Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Power Reference Series 6"x9" component speaker system

MFR # PRX690C

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Power Reference Series 6"x9" component speaker system

MFR # PRX690C

18 reviews
View this product

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 5/30/2021

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For $300 which included: front 6x9 woofers, two tweeters, and rear 6.5 woofers - this system sounds great. Installation wasn't that bad, once I was able to figure out where to mount the crossover and how to properly route the wires.

Pros:

Cons: I wasn't aware this was a "component" system when I purchased it. But that was just more opportunity to learn something new?? The "Metra" brand of speaker adapter supplied with the Crutchfield purchase require modifications to make them work- kind of a hassle- but again, just more opportunity to learn how to troubleshoot and modify! ??

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

rich, full, rounded sound

CHRIS from SIMPSONVILLE, SC on 5/28/2021

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

powerful bass, peak highs with perfect separation with the included crossovers. Running off 4Runner factory head to LOC to amp. If I had a single cab truck these could handle the full sound range, thumping hard

Pros: this sound at this price point

Cons: none come to mind

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

F-150 2016 set up

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

put these in on a F-150 2016 sound great. Now I hear things in songs that I've never heard before. Voice is crisp and can hear the Hi-hat on the drums. I screwed the cross over to the inside door near the door handle and put both speakers in the door. Sounds great. I used these with the factory radio. I had to run the volume to almost max but no distortion at all. I am sure a amp would be the next step up, but I didn't want to pay $200 for the wiring harness.

Pros: Far better than factory speakers without having to buy an amp and wiring harness.

Cons: put the speaker and plastic holder on first before mounting to the door. This way you can mount the metal clips on the back.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well built product

Scott from Pemberton on 5/17/2021

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy install with the products provided if you have an idea of how to do it all and all is a well built product very good lows when the volume is low it seems to be lower then stock but that could very well be my fault during install or probably needs an amp for extra power that would probably help

Pros: Very good lows sound like there's a sub

Cons: Low volume seems lower then it should be

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethton, TN on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install.. sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 4/10/2021

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound clarity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Mc Calla, AL on 3/30/2021

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers sound really good. The installment brackets that were included for free do not bolt up to the speakers correctly I had to modify them to get them to work. Even with the modifications I could only use three screws to connect the speaker and the brackets.

Pros: Speaker sound really good.

Cons: The adapter brackets do not fit the speaker.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality

Crutchfield customer from Cresson, PA on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality of the tweeters weren't good at all.

Pros: The woofers are of good quality. I would give them a 7.5 out 10

Cons: The quality of the tweeters weren't as good as I thought they'll be. Not too loud. The stock tweeter in my car sounded 2x as loud.

Crutchfield response on 3/23/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Humble, TX on 12/20/2020

2020 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good price for product. Perfect fit 2020 gmc sierra.

Pros: Price and fit

Cons: Bass performance

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers TWO THUMBS UP

Crutchfield customer from Sapulpa, OK on 7/20/2020

2015 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Installed in my 2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD work truck and these rock. honestly sounds like iv got a sub the back. great bass response with my stock radio

Pros: Great Fit in doors awesome response

Cons: Dash speakers not so great (compared to stock speakers)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are beautiful products. Full-range sound. Would have been 5 stars but one of the tweeters enclosures separated during installation which required a few drops of super glue and some patience. All worked out in the end.

Pros: Excellent sound range for the price.

Cons: Be careful - some of the components are not as study as you think they should be.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Stone Mtn, GA on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great choice. need more bass. was told that i needed a power amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, MD on 11/22/2019

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great. Crisp clean sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not worth the money

Derek from Halls, TN on 2/3/2019

2005 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

6x9s work fine, tweeters never made a sound. Bought 8 dollar tweeters locally and hooked them into the crossovers and they've been working fine

Pros: Midrange component works fine

Cons: Cheap tweeters lasted longer than the one day the Memphis tweeters lasted

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Portage, IN on 8/20/2018

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2003 jeep grand Cherokee wj with the infinity amp-speaker option. The tweeters did not work any more so I replaced the dash and front doors with these. I used the crossover for the tweeters and they sound a lot better than factory speakers. My next upgrade will be the 6 1/2 in. component for the rear doors

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Memphis Audio PRX690C

Crutchfield customer from Sutton, MA on 6/21/2018

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Running just these through a Pioneer head unit and MB Quart amp in the front doors of my 2005 Tacoma, nothing in the rears. Fully impressed by these speakers, the bass you can get from them is fantastic and the separation between frequencies is good as well. Highs fall a little into the background but I have also not zero'd in on my tuning yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best components I've had

Allen from Travis Afb, CA on 5/28/2018

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are awesome on just the stock head unit but will be powering them soon with 4 channel amp. If you have the basic sound system for Ford F-150 do yourself a favor and buy these.

Pros: Highs and bass

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great speakers

Matt from Slatington, Pa on 8/1/2017

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Heard a lot about these speakers so I figured I would give them a try. Could not be happier. They sound amazing as I am running a JBL 5 channel amp as well to power these speakers. I would recommend these to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP