Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
475 264 722 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
475 264 722 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # UB51-BK

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Bookshelf speakers

MFR # UB51-BK

104 reviews
View this product

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Daytona Beach, FL on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade my music game and heard some great reviews of these speakers. I can confirm they are incredible. I like a wide soundstage and these speakers have the imaging to provide it. Amazed at the separation of instruments and vocals remain in the center with great detail. And no they aren't hard to drive. I'm using a $299 AVR. Also great for movies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lives up to the hype

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first new set of speakers in over 10 years, moving from a home theater application to a dedicated 2 channel rig. The UB5s more than lived up to the praise heaped on them in professional reviews. The 5" woofer competes easily with 6.5" drivers because of its dedicated chamber and frequency range that does not dip into the midrange. There was also enough bass information to blend nicely with a subwoofer without unnatural peaks. The dedicated midrange did indeed bring clarity that traditional 2 way designs cannot with the same grace. For me that meant that you can tap your toes and enjoy "lesser" recordings, and are not restricted to reference material to have a good listening experience. When you do turn to reference material the results can be stunning. The UB5s seem to make the most of the source materials and components. In audiophile speak these would be transparent without being analytical. What's the catch? Like other reviews I found them to be particular about amplification in order to be more dynamic. With an average receiver they sounded good but didn't stand out as well. With a better one that could deal with the lower efficiency and impedance, it lives up to the hype and you'll be rewarded with really beautiful sound. If you're planning to upgrade over time these are a great investment to anchor your system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Keeping up with the Andrew Jonses

Crutchfield customer from Hailey , ID on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have some moderately priced speaker brands made by quality companies that you all know. I have not been disappointed in them. I just thought I'd give these a try. There's not a huge difference, however there is a difference! I'm glad I made this purchase. It's hard to quantify the difference between the Elacs sand other brands. I'll try to explain, but this is not the opinion of an expert. There's a certain fullness and depth to these speakers that exceeds my other more expensive brands and the bass does pretty well. I suspect that the three way design has a lot to do with the sound. I'm really enjoying these elacs and glad I made the purchase,great speaker option for good price!

Pros: Crutchfield service, excellent price for the quality

Cons: Nit picking, but not furniture grade cabinets, doesn't bother me, but some might feel different.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small size, big sound

Crutchfield customer from Pawleys Island, SC on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Warm and clear sound with surprising bass from such a small speaker. Used primarily for home theater but also works well as the home stereo. Handles power well.

Pros: Big sound, handles power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5 - Great Speakers for the Price and Size

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. I pair the ELACs with small Definitive Technology speakers in a 7.1 surround system. The ELACs reward the listener with a detailed, natural, and accurate sound. These are NOT party speakers with thumping bass and sizzling highs. With the ELACs, you enjoy a "real" piano, guitar, orchestra, etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good speakers ....but returned them,last week decided to keep my Klipsch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sound is great!

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these on recommendation from my nephew who is in the audio book business. My use is just in a home setting. For this price range, they are stupendous!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Elac UB-5 Sophisticated Sound

Guest from Newington, CT on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Uni-Fi's because of the price and all the reviews that said these were an entry-point into high-end audio. I had an older 4 Ohm-capable Dolby-Digital receiver used with a pair of PSB Synchrony One-B's and some Dynaudio bookies so I knew there would be plenty of power to drive the ElAC's adequately. Prior to getting the ELAC's I was using a pair of Klipsch RP-150m's which were enjoyable if a little bright-sounding for the jazz/new-age/pop I like listening to. I figured it would be a good bet to try the ELAC's especially since they were on sale for $350. At first, I didn't like them. They sounded distorted on top but after a few hours they smoothed out nicely and became much easier on my ears. With the ELAC's the star of the show is the midrange which sounds like real music and having been a musician, they do convey a approximate representation to what real instruments sound like. Not perfect but pretty darn good. With the Klipsches, saxes and trumpets had a stronger bite but the overall sound was a bit too forward for my liking so it was time to see what else might be out there for music lovers like myself to have fun with. Enter the UB-5's. Give them a little room to breathe to sound their best maybe 13 inches out from the rear wall and not to close to the side walls. There are other great speakers around but likely not at this price. Power them well and they shouldn't disappoint. They have refinement, great mids and sweet highs.

Pros: Great Presence Full Spectrum Output Refinement

Cons: Needs 4 ohm stable reciever or amp Can be boomy if too close to room boundaries

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love 'em

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put in so much research before I decided on these speakers & glad I did. These ELAC's sound better than my old B&W floor standing speakers that were over twice the size. Crisp clear sound with amazing bass for a book shelf speaker.

Pros: Crisp clear sound, great bass

Cons: Power hungry - don't under power these speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Superb speakers

Crutchfield customer from East Amherst, NY on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Remarkable sound for the money. Transparent, neutral tone, good bass, clear on HT vocals. I use them with heavy Osiris stands and a high quality amp, and they make a great system.

Pros: Transparent Neutral tone Good bass Remarkable sound for the money

Cons: Need a high quality solid state amp to drive properly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Owensville, OH on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Elac has received great reviews could not pass up purchase during recent sale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Somerset, KY on 12/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a denon x3500h running 4 and center UNI-FI UB5s best for the money. My reciever handles them great. Sounds better then good

Pros: There really good speakers

Cons: There's a break in

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally worth it...even at full retail price!

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound of these. Very precise sound and the price was reasonable/totally worth it. I used the online SpeakerCompare tool from Crutfield to help make my final choice and it was highly accurate. (They sound as good as I expected.) Just make sure your receiver can push to a 4ohm speaker. If you plan to use other speakers in the mix be sure to check the specs on the receiver. I have these in 10 x 13 ft room in a 2.1 setup with a cambridge audio topaz sr20 so they are perfect.

Pros: Excellent and smooth audio sound especially in the midrange and higher. Sounds great all by themselves and amazing when paired with a smaller subwoofer for just a touch more bass.

Cons: Do not pair with a wimpy receiver!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Swampscott, MA on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading through many reviews on these UB5 speakers, I pulled the trigger and got them on sale. They are replacing my ten year old NHT Classic Three. I'm no audiophile, but I do like nice gear and sound and these definitely sound pretty sweet as tons of others have already said. The bass is pretty good in my basement office - no need for sub unless you prefer heavy low-end. I stream mostly iTunes and Spotify through NAD DAC to my NAD 50 watt receiver which has plenty of power. Great speakers at a great price.

Pros: Detailed smooth high end and midrange. Great looking without grills.

Cons: Outer wrap is a bit cheap but has nice texture.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Guest from Washington dc on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just like all the reviews say, for the price they are incredible. Super smooth and non fatiguing, but still detailed and high res sounding. I could buy $1-2k bookshelves but these are so good, whats the point? Do recommend burning them in for 5 hours before making a judgement, at first they were just blah.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, FL on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing speakers especially at the sake price. I have owner many speakers over the years and these compete with speakers many times their price .

Pros: Imaging is excellent. Wide sound stage.

Cons: Vinyl covering could be better.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sound great, needed a pair for studio

Pros: right size, sound good, look good.

Cons: non yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good Job Elac !

Ken from Lowell, IN on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All the hype is true ! Do your self a favor and give them a listen . I have them hooked up to a older high current Sony surround receiver ( STR-DA1000ES ) set up for 2 channel listening without a sub and they sound absolutely fantastic . Would definitely recommend .

Pros: deep clean bass with bright midrange and crisp highs .

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A Worthy Upgrade to the Audioengine A5+

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed so far. I upgraded from Audioengine A5+s I purchased from Crutchfield several years ago. While the A5+ is an incredible speaker, the Uni-Fi UB5 is at another level due to the addition of its expansive mid-range. These also function as speakers for my television. Here, they perform perhaps even better, bringing depth to the image through the improvement of the sound. Sounds weird, but it's true. One other thing: the online listening test offered by Crutchfield led to my purchasing these. It was very accurate in terms of reproducing the sound of each speaker I compared. For those wondering about bass, the UB5 is capable enough for everything I can throw at it except low organ music. In other words, unless you listen exclusively to Bach organ recitals, you won't need a subwoofer. In my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Lives up to the hype!

Richard from Chicago, IL on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound in such a small speaker. These are the gateway to hifi speakers. I'm getting the center and towers next!!!

Pros: Dynamic sound. Heavy solid build.

Cons: Basic almost boring appearance.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Speakers, very good customer service, Colt, the rep, was great

Crutchfield customer from Rapid City, SD on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely fantastic! I have some higher end and more expensive speakers ( definitive, bi-pole 8) I paid almost $1000 for the pair of these. The sound was hard to control on the definitive's, not so with the Elacs. The sound is crisp and clear, with great definition between each speaker. In my opinion you do need some good power to get the best sound. I'm using an anthem mx 520. One of the better purchases I've made in a while, very happy

Pros: Fantastic speakers, and a great value too... what is not to like......

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from White Marsh, MD on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top to bottom great.

Pros: Imaging, bass and details.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very serious HiFi speaker, worth the increase in price over the great Debut. It adds more of the involving emotion, more clarity and detailed presentation, greater separaration. Even harder to try to do a detailed analysis of the sound, since they draw you into enjoying the performance, wanting to put yet more tunes through them.

Pros: Sound overall - the usual technicalities plus so very involving. Fairly small size for so much clean sound output. They, like the Debut, sound better after the usual burn-in period; the better the electronics, the longer the burn-in is needed. Very expensive gear that I have, needed over 100 hours to come into their best sound. Yet, out of the box, these have very good sound.

Cons: No spades or pins (unless angled) for speaker cables, fine for bananas. Unique shape of terminals, same as Debut, that makes it more difficult to tighten them. Rear port, that limits some placement options. 4 ohms tax a lesser power amplifier.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Nice speaks

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like these speakers. They are pretty easy to listen to. As a point of reference I compared against Martin Logan Motion 60xt towers (much more $ @3k per pair) and the AMT tweeter is more clear...But the Elacs are no slouch and are super pleasant. The image is very full and when they are 1-2 ft off the wall and you crank up bass....wow you think there's a small woofer on. I dont have too much audiophile experience but of course I try to listen to what I personally find pleasing and only spend time trying to objectively listen to what many would consider to be "decent gear". These Elac's at this price is hard to be disappointed. They really are enjoyable!

Pros: Imaging Clarity Bass for size

Cons: Maybe not as much vocal clarity as an AMT or ribbon Finish is nice but not as agnostic as piano black

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Delightful if not perfect speakers...and a cautionary tale

Jack from RENO, NV on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these several months ago when they went on sale. I already owned and loved the original Debut B6s, which I use exclusively for listening to stereophonic music via vinyl LPs, CDs, SACDs, and radio broadcasts--yes, I am old school and would not know how to download a digitized recording even if I wanted to--and was curious to see how the more expensive Uni-Fis would compare. Well, they sat in my garage unopened until I finally unpacked them a couple of weeks ago. I unplugged the B6s and plugged in the UB5s, noting that the banana plugs fit rather loosely but thinking nothing of it. Powered up my Yamaha A-S2000 amp and loaded a Deutsche Grammophon CD of Emil Gilels playing three Beethoven piano sonatas into my Yamaha CD-1000 player. About four minutes into the Waldstein sonata disaster struck: the speakers had a horrible vibration during certain passages. I felt sick, knowing that my 60-day "no questions asked" return period had already passed. After initial panic, engaged the brain and determined that the banana plugs were vibrating in their sockets. Clipped plugs, installed bare wires, problem solved. The speakers do have lovely sound, with slightly improved mids, highs, and clarity compared to the B6s. However, they compare unfavorably with the B6s in regard to bass, not having nearly the oomph of their lesser brethren. Not so much of a concern when listening to the classical and jazz which I mostly enjoy, but I literally feel the loss with rock and techno.

Pros: Very nice, clear, crisp, detailed, balanced sound. Nifty appearance and still only available in classic speaker black. (In other words, they are loudspeakers, not pieces of furniture! Or, put another way, enjoying Hi-Fi music is not about interior decorating.) Compact. Nice soundstage. Affordable. Designed by a talented and charming British fellow.

Cons: Less bass extension compared to B6s. Binding posts seem to have been overthought (or underthought) by Mr. Jones, blessed be his name!, and are not as good as the perfect, solid brass ones found on the B6s. Do not connect with banana plugs which will vibrate in the sockets; connect with bare wires instead, in other words, K.I.S.S.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Wesley from Waipahu, HI on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker does not need hours of breaking in. It sounds good straight out of the box. Amazing sound quality. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: Best speakers on the market for the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Woodburn, KY on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Soon as we added these bookcase speakers to our system, which we used for surround speakers, the experience was amazing! We enjoyed our floor standing speakers and subwoofer, all ELAC Uni-Fi's, but these made an experience that brought the whole room space into the sound theatre. At that point we truly had a theatre experience. Hand made stands out of rough cut white oak which gave them weight. Speakers fit perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

sounds good

ken from West Covina, CA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this speaker provides good lows and adequate highs is a small package easily fits on a shelf

Pros: Provides good bass for a small package

Cons: at this point in time I can not think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What is that?

John from Stratford, CT on 11/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What is that? I keep saying. Brings out a clear realistic sound that I hear things I did not before. Using NAD C368 ,usually 50 to 60%. Also SVS SB 1000 sub, set to lowest crossover setting. Using just for music, 2 to 6 hours a day. Went threw 6 pairs of speakers this is the best. Done searching . Would expect to pay more for this quality sound. Did break in for awhile and think sounds better with grills off. Also they look really sophisticated . They won't disappoint. Cats like them. Was undecided between these and another speaker. Crutchfield advisor suggested these over higher priced speaker. And I thank him.

Pros: Detailed sound. Solid construction. Price !

Cons: No rubber feet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great 3 way sounding speakers

Michael from Glen Burnie, MD on 11/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are really great with a huge sound stage and they're crystal clear.

Pros: A true three way speakers.

Cons: Non at this time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superbe

Marc from Miami, FL on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very expressive speakers. Amazing soundstage. Played CSNY, Pink Floyd, and Rolling Stones songs I've heard all my life and it was a new and great experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

ron from Atlanta, GA on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic speaker for the money. It is amazing that so much sound comes from those little speakers. For music it has great highs, midrange and lows.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Unfulfilled but hopeful

Sanjeeb from Carthage, NY on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't believe these are going to provide room-filling sound without first purchasing a suitable amplifier. You may want to look at Emotiva, NAD, Outlaw Audio, Parasound or Marantz for that. I have yet to experience EISA award winning sound from the UB5s. In my humble experience they underperform the Wharfdale Diamond 225s in both mids and bass response.

Pros: Cheap and 3-way designed. Attributed to Andrew Jones, formerly of Pioneer. Entry-level audiophile bookshelf speakers. Smallish and sturdy with magnetic grills.

Cons: Not room filling paired with lower end amps/DACs. You'll have to spend additional funds to purchase the center speaker. Not as articulate with mids as the Wharfdale Diamond 225s. I am unable to hear the bass other people are raving about, but my amplifier has yet to arrive and be hooked up.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 30 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from such a small unit Great bass and treble !!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TRUTH

John G from Naples, FL on 10/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really decent sounding speakers. Excellent clarity and natural tones. I would say these speakers are GREAT performers for their price. I was considering a pair of speakers that cost DOUBLE the price but found that the ELAC Uni-Fi UB5's sounded BETTER than the ones for $1000.

Pros: Great Price, Great Sound

Cons: ELAC speaker grill emblem fell off

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

KOB from Camarillo, CA on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service from Crutchfield and great sound from the Uni-Fi's. Was a little worried about the amount of bass from such a small cabinet, but these rock. Just feed them good power and put them about 2 feet from back wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers arrived fast and in perfect condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Fred from Henderson, NV on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just one of the best speakers I've heard at any price no Distortion no siblings just fine music the way it was attended I can't say enough if you have a small room and you want high-end sound this is the speaker for you!!!!????

Pros: Great Sound in a small package

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome Bookshelf Speaker!

Crutchfield customer from Weston, FL on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed new speakers. I happened to see a review on these speakers online, and after a lot of research, I decided to buy these. I was thrilled to find them on sale! All the reviews said they stacked up against speakers costing many times over. When I received them, I found out that my current receiver could not drive 4 ohm speakers. It just kept shutting down. I was ready to return them and purchase different speakers when I received an email from Crutchfield indicating a price drop on a nice Denon AVR. Realizing that I owned none of the new technology (Bluetooth, wireless, Atmos etc) it made sense to get a new receiver. This unit can be set for 4 ohm speakers and has plenty of power to deliver some serious clout. The receiver was at my door in 2 days and 12 hours later it was all up and running. All I can say is WOW. These little speakers kick butt. The sound field and response is something special. Even my wife said that she heard things she had never heard before from these speakers. I saved a bundle and now have an awesome home setup to go with my new Samsung Q8QLED. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: Small size and incredible soundfield. Tight and crystal clean

Cons: 4 ohm design, and require an amp capable of using 4 ohm speakers and should have adequate power. 100 watts min.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Let these speakers break in and give them good honest power

Casey from Portland, OR on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First and foremost, no speaker at this price point has any business sounding this good. I have a simple 2 channel setup in my living room because I don't like soundbars. I was using a pair of Insignia NSB-2111's (a co-ax design that had REALLY punches above its weight). I was powering through a 1st generation Parasound Zamp (30W per channel into 8 ohms, 45W per channel into 4 ohms) and a Zpre2. Quite an awesome little bookshelf setup. Crutchfield had these for only a bit more than the Debut 6.2 setup so I ordered these, worried they were more than I needed. I was also worried that the Zamp setup would be under powered. Elac recommends 40W min. When I received the speakers they did not sound like an improvement, at all. I tried several different sources and cranked up the system and it would occasionally give hints of what it was capable of. I figured, at worst, I'd have to get a bigger amp. I settled in and just let them break in over the last week. They have seriously opened up. At first they sounded thin. Bass was tight and accurate but you really had to crank them to get the low end up to mid/high levels. Now they're sounding much more balanced at low volume. Would they benefit from more power, yes, but I think good clean power is perhaps more important than tons of the stuff. One thing these speakers do incredibly well is create a very forgiving soundstage. Off axis sounds great. Very big sweet spot. Highly recommend.

Pros: Excellent full even frequency response. Impressive, articulate bass response even without a sub you don't feel like you're missing anything. Very forgiving soundstage, off axis response is amazing, huge sweet spot.

Cons: Inefficient but like they say, the most important watt is the 1st watt. If you have solid clean power running to these they will sound amazing. Let them break in. They will not impress out of the box. Let them run for a few days with decent power going through them and then go back for a listen. Some speakers sound amazing out of the box, this is not one of them. It sounds good okay but doesn't really sound great until 20-40 hours in, after that they are stellar.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

A bargain ( Clear detailed sound )

Michael from Norristown, PA on 7/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the elacs Uni-Fi UB5 for the money it's an incredible bargain but right now they are going for $100 less. and that's just insane. Other speaker manufacturers better up their game! The Uni-Fi UB5's have a clear transparent midrange with lots of detail and the bass goes deep for this size speaker and that to is detailed and tuneful. The highs are nice and extended and blend well. The soundstage is a descent size and very focused, It's easy to pick out the instruments and details as they are very well defined. If you want better a finish you can get the slim version. My only criticism (though given the price really has no foundation) is that its very inefficient and to make them sound dynamic they need an amplifier that has power and dynamics but any other speakers near this price range will certainly have plenty of other shortcomings that you wont be able to fix or do anything about.

Pros: Clear detailed focused sound.

Cons: Needs power to sound dynamic, but at this price point that seems such small criticism

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Scary good!

Aaron from Big Lake, MN on 7/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally had infinity reference speakers from the mid 90's. I ended up buying Andrew Jones pioneer 5.0 . That was an upgrade I could tell right away. Since I loved the pioneer speakers so much I went ahead and ordered the Unif uf5 towers, ub5 bookshelf, and the uc5 center. Let me tell you. the ub5 as the rears in my main theater room were being under utilized, so I went back to the pioneer rears which do an excellent job. The ub5 are now in a dedicated 2.1 channel system. It's eerie how realistic these speakers sound. Not necessarily in your face better , but certain times a piano or guitar will play, and my mind will trigger memories of live performances I heard. Scary good.

Pros: Imaging The speakers disappear.

Cons: Too busy listening to them to complain.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best sound for your money.

Mark from Canandaigua, NY90 on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a deal, the best pair of bookshelf speakers for the money and are now on sale, these speaker are fantastic. Sound is very tight. I am using the Ub5 for my surround sound left and right fronts using a 1067 Rotel receiver. Back surround I'm using elac B6 2.0 center B&W HTM1, sub HSU VTF_2 12inch. I'm setting up the system in my bedroom. It sounds Fantastic. What great sound for a bookshelf speaker, Andrew Jones did a great job designing the Uni_Fi UB5.

Pros: Best sound for the bucks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker I ever owned and thats not b.s.!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great 3 way bookshelf

jake from Syracuse, NY on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading reviews and researching elac speakers I first ended up purchasing the debut 6 2.0. Those speakers images very well and had very good mid range as well as nice base. I was equally pleased with the design of the speaker but wanted just a little more for my set up in my living room. I already had a really nice set up with a whole line up of the klipsch rp. Using the M 160 bi-wired for my fronts, 250 C for my center,M 150 for my surrounds, 240s for my rear surrounds, Rp 15 " and 12 sub woofers. To power my system I use a Yamaha 2070 allowing 3 separate listening zones. For my zones I wanted 2 zones dedicated to the living room. This allows me to incorporate the UB 5 for my second zone. I use the Elacs for my vinyl collection as well as listening to music when zone 1 is being utilized for watching TV. ( this is why the zones are so important). So now getting back to the UB5. These speakers really blew me away after they broke in. The hi's mid's and bass sound crisp, clear, and precise. Having a 3 way speaker in a book shelf speaker is not very common but that was what I really wanted. These are placed on 21" speaker stands so they are ear level when sitting on the couch. The imaging is awesome. When listing to hi Fi quality recordings it sounds as though more speakers are being used. Huge step up from the debut series. The base can really pack a punch. So much so I have to remind myself that my sub woofers are not on. A+ speakers in my opinion. A definite b

Pros: Great proformance. Good looking with and with out covers. Good build quality.

Cons: Not one. A lot of people have noted that the finish is not that nice but I disagree. Great speakers

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Requires a lot from your receiver/amp

Justin from Bedford, NH on 6/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounded a bit harsh/shrill at first, especially middle frequencies. I have them connected to a Denon AVR-s900w with Audyssey calibration. For whatever reason, the harsh/shrill mid-levels went away after I turned off Audyssey MultEQ and used manual settings. Also, important to ensure your receiver/amp is compatible with 4 ohm loads. The Denon is noticeably hotter after running these. Also interesting to note; the Denon has a more-or-less hidden setting to specify if 4, 6 or 8 ohm speakers are connected... the default is 8 ohm. I set this to 4 ohm which reduced the heat output, but seemed to caused the speakers to distort a bit sooner at higher volumes. Setting this back to 8 ohms, the heat is back but the distortion is gone at higher listening levels. I did some research and it seems if you specify a lower impedance, the receiver will limit power to its amplifiers. seems a mechanism to protect the receiver rather than drive the speakers adequately. I don't listen at extreme volumes, so will keep these at the 8 ohm setting to ensure the speakers get the power they need and will just be careful with higher volumes.

Pros: Impressive low-end for their size. Clear and detailed mids, thanks to 3 way design.

Cons: Require a lot of power; 4 ohm; not very sensitive.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound, look and price.

Guest from Manchester, NH on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

they enhance my home theater in 2-channel listening environment immensely. The clarity with a wonderful solid low-end a Punchy mid-range and very articulate and very articulate highs make this a solid player and very affordable. I would recommend this to anyone looking to upgrade their home system. They look fantastic as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for the price

David from Wichita, KS on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased four months ago and am impressed and very satisfied with the performance. Running a Yaqin MC-13 tube amp with Gold Lion tubes. This amp only puts out about 35 watts but provides sufficient volume. These speakers are not very efficient so if you plan on cinema use you should look at a fairly powerful solid state amp like peach tree, NAD, or a Bel Canto (which is what Elac demos these speakers with). Below about 50HZ the volume will drop dramatically so a sub would be advised. Do not expect body shaking intensity, but good quality sound. Be aware that these are rear ported and need to be at least 1 foot from the rear wall. Sound quality will be affected if they are too close to the wall. FYI Crutchfield prices matches with their competitors.

Pros: Sound quality is excellent.

Cons: Be aware that the exterior is a cheap looking vinyl. From about 5 feet away it is unnoticeable.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Riki from Tempe, AZ on 5/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have these paired with PS Audio's Sprout100 running through my 2008 MacBook Pro using Tidal. These speakers are clear, loud and have very good imaging. The bass they produce in my 12'x12' listining room is deep, tight and accurate. Victor Wootens Albums are mainly him playing electric bass, when I'm (or my friends) listen to his music on this system you can't tell the sound is coming from these speakers as it sounds exactly like he is sitting right in front of you playing in the room. Heavy albums like ones by The Acacia Strain are deep tight and never distort even at concert volume levels. Amazing product!

Pros: Imaging Deep tight bass Clear Loud

Cons: Needed an amp that could play 4ohm speakers, my Onkyo 7 channel 80watt per channel (8ohms) needed to be at 70-80% volume for me to enjoy movies.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent purchase

Crutchfield customer from Bodega Bay, CA on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hear looks a great reviews and bought these speakers. Performing as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Anthony from Taylors, SC on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great. The High and Mids. are present with just enough bass for my taste.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Elac Uni-Fi UB5

James from Cocoa, FL on 4/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Elac Uni-Fi UB5 are great sounding speakers. I am using a Marantz HD-Amp1 (70 watts @ 4 ohms) to power them. The HD-Amp1 has plenty of power. The UB5's sound clear, detailed and have a very nice sound stage.

Pros: The UB5's sound clear, detailed and have a very nice sound stage.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from NORMAN, OK on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very good speakers. I had an old pair of B&W804 from the 90s, hopping the new technology of 2017 will match or maybe even surpass the B&W. I pushed them with a new Cambridge CXA80 and switching between both sets of speakers. The sounds stage image of both of the speaker sets is identical. It is amazing that these speakers are capable of projecting such a clear and precise image. Well, the Cambridge Amp should also be credited for that too because when I pushed the ELAC with a lower-end Amp for the burn-in, they certainly reflected that cheap price tag of the Amp. ELAC UB5 is the best sounding reference speakers for the money, you get 90% of the high-end speaker sound for 10% of its price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

INCREDIBLE

Bryan from Chicago, IL on 2/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I took a gamble and bought these to replace a pair of perfectly good Andrew Jones Pioneer SP-BS22-LR bookshelf speakers and I can honestly say that I'm blown away by the Elacs. I thought the Pioneers sounded good but I really felt that my setup could sound better so I did some research and decided on these. In the same purchase, I also upgraded my phono amp to a Pro-Ject Tube Box DS (from a cheap tube amp that I bought elsewhere) and the combination of these two things have taken my system to the next level. My records sound unike anything that I've ever heard before. If you're looking for audiophile grade speakers at an affordable price, these are a solid chioce.

Pros: Amazing Sound Look great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MD on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, good buy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

JB from New Braunfels, TX on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big sound, high QPR. Read that they are power hogs and think that is correct, probably looking at a stronger amp now. Excellent soundstage, definition and clarity. Quality and differences in recording/engineering are noticeable. Bought open box and they came in pristine condition, still breaking them in. For the money these are a no brainer.

Pros: High QPR

Cons: Need a power source capable of making them shine

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely worth every penny! Clear, open and spacious sound. Great for all types of music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Rapid City, SD on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these for my son...he loves them.o

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wait until you hear them...

Robert from Georgetown, KY on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cnet named these the best bookshelf speakers...period. I have been shopping around for two years, but couldn't find what I wanted for the price I wanted. While these speakers are big for a bookshelf speaker and the finish is far from stunning the sound is unmistakably clean and precise. These serve as surround speakers in a 5.1 setup in an oddly shaped room and are not perfectly placed (wife places aesthetics over performance), but the dispersion of the sound is dumbfounding. I knew within 30 minutes of listening that I could only be more satisfied if they were smaller, prettier, or cheaper. When these go on sale buy them.

Pros: Sound Price

Cons: Size Finish

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seem great. Really enjoying them so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hassle Free HiFi

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

WOOOOWWW!!!

A from Poughkeepsie, NY on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once you go ELAC, you never go back!!!! The best speakers I've ever heard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

David from Telford, PA on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are amazing for the size and price.

Pros: Sound great with all types of music. Small footprint, Large sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Peter from Furlong, PA on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are incredible! I am stunned at the full and engaging sound they put out! Paired with a Cambridge Audio CXR-120 for stereo music listening, and love them! These speakers have plenty of bottom end and a full midrange. Pair with a high quality amp like Cambridge Audio, and you will not be disappointed!

Pros: Awesome, full, inviting sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't beat the sound for the price

Tom from Warren, OH on 12/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just finished a 11.1 Dolby Atmos system with with these UB5's as my rear surround speakers. I have 4 of the Elac uni-fi UF5 tower speakers (R, L, SR, SL), UFC center speaker, 4 MartinLogan Electromotion R ceiling speakers, and a SVS PB2000 sub. Everything is set up as Dolby recommends. I'm driving this system with a Marantz AV2207 MKII Pre amp., 1 Emotiva Gen. 3 five channel amp driving the center and the 4 tower speakers, 1 Emotiva Gen. 3 six channel amp. driving the four ceiling speakers and rear surrounds. The room is 25' x 12'. It took a while to finally get everything and get it tweaked to my liking but the sound is indescribable. I hear sounds in movies and CD's that I never heard before in my old system. I put in the Dolby Atmos demo disc and the room comes alive. These Elac Uni-Fi speakers can't be beat for the price. I also want to thank the Crutchfield staff for all the help they gave me in making my decisions.

Pros: Excellent sound I bought them on sale Nice solid build Quality terminals

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

No Longer Skeptical

Steve from Hicksville, OH on 12/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every once in a while something occurs that leaves me in disbelief. After listening to these unassuming small black boxes for the last 10 days, my concept of the requirements to engineer & manufacture a great sounding loudspeaker at such a modest cost has been altered dramatically to the point where I'm muttering to myself about past speaker purchases. While listening to vinyl slabs of the Analogue Productions reissue of Gregg Allman's "Laid Back" & the Mofi release of "Into the Labyrinth" by Dead Can Dance, my bottom jaw dropped, drool started trickling down the mouth's edge & these two phrases kept emanating from my pie hole-"You got to be kidding!" and "WOW!" Truly outstanding listening experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Fantastic Speakers

Chase from Denver, CO on 11/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hype is real folks, and I haven't even broken them in yet. I feel like I'm discovering my favorite songs all over again, and I only have this hooked up to an old 5.1 Yamaha HTR-6040 receiver that's on its last legs, connected to my computer via a 3.5mm to RCA. I should be receiving a multibit DAC and amplifier soon that I hear is a great combo with these speakers because they demand a lot of power, which should only increase the sound quality and my enthusiasm for these speakers. Like I said, they already sound great with poor components. The bass is way more than I was expecting and has a quick response, mids are very dynamic, and treble is very clear but not harsh, does not fatigue my ears. Soundstage is great. Very pleasant speakers to listen to.

Pros: Fantastic Detail, Superb Bass, Dyanamic and Pleasant sound

Cons: Having to space these at least 1-2 ft away from walls/cabinets for good soundstage

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

good bass for small speakers

ron from Texas on 10/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great speakers, sound as good as my 1200.00 polktowers

Pros: all good

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Dennis from Charleston, WV on 9/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers. Very open and detailed.

Pros: Open and Detailed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from MA on 8/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Elac UB5 are living up to the hype. Warm, articulate detail for my ears. Nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Bentonville, AR on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the size! exceeded expectations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Believe the Hype! The Elac Unifi UB5's are the real deal!

Reginald from Philadelphia, PA on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I never bought a product before based on the hype surrounding it. But when I was researching purchasing a pair of bookshelf speakers, I saw and read so many unanimously positive reviews about this product, that I went over budget and bought them from Crutchfield, since you guys had the best price on the speakers. I was not disappointed. They are a steal for the money. I have them paired with a Definitive Technologies SuperCube 4000, a Pioneer SPC-22 Center channel speaker, and a pair of B&W dm303's for surround sound. The system is fabulous, with clean, uncolored sound. Imaging, clarity, it is all there. The Elac's are the best speakers I could have bought for the price, hands down. Thank you Crutchfield, Thank you Andrew Jones!

Pros: Clean sound, the speakers do as they should, they get out of the way and let me enjoy the music. I hear the music, not the speakers!

Cons: Low sensitivity, which is fine, because the sensitivity on the whole system matches, and I have a 1015W 7.2 Channel Sony receiver.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Big grin

DEAN from Gilbert, SC on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for the size.Still breaking in but will get 2 more for the basement.If you are looking for bookshelf speakers STOP!

Pros: Size,punch

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5 pair

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 5/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these to serve as surround speakers in a 5.1 home theater. They work OK with my Sonics Amerigo fronts, Audio Physics center, and 12" Velodyne sub. I was surprised they would not accept spaded cables. Instead, they accept only bare wires, which required my cutting off the spades and stripping the cables. I consider this to be an indication they are not audiophile quality. Nonetheless, they work as surrounds in my system. I would not use them as anything else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 46 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Shih-Wei from Seattle, WA on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speakers is great. Value is way over price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, NY on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers and I got them on sale to boot! Highly recommended!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu HI on 4/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, love it!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Lived up to the hype

Kurt from New Hampshire on 3/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

UB5's arrived today. Set them up on 31" stands and connected to my old school adcom system...GFT-500 II preamp and GFA 535 60 wpc amp and got pleasant results but did'nt get the sound level I was hoping for (volume and bass). Luckily I have a pair of AB International Precedent 200 series that I used to drive a pair of Bose 901s previously (180wpc bridged) . Wow....huge difference. Now I know why everyone is raving about these speakers. It literally sounded like I flipped on a subwoofer. I listened to a few favorite tracks on vinyl and was very impressed with the result. Dire Straits love over gold was amazing....great imaging and clarity I'd not heard before. Henry Mancini Pink Panther has some great sax solos and you could hear the throaty timbre of the reed. Really pleased...thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Amazing sound in a small package

Cons: Make sure you have plenty of power to make them come alive

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Vinnie from Brookville, Ohio on 2/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just like add suggest. Put a lot of clean power behind them and be amazed! I am using a vintage Adcom amp. I purchased these as scratch n dent but only blemishes were on bottoms. Great savings! Great value!

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Vinyl wrap was better than blogs suggest but would be willing to pay more for better cabinet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MI on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like the crisp sound and the highs that these speakers deliver. For the money they are a great buy!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

High End For 500 A Pair!

robert from Cleveland, OH on 1/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little inexpensive speakers have a very balanced high end sound. They are so good! I am using a Yamaha RS500 receiver to drive them and listening to fm radio. I don't have to listen critically to know that I did well with this purchase. I am simply having fun listening to music again. Not bad,not bad at all!

Pros: Good in every area! They sound two to three times the price.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Millbrook, AL on 1/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did my research before I purchased these speakers and it seems they need an amp that kicks out more power! I've got them temporarily hooked up to an old amp but will set up my room with a new amp soon! So far I am very happy with them and really look forward to hearing them when I'm done!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Very pleasant speaker. Outstanding

Bob from Mansfield, OH on 12/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

True to the reviews that I have read, this is a great speaker. I find it to be a naturally sounding speaker which is what I've long been searching for. I just want a flat sounding speaker with no harshness or boominess and now I finally have it. This speaker system has so much balance to it with the three way design. To find a speaker of this quality in this price range is outstanding. I'm past the break in period and it has improved quite a bit. They've really mellowed out. Details in music emerge that I've not heard before. Granted, I was using mid price Polk bookshelves, but the difference is impressive. I'm using two subwoofers since my room is slightly large at 15 x 23 with high ceiling. Can't go without the subs to fill out the sound. I'm using an above average or better Pioneer home theater receiver rated at 90 w per channel and it seems to do just fine. I read where a better amp is needed to make these speakers sound their best, but it sounds good to me. A very nice combination so far, but I may someday upgrade just to listen to these speakers at their full potential as the other reviewers believe is true. Due to the 4 ohm load I did upgrade to better speaker cable by using 12 guage high quality wire and that seemed to make a noticeable difference with fuller sound. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros: Numerous

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Superb sound, Needs High amplification

paul from Brownfield, TX on 12/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers deliver a detailed, nuanced and clear sound, with out being overly bright or harsh. On the low end of the spectrum, I found them to deliver a tight and not a boomy base. These speakers will not sound their best the first 60 or so hours, so be patient and they will deliver. I found them to be extremely power hungry to deliver their best. If you are planning on using an average receiver, please forget about it. They require a high power source, and they deliver best when using separate components. In my situation I am using an Emotive XPA-2 Gen-3, rated at 300 WPC, with an Emotiva DAC: XDA-2, Gen-2, and the sound is superb, and room filling. I have tried it with my Peachtree Nova SE-220, and they sounded astonishingly superb at every level too. I

Pros: with appropriate amplification they deliver great smooth sound, detailed with tight low ends.

Cons: They would sound best with very powerful amps. Use separate components for best sound results. These speakers are very power hungry. Be prepare to invest in a 220 Wpc stereo amp or higher wattage to make them sound like they are supposed to.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 23 found this helpful

Unbeatable value

Will from Bismarck, ND on 12/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spectacular sound for a bookshelf speaker; great imaging, precise detail, taut substantial bass, outstanding midrange and treble.

Pros: Clear, precise, articulate midrange and treble; substantial bass

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Clarence from LA on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound for the price. Cannot go wrong with these speakers.

Pros: Great bass in a small package, excellent highs, great imaging.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, I think this is a good speaker just not my style. My Instrumental / Orchestral music sounds great with this speaker but rock / alternative music is missing something. In terms of that lost sound, it feels like I'm listening to cheap earbuds; as opposed to listening to full-sized headphones. The sound quality is excellent; but sounds a bit hollow. When watching TV shows and Movies, dialog is easier to hear, but background music seems a bit muted. I would rate this as a 3.5 or 7/10, but I feel a 3 is unfairly low, so I rounded up to 4 for the score.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 17 found this helpful

You've got to be kidding me!

Ron from New Orleans, LA on 11/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The reviews on this product were so outstanding, I had to see for myself and WOW they are awesome! Hard to believe such quality sound from such small speakers. Well done!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Couldn't fill the room.

Rob from Lincolnton, NC on 10/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Maybe the room was too big. 14'X21'. I did a LOT of research before buying my first good speakers since my KEF units around thirty years ago. I plugged these Elac Uni-Fi UB5 speakers into my NAD 2200 power amp and 1020B pre-amp. My source was a Onkyo CD player. Good RCA cables and #14 speaker wire. Also bought a pair of Sanus BF31B speaker stands to get the drivers at ear lever. The sound just wasn't there. I contacted Crutchfield which is the best thing anyone can do if you feel there is a problem. My advisor spent about an hour with me on the phone going over everything that could possible be wrong. He covered Everything! He decided that maybe the problem was the speakers so Crutchfield sent out a replacement pair immediately. I was impressed to say the least. As I thought about things, I decided to go ahead and upgrade my entire (2.0 Old School) system. I ordered a new NAD C 356BEE integrated amp and a NAD C 546BEE CD player. As well as some better RCA cables. When it all came in I carefully hooked everything up and was immediately disappointed. I played them for a few hours and called Crutchfield again. I got a different advisor on the line and just like the previous one, he spent about an hour with me trying to find out what was wrong but we could find nothing mechanical wrong with the setup. My advisor suggested some different speakers and emailed about six options to look at. Some about the same price and some just outside my budget. I chose a different brand and was immediately pleased with the sound.

Pros: I'm sorry. I found none.

Cons: Everything. I wanted to love these speakers but was totally disappointed.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 82 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Noah from Highland, NY on 10/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW! You will hear things missing in more expensive speakers ,the imaging is incredible the depth of the recording amazing , you can see deeply into the recording like no other speakers close to their price ( I have had energy 22.2s, B&W dm 640, genesis 44s among others ,all floor slanders, none compare, even at three times the price) one thing , get as much power as you can afford , I have them hooked up to a Yamaha r-s700 reciever ( 100 watts per side 20 hz to 20 kHz 8 ohms) a marantz cd 6006 cd as a source, plan on getting a project debut carbon turntable when funds allow ) but I digress these speakers are amazing just buy them ,there that good , extremely highly recommended

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 10/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I read all of the reviews and they are right. These are great sounding speakers but require a lot of power. I push them with an NAD C356. I'd not recommend anything with less output. The treble and mid-range are perfect with good separation. I found the bass just slightly less than my preference and added a small PSB sub-woofer. This corrected the issue and I look forward to using these for many years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Charles from Tulsa, OK on 10/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from such a small speaker.

Pros: Great Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Amazing sound from such a small box.

HoLun from Cedar Park, TX on 10/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers, it lives up to the hype all the other review are putting out. well worth the money. I paired it with a dayton subwoofer, it sounds amazing. Using a 80s vintage pioneer 135wpc high end receiver, it powers these speakers with ease.

Pros: Amazing sound Good looks

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Jimi from Brainerd, MN on 10/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive performance from a bookshelf speaker! I replaced my Definitive Technology Monitor 65's with Elac's UB5's. The UB5's are articulate, dynamic and nuanced. I am driving them with a NAD356. The result is, I am able to re-imagine my music collection through these very musical bookshelf speakers. Highly recommended.

Pros: Inexpensive, beautiful sounding, bookshelf speakers.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 9/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, great design, great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

As good as everyone says!

George from Concord, NC on 9/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having had a pair of Klipsch Heresy floor speakers since 1983, I was skeptical of finding any bookshelf speakers I would be happy with when the need to downsize my system arose. After the requisite internet search of products, review reading, etc., I decided to try the Elac Uni-FI UB5. I'm just as blown away as all the reviews I read. Never did I suspect I could find bookshelf speakers that sounded this good across the range of music I listen to. What a bargain price for the pair.

Pros: Clear definition across the aural spectrum. Big sound from a relatively tiny box.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 9/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These bookshelf speakers have a phenomenally clear sound. I purchased them to complement a system I built to enable me to enjoy my 350+ LPs that have been in the closet for ages.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi UB5

Crutchfield customer from New Kensington, PA on 8/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers, especially for the money. I think they are as good as competing speakers in the $1K to 1.5K price range. However, you do need an amplifier with substantial clean power to really hear what these speakers can do. 100 watts per channel RMS is recommended, although 50 watts per channel RMS would be adequate. Be sure to put them on quality speaker stands.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent Sound Cheap Build

Sanford from Miami, FL on 8/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, cheap build quality. I hate the cheap non-standard binding posts. The clarity, resolution, and detail are remarkable for the price. I connected them to a Denon AVR-X2000 95 watt/ch receiver and it will not do justice to their capability, possibly due to the 4 ohm load and low sensitivity. I connected them to a tube Manley Stingray (37 dB gain) that is rated at 50 watts into a 5 ohm load (old rule double tube watts to 100 watts equivalent solid state amp) and there was a noticeable improvement in sound. The Manley should have no problem with a 4 ohm load and low sensitivity. However, they still sounded a little "small" or "thin" and lacked a "full bodied" presentation after about 80+ hours of break-in mostly using the Tellurium Q break-in CD (2X normal CD time?). Perhaps even more power is needed to bring them to life or more break-in time. Very enjoyable never-the-less, highly recommended for the price. These speakers can surprize you.

Pros: Clarity, resolution, & detail

Cons: "Small" sound, hard to drive

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

ELAC Uni Fi UB5 speakers

Ken C from Wyckoff, NJ on 8/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ELAC Uni Fi UB5 speakers are spectacular. The sound is rich with not too much bass. The best speakers you can buy for the price.

Pros: Great Sound at a great prices.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing speakers for the size

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 8/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are pretty remarkable. Their clarity is wonderful. I've read they they are hard to drive, but I find that with my NAD 326BEE (50 watts per channel) with a Furman Elite 15 Power Conditioner, a Project Carbon with an Orfoton Red, a Schitt Mani preamp and the volume at 25-40 % is about as loud as I can handle in my room. When I first got them I thought they were way too bright and I almost returned them, but having read that they needed a break in I can say they have gotten richer over time. I still don't find them warm, (they replace some vintage Infinity Jr. Monitors) and sometimes I have to turn off the bypass on my amp and turn up the bass, but overall you can't go wrong with these and perhaps with a higher power amp you'll get warmer sound. Owen

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

First HiFi Quality speakers for an Emerging Audiophile

Stephen from Foxboro, MA on 8/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As is true for everyone looking at these, I love listening to music and the sound quality is important. Recently I have been wanting to add a high quality HiFI system into my house for listening; I had been using old computer speakers I'd had for a while, or small portable speaker that sounds decent, but not good enough. I was doing a little research into the options for my budget and a friend of mine let me know about these new speakers he had heard about: the ELAC UniFI UB5. My friend has several HiFi setups in his house and is significantly more knowledgeable than me on this subject. After doing more research I realized that the UniFi UB5 were infact the speakers for me. After months of anticipation, they did not disappoint; they sound incredible. I haven't heard many other speakers in the same range, but I've heard my friend's and it's better than one setup he has, and can atleast be spoken in the same breath as his main setup: which has speakers that was $2,000. Highly recommend these for the price range. Note: everything I've heard pointed to having a high powered amp, so I got a Peachtree Nova 125SE which has 200 wpc. I haven't experimented to know first hand, but I haven't read anyone trying a sub 150wpc with as rave reviews as a 150+ wpc amp.

Pros: Very cost efficient entry level HiFi Speakers Really outshines the competition with a high quality power source.

Cons: Power hungry, need a good amp which does deceptively dig into your budget for speakers this size.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Audiophile Quality On A Budget

Dennis from Inverness, FL on 7/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely enjoying these Elacs. They sound like speakers costing 3-4 times as much.

Pros: Price, Quality 3-way design

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Elac Uni-fi UB5

Ding from Sterling Heights, MI on 7/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sounded good right out of the box but after 20 hours of break-in time, they sound amazing. no listening fatigue, great sound stage and very detailed. I've owned a ton of bookshelf speakers, some of them costing 4 times more than these speakers. I've heard sounds in the background I didn't hear with the other ones. I own a pair of excellent loudspeakers (set up in the basement) and after listening to them I can't stand listening to my previous bookshelf speakers (in the family room). Not the case with Elac UB5, they have that audiophile quality that keeps you listening to them for hours on end. They are undoubtedly the best bookshelf speakers I've ever owned.

Pros: You don't need separate components, (amps and preamps) to drive them. They sound great with my Onkyo TX RZ800 receiver. I did hook them up with my Emotiva Amp downstairs just to hear the difference. All I can say is WOW. Super transparent.

Cons: You need a decent high current source to get the dynamic range. They're sensitivity is only 85 DB.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

TOP