Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # DF62-BK

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # DF62-BK

31 reviews
View this product

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good ! Base is on point. Needs some breaking in.

Pros: Every thing

Cons: Heavy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tremendous value. I don't think the bass is as terrific as other fans state. As with most any skinny tower, it goes without saying that a sub is needed to compliment these. Also, these are only decent for music listening, but they truly shine for home theatre use.

Pros: Great value Highs and mids are great Look great

Cons: Nothing noteworthy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First set of nice speakers and while I don't have golden years I think they sound good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Woodstown, NJ on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great with my Yamaha Aventage RX-A1070. Looks very handsome.

Pros: Speaker box feels sturdy

Cons: Speaker grills were slightly warped out of box, so fitting them on the speakers was somewhat challenging

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic sound at fabulous price

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery. Excellent sound at great price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Butte, MT on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Round Lake, IL on 3/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listen to music like most people watch T.V. These are being used with Elac's B6.2's in the surround position a Polk Audio 660wi and Denon AVRX 2400H . Big Black Hammer Party, Zeppelin's Physical Graffiti, Primus Frizzle Fry, Front Line Assembly, Johnny Cash, Rollins Band, Slayer!!! you get the point. Like I read, these speakers do it all well. These were scratch/dent from Cruthfield.....I'm still trying to find a scratch or a dent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Solid sound

Rene from Laredo TX on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers for 2 reasons one because I have limited space the second reason is because of the great reviews. I have to say that I am very pleased. I have just recently got back in to home theater I left about 20yrs ago so I looking for an entry level system to start out but still wanted good quality and I find that the Elac F6.2 fit the bill perfectly. For the first time I actually understand what the reviews are talking about the great sound from mids and the High's I don't know about the bass because I also have 2 klipsch 10subs but for the price I can't see any body going wrong .if u want good sound and don't want to $500 or more for each speaker and want the sound of a speaker costing much more I recommend the Elac Debut series very satisfied

Pros: They space saving they sound much larger and more expensive than are

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding, Clean Sound!

Eric from Galveston, TX on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers. I found them to be outstanding with all music and at all listening levels. I had them set up in traditional triangle about 7 feet apart, toe in to listening position and voices were coming from the center. Clarity and Clean is the best way I can put it. On sale or full price, they are a great value. A nice wood veneer would be nice but then the price goes up. Here you are paying for quality drivers. I ending up sending them back, trading up to KEF LS50, after a full-just under the 60 day return policy, just because I wanted to see what the next level of performance you get going up the ladder in price. Crutchfield is great about the return policy and great help in advice!

Pros: Awesome, I ran them with Schiit Vidar (100 watts 8 ohms) power amp and Schiit Saga preamp with Bluesound Node 2i

Cons: Vinyl finish

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Lindenhurst, IL on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AMAZING!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Painesville, OH on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really excellent sounding speakers. I gave them a 4 star rating because I don't think they go as low as the specs state. Otherwise good imaging with a clear representation of the music from top to bottom. The top end is extended and detailed but could get a little bright with the wrong amplification source. Midrange is also very good for a speaker in this price range. Open and transparent especially with vocals and piano. Overall this speaker is hard to beat under $1000.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Larry Steven from Ft Walton Bch, FL on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the $$$! Very detailed & rich sounding, better than the klipschs they replaced. As they are 3-way speakers, I heard things I'd never heard before. But with 4 woofers you would think the bass would be better, but no. It's ok, just not outstanding. But I'm only just beginning. I'm very satisfied so far with these speakers. It will take more listening time to truly evaluate them

Pros: Clear and true highs, and great details. Truly a great speaker for the $$$. WOW!

Cons: Not enough bass with 4 woofers.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Outstanding speakers

Jack from Nampa, ID on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It amazes me how much sound comes out of these speakers. I have a relatively small, furniture packed room. The important thing is that splitting the bass to the two 6.5 inch drivers does the job well. Some folks with small rooms may not need a subwoofer. They rival the 8" drivers I had in my previous big heavy, 48" high, 3 way floor speakers.

Pros: These things breathe easy. Lots of head room even at 20% or 30% volume. You don't have to crank it up to hear real music. These would pair well with a 10" woofer in a small room such as in an apartment. You can hear everything the presentation has to offer without irritating your neighbors.

Cons: The bass is good and surprising but 8" drivers would be better assuming you don't have a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Ottawa, KS on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is crisp and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful sound, fantastic buy

Tom from Joplin, MO on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific sound. I have an Onkyo tx rz620 driving them as I may eventually expand to surround sound. Also have a klipsch r-120 subwoofer for low end based on the reviews I read about low end on these speakers. Incidentally my subwoofer cable broke (thanks Crutchfield for sending a replacement so quickly) so I was using speakers without sub. They sounded great for the wide variety of music I like. The low end was solid enough. I would have sent the sub back if not for the great price (and eventual expansion to surround sound). If I knew that I wasn't going to expand system, no genuine need for sub. Very happy with the speakers. Final note - I put rubber feet on them (Stick on type from big box home store) as I have hardwood floors in living area. I was unable to locate the pointed, metal feet for use on carpet. If you have carpet, make sure they are included in box.

Pros: Sound quality, build quality, sale pricing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Perrysville, OH on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

About anything would have been an upgrade from the bookshelf speakers I was using but I can't believe how mush of one. I am hearing things I never had before. Sound is full and clear. As for other comments about the bass, you will not do better with a speaker of this size without a sub.

Pros: Clear sound. Sale price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great speakers that lived up to the reviews. I have them in a smallish room, and they sounds great. Couldn't be happier with the service from Crutchfield. Everything arrived a day early.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Just buy them already!

PJ San Antonio from San Antonio, TX on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Budget friendly or not these speakers are amazing. I got them mainly for two channel vinyl playback in direct mode or pure audio mode on my Onkyo RZ 820 receiver and man am I glad I did. The imaging and sound stage are superb. I had to keep getting up to check if my center channel was on ( it wasn't) . Stop reading reviews and buy them already. Luckily I got mine on sale half off but they are worth every penny and more. And paired with the C6.2 for movies you can't go wrong.

Pros: Excellent sound and imaging. Easy on the eyes or at least spouse friendly.

Cons: Maybe Feet/ spikes could be better but that's about it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Park Ridge, IL on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, a warmer sound than my old speakers. Great Value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound, Great Price

Allen from Lafayette, LA on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy that I chose the Elac Debut 2.0 series for upgrades to my fronts and center. I can't say enough about how good they sound, especially for the price. These towers are detailed and highly resolving, while still able to produce a good bit of energy in the room. On quality tracks, musical instruments sound like instruments, not recordings of them. We are enjoying listening to more complex music such as classical more often now, simply because it is so much more enjoyable to listen to on these speakers. I installed these towers along with a matching Debut C6.2 center and a pair of SVS12-NSD subs. Even though low frequency reproduction is pretty good on these towers, the subs allow for high energy in the sub-60 hz range. I've played test tones to see where the real frequency roll-off is, and it seems somewhere around 50 hz to me. Not that it's quiet at 40 hz, but roll-off is very noticeable there, and it won't exactly thump the room in that range like a sub can. But if you add a sub or two, you've got quite a combo with these towers. Above the very low frequency stuff, these towers have no problem getting to high volume with modest power. I'm only running a 90 wpc AVR, and I have no problem getting these speakers to uncomfortable volume levels (even without heavy content for the subs). Fit and finish is better than I expected. They won't win beauty contests, but they are simple and handsome. In summary, I can't believe I paid so litt

Pros: Excellent sound quality, good detail to the sound. I don't think there's a better value in tower speakers today.

Cons: Low frequency extension could be better, but that's splitting hairs at this price range. If you want anything below 35 hz, you need a sub anyway unless you pay $$$ for truly full range speakers and a big enough amp to drive them.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding value. Picked them up on a Black Friday sale; The hype around ELAC being an affordable entry-level audiophile speaker is earned. Excellent detail and more low-end than I expected from reading other reviews. Free shipping for over 110lbs didn't hurt either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still in break-in phase, but the ELAC's sound amazing -- especially for the price. Replaced a 25-year-old pair of Klipsh towers. I like the sound on the low end but these boys will crank, too. And, the slim towers look great! Pairs up beautifully with my Marantz amp and Pro-Ject turntable.

Pros: Solid, heavy speaker Great sound from low to high volume Nice appearance Surprising decent bass

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Elac speakers

Larry from Frederick, MD on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm very satisfied with the Elacs. They have good, balanced response over the frequency range. Slightly more power is required than the Boston Acoustics they replaced. Time will tell as I listen to a wider range of music. They definitely make TV sound more clear.

Pros: Good imaging, response over frequency range.

Cons: Rather stark appearance.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pleasing Speakers

Mark from Swansea, IL on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these a few weeks now and they have about 80 hours play time. I haven't thrown a lot at them they can't handle content-wise. Upper-mid rolloff is much better than I thought it would be. Cymbal crashes, high hat subtleties, finger snaps, piano keys, etc are articulate and clear. I wouldn't use these without a sub. Below 100hz they are straining and get sloppy. I highly recommend the F6.2 for a nice, clear speaker that does not leave you fatigued. I have mine sitting on a pair of auralex foam isolation platforms and it helps tremendously. I auditioned these along with B&W, Martin Logan, Triangle, high-end Klipsch, Definitive, Wharfedale, and others including the higher end Elac. What I heard just did not justify the considerable difference in price. These are that good. I'm coming from a pair of Focal floor standers and believe it or not the Elac's are much more pleasing to listen to and are more accurate with red label recordings. It really bothers me when I read that a speaker is, "good for the money." Either they're good and pleasing to listen to or they aren't. There are a lot of speakers out there and either you like them or you don't. Crutchfield customer service is top rate. One of my speakers was missing a grill when they got here. That certainly isn't Crutchfield's fault. I called right away and they are to send out a new, replacement grill. My system: Outlaw 2160 Receiver Marantz TT 15s Marantz CD 6006 CD Pioneer R

Pros: Very clear and articulate highs. Mids are strong and do not sound colored. Bass is good above 100hz. Not fatiguing to listen to at any volume. Pleasing appearance in the grand scheme of things. No buyers remorse.

Cons: Vinyl finish is kind of cheap looking and durability is suspect. One speaker was received without a grill. A good sub is needed, especially at lower volumes.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

True Hi-Fi

HTFan from CA on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

$199 ea on Black Friday sale? $400 a pair? Hands down the best value here at Crutchfield. This is an Audiophile speaker. Don't let the reviews that say the bass is weak fool you. The bass is outstanding! Calibration is everything. A. Jones designed these speakers like he did the Pioneer SP-F52 towers. Designed to play loud with zero harshness & chest punch bass! If you cannot get these to produce bass? Then you're a bluetooth type customer used to the mono pill. Take the red pill & wake up to Hi-Fi greatness with these Debut towers. I mean come on, $199 each for true 3 way, high element crossover towers? I guarantee, 2 of these upfront, 1 ELAC center & 2 ELAC B4 as surrounds and you'll have the ultimate surround setup. Detail in the soundfield will pop and give you goose bumps. I know how 3D the Andrew Jones speakers sound. True holographic, in the room sound. Now, a 6 ohm rating means you need to push at least 20 watts per channel at a minimum. If you've gotta' surround sound AV receiver rated at 100 watts per channel, you'll be experiencing movies & music at a true Hi-Fi level. HI-FI. Hi Fidelity! Yes? Few speakers under $500 a pair deliver true Hi Fidelity sound. These do it! Al Andrew Jones speakers do it. Even his $120 a pair Pioneer bookshelf models stunned CES audiences. No, anyone giving these a bad review isn't grounded at all. Home Theater fans & veteran Recording Artists like

Pros: Hi Fidelity! 3D holographic sound Treble designed to be played very loud without being harsh or brittle. Lush midrange. Accurate bass.

Cons: None. Unless you think tower speakers should be subwoofers too. These towers produce accurate bass but not sub harmonics. No tower speaker does at this price. So, subwoofer needed if shaking the room is required LoL.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Great speakers for the money.

Jim from Magnolia, TX on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers. Very clean highs and midrange. Decent lows. Great especially for the money. I have them in a bedroom system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

the sound is crispy clear

eddie from Coral Springs, FL on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i recently order a home theater elac system and it sounds amazing. Their recommendation was right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sounding Speakers

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Quality build. Excellent speakers for the price. Running these off a 7 year old Onkyo TX-NR509 Home Theater receiver. Very Good clarity (A better amp would have made them sound even better) Got these on sale which made it a even better Deal.

Pros: Nice Big Cabinet with Solid Weight. Optional Spikes. Good Highs and Mids.

Cons: The grills are little cheap on these speakers. They do not line up properly and take some work to get them to fit properly.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

They Are Nice

Phillip from Omaha, NE on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good highs (4.2). Fair midrange (4.0). Ok Bass (3.8). The treble is clear and real, not tinny. I have hearing loss at 16k on, so...I am not a great judge. The middle mid is great, meaty and dimensional. Bass is good, but you need a sub. I cut these at 60hz and balance was much improved. Clean bass but wouldnt say crystal. They stay consistent through the volume range I have paced them through. Have yet to push them to their potential until they have some hours logged. I feel I got what I paid for as the cabinet is great. Nice and weighty, clean, and the spike mounts are nice. The triple rear vents are helpful in Elacs. I am able to run them closer to the wall slightly vs. others. I paid full retail and see them running 20 to 40 lower now so they are a good value, you wont be let down. Enjoy.

Pros: Value Cabinet at the price. Solid clarity

Cons: Only black ash, these deserve a Cherry or Walnut option.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent value for the price!

Jeromy from Louisville, KY on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying that these speakers were shipped double boxed and arrived without damage. I am taking off one star due to the finish on the corners being rubbed off. It can be touched up but this is the first set of new speakers that I have ever had with this issue. Speakers sound very natural, highs are clear not harsh. Vocals sound very good. Bass is meh but I didn't buy them because of the bass. I have two subs for that duty. These play well at high volumes. I listen to a range of music genres (Pop, Country, Rock, Rap, Metal, New Age, Techno). Everything sounds great. I am hearing details that i have never heard before. At this price point I recommend buying them. They sounded much better than a 2000.00 set of Martin Logan's that I also listened to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 12 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Oak Ridge, TN on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome with my Marantz 7011 receiver. At the scratch and dent price, they are a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

TOP