Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # DF62-BK

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Floor-standing speaker

MFR # DF62-BK

48 reviews
View this product

Excellent System Upgrade

Donald W. from Johnson City, TN on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade my speakers and did a significant amount of research into floor standing models. I decided on these based on their build quality, mid-range punch and solid value. They arrived in perfect shape and sound excellent paired with an ELAC 5.2 center and an SVS SB-2000 sub powered by a Marantz SR5015 receiver. I love the crisp, clear sound of these towers. You also can't beat the fact that Crutchfield gives you free shipping and their return policy gives you peace of mind. ELAC and Crutchfield...Both highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Holden, MO on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They have a great sound. Nice and warm still with loads of highs. Should have bought them long ago. Even at higher volumes still sound smooth. Paired them with my Cambridge audio axr100.

Pros: Very clean sound and the look great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality of sound.

Crutchfield customer from Saint Clair, MO on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a lot of research on my own, I talked to three different Crutchfield employees who were so very helpful and had exceptional knowledge of the products Crutchfield sells. They steered me to the components that would pair beautifully with these speakers to complete the set up I was looking for. I couldn't be more happy with the quality of sound these speakers and the receiver and cd player that I purchased from Crutchfield are capable of producing. I've fallen in love with music all over again .

Pros: I can hear nuances in my CD's through these speakers and the receiver and cd player that I also purchased that I've never heard before. It's like the musicians are right there in the room.

Cons: NON !!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Elac Debut 2 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Pelzer, SC on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are wonderful speakers. The mid and highs are especially good...clear and defined sound. My room is 20x16 feet and they are plenty powerful to fill the room with sound. Low end is good for listening to music but a sub woofer adds a nice punch to the sound when using in home theater. Crutchfield service and advice excellent as usual. Speakers arrived day after ordering.

Pros: Great value for dollars spent.

Cons: None at this point. Only had them a few days.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Beautiful clarity

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers. When I started to get serious about replacing my old Polk speakers I narrowed my choices down to Revels, Wharfedales and these ELACS. After doing extensive research I went with the ELACS (yes, their price was a major factor in my decision). I've had these for a little over a month now and don't regret my decision. The bass has a nice punch to it without being overbearing. The mids and highs are crystal clear without being shrill. I don't experience listening fatigue like I've experienced in the past with other speakers. The details of the music are there without being in your face. I've experienced zero buyers remorse with these.

Pros: Clear and balanced mids and highs, nice bass punch.

Cons: These speakers will reveal the weaknesses in your audio setup.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect with a Sub

Anthony from Vestal, NY on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these up against a set of Klipsch RP-8000F speakers which, while somewhat unfair, made me realize how good these speakers sound. They were more pleasant to listen to and not as sharp. There is a slight edge with the Klipsch in very bright/edgy sounds but I didn't like it and felt the Elac more listenable. One caveat, these really need a subwoofer to go along with them. Unless you crank them up the bass is lacking but I think you'd be much better served in many circumstances with a good subwoofer and the money saved vs larger towers can easily be put towards that to gain a better experience for music and movies.

Pros: Warm and pleasing to the ear. Good clarity. Not too large or overbearing in a room. Good separation.

Cons: Needs juice. Not as much low end bass as some larger speakers - can't game the physics.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from West Orange, NJ on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, easy to listen to. I'm still breaking them in, but they sound better every day. Nice un-colored sound, decent imaging and clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Transparent and sooo detailed

David from Indianapolis, IN on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pointed in ELAC's direction by a friend of mine who writes for Stereophile. Limited budget, so the Debuts were my best choice. Connected to a Marantz PM5005 and triedmy favorite reference LPs and CDs on it. I'm blown away by how much detail, clarity and transparency I'm hearing compared to my Focal Chorus Vs. And talk about a difference in bass. I listen to a lot of acoustic music like the David Grisman Quintet and Django, and these speakers move a lot more air in the bass spectrum. So a subwoofer will one day soon join my system. They create an expansive, detailed soundstage and I'm hearing content and detail I never knew was there. That's my only gripe; this speaker reveals how much more I could be getting, especially on the bass end. My scratch & dents did indeed come with a dented metal tweeter girl, but it's purely cosmetic. Fantastic job by Andrew Jones and ELAC. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Magnificent sound, designer piece.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Paul from KNOXVILLE, TN on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased overall with these speakers paired with a center channel and 12" sub from the same series. We have a fairly large living room, semi open concept, with vaulted ceiling and the sound is very pleasing. At the sale price I was able to get them at from Crutchfield I'm very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I still need my subwoofer, but brings joy to listen!

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My pair of ElacDebut 2.0 F's are part of a complete surround 7.1 set up. These are voiced to match the B's very well. The C has a little response bump for dialogue. They blend together nicely for theatre use. I find that for music I prefer these in a simple 2.1 arrangement. Oh My, the Clarity! As I said in a review of the B's, the treble is just *there*. It doesn't grab you. It doesn't demand your attention. It is expertly blended into a completely neutral sound. For the large (25 x25) room that these are in with hard surfaces everywhere, these are a great match. In a room with lots of fabrics, they might be a little muffled. YMMV. The bottom octave (20-40) is absent, as might be expected using a couple of 6" speakers for bass. Hence the need for the sub. It was a good thing they were packed in double boxes because the outer boxes were pretty beat up when they arrived, and the styrofoam inside was damaged from some rough handling. I documented the unboxing, but the speakers survived just fine. Others have commented on the boring black vinyl covering, but at this price point, I prefer sound over looks, and I think I got it.

Pros: Neutral sound with great clarity.

Cons: They are top heavy due to the design. The removable base should be 12" or so wider and deeper than the speaker for better stability. I'm entertaining the idea of fabricating just such a base. I don't have carpet so the spikes are stored away. I added some felt pads to the bases so they don't scratch the floor. The grills were tricky to attach- start at the bottom and work your way up. I had to figure that out.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, CT on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound , though a little rough on the high end . All in all , very pleased .

Pros: Great separation , clear sound .

Cons: Learning how to tune the unit is a little time consuming and frustrating at times .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love my ELAC Debut 20 F6.2

Michael from COLUMBIA, MD on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic! Very happy with these speakers! Was a little worried about the base levels given some of the reviews. No complaints there at all, base is great, good separation, crossovers do a good job, highs and mid-range are pronounced. Gives my setup good non-directional sound from the front, instruments float instead of punch from the speakers. My Denon AVR-2311Ci drives them to annoy-your-neighbors level without any drama. Ran them through from Lana Del Rey, Beck, Tame Impala and Green Day to get a good range, these speakers do not get in the way of any of them! Looking forward to trying some jazz and classical.

Pros: Balanced, not overwhelming in a mid-sized room, don't draw a lot of attention to themselves in appearance or sound; they put the music first!

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Dandy loudspeakers!

Crutchfield customer from Blue Eye, MO on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent muti-use speaker in a very nice "small" package. Working great as a substitute for the normal TV sound bar and provides wonderful audiophile-quality sound with a CD player! Spot-on accuracy, clean and crisp highs and mid-range with amazingly solid bottom end! The best I've heard for such a reasonable price ... and service was also 5-star!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Schererville, IN on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using these speakers as my fronts in a 9.1 surround system. so far they sound great, good high and mid-range lacking in the bass department, but I guess thats why we have sub woofers. So far I like the sound of these speakers however the one thing I didn't like is the vinyl vernier, the edges needed a touch up with a black marker. I would of returned if I paid full price, but not that big of a deal to fix. Cruchfield was great, would decently use them again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reviewing a speaker is so difficult. Everyone has a different perspective on what is a quality sound for them. These speakers are well made, sturdy, and have some weight. A-B comparison of these with the ones they were replacing (Advent speakers from the 1980s): unbelievable improvement! The transient response, rich deep bass, revealing highs, and defined midrange--especially on voice--showed the improvements in sound quality. To my ears they are smooth and capture all the sounds I have been missing. Previously, I had purchased the ELAC bookshelf speakers and that is what convinced me to buy these for another system. They have given new life to CDs and high res files. I really do not think you would be disappointed. They are supplied with sharp carpet grips and I recommend using them if the install is on carpet. They assist in stabilizing the speaker--not needed for hard scape installations. The speaker is tall and narrow--depending on the thickness of your carpet you will notice that they have an unsure feel unless you use the supplied sharp feet. There is also a provision on the rear top of the speaker to secure it via wire or chord to a wall. The speakers handle power very well...placement near a corner will affect the bass response.

Pros: Great build quality and transient response, crisp mids and highs with no distortion

Cons: No negatives...just stabilize them on carpet

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Port Charlotte, FL on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good speakers for the price.

Pros: Very good speakers for the price. Excellent Low end bass response

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good ! Base is on point. Needs some breaking in.

Pros: Every thing

Cons: Heavy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tremendous value. I don't think the bass is as terrific as other fans state. As with most any skinny tower, it goes without saying that a sub is needed to compliment these. Also, these are only decent for music listening, but they truly shine for home theatre use.

Pros: Great value Highs and mids are great Look great

Cons: Nothing noteworthy.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First set of nice speakers and while I don't have golden years I think they sound good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Woodstown, NJ on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great with my Yamaha Aventage RX-A1070. Looks very handsome.

Pros: Speaker box feels sturdy

Cons: Speaker grills were slightly warped out of box, so fitting them on the speakers was somewhat challenging

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic sound at fabulous price

Crutchfield customer from Roswell, GA on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery. Excellent sound at great price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Butte, MT on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Round Lake, IL on 3/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listen to music like most people watch T.V. These are being used with Elac's B6.2's in the surround position a Polk Audio 660wi and Denon AVRX 2400H . Big Black Hammer Party, Zeppelin's Physical Graffiti, Primus Frizzle Fry, Front Line Assembly, Johnny Cash, Rollins Band, Slayer!!! you get the point. Like I read, these speakers do it all well. These were scratch/dent from Cruthfield.....I'm still trying to find a scratch or a dent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Solid sound

Rene from Laredo TX on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers for 2 reasons one because I have limited space the second reason is because of the great reviews. I have to say that I am very pleased. I have just recently got back in to home theater I left about 20yrs ago so I looking for an entry level system to start out but still wanted good quality and I find that the Elac F6.2 fit the bill perfectly. For the first time I actually understand what the reviews are talking about the great sound from mids and the High's I don't know about the bass because I also have 2 klipsch 10subs but for the price I can't see any body going wrong .if u want good sound and don't want to $500 or more for each speaker and want the sound of a speaker costing much more I recommend the Elac Debut series very satisfied

Pros: They space saving they sound much larger and more expensive than are

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding, Clean Sound!

Eric from Galveston, TX on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers. I found them to be outstanding with all music and at all listening levels. I had them set up in traditional triangle about 7 feet apart, toe in to listening position and voices were coming from the center. Clarity and Clean is the best way I can put it. On sale or full price, they are a great value. A nice wood veneer would be nice but then the price goes up. Here you are paying for quality drivers. I ending up sending them back, trading up to KEF LS50, after a full-just under the 60 day return policy, just because I wanted to see what the next level of performance you get going up the ladder in price. Crutchfield is great about the return policy and great help in advice!

Pros: Awesome, I ran them with Schiit Vidar (100 watts 8 ohms) power amp and Schiit Saga preamp with Bluesound Node 2i

Cons: Vinyl finish

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Lindenhurst, IL on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AMAZING!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Painesville, OH on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really excellent sounding speakers. I gave them a 4 star rating because I don't think they go as low as the specs state. Otherwise good imaging with a clear representation of the music from top to bottom. The top end is extended and detailed but could get a little bright with the wrong amplification source. Midrange is also very good for a speaker in this price range. Open and transparent especially with vocals and piano. Overall this speaker is hard to beat under $1000.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Larry Steven from Ft Walton Bch, FL on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the $$$! Very detailed & rich sounding, better than the klipschs they replaced. As they are 3-way speakers, I heard things I'd never heard before. But with 4 woofers you would think the bass would be better, but no. It's ok, just not outstanding. But I'm only just beginning. I'm very satisfied so far with these speakers. It will take more listening time to truly evaluate them

Pros: Clear and true highs, and great details. Truly a great speaker for the $$$. WOW!

Cons: Not enough bass with 4 woofers.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 12 found this helpful

Outstanding speakers

Jack from Nampa, ID on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It amazes me how much sound comes out of these speakers. I have a relatively small, furniture packed room. The important thing is that splitting the bass to the two 6.5 inch drivers does the job well. Some folks with small rooms may not need a subwoofer. They rival the 8" drivers I had in my previous big heavy, 48" high, 3 way floor speakers.

Pros: These things breathe easy. Lots of head room even at 20% or 30% volume. You don't have to crank it up to hear real music. These would pair well with a 10" woofer in a small room such as in an apartment. You can hear everything the presentation has to offer without irritating your neighbors.

Cons: The bass is good and surprising but 8" drivers would be better assuming you don't have a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Ottawa, KS on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is crisp and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Wonderful sound, fantastic buy

Tom from Joplin, MO on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific sound. I have an Onkyo tx rz620 driving them as I may eventually expand to surround sound. Also have a klipsch r-120 subwoofer for low end based on the reviews I read about low end on these speakers. Incidentally my subwoofer cable broke (thanks Crutchfield for sending a replacement so quickly) so I was using speakers without sub. They sounded great for the wide variety of music I like. The low end was solid enough. I would have sent the sub back if not for the great price (and eventual expansion to surround sound). If I knew that I wasn't going to expand system, no genuine need for sub. Very happy with the speakers. Final note - I put rubber feet on them (Stick on type from big box home store) as I have hardwood floors in living area. I was unable to locate the pointed, metal feet for use on carpet. If you have carpet, make sure they are included in box.

Pros: Sound quality, build quality, sale pricing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Perrysville, OH on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

About anything would have been an upgrade from the bookshelf speakers I was using but I can't believe how mush of one. I am hearing things I never had before. Sound is full and clear. As for other comments about the bass, you will not do better with a speaker of this size without a sub.

Pros: Clear sound. Sale price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great speakers that lived up to the reviews. I have them in a smallish room, and they sounds great. Couldn't be happier with the service from Crutchfield. Everything arrived a day early.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Just buy them already!

PJ San Antonio from San Antonio, TX on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Budget friendly or not these speakers are amazing. I got them mainly for two channel vinyl playback in direct mode or pure audio mode on my Onkyo RZ 820 receiver and man am I glad I did. The imaging and sound stage are superb. I had to keep getting up to check if my center channel was on ( it wasn't) . Stop reading reviews and buy them already. Luckily I got mine on sale half off but they are worth every penny and more. And paired with the C6.2 for movies you can't go wrong.

Pros: Excellent sound and imaging. Easy on the eyes or at least spouse friendly.

Cons: Maybe Feet/ spikes could be better but that's about it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Park Ridge, IL on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, a warmer sound than my old speakers. Great Value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound, Great Price

Allen from Lafayette, LA on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy that I chose the Elac Debut 2.0 series for upgrades to my fronts and center. I can't say enough about how good they sound, especially for the price. These towers are detailed and highly resolving, while still able to produce a good bit of energy in the room. On quality tracks, musical instruments sound like instruments, not recordings of them. We are enjoying listening to more complex music such as classical more often now, simply because it is so much more enjoyable to listen to on these speakers. I installed these towers along with a matching Debut C6.2 center and a pair of SVS12-NSD subs. Even though low frequency reproduction is pretty good on these towers, the subs allow for high energy in the sub-60 hz range. I've played test tones to see where the real frequency roll-off is, and it seems somewhere around 50 hz to me. Not that it's quiet at 40 hz, but roll-off is very noticeable there, and it won't exactly thump the room in that range like a sub can. But if you add a sub or two, you've got quite a combo with these towers. Above the very low frequency stuff, these towers have no problem getting to high volume with modest power. I'm only running a 90 wpc AVR, and I have no problem getting these speakers to uncomfortable volume levels (even without heavy content for the subs). Fit and finish is better than I expected. They won't win beauty contests, but they are simple and handsome. In summary, I can't believe I paid so litt

Pros: Excellent sound quality, good detail to the sound. I don't think there's a better value in tower speakers today.

Cons: Low frequency extension could be better, but that's splitting hairs at this price range. If you want anything below 35 hz, you need a sub anyway unless you pay $$$ for truly full range speakers and a big enough amp to drive them.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding value. Picked them up on a Black Friday sale; The hype around ELAC being an affordable entry-level audiophile speaker is earned. Excellent detail and more low-end than I expected from reading other reviews. Free shipping for over 110lbs didn't hurt either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still in break-in phase, but the ELAC's sound amazing -- especially for the price. Replaced a 25-year-old pair of Klipsh towers. I like the sound on the low end but these boys will crank, too. And, the slim towers look great! Pairs up beautifully with my Marantz amp and Pro-Ject turntable.

Pros: Solid, heavy speaker Great sound from low to high volume Nice appearance Surprising decent bass

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Elac speakers

Larry from Frederick, MD on 12/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm very satisfied with the Elacs. They have good, balanced response over the frequency range. Slightly more power is required than the Boston Acoustics they replaced. Time will tell as I listen to a wider range of music. They definitely make TV sound more clear.

Pros: Good imaging, response over frequency range.

Cons: Rather stark appearance.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pleasing Speakers

Mark from Swansea, IL on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had these a few weeks now and they have about 80 hours play time. I haven't thrown a lot at them they can't handle content-wise. Upper-mid rolloff is much better than I thought it would be. Cymbal crashes, high hat subtleties, finger snaps, piano keys, etc are articulate and clear. I wouldn't use these without a sub. Below 100hz they are straining and get sloppy. I highly recommend the F6.2 for a nice, clear speaker that does not leave you fatigued. I have mine sitting on a pair of auralex foam isolation platforms and it helps tremendously. I auditioned these along with B&W, Martin Logan, Triangle, high-end Klipsch, Definitive, Wharfedale, and others including the higher end Elac. What I heard just did not justify the considerable difference in price. These are that good. I'm coming from a pair of Focal floor standers and believe it or not the Elac's are much more pleasing to listen to and are more accurate with red label recordings. It really bothers me when I read that a speaker is, "good for the money." Either they're good and pleasing to listen to or they aren't. There are a lot of speakers out there and either you like them or you don't. Crutchfield customer service is top rate. One of my speakers was missing a grill when they got here. That certainly isn't Crutchfield's fault. I called right away and they are to send out a new, replacement grill. My system: Outlaw 2160 Receiver Marantz TT 15s Marantz CD 6006 CD Pioneer R

Pros: Very clear and articulate highs. Mids are strong and do not sound colored. Bass is good above 100hz. Not fatiguing to listen to at any volume. Pleasing appearance in the grand scheme of things. No buyers remorse.

Cons: Vinyl finish is kind of cheap looking and durability is suspect. One speaker was received without a grill. A good sub is needed, especially at lower volumes.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

True Hi-Fi

HTFan from CA on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

$199 ea on Black Friday sale? $400 a pair? Hands down the best value here at Crutchfield. This is an Audiophile speaker. Don't let the reviews that say the bass is weak fool you. The bass is outstanding! Calibration is everything. A. Jones designed these speakers like he did the Pioneer SP-F52 towers. Designed to play loud with zero harshness & chest punch bass! If you cannot get these to produce bass? Then you're a bluetooth type customer used to the mono pill. Take the red pill & wake up to Hi-Fi greatness with these Debut towers. I mean come on, $199 each for true 3 way, high element crossover towers? I guarantee, 2 of these upfront, 1 ELAC center & 2 ELAC B4 as surrounds and you'll have the ultimate surround setup. Detail in the soundfield will pop and give you goose bumps. I know how 3D the Andrew Jones speakers sound. True holographic, in the room sound. Now, a 6 ohm rating means you need to push at least 20 watts per channel at a minimum. If you've gotta' surround sound AV receiver rated at 100 watts per channel, you'll be experiencing movies & music at a true Hi-Fi level. HI-FI. Hi Fidelity! Yes? Few speakers under $500 a pair deliver true Hi Fidelity sound. These do it! Al Andrew Jones speakers do it. Even his $120 a pair Pioneer bookshelf models stunned CES audiences. No, anyone giving these a bad review isn't grounded at all. Home Theater fans & veteran Recording Artists like

Pros: Hi Fidelity! 3D holographic sound Treble designed to be played very loud without being harsh or brittle. Lush midrange. Accurate bass.

Cons: None. Unless you think tower speakers should be subwoofers too. These towers produce accurate bass but not sub harmonics. No tower speaker does at this price. So, subwoofer needed if shaking the room is required LoL.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Great speakers for the money.

Jim from Magnolia, TX on 11/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers. Very clean highs and midrange. Decent lows. Great especially for the money. I have them in a bedroom system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

the sound is crispy clear

eddie from Coral Springs, FL on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i recently order a home theater elac system and it sounds amazing. Their recommendation was right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Great Sounding Speakers

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Quality build. Excellent speakers for the price. Running these off a 7 year old Onkyo TX-NR509 Home Theater receiver. Very Good clarity (A better amp would have made them sound even better) Got these on sale which made it a even better Deal.

Pros: Nice Big Cabinet with Solid Weight. Optional Spikes. Good Highs and Mids.

Cons: The grills are little cheap on these speakers. They do not line up properly and take some work to get them to fit properly.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

They Are Nice

Phillip from Omaha, NE on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good highs (4.2). Fair midrange (4.0). Ok Bass (3.8). The treble is clear and real, not tinny. I have hearing loss at 16k on, so...I am not a great judge. The middle mid is great, meaty and dimensional. Bass is good, but you need a sub. I cut these at 60hz and balance was much improved. Clean bass but wouldnt say crystal. They stay consistent through the volume range I have paced them through. Have yet to push them to their potential until they have some hours logged. I feel I got what I paid for as the cabinet is great. Nice and weighty, clean, and the spike mounts are nice. The triple rear vents are helpful in Elacs. I am able to run them closer to the wall slightly vs. others. I paid full retail and see them running 20 to 40 lower now so they are a good value, you wont be let down. Enjoy.

Pros: Value Cabinet at the price. Solid clarity

Cons: Only black ash, these deserve a Cherry or Walnut option.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent value for the price!

Jeromy from Louisville, KY on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying that these speakers were shipped double boxed and arrived without damage. I am taking off one star due to the finish on the corners being rubbed off. It can be touched up but this is the first set of new speakers that I have ever had with this issue. Speakers sound very natural, highs are clear not harsh. Vocals sound very good. Bass is meh but I didn't buy them because of the bass. I have two subs for that duty. These play well at high volumes. I listen to a range of music genres (Pop, Country, Rock, Rap, Metal, New Age, Techno). Everything sounds great. I am hearing details that i have never heard before. At this price point I recommend buying them. They sounded much better than a 2000.00 set of Martin Logan's that I also listened to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 13 found this helpful

ELAC Debut 2.0 F6.2

Crutchfield customer from Oak Ridge, TN on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome with my Marantz 7011 receiver. At the scratch and dent price, they are a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

TOP