Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
575 984 113 3
Connect ID #
575 984 113 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Bookshelf speakers (Oak)

MFR # DBR62-W

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Bookshelf speakers (Oak)

MFR # DBR62-W

8 reviews
View this product

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Guest from Glendale, CA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've already said my piece on these great speakers but after a few months living with them, I thought I'd do a followup. I have them paired with a Yamaha S801, Audience Ohono cables and a Oppo 93 DVD player. The sound is so pleasant, natural and beguiling that I have not been able to best them by comparing to other speakers. I have a unique difficult placement situation and with the front port, combined with a couple of mall eight inch subs, the sound is amazing. They just stomped a pair of $1400 highly reviewed speakers. Anyone who says they are sleepy or not exciting must be addicted to hyper detail or want their music thrown in their face. These are listen all day and just enjoy the beauty of the music speakers. The sound is detailed, spacious, rich and fulfilling. The Audience speaker cables are an excellent match and even though some people might turn their nose up at a Yamaha integrated, The S801 is a truly fine musical piece of equipment and a great partner. I think the addition of a small sub, or a pair of them does free the speaker a bit. I have this audiophile problem of wherein I reach the goal I want, ButI keep looking. It's a disease. I will continue to compare and play with things but it gets harder all the time with equipment like this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Bookshelf sound

Crutchfield customer from Marion, OH on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying these are exceptional speakers, especially for the money. I hate to give the a 4 rating, when in all reality I would give the a 4.5. I'm just a ordinary guy that likes speakers. I'm not doing and crazy computerized testing, I'm just listening to music I like. I used a NAD T-747 receiver to power them. They really do like power. They are so smooth, and easy to listen to. They have great extension for a bookshelf speaker. I get listener fatigue, and these didn't cause me any grief. I compared them against B&W 606, Ascend Acoustic Sierra 1, and KEF LS50's. I listened to all kinds of music from rock to country. IMO they are much better than the LS50's. I do not enjoy the 50's at all though. To my ears they are sterile and pierce my ears. I think they compared favorably to the Sierra 1's. For the money I would buy the ELAC's for sure. The Sierra's might have a tad bit more openness to them, but to my ears they were close. The B&W 606's sounded better in every way to my ears. They are amazing speakers. I was listening to The Who Behind Blue Eyes, and the 606 just add a different layer to his voice. They just sound more open and fuller to me. However, for $300 difference in price I would say it's a coin flip. I ended up returning the ELAC's just because they couldn't unseat anything I currently have. But they are great speakers, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to people.

Pros: Value Sound Quality Build Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Elac DBR 6.2 in White Oak Winner Winner

Douglas from Clyde on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a set of 6.2s I had for 3 months. Loved them but they sounded funky now and then. Must be the cabinet resonance they speak of. The bass was boomy. In a very harsh room so you may have better results. The DBRs hooked up to the same Yamaha 501 integrated Amp, same room. The tweeters are amazing very clear clean and not veiled. The bass, don't worry, while playing some tracks it felt and sounded like the kick drum was somewhere in the room. The mids very even throughout. Really no need for a sub with music in my room. Bass waves make it through my overstuffed chair when turned up. Wonderful at low to med levels the details are present at all volumes. Volume knob on the 501 at the 11 o'clock position in pure direct mode is just right for some loud music. The DBRs can take more though. I been looking for speakers for six months now, most have that artificial bass boost. I Listen differently at 55 then 35. Once you get home a speaker with boost its there. These are a second system, my first uses a set of JBL 530s. Nothing I hear, again I hear beats the 530s in the right room. The B6.2s were a let down from the JBLs, the DBRs are not. So there is no way to really judge the DBRs until you get them home. I would say if you are thinking bout them, you won't be disappointed. I have bought 3 sets of speakers in the last 6 months I am keeping, JBL 530s, ELAC DBR 6.2s, and Cambridge SX 50s. Thats were my ears landed me. Hope this Helps. The JBLs were on sale.

Pros: White Oak

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, CA on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying PSB XB and Klipsch M600 speakers, I settled on these Elacs. Nothing wrong with the other speakers, just not for me. I love the even handed smooth presentation of this EALC speaker. It doesn't have any unpleasant anomalies and presents music in a natural and easy to listen to fashion. The important thing is I can listen to these all day without fatigue. The construction seems to be of very high order and the front porting helps with wall placement. it matches well with less than perfect electronic you may find in this price range. Just a great speaker.

Pros: Musicality and high construction quality.

Cons: The walnut vinyl covering looks cheap to me. There must be a better covering that doesn't look like a cheap coffee table. Elac also doesn't make a black speaker even though it would match with other speakers like subwoofers.A lot of people choose black so they don't have many different colors of wood in their decor. Consider it. Some people might the ability to bi wire.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Very nice

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

THese speakers are replacing a pair of Boston Acoustics bookshelf speakers that were over 10 years old. The ELAC DBR62 sound much fuller and have a deeper bass response. Overall I am impressed with the sound and build of these speakers .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Bookshelves for the Money?

Crutchfield customer from Cotati, CA on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having tested these next to my KEF R3's, you can rest assured that you are getting 99% of a top tier speaker for less than 1/3 the cost. The R3 sounds more sterile, more neutral, which you may prefer, but the Debut Reference bookshelves sound just as good and sometimes better. The finish and styling on them is the best I've ever seen on a pair of speakers at this price. Would recommend these to anybody, regardless of budget.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Way better then the debut 2.0 6.2

Crutchfield customer from Goodrich, MI on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Andrew Jones hit a home run with these speakers.The detail every note of the music and voices have there own space. The sound stage is very large and open.They make the rest of my gear sound better. Way to go Andrew Jones.

Pros: Better detail and imaging.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP