ultras easier to drive and they are so even across the board. My flac files are so good through the Ultras, CDs just as good played through the Marantz Player. Yamaha 803N providing power and switching, set at 4ohms, seems to take the bite outta the treble. The 803 did not give the DBRs what they needed. The Ultras replaced the 530s as mains they are that good. Keeping the 530s . I say the Ultras truly do it all at a very very high level. I do not think I can afford to upgrade from the SVS Ultras. They blend perfectly with my PB1000 sub from SVS. Music and Movies SVS all the way.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Crutchfield was sold out.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing. Replaced some older Klipsch floor standing speakers and I can't believe what I had been missing. Highs are there but not ear piercing like the Klipsch, now have mid range the Klipsch didn't have, lows are good but have two SVS subs that take care of that. Bought the limited production piano gloss white and ordered black grill cloths to replace the white ones that come on them. Compliments my white and black BDI Ola console. Very nice looking! SVS has won me over, AND, you can't beat Crutchfield. Nobody come close.

Pros: Amazing sound, and quality craftsmanship. Great looking too

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Super Clear and Crisp Bookshelf Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Brambleton, VA on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound wonderful and they're very clear. The sound advice guy from Crutchfield was wonderful too!

Pros: -Sound Amazing -Super Clear

Cons: None that I have found.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SVS Ultra Bookshelf

Crutchfield customer from Palm City, FL on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the speakers. I was surprised with the excellent bass produced by these small bookshelf speakers. I would recommend these speakers. Exceptional clarity throughout all frequencies

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

SVS Ultra Bookshelf Don't miss out on these!

Crutchfield customer from Benton, LA on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have just purchased a pair of SVS Ultra Bookshelf speakers. The quality, performance and value make them worth every penny. I am running them with recently purchased Ultra Center and they compliment one another very well. Not inexpensive but still a great value. Don't miss a chance to listen to them. If you do be forewarned you will probably that them home with you.

Pros: Clean, Clear and Awesome

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Really Amazing!!

Brian from New York, NY on 8/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Prior to purchasing the Gloss Black SVS Ultra Bookshelves, I had heard of SVS because of their subwoofers. I read some reviews on these speakers while looking for a new pair of bookshelves in the sub $1500/pr range. They have a fantastic return and upgrade policy, so I took the plunge. I have them set up in a dedicated music room and paired with dual gloss black SVS SB-2000 subs. These speakers have punch, great detail, amazing soundstage and imaging. I couldn't have been more impressed. If you're looking for a great pair of bookshelves, do yourself a favor and take these for a spin. You won't regret it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

27 of 27 found this helpful

TOP